RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Friday poll: Your toughest ride, ever(53 posts)

Friday poll: Your toughest ride, everElefantino
Oct 31, 2003 8:18 AM
Mine was that Ventoux thing on July 17, or my first loop of Lake Tahoe when I was a kid.

Others?
24 hr solo MTB race on a singlespeed...SS_MB-7
Oct 31, 2003 8:24 AM
Personally, that was one of my toughest, but most gratifying, races in my 10 yrs of riding. As a result, I am no longer doing 5-man 24 hr races...only solo.

Here's a pic of me on the last lap:



In the end, I finished 6th after logging nearly 290km in 16 laps.

Ride Hard,
Mike B.
http://www.one-speed.com
24 hr solo MTB race on a singlespeed...sn69
Oct 31, 2003 8:41 AM
Whoa-nelly. I've done one two-man 24 hour race (Laguna Seca in 99), and that was painful enough. I was, however, quite inspired by the one-legged fellow who raced solo.

Doing it single speed is truly an accomplishment. REALLY impressive....

I'm looking to join the cult of "one f-in speed" soon. ...Can't wait.
Scott
tell us (me) more! is there a ride report anywhere?JS Haiku Shop
Oct 31, 2003 9:08 AM
rundown on the bike? reflection on the ride? gear? mechanicals? suggestions? advice?
Here you go...SS_MB-7
Oct 31, 2003 9:35 AM
You can get a full rundown on my bike on my website: http://www.one-speed.com/

Here's a quick summary of my laps that I documented for later use:



Here's a letter I wrote to my lighting sponsor (Lupine/Gretnabikes.com) following the race:

Finally, the sun was setting at the "2003 Chico Racing 24 Hrs of Summer Solstice". I was currently in third place, but the effects of the heat and sun were beginning to wear on me. I was anxious for the coolness of the night to provide some much-needed relief. With each passing minute as the sun was setting, I was being to feel like a new man again. I felt refreshed and invigorated. Also, I thrive in night-riding so I was looking forward to strapping on the Lupine Edison helmet light.

As the sun began to disappear, I rode back into base-camp to mount my Edison helmet light. The Edison is truly a bar-mounted light, but can easily be mounted on the helmet with the very secure mount (http://www.lupine.de/en/bike/bike/gl_ledheads.html).

My first few evening/dusk laps didn't really require a light, but periodically, I'd switch on my back-up bar-mounted TurboCat S15 to get through the darker forested singletrack sections. With a single 5.5 Ah Li-Ion soft-case battery and 11 Ah Li-Ion hard water bottle battery, I was ensured anywhere from 7.5 hrs burn-time on high (16W; 5hrs with large battery and 2.5 hrs with small) to a whopping 12 hrs on low (10W; 8 hrs with large battery and 4 hrs with small), or anything in between depending on my requirements. Since the race was held on Summer Solstice (longest day of the year), I didn't actually need to turn on the Edison until just after 9:30pm. My plan was to start with the small 5.5 Ah battery pack and run the Edison on high and go for about 2.5 hrs, and then switch to the larger battery. In the interim while using the larger battery, the smaller battery would be charging (3 hrs) so it would be ready-to-go, if required. As it turned-out, the low setting on the Edison was more than enough to handle the tight-n-twisty-n-technical singletrack, so I was able to squeeze out ~4.5 hrs (3 laps) with the small battery, which still had juice left, but switched to the larger battery for the remainder of the night. The small 5.5 Ah Li-Ion battery pack is easily stored in a jersey pocket and is not even noticeable...it's that light and that small. Very nice.

Using the Edison as a helmet light, I have to be careful not to shine the Edison into onlooker's eyes, because it is very, very bright. The time-keeping volunteers would be sure to remind me if I forgot as I entered the transition start/finish tent. But, the confused and dazed looks on their faces with their squinty eyes and one hand over their eyes was reminder enough for me as I entered with the timing tent.

Using the Edison is like cheating. I lost count of the number of racers that commented to me: "Wow! That light is bright!" To which I replied: "Yes...and this is on the low setting too! What until you see the high setting!"

Negotiating the singletrack was particularly entertaining since I was able to see absolutely every trail detail despite using only a helmet light on low. Most racers were using 2 lights: a bar-mounted and a helmet-mounted light. This was absolutely not necessary with the Edison. The only reason I even had my bar-mounted TurboCat S15 was as "just-in-case" back-up light. I've been racing 24 hour races for 9-yrs and I've lost count of the number of racers I've seen walking the course with zero light. That can't be fun.

Some other things I noted during the race with the Edison was that people hate it when you race behind them. In fact, the second place rider (I was in third at the time) demanded that I pass him because my Edison was too bright and causing him vision problems due to the shadow it was casting. He asked me: "Do you want to pass?" "Um, no, I'm OK he
Part 2...SS_MB-7
Oct 31, 2003 9:37 AM
Some other things I noted during the race with the Edison was that people hate it when you race behind them. In fact, the second place rider (I was in third at the time) demanded that I pass him because my Edison was too bright and causing him vision problems due to the shadow it was casting. He asked me: "Do you want to pass?" "Um, no, I'm OK here." He was going at a nice pace so I didn't feel the need to pass. He then said: "No, please pass me. Your light is driving me nuts!" So, I passed him. My Edison, even on low, was casting such a bright and broad light that it was casting his shadow in front of him and also drowning-out his miniscule halogen lights.

