RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Looking for opinions on this wheel build.(13 posts)

Looking for opinions on this wheel build.surfsup
Nov 10, 2003 12:31 PM
Talked to a custom wheel builder last week about training wheels for a 175lb rider, riding on mostly flat terrain. It was suggested that I go with Sun Ringle rims (Venus), Sapin X-Ray spokes, and American Classic hubs. Spoke count would be 24-28. I wanted some opinions on these components and this build. Thanks
for a training wheelset?Chicago_Steve
Nov 10, 2003 12:51 PM
That's a pretty nice build for a RACING wheelset!

When I think of training wheelset I usually think of basic components with durability and longevity first (example - 32 spoke 3x lacing). When I look at your build.

- AC Hubs (very lightweight hubs)
- Sapim X Rays (light spokes, aerodynamic, strong, pricy)
- Sun Venus Rims (Slightly V shaped rim... OP or Velocity Aeroheads are lighter; but it should be durable rim)

If you've got the $ and trust the builder then go for it! At your weight I'd probably up the spoke count to make them a little more bulletproof. Do you know if they are going 3x lacing or some other pattern?
re: Looking for opinions on this wheel build.xl_cheese
Nov 10, 2003 1:11 PM
Honestly, that's a lil overkill for a wheelset just to train on. Or are you worried about keeping up or beating the next guy on these training rides?

A simple ultegra/open pro set up will work great. 32 spoke count 3x would last a very long time. Spend money on other things that may improve your performance in a race.
re: American Classic Spoke Countcdhbrad
Nov 10, 2003 1:41 PM
I weigh 175 and ride in FL (very flat). I bought a set of American Classic/Areoheads earlier this year and when I called American Classic about their suggestions for spoke count, they recommended a 28 Front and 32 Rear. Just thought I would pass that on if you are interested in those hubs. I have been very pleased with the wheels.
AC Wheelssitzpickel
Nov 10, 2003 2:02 PM
I'm about your weight and have been riding an AC wheelset w/ their 350 rims for over a year (150-200 miles per week). The rear rim developed cracks around the spoke holes after I hit a 2 inch step at 35 mph (Thanks to the City of Woodside for the road maintenance!).

I swapped it for a new Interloc Cadence rim, which has single eyelets, and couldn't be happier. Both wheels were built by Mike Garcia at oddsandendos.com with 28 spokes fr/rr and Wheelsmith spokes. I wouldn't buy a different wheelset anymore. Weight is around 1470 gr.

The Sun rims are overweight and overkill IMHO.

sitzpickel
re: Looking for opinions on this wheel build.jrm
Nov 10, 2003 5:42 PM
Im 185 and dont mess around with the less than 32H stuff. I'd be truing that 28H rear wheel weekly. Go durable and go with nice hubs. My current 32H OP w/ CK hubs is the best.
re: Looking for opinions on this wheel build.lyleseven
Nov 10, 2003 6:34 PM
Are these the venus rims that come with eyelets? If so, a very strong rim. I am 200+ and ride on Speedreams with 24 Rear spoke count with no problems. But, that is quite a training wheel. What would you do for racing wheels? What is the wt?
Try thisKeeponTrekkin
Nov 10, 2003 6:34 PM
F & R Shimano hubs, your budget makes the call
F: 15 ga, 3X 32 spokes
R: 14 ga, drive side, 15 ga non-drive side, 3X 32 spokes
Open Pro Rims
Properly tensioned by a good wheel builder (most who say they are good just say it).

I'm your size; I have this build on my road bike and my touring & commuting bike (except all 14 ga on the rear wheel.) I don't log the miles of many on this board, but once I got off the too light zoot builds, my wheels stayed true, survived a double pinch flat, and have given me no trouble.

I lack a sponsor and I'd rather ride then send my mechanic's kids to college.

For similar opinions and more, visit roadbikerider.com and ask Uncle Al.
I'm bigger than anybody else who told you these are not strongrussw19
Nov 10, 2003 7:56 PM
I am around 200 lbs during the season and hit around 225 during the off season (ice hockey weight) and I ride similar wheels. You will be fine. If you are only using these as training wheels then going to 28f 32r certainly won't hurt, but if you build with CX-Rays, you don't really need to. Your wheels will be plenty strong with your rim and spoke choice. I think most of the people here aren't really that big and are not going off experience when they tell you to go 32 or 36 hole if you are 175 or bigger. You don't necessarily need to. How do you ride and how are the roads in your area? Do you have crappy roads and do you hit pot holes very often?

I have to qualify my statement that although I am bigger than you, I learned when I was younger and lighter to ride soft and light. Not to hit pot holes and make sure to soak up bumps with my knees and elbows and not with the bike. I am of the opinion that how you actually ride is more important than how much you weigh. I know guys who are nearly half my weight that are harder on wheels than I am.

All this is just my opinion though... so take it as only that.

Russ
Good point regarding riding style...divve
Nov 10, 2003 10:41 PM
...I don't have that much experiences in regard to road bikers, in MTB however, I see it all the time. Some guys even though they're light weight seem to break their stuff all the time and wear out drive trains like there's no tomorrow...
re: Looking for opinions on this wheel build.gabaguy
Nov 10, 2003 9:31 PM
AM Classic rear hub in problematic. Stay away.
a good link with some nice infohayaku
Nov 11, 2003 4:19 AM
but maybe that's just because i agree with all of it...

for training wheels, there is really no reason to go with a low spoke count and many reasons to go with higher levels of spokes.

I don't know about the parts recommended to you apart from the Am Classic hubs. I use them for racing because of the weight but have heard many stories regarding their ability to hold up in the rain. Also, you can definately get 105 or Ultegra hubs for less $$ where i'm from(not america) and it's rare to hear a complaint aboutr either of them.

like another poster said, save your money for race gear.

one thing to note however is that butted spokes should be used, generally 2-1.8-2mm will be fine. if you are ready to sacrifice a little strength for a little weight then go to 2-1.5-2mm spokes. you can use 1.8-1.5-1.8mm and put washers under the spoke heads, this will build a light wheel but there is really no need for training wheels

anyway have a good read through this link and then decide.

http://www.bsn.com/Cycling/tubulars.html
Not sure about the hubs.....K-Man
Nov 11, 2003 8:53 AM
Not so sure I would use AC ultra light hubs as an everyday training hub. Nice and lightweight, but have been a problamatic rear hub at best. I'm sure AC has said the problems have been fixed, but not a cofident boosting hub. I just went thru the same process and wanted a light weight all purpose wheelset. Ended up going with King hubs, not the lightest nor the quietest, but bombproof...probably toom much so. I would suggest looking at a different hub.
CX-Ray Spokes you choose are tip knotch. I have them on 2 mtb wheelsets and am using them on my new road wheelset.

Just my thought on the hubs
KMan