RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Which bike?(14 posts)

Which bike?adaml
Oct 31, 2003 12:52 PM
I do alot of mtb right but would like to get a good road bike. I am looking at the '04 Trek 1500, which is around $1100. One of the main reasons is that the only lbs that sells road bikes in my area is a Trek/Fuji dealer. I would like to get into some races maybe next spring or later. Would this be a good bike for me? Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
nice bikeandy02
Oct 31, 2003 1:01 PM
the 1500 is the 2200 frame of last year with cheaper cranks,sti and a few other parts. I think it will work fine, if you can get clipless pedals and shoes. the next option up would be a 2000 and it would be a smoother riding frame.
nice bikeadaml
Oct 31, 2003 1:53 PM
yeah I'll definately get clipless. I don't know if I can afford the 2000 at this time though.
re: Which bike?mbakercad
Oct 31, 2003 8:28 PM
I too have been looking at the '04 Trek 1500 and the 2100. I think the 2100 cost about $300 more but you get both carbon seat stays and clipless pedals. The 2100 might have a higher end handle bar and seat posts too but that really does not factor into my decision any.

I hope to get a 2100 this spring but $$ will be an issue.
re: Which bike?dgangi
Oct 31, 2003 10:43 PM
You mention the dealer is a Trek/Fuji dealer. I test rode both the Trek 2300 and Fuji Team ('03 models on both) and I liked the Fuji better. In fact, the Fuji Team is the bike I purchased because I liked it better than all other bikes I tried.

You might check the prices on the Fuji compared to the Trek. I think you will find that for the same money you will get more bike.

I am not saying that Treks are bad bikes. Conversely, I think Treks are great bikes. I own a Trek MTB and love it. They are just not a good value in my opinion, and that's why I recommend you look at the Fuji.

Thx...Doug
Trek 1500 @ $1100 is way too much money for too little bikecollectorvelo
Nov 1, 2003 1:43 AM
The Trek 1500 is made in Taiwan by the same factory that makes lots of other road bikes; so the quality is great.
However, You can get a Full Ultegra Bike for $1100 or less! And end up with a bike that is 3 to 4 lbs lighter and a much better investment and more fun to ride.
Bikes you can find online that are Full Ultegra, lighter, and have better wheels are Scanttante for $995, Fuji Team for $995, Motobecane le Champion for $1095, Douglas Fusion for $1299, Leader for $949. All these bikes have better wheels except the Leader. (all of these bikes are made in Taiwan; same as Specialized, Felt, Trek 1500, and many other highend bikes)
With online sales you will also avoid sales tax of $60 to $80 and many sites ship free. So you just get more bike.
The Motobecane and the Fuji are under 17lbs; the others are under 18lbs - the Trek 1500 is about 21lbs.
hey collectorvelokneebreaker
Nov 1, 2003 11:50 AM
you mean the cheap ritchey pro wheels are better than the trek bontager select wheels? Trek, klein, Lemond and Leadeer Bike use them.

why not check the reviews on RBR.com and you will notice the fuji and motobecane have the cheaper wheels.

get your facts right!
Bontrager wheelsdgangi
Nov 1, 2003 3:32 PM
don't come on an $1100 Trek (they are only on the 2000 series and higher, which are $1800+ bikes). The 1000 series Treks have some cheap-o Mavics.

And Bontrager wheels are marginal at best. Their Race Lite wheelset is no better than the Ritchey Pros. Bontrager hubs are notorious for being weak.

In fact, ever since Bontrager became a Trek brand a number of years ago, their quality has gone downhill IMHO. Bontrager used to make great parts across the board...now they make either decent parts or absolute crap, depending on what you buy. And Bontrager components are very high priced, just like the rest of the Trek lineup.

Thx...Doug
i think trek, lemond, kline, & bontager are all the same companysaldog
Nov 1, 2003 5:09 PM
I am just geeting really into road biking; but it is my understanding that trek lemond and kline use bontager wheels as that is the trek 'house brand'. guess that is not a bad thing; but they could not be considered boutique type like ritchey, mavic, velomax, wtb, cane creek, etc -- they are either house or custom - not both
not that its a big deal; as long as they all have a good warranty and perform well; i guess
You are correctdgangi
Nov 1, 2003 5:33 PM
Trek, Klein, Lemond, Gary Fisher, Bontrager -- all Trek brands.

Bontrager used to be a "boutique" brand, but now it is considered big-company stuff and does not have the reputation it once enjoyed.

Bontrager seems to make either "decent" parts or complete crap. In the MTB world, the only Bontrager parts that I know that have a good reputation are Maverick and Valiant rims. Bontrager Jones tires are also well liked. But their wheelsets are constantly panned, primarily due to weak hubs. Their cranksets are notorious for braking. Stems, bars, posts -- all so-so or worse.

It is unfortunate that the Bontrager brand had to take this turn for the worse. Most Trek buyers I know of replace the Bontrager parts the first chance they get.

Thx...Doug
re: Which bike?saldog
Nov 1, 2003 3:54 AM
all I can say is; if you dont want to be confused; do not ask the dealer about the tubing.

the other thing is; I think with Trek you are paying a lot for the Name unless they give you a big discount; guys I ride with think treks are overpriced yuppy bikes;
re: Which bike?adaml
Nov 1, 2003 8:31 AM
I looked at the Fuji for the same price and the guy said it had lower end componets compared to the trek. So is that not true? I've looked at some bikes on ebay like you were saying such as the Motobecane. But I didn't know how good they were, and thought it might be better to get one locally. Should I get one of these? Thanks
re: Which bike? Fuji has higher level partssaldog
Nov 1, 2003 4:56 PM
Fuji bikes, and most other brands, have higher level of parts at a given price point than Trek. However, Trek is famous for hanging a nice rear der on a bike with marginal parts everywhere else.
But my point is that you can get a Full ultegra bike for $1000 or $1100 - why settle for the low end parts on a Trek 1500 - that bike should be $750 by value of parts.
EBAY is good; and so are some online sites; but a big retailer can get you a great deal in a store.
Fuji & Motobecanedgangi
Nov 1, 2003 5:09 PM
Which Fuji does your dealer sell for the same price as the Trek? Fuji Team? or Roubaix?

Regardless, your dealer is crazy if he tells you the Trek has better parts than the Fuji for the same price. My '03 Fuji Team was $995 on an '03 closeout special (smoking deal in my opinion) at it has full Ultegra drivetrain and Ritchey Pro cockpit and wheels. The typical dealer price for the '03 Team is around $1400.

Trek's cheapest Ultegra bike is the 2300, and that bike is $2000. The Fuji is a flyweight at 16.8 pounds. I think the Trek 2300 weighs 1 pound more (like almost 18 pounds).

Motobecane also makes great bikes. Their frames are made by Kinesis, and the better Moto frames are made with Kinesium (treated Aluminum alloy). There is an LBS in my area that sells Motobecane (same place I purchased my Fuji) and I was *very* impressed with them. The only downside to the Moto's is the stem/bars/seatpost are all no-name-house-brand "M-Wings" crap. But the rest of the bike is very good.

Check the Fuji or Moto and I think you will be impressed...

Thx...Doug