RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


What are the best pedals around?(9 posts)

What are the best pedals around?Kaboom
Nov 4, 2003 12:51 PM
Currently riding Shimano MTB pedals, and looking to drastically cut the weight on my bike, i'd wish to upgrade sth a bit more road-specific. Even though i like how the pedals work (had them for a year and mistreated them badly, crashed a couple of times, and bashed them against sidewalks...) I think its time to get sth a bit lighter. I sorta like the idea of Speedplays. What are the best alternatives out there? is there any way of fixing the speedplay cleats onto SPD-M shoes?
re: What are the best pedals around?jtolleson
Nov 4, 2003 1:43 PM
If you want to keep the mt shoes (which is a little counterproductivce to your weight savings goal) then your only additional options will be Time ATACs and Speedplay Frogs, neither of which are probably any lighter than a good set of SPDs (like the 959s).
re: What are the best pedals around?Kaboom
Nov 4, 2003 2:20 PM
And supposing i am prepared to forego my long-term marlboro supply and change my shoes too, what are the best options?
Very SubjectiveScot_Gore
Nov 4, 2003 3:19 PM
"Best options" will get you alot of opinions from alot of different people. You will ultimatly have to make a choice for yourself.
Some people like float, some don't
Some think stack height makes a hugh difference, some think its inconsequencial
Some think double sided makes things easy, some think it makes it harder
Some people want a walk friendly cleat, some never get off the bike so it dosn't matter
Some think big pedal platform is important, some think its the pedal cleat combo that matters.

This is just for pedals (and only the ones that come to mind right now). There would be a longer list regarding shoes. Decide which camp your in on the above issues and pick the pedal that most meets your needs.

Have fun.

Scot
Egg BeatersJervis
Nov 4, 2003 3:37 PM
I have a buddy that rides a set of egg beaters and he swears by them. They give you more float than your shimanos so you don't pop out on some rough sprint, they're one of the lightest pedals on the market, and you can still wear your mtb shoes. On that note a good set of road shoes would decrease your weight slightly, and you would be able to mount the egg beater cleats. Luck.
Egg Beaters-- ditto, regular or Candy'sCoolhand
Nov 5, 2003 7:26 AM
Road (twin Ti's)

Mountain (Candy Sl's)

Cross (Regular steel jobbies from 02)

I love them so much I dropped all of my other pedals (Speedplay's and Time ATACs) for them.
search the old msgs. look at the reviews...wolfereeno
Nov 4, 2003 4:11 PM
...then try em yourself. I tried lots and ended up happy with Frogs on both my road and mountain bike.

I don't like to feel trapped on my bike which I do on Look type cleats. Like lots of float but didn't like walking in the speedplay x/2's.

But talk to others and they'll have their own prefs. So it's up to you.
So many choices....lyleseven
Nov 4, 2003 4:47 PM
Consider Time Impacts and Speedplays for weight. If you want to go all out, go to DMT carbon shoes. I got a pair last year along with Time IMPACT MAG pedals and love them...
The ones we own/just bought!Tig
Nov 4, 2003 5:57 PM
On the serious side, I prefer Speedplay X-2's for road and Egg Beaters for MTB.