RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


MET Stradivarius review(11 posts)

MET Stradivarius reviewDave Hickey
Nov 4, 2003 5:02 AM
I bought a Stradivarius two weeks ago and I've used it for about 300 miles.

Purchased- www.bikedock.com Bike Dock is in the UK. I paid $126 shipped. I ordered it on Sunday and the helmet arrived in Texas on Friday via USPS. The post office did not ask for duty.

Fit- Excellent- I have a round head and this helmet fits me better than any other helmet I've tried. It fits me much better than my Pnuemo. It might not fit people with narrow heads as well. It runs true to size. If you order one, measure your head in cm.

Ventilation- Outstanding- I did a solo century on Saturday in 80 degree temps and I never removed the helmet. It felt great and kept me cool the entire ride.

Weakness. The only weakness is the strap comes loose easily. I fixed the problem with a small rubber band.

MET is not sold in the US but if you want something different, this is a great helmet.
Cool helmet, but...Tower
Nov 4, 2003 5:40 AM
Why isn't it sold in the US?
from the Met websitemfuchs
Nov 4, 2003 7:25 AM
we have to inform you that MET S.p.A., producer of the MET helmets, have decided not to export their helmets to North-America (Canada and United States of America). As a supplier of helmets throughout the world, MET have to ensure that their products pass the different safety standards that apply in the countries in which they are sold. MET helmets do not meet just one of these standards but all of them, whether it is Europe, Japan, or Australia, for instance.
Nevertheless, we have noted that some court decisions about product liability in some countries, especially USA and Canada penalize manufacturers for damages that may be suffered by a consumer involved in an accident. This, sometimes, occurs regardless of the quality of the product, and the safety it actually provides. Moreover, judicial costs and attorney's fees are very burdensome in North America. It being confirmed that MET products are fully UE regulations, safety standards and state of the art compliant, MET S.p.A., as a family business, not run yan obscure international financial conglomerate but by people, individuals working together, side by side, each and every day, have decided to keep their products out of the North-American market, and to spend time, money and energy in product research and development, not lawyers and trails. Anyone who would violate MET S.p.A above decision, and would import Met helmet in North-America will be exclusively responsible for any legal consequence involving MET helmets. We thank you for your interest and for taking the time to contact us. We are confident that you will find a suitable helmet among the products available on your home market.
re: MET Stradivarius reviewMike Prince
Nov 4, 2003 6:29 AM
Second that excellent review Dave. I've had a Strad for the last 2 years and love it. I got mine for under $100 when I lived in the UK in 2001. Excellent fit and performance for me as well.

To answer Tower's question, they are not sold in the US because they are not ANSI/Snell certified. They are certified in Europe (CE certification). The shop in the UK told me that the rear of the helmet is not quite as beefy as US helmets. Don't know if it is true and I wrecked one of mine in an accident - the back of the helmet crushed. I don't think it is a big issue.

ANyway, these seem to be getting tougher to get into the US. I know that Totalcycling won't ship MET's to the US anymore.

Mike
If anyone wants one...The Human G-Nome
Nov 4, 2003 8:51 AM
I have a brand new, tryed on but never ridden with, MET Strad (color: silverish/white) I'll sell for 90 bucks plus shipping. It's been sitting in my bike room for 3 months doing nothing. It's a size large and doesn't fit me well.

raymond@squadraSF.com if interested.
re: MET Stradivarius review... ditto World Class LidAkirasho
Nov 4, 2003 9:26 AM
Lucky enuff to buy 3 MET Strads before MET clamped down on it's vendors and aside from being unique in a Pneumoid world, they offer great fit and ventilation on a par with anything in my current arsenal (including Pneumos, Boreas and Catlike among others).

MET's absense from the US market is a company decision as their Euro certification pretty much matches CPSC standards here... It's too bad but you might still be able to find Euro vendors willing to ship to the US (I got mine from Bike Park in the UK).

On a sidenote, the MET 5 Element is another killer lid that while orignially marketed as a MTB lid, can be seen in the Pro Euro road peloton. Also snagged one of these.

http://www.psycle-therapy.great-ride.com/helmet_comparison.htm

Be the bike.
re: I am running 5th Elementteoteoteo
Nov 4, 2003 11:05 AM
On my last foray to France I bought a 5th Element after trying it on in a shop and loving it. I ride MTB and road in the helmet and it is hands down the best helmet I have ever owned. I use a Pneumo also but it just doesn't feel as comforatble as the MET. Anybody wanna start and Import business????
re: Damn CPSCteoteoteo
Nov 4, 2003 11:08 AM
I guess I can't import a helmet that isn't tested for CPSC standard.....
you could if...Akirasho
Nov 4, 2003 11:22 AM
... you marketed as a head cooling devise or ornamental bird feeder as opposed a bicycle helmet...

Find some way of alternative marketing (didn't Rogain begin as a BP med?) that appeals to your clientel then have at it.

Of course, you'd still have to convince the folks at Lake Como too...

Be the bike.
Got bothboneman
Nov 6, 2003 4:58 AM
I've had the Strad for almost four years after splitting my Giro in a meeting with the road surface. It's as everyone's described. Fits my head well, cool and comfortable. Recently bought a V Element. Fits almost as well as is even cooler. That being said, I like the Strad so much I just bought another on EBay.

As for selling in the US, it meets CE standards which is good enough for a large part of the World and good enough for me.
Mine arrived yesterdaycoonass
Nov 4, 2003 5:15 PM
from Xpedia ( http://www.frogbuilder.com/index.phtml?co=9 )
It also came with a free pair of cycling gloves (similar to PI's Gel-lites...