RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Wheel sets under $500(38 posts)

Wheel sets under $500surfsup
Nov 6, 2003 6:47 AM
I have a new bike coming and I'm looking for a new wheel set. I have always used OP's in the past and would like to try something different. I weigh 175 and will use these for training, club rides and the occasional century. Right now I'm considering, Campy Protons, Mavic Ksyrium Elites, Velomax Circuit Comps, and Bontranger Race Lites. Looking for opinions and other suggestions. Thanks
easy choices....K-Man
Nov 6, 2003 7:23 AM
I am in the same boat, I just ordered a 2004 Cannondale R2000 that comes with Mavic Ksyrium SL. I'm not a fan of prebuilt wheels....harder to maintain and mucg heavier. I am selling the wheels new off the bike hopefully for around $600 and having Mike Garcia @ www.oddsandendos.com build me up a custom set. Build will be Chris King 28 hole hubs, Sapim CX-Rays and the new DT R1.1 rims. The mavic set weights around 1610 grams, the new wheelset should be about 1486 grams....over 1/4lb of weight savings and a much better quality wheel. Cost is right around $500. A no brainer in my book.

KMan
easy choices....lyleseven
Nov 6, 2003 7:44 AM
Also, consider Dave's Speedreams at $525. Dynamite wheel, light, fast, durable. Contrary to KMan, I have used a set of Ksyrium SL.s and had no complaints, no maintenance issues, etc and I weigh over 200 lbs.
easy choices....K-Man
Nov 6, 2003 8:34 AM
I thought about Dave's...even called him to talk about the set. I was having a real problem with what hubs I wanted to use. Mike helped me out a lot with all of my questions and I have had him build wheels for me in the past so I went with Mike. His reputation as a wheelbuilder is top knotch.
I also never said anything "BAD" about the Mavic as I have only ever ridden the Cosmos (never had much of a problem with them). Just that I am not a fan of prebuilt wheels because they are usually much heavier and harder to maintain (if needed) than a custom wheelset.

KMan
I don't know K-manIDH2
Nov 6, 2003 8:56 AM
I just bought a set of '04 Ksyrium SL's and weighed them myself. With greased skewers they weighed in at 1590g (under 15 if the skewers were taken out of the equation...as in your gram estimates). Yes they are pre-built but pre-built wheels are not harder to maintain and certainly are not somehow inherently heavier than "custom-built" - that makes absolutely no sense. Also, you should get closer to 8 for your Ksyriums if they are in fact SL's...cost is close to 6.

btw, I know your cousin - G-man
good to know....K-Man
Nov 6, 2003 10:11 AM
I was taking the weight from some 03's that were "actual weights". I have already ordered my other wheelset but it wont be in until December. I'll be able to weight the SL's when my bike comes in and get a few rides in on the wheelset as well. Probably do a comparison between the two sets and keep the ones I like better. But saving $200 on the wheelset would be really nice. The bit about maintaining was focused on if a spoke on the Mavics breaks...good luck getting a quick repair and/or replacement spoke. And the weight issue. Mavic's 03 advertised weights at 1530 grams with actual weight at 1610 grams. 1610 is not a light weight wheelset by any means (All my disc mtb wheelsets are much lighter than that)....and for the price you pay for them...well custom is less expensive and can be built easily lighter. Heck my wheelset @ 1486 is using heavier King hubs and 28 spokes. Im sure if I went with lighter hubs and fewer spokes weight would easily be around 1400 grams if not less.

Kman
K-SSC SL is more like 1680g with skewers (still quite light) nmdivve
Nov 6, 2003 10:20 AM
So I was originally correct, around 1600 w/o skewers.....K-Man
Nov 6, 2003 12:05 PM
or custom built for about $200-$300 less and easily 1/4 lighter.

Tough choice!?

Kman
Not really...IDH2
Nov 6, 2003 12:43 PM
skewers are usually just under 100 for the front and just over for the rear...well, you know, there's a little variability of course, but somewhere around there. I really thought my 1590 was accurate, but I concede in the fact that the scale I used has not been calibrated in this century :)
from my experience skewers weight for the pair are....K-Man
Nov 6, 2003 1:33 PM
apx. 110+ grams for a heavy set, 100 grams for an "average" set and around 80 grams for a light set. Note this is a combined weight for the pair not each.

