RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Your Photo Assignment: Favorite LBS!(20 posts)

Your Photo Assignment: Favorite LBS!gregg
Nov 12, 2003 9:04 AM
Hey All,

This is an idea I've had for a while, and GeoCyclists post from Japan helped spur me to action.

Besides Ride Reports (which we all love, right?) how 'bout Shop Reports?! Take your digital camera down to your Local Bike Shop and take some pictures! Show us their best bikes, best gear, best (looking?) employees. Show us something unique to their shop.

You can include shop info in your post:
-Shop Name (of course)
-address
-hours
-phone number

Why do you like this shop?

I'll lock these posts at the top, just like Ride Reports, and if they're good, I can create a permanent page with the links to all the threads.

Whaddya' think?

-gregg
I could get in on this...biknben
Nov 12, 2003 9:24 AM
I'm loyal to one shop and friendly with the manager. I was planning to be at the shop on Sat. I'll bring the digicam and see what he thinks of the idea.
Excellent idea...nmDave Hickey
Nov 12, 2003 9:25 AM
Just get the OK of the shop owner/manager firstinnergel
Nov 12, 2003 10:31 AM
Some people might get a bit touchy with someone coming in and taking pictures of their business. There's no telling what the pictures could be for. Could be a lawyer documenting something for an upcoming lawsuit, a competitor checking out your stock, etc. You see where this could go.
how about a website?ColnagoFE
Nov 12, 2003 10:44 AM
I wouldn't take my bike anyplace else for service. great shop. great wheelbuilder. http://vecchios.com/index.html
Nah...let's give something back the LBSs (nm)gregg
Nov 12, 2003 2:00 PM
Well, they have a retail shop right?gregg
Nov 12, 2003 2:04 PM
Maybe you could ask them if they have some shots. Or if you know any locals who would be willing to help you take a few shots??

One of the purposes is to give something back the LBS's.

-g
Great idea!KG 361
Nov 12, 2003 10:50 AM
I have 2 that I visit regularly. One has more eye-candy than the other; the 2nd one has the best wrenches in the area, bar none. I'll be visiting each, soon.
Excellent idea! Except...The Walrus
Nov 12, 2003 11:45 AM
...my two favorites went out of business in the last year or so.
So take pix of the empty shell of your old favorites. nmMB1
Nov 12, 2003 11:48 AM
... funny you should mention...Akirasho
Nov 12, 2003 12:19 PM
... I set up this page on my website to promote local shops... but I'm not about to bite the hands that feeds me by calling one my favorite!!!

http://www.psycle-therapy.great-ride.com/my_shops.htm

Also, I didn't know if you wanted us to post the info here or start a new thread so... http://forums.consumerreview.com/crforum?10@@.ee7b55e

Be the bike.
Post as a new thread....gregg
Nov 12, 2003 2:07 PM
...and I can lock 'em.

Nice info on your site. I was hoping for something a little more in depth, though. More pics, more info, what kind of beer does the shop wrench like, etc... Pick your favorite shop of that bunch and feature it.

-g
When in Santa Barbara go to the best.lotterypick
Nov 12, 2003 3:44 PM
http://fastrackbicycles.com/
plz post this to MTBR too. great idea. nmweatherx
Nov 12, 2003 7:16 PM
nm
Shop Report #1: Yamaguchi, Japan Bike Shopgregg
Nov 14, 2003 10:56 AM
courtesy of GeoCyclist:

http://forums.consumerreview.com/crforum?viewall@@.efddc7f

Be Creative!
Picture of Yamaguchi Shopgregg
Nov 18, 2003 10:43 AM
Picture of Yamaguchi Shop:
Report #2 - MB1: Revolution Cycles - Georgetowngregg
Nov 18, 2003 10:40 AM
Report By MB1:

http://forums.consumerreview.com/crforum?viewall@@.efde49a

Revolution Cycles in Georgetown
Report #3 - biknben: Halter's Cylces in NJgregg
Nov 18, 2003 10:42 AM
Report by biknben:

http://forums.consumerreview.com/crforum?viewall@@.efde4af

Halter's Cylces in NJ
Report #4 - Scot_Gore: Eriks Bike in MNgregg
Dec 23, 2003 3:02 PM
Link to photo thread is here:

http://forums.consumerreview.com/crforum?viewall@@.efe0ff7
Report #5 - Asiago: Stoton Cycle in WIgregg
Jan 6, 2004 1:44 PM
Stoton Cycle in Stoughton, WI is my home shop. It's a small shop owned by Phil Caravello. Phil is the owner, manager, mechanic and sales guy. That's right, he's the only employee! The shop's motto: "If it's in stock, we've got it!"...

Report by Asiago

http://forums.consumerreview.com/crforum?viewall@@.efe1a3a