RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Painted Hemlet Follow Up.(17 posts)

Painted Hemlet Follow Up.Mr Nick
Nov 8, 2003 1:38 PM
So I woke up early, went to Ace and started to paint my helmet. Tried to mask the styrofoam, but after an hour I realized it was impossible and instead I just sprayed everything. I waited for everything to dissolve, but luckily nothing happened. So I put on a few more coats and let it dry for an hour before pictures. I think it turned out pretty well. A couple drips, but nothing that is noticeable from afar. Here are the pictures. By the way the helmet used to be yellow.
Now you just have to polish and wax it :) (nm)witcomb
Nov 8, 2003 3:20 PM
re: Painted Hemlet Follow Up.Akirasho
Nov 8, 2003 3:25 PM
... courtesy of hacker over at Bicycling's forums...

http://www.abbiorca.com/bike/cross/cross2002/crosspeople2002/source/fcbc0326.html
http://www.cyclingnews.com/photos.php?id=photos/2003/nov03/southland/stage6/BHdean_quack_attack

Be the bike.
Probably not a good idea!the bull
Nov 8, 2003 4:21 PM
Are you aware that solvents used in paint can break down styrofoams and plastic?
The future look of that helmet.the bull
Nov 8, 2003 4:38 PM
Sorry I have to pick on someone here today. :)
Agree that most paint eats through styrofoam...Mr Nick
Nov 8, 2003 5:05 PM
and I honestly thought I might have ruined this helmet. But the styrofoam has not reacted at all and is as rigid as it was. The surface doesn't even show the slightest hint of breakdown, which is what I have seen in the past when I have used paint on other foam products. The paint is completely dry now and still i see nothing. I am pretty sure I am in the clear, but if it starts to brake down I'll let you know. As for the scratching, I am hoping that this Krylon made to bond to plastic does what it says. If it does scratch, oh well.
I think it looks GREAT!!! Nice job, Nick! nmBowWow
Nov 8, 2003 5:44 PM
... not the paint per se... but the solvents used to carry it...Akirasho
Nov 8, 2003 6:36 PM
... next time, might wanna try a water based Acrylic... should be safe for EPS foam and most plastics... although you'd probably need an airbrush setup to propery dilute and apply.

FWIW, many here have noted in the past the high number of lids I own. One of the reasons is... at some point (perhaps a cold winter's night) I'd like to do a custom paint job or two (I've got three identical lime green Boreas)... so I've got room to experiment (I'm also a model railroader... and am quite handy with the ole airbrush)!

Be the bike.
Here are some nice helmets that have been restored!the bull
Nov 8, 2003 6:44 PM
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=2571454338&category=4399
... and it's real world application...Akirasho
Nov 8, 2003 7:08 PM
Be the bike.
45 grand and the dude doesn't include shipping!!!! SCAM ALERT!!!BowWow
Nov 8, 2003 7:25 PM
I even think I saw the same helmets posted over on divinghelmetreview.com just last week... The guy must have pirated the photos... I think I'll e-mail the guy to see if he can give me the serial numbers of each helmet... Caveat Emptor and all that rot...
Don't have to worry about taking a "header" with those babies[nmbent_spoke
Nov 9, 2003 9:34 AM
re: Painted Hemlet Follow Up.geeker
Nov 8, 2003 6:43 PM
FWIW, I used to play hockey, and every hockey helmet I owned had stickers telling you, in no uncertain terms, not to repaint it. (People sometimes repainted them anyway...) I'd be wary re. repainting a bike helmet.
I understand the concern, but now that its done and nothing...Mr Nick
Nov 8, 2003 8:26 PM
seems to be affected, what could the harm be? The foam is just as rigid before, there was not even the slightest bit of melting or dissolving of the foam, the surface looks exactly as it did, and everything is dry and perfect. Unless you think that the dry paint over-time will slowly eat into the foam I don't get what the problem is? Maybe I am missing something? Anybody have any ideas of possible problems that could arise at the point that I am at now. Thanks.
How do you know?Fez
Nov 9, 2003 7:35 AM
You base your comments on a mostly visual inspection. How do you really know if the helmet hasn't been compromised?

Helmet makers recommend periodic replacement of perfectly good, uncrashed helmets becausthe of the possiblity of the materials breaking down over time.

And do you really want to run the risk on something that is supposed to protect your head in the event of a crash?
repainting advicewooden legs
Nov 9, 2003 2:26 PM
i'd never sprayapint a helmet, even with taping of the foam, the solvents can definitly break down some of the strenght of the foam. when i do repaint helmets i use a normal watercolor brush and some sign paint, it only takes about 10 or 15 minutes to do a solid color and you can be sure you're not getting any solvents on the foam of the helmet. safest bet in my opinion.
WHY would you paint a yellow helmet black?!!!Matno
Nov 9, 2003 4:05 PM
I can't imagine why you would want to do that. If not for safety, then what about the coolness of yellow? Then again, I have 3 yellow bikes, and almost all of my cycling jerseys are high-vis yellow...

- a fan of Yellow