KMan
damn...you win ;) nmIDH2
Nov 6, 2003 1:44 PM
nm
My TDF skewers weight 86 gm. for the pairnoupi
Nov 6, 2003 7:04 PM
8 sounds pretty optimistic.djg
Nov 6, 2003 1:55 PM
I don't know what "cost" is (probably varies) but total cycling sells them for about 630 bucks a set.

I agree that Ks are not harder to maintain. Personally, I've found the Ks extremely easy to maintain. Basically, they haven't required any maintenance at all and it's hard for me to imagine an easier maintenance program than that.
You pretty much described MY dream wheelsetChicago_Steve
Nov 6, 2003 10:57 AM
Sounds sweet

King Hubs - Light, bombproof, user serviceable... Easy to argue that they are the best hubs on the market.

Sapim X-Rays - Used by everyone from the Posties to downhillers. Once again light and strong. Spendy at $2 per spoke but still cheaper then a Ksyrium spoke.

DT Rims - A newcomer but reviews are extremely favorable. When was the last time Mavic gave any thought to the Open Pro...

Add some alloy nipples (your color choice) and you have a great wheelset...
building with Red Alloy nipplesK-Man
Nov 6, 2003 12:24 PM
how's that!
Silver hubs and spokes. I like the colored nipple look as it give that "custom" look to a wheelset.

This will make 3 for me as I already have the same wheelsets for my single speed:
Chris King single speed hubs (blue) Sapim CX-Ray black spokes and blue alloy nipples w/ Mavic 3.1 ust rims.



Geared bike:
Chris King ISO disc hubs (pewter) Sapim CX-Ray black spokes and black alloy nipples w/ Mavic 3.1 ust rims.



Hopefully picking up my 2004 Cannondale R2000 next week...Mike @ oddsandendos is hoping the DT road R1.1 rims will be in December so will get the wheelset sometime thereafter. Already checked with King and they have the hubs in stock so Mike ordered them already.

KMan
Nice! nmIDH2
Nov 6, 2003 1:11 PM
nm
Chris King hubs are VERY....IDH2
Nov 6, 2003 12:54 PM
sweet - Hadleys are better...yummmm titanium hub bodies....drool...oh wait...that's a different sport all together ;)
Get the OPs again.bimini
Nov 6, 2003 7:50 AM
They are repairable. You can get home if you break a spoke. They are reliable (as long as you don't hit curbs at full speed). The only problem I see is that they are French. (The only French thing I own).

For your type of riding you will see absolutely No noticable increase in performance from the lighter bottique wheels. (Now, if you were looking at true aerowheels that would be a different story).

But, if you need to fit in by buying the stuff the ad men are selling in the glossy ads then go for the Ksyriums or the Campy's. I must admit, I like the Campy logo. I am even tempted to peel the Mavic stickers off my OPs and put on Campy stickers (but that just wouldn't be right, some Italian may have a heart attack).
???laffeaux
Nov 6, 2003 9:13 AM
What's wrong with Mavic being a French company?

I'd go OP rims with your favorite hub over a factory wheel. Parts are easier and cheaper to find. Otherwise there's not much difference.
I like OPs but not the French (politically)bimini
Nov 6, 2003 10:42 AM
I was tempted to take the OPs off my bike but liked them too much. I did remove the Michleins from my bikes and have switched over to Vredesteins.

I've been to France and like the people as long as we stay away from politics (which is tough for a Frenchman to do).

I simply refuse to buy any French products, but am reaching a moral cross roads of sorts. I put flat spots on both of my OP training rims and need to buy a new set of rims. I got the flat spots taken out to some degree but I'm not happy unless my wheels are perfect.

Should I buy new French OPs or find a nice set of sweet Italian Campy rims on Ebay??

Fortunatly, I have my Campy Shamal Race wheels that I can put on when the weather is nice while I figure it out.
Interestinglaffeaux
Nov 6, 2003 1:48 PM
I guess I should strip my bike of all US made parts (though they are few) in protest of Bush's policies.
Absolutely.djg
Nov 6, 2003 2:03 PM
I feel that bike-parts related protests on both sides of the Atlantic will surely change the world.

Not much of course, and not very soon, but still ...

