RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


OK all you Campy nuts(11 posts)

OK all you Campy nutsMel Erickson
Nov 4, 2003 6:07 AM
I'm building a winter project bike and would like to equip it with Chorus but can't quite afford the whole package. I will probably mix Centaur with Chorus 10spd. I have a Chorus crank and will need a Chorus BB to go along with it. I figure I'll use a Chorus rear derailleur, Centaur front, Centaur brakes but what I'm stuck on is the Ergo levers. Should I go with Centaur or Chorus. I'm leaning Centaur because of the cost but would sure like some opinions.

Also, will a '95 Record BB work with a Chorus 10spd crank?
re: OK all you Campy nutswspokes
Nov 4, 2003 6:27 AM
Go to Branford bikes and check out the info online. It should answer all the above questions and then some. 10 speed cranksets anymore are mostly splined BB. While a 96 is most like square taper...won't work. I have found that by buying up tons of 8 speed campy parts...I get them cheap and they are plentiful with all the people upgrading out there. Every one of my bikes is set up with the 8 spd campy stuff and all are very nice functioning bikes. Check out branford for some answers though. enjoy
Uhh, campgagnolo doesn't do splines. All square tapers. nmSpunout
Nov 4, 2003 6:32 AM
I just got lost in thought. It was unfamiliar territorywspokes
Nov 4, 2003 6:45 AM
Hey, what do ya know...Just goes to show when the last time I laid eyes upon a new group...don't see me as a retro grouch now! I am merely poor. haha. Thanks for the clue!
I think I actually knew that and just spoke before thinking...read the subject line.
re: OK all you Campy nutsmackgoo
Nov 4, 2003 6:28 AM
It sounds like you have a 95' BB, if it's a 102mm I would think it would work. Why not? Certainly any combo you come up with, as far as parts mix, is fine. What's the alternative?
re: OK all you Campy nutsmfuchs
Nov 4, 2003 7:20 AM
I have not used the newer Chorus levers but just put a set of Centaur Ergos on my bike last spring. I had older Chorus 8 speed with the ball bearings and I can't tell any difference between the two. they shift great and I am very happy with them especially since they were almost brand new off of ebay for $75.00.

Go Centaur and you will not be disappointed.

Mike
re: LeversKeeping up with Junior
Nov 4, 2003 9:07 AM
You will not notice a significant difference by going with the Centaur levers if you are trying to keep within a budget.

I have been riding Chorus 9 speed for a number of years and recently got Chorus 10 speed. My son rides with Centaur 10 speed. When I occasionally ride his Centaur equiped bike I do not notice a significant difference. The Centaur seems just a little stiffer (not as smooth) but this might be attributed to the number of miles I ride compared to him.
The record bb ought to work.Leroy
Nov 4, 2003 11:52 AM
Try it. I should be a 102 - record and chorus bb's are the same size. The only difference between a 9 and a 10 speed crank is the outer, big, chainring. I would go woith centaur ergo because I do not think the performance of chorus ergo justifies the price difference. I have both, and that's just my opinion.
In my experience, you'll spend more in piecing it all...No_sprint
Nov 4, 2003 2:23 PM
together. Of course, there's a limit to that statement.

You might get a better deal on a Chorus group than piecing together the 3 different levels.

If you haven't already, email critusa@aol.com for his Campy prices, pretty gosh darn good.
Go with Chorus Leversnorthcoast
Nov 4, 2003 11:43 PM
I have both. Maybe it is just my individual levers but I notice a much more crisp, positive shift with the Chorus. Sometimes the Centaur kind of "drags" and seems to take a tad longer to make the shift. Also I have to really make the shift with the Centaur or it may come back and not shift (ie. I have to use firmer pressure than with my Chorus). With the Chorus, I just start the shift and it always clicks positively and makes the shift.

Of course you can get used to either and both are great, but for me the edge goes to Chorus.
New BB & Centaurbimini
Nov 5, 2003 6:19 AM
Like the above post stated. If the BB is 102 mm it should work. However, unless the BB is in like new condition I would spend the money on a new Chorus BB. BB prices are not outragious and the last thing you .want on a new bike is a bad BB.

I currently have Chorus shifters (got a deal on ebay) but have used lower grade of shifters. The Centaur and lower do not have Ball Bearings, just bushings. The bushings are tight at first but once they break in they should shift as crisply as the chorus. Break in depends on how much you shift but should be around 1000 miles.