RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Tell me about your Fondriest(19 posts)

Tell me about your Fondriestcyclinseth
Nov 11, 2003 7:24 AM
I'm specifically looking at the Aluminum Carb Level U107.

I'm 5'8" tall, 145-150 lbs and would probably take the 54cm.

I test rode the Carb Level Plus (the one with the carbon chain- and seat-stays and was impressed with its acceleration and cornering characteristics, but that was just around the parking lot.

I'm interested in knowing how the U107 handles on high-speed descents. Have you experienced any front wheel shimmy?

Any other comments you'd like to throw in would be welcom as well.

thanks for your responses
I have the P4 carbon (the one that they stopped making) --bill
Nov 11, 2003 7:43 AM
what I have to contribute is of limited value, but I believe that the geometry is the same, with the same fork, so that handling is probably not so very different.
It's a great bike. Stiff as all get out. Quick turns, etc. I've never had it on what I would call a high-speed descent (mid-40's, maybe?), but it's never felt the least bit scary on anything.
It is very much a race bike -- not really for noodling around. It's too stiff and aggressive for that. I think it actually would be great in crits, although I couldn't afford to lose it so that I haven't tried it. I have raced it in road races, and it's a champ (unlike its rider).
re: Tell me about your FondriestPack Meat
Nov 11, 2003 8:11 AM
I have the carb level and lust after the Plus. I have about 7500 miles on it. I absolutely love this bike. I haven't had a single problem with it. I've race crits, 80 mile road races, stage races, 120 mile 12000 foot verticle gain rides on this bike and have no complaints. It's not the light, stiff and comfortable. It handles descents better than anything I've seen. I went from riding a Serrota 4 years ago and getting dropped on the descents to getting another Itailian bike and keeping up to the Fondi and making people work to keep up on the descents. Even in really fast corners where I have the bike leaned over to the edge of the tires tread and I can hear the sidewalls I can still make minor corrections that have saved my ass on more than one occassion.

I haven't had any shimmy but there are a lot of varibles that go into shimmy such as wheels.

If you have the means to acquire one do not hesitate.
I ride a 57cm Top Levelterry b
Nov 11, 2003 8:22 AM
And it might be my favorite bike. To your specific question, I ride it regularly on a 3 mile, 1000 foot drop, 40 mph descent and it doesn't shimmy at all. Holds a straight line, every time.

Other comments - it's light, it's quick, it's smooth enough, it's simple, it's well put together, it's sexy, I like it a lot.
ditto everything terry saidcollinsc
Nov 11, 2003 9:22 AM
Just got mine not long ago, so havent done huge miles on it yet, but it is everything terry mentioned and more.

I swear I'll get pictures eventually....
say, terry....collinsc
Nov 11, 2003 12:26 PM
I just remebered, while browsing the Serotta board, that dbrk over there has had a Top Level and a Fina Estampa as well. He seems to feel oppositely about these bikes (in that he still owns the Fina and not the Top).

How do you find they compare?
nevermind, i just found this linkcollinsc
Nov 11, 2003 12:28 PM
http://www.hydromedia.com/serotta/read.php?f=1&i=59628&t=59209
yep, that's me being contrary.terry b
Nov 11, 2003 6:04 PM
I much prefer the Top Level to the Fina. Go figure, perhaps blasphemous to be contradicting dbrk though?
Mine is nice...funknuggets
Nov 11, 2003 8:47 AM
I like mine. It is a little older... Megalu, but is stiff, but does not ride as harsh as my previous Cannondale R900. Paint is one of the most quality finishes I have seen on any brand of bike. Not the lightest in the world, but steep geometry sets up nicely for high power. Longer TT than standard is nice (for me anyway). I think you will be terrifically pleased and Will Atencio is fantastic to work with.

Chris
agreed, Will is the best! (nm)terry b
Nov 11, 2003 9:44 AM
re: Tell me about your Fondriestconsolidated
Nov 11, 2003 10:17 AM
I'm 5-9 and ride a 54cm Carb Level in white sat blue. I've been pleased so far. It's been rock steady on fast descents with Campy Protons on it. I've yet to ride it with a new pair of AC 350s I just got (one of which was disappointingly slightly out of true from the box...nothing serious).

In any case it's been a great frame. As responsive and efficient as anything I've treid and quite a bit more racy than the Ibis Spanky I'm coming off of. I was concerned about the supposed harshness of allly frames but have been pleasantly surprised.

The finish is very nice, non traditional but beautiful.
re: Tell me about your Fondriestgtxc01
Nov 11, 2003 10:48 AM
I am 5' 7-3/4" and weigh 154. I ride the 53 cm Carb Level and love it to death. I picked it up last January after losing my CAAD 5 to a minivan. This bike is absolutely fantastic. It rides very comforatably, and the bike is extrememly stable in the descents. We pushed 60 mph on a descent last year (coming back from a hill climb tt with an avg grade of 11% peaking at 15%- the bike took the climb just fine....I was the weak link) and that would have not been possible on my other frames. I highly recomend it. I bulit it with Record, Ksyriums, Deda Newton/215 and an Easton EC70 seatpost. It weighs in at about 16.1 lbs.
Another Fondriest question -paintCritLover
Nov 11, 2003 11:59 AM
How does that SAT paint really hold up? It looks awesome, but I can't imagine how they get it on and make it chip resistant?

Any experiences?
It holds up...african
Nov 11, 2003 12:12 PM
i was at the shop when they were just finishing putting my bike together and the mech was cutting the fork, something went awry and he hit the top tube with the blade (I passed out) there is no scratch, no chip, just a light mark that looks like dirt more than anything - you would never even see it unless I point it out. In my opinion it holds up.
It's all under a clearcoatconsolidated
Nov 11, 2003 12:50 PM
...and the layering of paint, graphics, metallics, and clear makes the finish look an inch deep.
SAT the fine print of it all......african
Nov 11, 2003 1:14 PM
Our research in advanced systems for the graphic treatment of Fondriest frames has culminated in SAT – Sliding Art Technology. This system ensures an optic with exceptional resolution, brilliant colors and incredible durability. SAT is unalterable over time and resistant to impact and scratching. The graphic application is done by hand, without stickers or transfers. The graphics themselves are completely non-toxic and comply with stringent environmental protection standards. The SAT graphic treatment also reduces the weight of the frame by more than 50 grams as compared to traditional methods. No other brand offers this finish technology.
My Fondriestafrican
Nov 11, 2003 12:06 PM
Mine is a team lampre time trial beast from last years le tour. I have it built up and have over 300 miles on her. Top speed of about 36 on a downhill. I have ITM aero bars on so the handling is different to a road bike.
I have ridden mostly group rides on my bike and it is great I love to go off the front and get on the ITM bars and hammer.

I love my bike.
another picture......african
Nov 11, 2003 12:16 PM
and if this dude rides a fondriest you better believe it is ok at any speed.
re: Tell me about your Fondriestnazgul
Nov 11, 2003 4:19 PM
I am 6'0", 150lbs, and ride a 57 semi-sloping Don Racer. I also have a 58 CAAD5 Cannondale. In general the Don racer feels more stable when descending, I have encountered no shimmys on descents up to about 50mph. I liked the Don racer so much that I pulled the trigger on a 58 traditional geometry Status Carb on e-bay. It has a longer wheelbase and is also a very good descender, more stable over uneven pavement (steel, longer wheelbase, carbon rear), but doesn't carve the turns quite as tight as the don racer.