Just out of curiosity, what US parts have you got? If it's a Chris King headset in decent condition could I have it? I wouldn't mind a backup and, like my revolutionary forefathers (who weren't actually MY forefathers, except in some sort of politicial history sense), I am not too proud to accept handouts from France (whatever the motivation). A nice cheese would insulate the parts well in transit--maybe something from Meaux (and please, not the cooked stuff).
re: Wheel sets under $500cyclopathic
Nov 6, 2003 8:25 AM
Mavic Cosmic Elite. Normally 350-400 Excel blows for 275$
You might also consider VelocityMel Erickson
Nov 6, 2003 8:47 AM
Just picked up a pair of Velocity Nuvians for, get this, $165! Aerohead rims, rear asymetrical, 24 radial front, 32 3X rear, double butted, 1641g claimed weight. Serviceable hub parts with standard spokes. The FedEx man should arrive on Monday and I'll have a chance to weigh them for myself.

Spin Lite builds an OP/Chris King/Sapim Laser Spoke wheel for $510. For the same price you can get it with the Velocity Aerohead or Fusion rim.
Where did you get the Nuvians for $165? I'm interested. (nm)innergel
Nov 6, 2003 8:51 AM
Ebay from Spin LiteMel Erickson
Nov 6, 2003 11:20 AM
They had two sets on a dutch auction. I bid the minimum, which was $165 and no one else bid. They might still have the second set, you could check. $180 with a Campy compatible hub.
Ebay from Spin Liteinnergel
Nov 6, 2003 12:36 PM
Excellent! I'll check that out today. If someone on this board doesn't beat me to it :-)
At your weight,KG 361
Nov 6, 2003 9:36 AM
I'd get the Ksyriums. They are absolutely bombproof and still look good, IMHO. Staying with OPen Pro's isn't a bad idea, either.
Anybody try these out?853
Nov 6, 2003 9:37 AM
How are they? they seem like a good deal.

http://www.supergo.com/profile.cfm?LPROD_ID=21810&lsubcat_id=7569&lcat_id=7605
Anybody try these out?No_sprint
Nov 6, 2003 10:11 AM
I've raced them. Never owned them though. I had no complaints. It seemed that when I checked them out at least 1.5 years ago, they were overpriced, bang for buck ratio wasn't that good.
Yep.KG 361
Nov 6, 2003 10:38 AM
Sent them back. Swapped for Open Pros. Much happier. At my weight, I thought I'd pretzel them (185lbs).
Speeddreamspmf1
Nov 6, 2003 9:56 AM
I bought a set of Aerolites from him a few years ago. They're great wheels. The owner, Dave Thomas, makes them out of off the shelf components. He's a very good wheel builder and chooses components that work well together. Repairs can be easily made if you need to. They're $550 -- a little above your budget, but not a lot.
Strong and quite light. Kinda like a boutique wheel without some of the drawbacks.

http://www.speeddream.com/road.php
I second the Speeddreams nominationAFrizzledFry
Nov 6, 2003 10:13 AM
love mine.
White Industries- built wheels vs SpeeddreamsMXL02
Nov 6, 2003 10:16 AM
They seem very similar...anyone have any experience with these?
re: Wheel sets under $500MShaw
Nov 6, 2003 10:42 AM
Heck, surf on over to the ads section here, or ebay, or... You'll find Zipp, Cosmics, Corimas, etc. wheelsets for under $500 if you look.

I like my Rithey Pro wheels. Reasonably light, reasonably aero, fairly inexpensive. Supergo across the street had a take-off pair for $99 a month or so ago...

I have a friend that swears by his Velomax wheels, but I haven't ridden them, so can't comment.

Remember: aero trumps light at speeds over 20mph. Buy accordingly.

Mike
just switched from OP to Campy Protonlitespeedchick
Nov 6, 2003 10:59 AM
I was all set to buy a fancier wheel set for my new bike that came with Protons, but the first thing I noticed when I got on my new bike was how it seemed to roll faster. I attributed this to the wheels and decided to stick with the Protons. Also, I noticed that they were not significantly heavier than Ksyrium SL although they are significantly cheaper.

However, my husband got a new bike at the same time, his came with '04 Kysriums (silver spokes not black) and they ARE freakin gorgeous.
just switched from OP to Campy Protonlyleseven
Nov 6, 2003 4:01 PM
I have OP, Speedreams and SL's. I love them all but they are all different. For the money, Speedreams win. Only have about 1000 miles on them to date, but they are comfy and fast. If I had to spend $525 I would rely on Dave Thomas to tell me how to spend it at his shop. No doubt though, the SL's are the cafe' conversation piece, especially the TDF anniversary edition.
Velomax Tempest.R600DuraAce
Nov 6, 2003 8:07 PM
Have been racing and training with these:
http://www.bicyclebuys.com/HTML/RoadWheels.htm