RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Colnago vs Cannondale: NEW BIKE(19 posts)

Colnago vs Cannondale: NEW BIKEingLatour
Nov 11, 2003 5:29 AM
I'm looking for a new bike and I have the choice actually between a used (4000km) 2002 Colnago Ovalmaster (Mapei color) with 2002 Dura-Ace and 2002 Ksyrium wheel for 3000$ and a new 2004 Cannondale R3000 with 2004 Dura-Ace and Ksyrium SL wheels for 3000$

DON'T KNOW WHAT TO DO??
In this case...tough choice...biknben
Nov 11, 2003 6:22 AM
Even this happy C'Dale owner would jump all over the Colnago if they were
i both
new. I'd even go colnago if they both had the same components. In this case, I'm leaning towards the Crack-n-Fail because of the new components.

Just my $.02
Cannondale...C-40
Nov 11, 2003 6:24 AM
This should be a no-brainer. As a Colnago owner, I can assure you that the Colnago is overpriced. With careful shopping you could get a NEW Colnago for very little more.

I sold my last (much more expensive) C-40 with Record 10 and Ksyriums for $3000 in perfect condition. The ovalmaster with outdated Shimno 9-speed would be worth far less.

As for your choices, there are a lot more fine bikes avaialble with 10-speed drivetrains for that price.
Ovalmaster overpricedB2
Nov 12, 2003 10:37 AM
Agree on the Colnago price

I sold a 2000 Ovalmaster with one year old DA components last year for $2,100. I felt like I got a fair deal based on other completed ebay auctions for similar bikes.

Bryan
re: Colnago vs Cannondale: NEW BIKEdjg
Nov 11, 2003 6:48 AM
In general, I'd lean toward the Colnago (I like 'em). In this case the price seems really high for a used 2002 bike. The Ovalmaster seems to be gone from the regular line-up but you may still be able to get a new one. I'd talk to Mike Perry at Maestro about that if you're really interested (or if you're interested in what another Nag model would cost).

Or I'd get the Cannondale.
re: Colnago vs Cannondale: NEW BIKEwspokes
Nov 11, 2003 7:49 AM
No hard choice for me...it is like asking if I want kicked in the nutz or do I want to sit on this cushy seat! Seat please!! I had Dales and can't bring myself to ride another...I had Dales GIVEN to me under sponsorship and used them strictly for crits and Time trials...Time Trials because it was short term usage...and crits because I didn't care if I trashed the frame! Go with the Colnago. Good luck

My opinion above regarding the Cannondales...others love them...which is good and which is also why there are many brands to choose from out there.
Get the Cannondale.kevinacohn
Nov 11, 2003 7:55 AM
I just purchased a 2004 Cannondale R3000... excellent bike. Everyone that I know personally has owned a Cannondale at some point in the past, and has been very, very satisfied with their purchase. The R3000 comes with great components, an excellent wheelset, and a very comfortable saddle, in my opinion.

I think the R3000's a great deal... you're not going to get a complete Dura-Ace 10-speed bike for much less.

K
Colnago way overpricedtoronto-rider
Nov 11, 2003 8:06 AM
Where did you get the price for the Colnago, that is way overpriced. The correct selling price would be just under $2000. Excluding the frame you can get brand new Dura Ace (9 speed) $700, Ksyrium SL (2003)$600, saddle, post, stem etc add another $300.
That's $1600. The frame is therefore selling for $2400. You can buy a new frame from Maestro for that price. Look at the classifieds on this board to see more accurate prices on used stuff. I just built myself a Giant TCR, Chorus, K's SL, Deda bar stem, Nokon cables with professional build by my LBS for $3000.Unless you find a used bike at min 60% off list, you are better of going with new. With a used bike you have to replace the chain and cassette and the bike comes with no or very little warranty.
Enjoy the Cdale.
Colnago way overpricedingLatour
Nov 11, 2003 8:44 AM
I got the price from André Cycles et Sport in Longueuil (I'm from the Montreal area) So the correct price should 4000 $CAN
Go with the Cannondale unless the Colnago is truely like new.bimini
Nov 11, 2003 8:16 AM
with the Cannondale you will know all the bearings are smooth, and the wheels are true (or can be trued).

With a used bike there are a lot of maybes. If you can physically inspect the bike, pull the wheels off and give it a good going over and if you know what a good hub should feel like when you spin the wheel in your hands and how to inspect all the bearings for proper smoothness and play. And how to check the condition of a wheel and rim. Then go check the bike out and ride it.

Both are good bikes but the Colnago has a certain european mistique and oohh awah factor around it that the Cannondale lacks. Colnago also does a very nice paint job. If the Colnago checks out with great bearings, little wear on chainrings and sprockets, great paint and good road feel I would go with the Colnago. If any of the parts are suspect or the paint has problems I would go with new at that price. New Dura-Ace parts are not cheap.

