RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


I need a new headset - any suggestions? Reviews are...(8 posts)

I need a new headset - any suggestions? Reviews are...BowWow
Nov 13, 2003 1:09 PM
a little scarce on this board... I'm looking to spend less than $50.00, so Chris King is out. The Cane Creek S2 is on sale at airbomb for 38.31. Any thoughts?

Oh, 1" threadless...

Thanks in advance!

Steve
FSA Orbit-Xcyclopathic
Nov 13, 2003 1:29 PM
20$ at www.chucksbikes.com.
Besides King looks it is decent quality and is steal for 20$.
2nd Orbit X, got one, works fine, cartridge bearings...n.m.koala
Nov 14, 2003 5:48 AM
Campy Chorusboneman
Nov 13, 2003 1:35 PM
I've been using a Campy Chorus for the last few seasons. It's reasonably priced, serviceable and low stack height. I've never used the FSA so no opinion on that headset.
shoot, Record HS is so close in price, might as well spring forbill
Nov 13, 2003 1:41 PM
Record. I'm not entirely sure what is the difference other than the grease ports (I think I've heard that the bearings are a slightly higher quality, too -- not sure about that). I use the grease ports and find them handy. You can't even get Chorus HS's a lot of places, because, I guess, they're so close in price that the retailers figure what the hey, as well.
And you get the cool carbon fiber top cap <nm>mhinman
Nov 13, 2003 6:37 PM
Cane Creek S-Pro at Supergot5rguy
Nov 13, 2003 2:43 PM
They have it on sale for $50,-. Looks like a bombproof piece of equipment to me. Black and silver, 1 inch threadless!
Cane Creek C2 is on eBay from IcyclesUSA for...TFerguson
Nov 13, 2003 3:02 PM
$14.99 plus $4.70 almost every day. I have 2 years on one with no problems and cannot see why there ever would be a problem.

TF