RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Check out this cool road bike on MTBR(11 posts)

Check out this cool road bike on MTBRdgangi
Nov 6, 2003 9:16 PM
Check out this really interesting road bike for sale on MTBR.com:

http://classifieds.consumerreview.com/cgi-bin/classifieds/classifieds.pl?db=MtbReview&website=MtbReview&language=&session_key=&search_and_display_db_button=on&results_format=long&db_id=62192&query=retrieval

This is a Mountain Cycle bike, a company famous for monocoque design big hit mountain bikes. I've never seen the monocoque design applied to a road bike before! I gotta admit, it looks pretty neat.

Thx...Doug
IckpedalAZ
Nov 6, 2003 9:38 PM
I think I am getting an appreciation for why purists give grief to those of us who ride compact geometry frames.
I 2nd that emotion.NatC
Nov 7, 2003 5:20 AM
That bike is not for me. The eerie lighting makes it even scarier.
I've seen stranger looking MTNBikes.TNRyder
Nov 7, 2003 7:40 AM
Wow, It doesn't look that weird to me. And the smaller triangles should make it stiffer in the BB area. The $10,000 question is then, "How does it RIDE?"
re: Check out this cool road bike on MTBRCrankist
Nov 7, 2003 7:42 AM
Just an idea, but mount some knobbies and a flat bar and you could, by gum, ride that right across a dirt surface!
MTB influences...dgangi
Nov 7, 2003 9:29 AM
Given that this is the only road bike ever made by Mountain Cycle, a dedicated big-hit MTB bike maker, it comes as no surprise to me that it looks like a mountain bike.

I dunno...I like the funkyness of that bike. You definitely would not be a "number in the crowd" on this bike. I've never been one to conform, so maybe that's the appeal to me.

Thx...Doug
fugly (nm)ColnagoFE
Nov 7, 2003 8:28 AM
re: Check out this cool road bike on MTBRgeorge_da_trog
Nov 7, 2003 8:32 AM
Saw one of those up close and personal(frame only) hainging in the back of my LBS. It was at least a year ago. Something was wrong with the frame, stripped BB, cracked something, I dont' remember. But I never saw it built up.

That pic is a lot uglier than I remeber it being hanging in the back of the shop.

george
One seriously ugly bike! And this from a compact owner! nmAsiago
Nov 7, 2003 11:58 AM
Halfway descent bikemexican-JUMPING-frijoles
Nov 7, 2003 3:45 PM
I remember racing collegiate in 2001 and one school rode those frames. They said they where okay, although a little flexyin the BB. They also mentioned they squeaked. They mentioned something about only riding them because they got a great deal on them and they where "team bikes" i.e. for new riders who did not yet own a bike.
nothing "rare" about it...IDH2
Nov 7, 2003 6:04 PM
outside of the fact that they aren't making them anymore....but it was in production for years. I would guess that it's not that unusual of a sight in California. I use to own a Mountain Cycle "freeride" bike - it was very nice...the original monopivit as I understand it.