PS: This is all hypothetical on my part, I doubt if I would ever spend $3000 on a bike, new, used or otherwise.
Colnagos are just too overpricedjcpreuss
Nov 11, 2003 8:22 AM
As has been stated, I think the C'dale is the better deal. I LOVE Colnagos...but they are oh so overpriced for what you get. The only downside to a Cannondale is they are STIFF, even the new CAAD7 frames.
I don't think folks were complaining about their pricingdjg
Nov 11, 2003 11:03 AM
in a general sense. I think we (at least in my case this was true) thought that the listed used price on that particular bike seemed really high.

US retail on Colnagos is pretty high, although that doesn't mean that they're not necessarily worth it. But many of us bought our frames in Europe where Colnago prices are--IMO--pretty reasonable--certainly much, much cheaper than US prices--(and paint selection is broader).
I don't think folks were complaining about their pricingjcpreuss
Nov 11, 2003 12:46 PM
They are a premium purchase to be sure, and certainly a worthy purchase. I was unaware that the prices were better in Europe -- I suppose the strength of the Euro has hurt that. But for comparisson sake, a C-40 B-stay or a Dream will go on Ebay or on this site's classifieds in the neighborhood of $2000-plus. If you can find one, a CAAD7 Cannondale -- which is I think is as light, if not lighter than most Colnagos -- can be had for about $1000 with the hallowgram cranks. I suppose this is like comparing a Corvette to a Ferarri -- both are real fast, one certainly has more prestige.
I don't think folks were complaining about their pricingdjg
Nov 12, 2003 7:39 AM
Yeah, I'm never sure about car metaphors but Colnago has that snazzy Italian thing going. I think the bottom line is that, if you are looking for a bargain on a race-worthy bike then you don't need to buy either a CAAD7 or a C40 (or C50). There are less expensive and entirely viable options. At the same time, the different offerings really are different in various ways and how much that difference matters to you (or even suits you) and what you are willing to pay for it are pretty idiosyncratic facts about you (or me, or any of us).

The relatively high Euro/relatively low dollar situation has diminished the advantage of ordering Colnago from Europe, but the advantage is still substantial (remember, US prices have gone up at the same time).
re: Colnago vs Cannondale: NEW BIKEotiebob
Nov 11, 2003 9:36 AM
No one has mentioned geometry here and its pretty important given the 2 choices. The Colnago will have a shorter top tube than the Cannondale. One may fit your physique better than the other. A bike that fits will be much more enjoyable regardless of brand. Can you test ride both?

The Cannondale has a lighter frameset at the expense of durability. It depends on what you want the bike for and for how long you want to keep it. The Cannondale has nicer components and will be lighter overall as well. If you race and want one of the lightest, fastest bikes out there, go for the Cannondale. If you're looking for a frame to last a long time and that you can resell easily - get the Colnago. If, like a lot of us, you go through bikes or add new ones to the stable fairly regularly, than don't worry about a "lifetime" bike and just get the one that is more enjoyable to ride (ie. geometry, matches the type of cycling you do, etc. Both are amazing products - wish I were in your shoes...
can't compare geometry....C-40
Nov 11, 2003 12:01 PM
Unless you know the specific size. Colnago's may have just as longer or longer effective TT lengths, once the correction is made for seat tube angle.

The larger sizes may have shorter top tubes, but it is likely to differ 1cm or less.
can't compare geometry....otiebob
Nov 11, 2003 2:17 PM
Right, sort of - except that he's considering a specific used Colnago, so he needs to be certain that that frame's geometry is right for him. Sure, if he was looking at new Cannondales *and* new Colnagos, than he should find a size from each manufacturer that works for him. However, Colnago designs their frames to run a longer stem w/shorter top tube (per Ernesto) than their american counterparts. Maybe its no big thing for 95% of the riders out there but if its your dime, you might want to consider it. If you like a long top tube, for example, you may have to buy a Colnago that has a longer wheelbase and thus, is not as quick handling of a bike. Since we're talking $3k here, it pays to know how/why the frames are built with certain geometries - especially if he's only looking at the one used frameset.
certainly....C-40
Nov 12, 2003 6:03 AM
Certainly a buyer should evaluate the geometry carefully before buying. My point was that you cannot generalize about Colnago geometry. The generalization that Colnagos have short top tubes, to be used with long stems, is very much inaccurate. In sizes up to at least 55cm, they have as long a top tube as most other brands. In the larger sizes, the TT lengths MAY be shorter than other brands. Regarless of what you believe Ernesto said, the geometry charts tell the story accurately.

You also cannot readily select a Colnago using the TT length as the main fit criteria. The TT lengths often change anywhere from zero to 5mm for each 1cm in frame size. The vertical dimensions of the bike are just as important, to get the proper saddle to bar height, without a goofy stem and steering tube spacer combination.

What they consistently have is a slack head tube angle which creates more steering trail, a longer front-center dimension, and slower steering than many other brands. NO Colnago, reagardless of size, can be considered "quick handling". Colnagos have stage race, not ceiterium geometry.
Agree totally with most of the postsBonked
Nov 11, 2003 11:44 AM
check out Mike at www.maestro-uk.com if you really want the 'Nago. bought my c40 with record from him for a song (not much more than you're talking about)...the only reason nice italian bikes get such a bad wrap for being overpriced is because the US importers jack up the prices.