RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


do we need a statement like this for forum newbies?(12 posts)

do we need a statement like this for forum newbies?gtx
Nov 8, 2003 8:30 AM
lol

http://www.corner-carvers.com/wiki/index.php?Corner-Carvers%20Guide%20For%20Newbies
I am a newbie -- please DO flame mefrozentwin
Nov 8, 2003 8:46 AM
I am not really to new at 65; but with it barely getting to 33 in the twin cities; i could sure use to be flamed -- ummm -- sounds toasty
Here you go then....TREKY
Nov 8, 2003 11:13 AM
...It's in the 20's here in Illinois and I rode for a couple of hours this morning.Get off your butt and ride.Do you feel warm now. :-)
How do you spell new-bee anyway?LC
Nov 8, 2003 8:54 AM
newbie
newbee
newbe
newby
newb
nu-be
nu-bie
nubee
I don't know, but...gtx
Nov 8, 2003 9:03 AM
they also have some spelling tips here

http://corner-carvers.com/wiki/index.php?Engineered%20Engrish%20Usage

it's actually a very good, technical site, just not very PC or friendly to newcomers...
I don't know, but...russw19
Nov 8, 2003 11:47 AM
Those guys need to spell check their own page before they go on and try to tell anyone esle their spelling or grammer is bad.

They open with mis-spelling "English" in the first sentence. The spelled it "Engrish" which is not that bad, but still funny when on a page about misspelled or out of context misused words.

I thought that was funny, especially since it seemed to jump right out of the page at me in the first sentence.
OK, I guess I don't get the joke,russw19
Nov 8, 2003 11:58 AM
But it seems they spelled it wrong deliberately???? So can anyone tell my what "Engrish" means? Is it some bastardized from of engineering english?

Russ
Engrish = English as spoken by someone from Japaninnergel
Nov 8, 2003 5:39 PM
This is no the most PC site, but considering the Finance Manager from our Japanese office sent it to me, I think it's OK to share with the group.

www.engrish.com

J.
newbiecollinsc
Nov 8, 2003 10:05 AM
can be shortened to newb (or noob, if you are leet, or rather, n00b, 1f u R l337).

the others are wrong.
what about a FAQ section? (nm)witcomb
Nov 8, 2003 3:26 PM
Would love FQ or poll resultspitt83
Nov 8, 2003 3:38 PM
I'm really getting tired of the "best wheelset" questions. At least one every day on general or components board. Enough.

If possible, voting buttons and tabular results for simple categories like this (fvorite clincher tire, hub, rim, pedal, shoe, etc) could knock down the most often re-hashed topic here. This is a consumer opinion site and stays within that function much like the reviews do. Just simpler format and a direct comparison.

PS: Velocity rims 32h 3X to Ultegras!
Would love FAQ or poll resultswitcomb
Nov 8, 2003 6:14 PM
There are many questions that are posted which could be sent directly to a FAQ.

- how fast is fast
- factors in buying a first bike, pedals, shoes
- computer with cadence, that would be astrale
- common things to do in accidents
- how to get into racing
- etc, there is such a long list

Well, maybe there will be one day. Having the ride reports as sticky posts is great.

- Neil