For the most part, the night laps proceeded like clock-work. The only mechanical I had (not much can go wrong on a singlespeed, right?) was at 2:00am when a 1" branch jammed itself between my rear rotor and chainstay. This pried the rotor into the inboard piston/caliper-side. I didn't notice it right at the time, I just pulled out the branch and kept racing. First downhill, I grabbed my brakes and no rear! Fortunately, the front is so strong and well modulated, I didn't even need the rear. I got off the bike, looked for possible leaks, etc., at the caliper...nothing. In looking from behind, I noticed the rotor was butted right-up against the inboard piston. "Oh no!" I thought to myself. Every rider who passed asked if I needed any help, etc., but there was nothing they could do for me. So, I had no rear brake and had to ride the remaining 10km with a permanently dragging brake.

Once back at base-camp, I removed the rear rotor from my back-up bike and installed it on my primary bike. A little fiddling and I was ready-to-go. Unfortunately, that little bit of rest took its toll on me as I was starting to tighten-up, plus I was getting cold. I decided to take some time off. All-in-all, I was off for ~2.5 hrs. At which point, I decided if I was going to get back on the bike, I had to do it now before my muscles really tightened-up. I grabbed some fresh clothes and headed-back out.

Ultimately, I ended-up finishing 6th out of 34 racers. This was my first 24 hr solo race, but certainly not my last. I thrived on the challenge of racing for 24 hr solo and I also enjoyed the added challenge of doing it on a singlespeed against 33 other 24-/27-speed racers. Special thanks has to go out to my very supportive wife, Cari, and my incredible 2-and-a-half year-old son, Tyler for his constant "Go Daddy, go!" cheering!

In the following paragraphs, I'd like to provide a little more information with regards to the Edison, and in particular, a head-to-head comparison against the NiteRider Storm HID.

The construction and attention to detail on the Lupine Edison is truly incredible. Pictures cannot do the light, battery, charger, etc. justice. American lighting companies have a few things to learn from Lupine. Every conceivable consideration has been factored-in by the engineers at Lupine. It is a very well thought-out system. Other companies claim to have a smart charger, but the Lupine is truly a smart charger.

Prior to the race, I had an opportunity to borrow a fellow soloist's NiteRider Storm HID and was able to compare the two lights head-to-head.

First, the NR's mounting bracket with the ratchet increments does not seem to be very secure. It only takes a little bit for the light to jump down to the next ratchet increment. Also, the head-unit seems to swivel laterally in the bracket. There is a screw in the underside of the bracket, but it is covered by a Velcro strip. The Edison mounts securely to the head-mount unit and is allowed to swivel up/down, but remains in it's position. Surprisingly, during a test ride, the NR Storm did not move as I anticipated it would, and remained in the appropriate position.

In comparing the beams, they are nearly identical in pattern. This is understandable since both have bulbs manufactured by Welch-Allyn. Howev
Part 3...SS_MB-7
Oct 31, 2003 9:38 AM
In comparing the beams, they are nearly identical in pattern. This is understandable since both have bulbs manufactured by Welch-Allyn. However, the Edison is ever-so-slightly broader at the center, whereas, the Storm is more of a spot.

Both lights appear to have the same ring pattern when shining against a white wall and both cast the same effective outer diameter. In looking at the reflectors within each bulb, they both appear to be identical. Even on low (10W), the Edison was only a tad dimmer than the NR. On high, the Edison is noticeably brighter than the Storm.

Color-wise, the two are different. The NR Storm HID is far more blue whereas the Lupine Edison is whiter.

Weight-wise, the NR Storm head-unit is 207g vs 169g. The NR Storm battery is 730g vs 530g. Total system weight = 973g for the NR Storm and 699g for the Edison. The distribution of the weight is nearly centered with the Edison whereas with the NR, it is definitely cantilevered forward. I had to really tighten my helmet straps to avoid excessive helmet movement. Another fellow soloist with a NR Storm commented during the 24 hrs race that his neck was beginning to get tired. He attributed it to the helmet-mounted NR Storm. I never experienced any neck problems during my night laps.

I'd like to personally thank Bill Gentile and Jud Umberger @ Gretnabikes.com for the Edison. As well, I'd like to thank Jud for his best efforts to get me a spare 5.5 Ah Li-Ion soft-case battery only days before the race, but unfortunately, UPS couldn't deliver on-time even though it was sent Expedited with guaranteed delivery by Friday. The battery arrived Monday morning....too late UPS. Also, I'd like to thank Mike Waller @ Lupine for his continued technical support. The Gretnabikes/Lupine combination is truly a unique teaming that yields incredible results!

Ride Hard,
Mike B.
http://www.one-speed.com
I checked out your website and....BrianU
Nov 1, 2003 8:55 PM
I see you have great taste in beer.

Brian
A man after my own heart ...Humma Hah
Oct 31, 2003 10:05 AM
How hilly was the ride, and how long were the hills? I personally find singlespeed is actually an advantage on short, steep hills. On many types of terrain, singlespeed is at least equivalent to geared.

Early in September, I did the ultra-flat 2-day 2-track 185-mile Tour de Canal along the C&O towpath on the singlespeed cruiser, and the bike was consistently in about the top 25%. I'd geared 2.3:1, and who needs gears when it's all flat?
Angeles Crest Centurylotterypick
Oct 31, 2003 8:29 AM
Didn't train for it. Never did it before nor saw it.

I was young, still got sick right after I finished.

Became a better cyclist by like 100% afterwards. Mullholland is a hill? Charge!!!!
The Death RideCHRoadie
Oct 31, 2003 8:36 AM
Did the first 4 passes no problem. The ride back through Markleeville to Carson Pass killed me: 95 degrees, dry as a bone, strong headwind. I cracked about halfway up Carson and called it quits. Next year I will finish!!!
oh boy, this is a though onecyclopathic
Oct 31, 2003 8:39 AM
several candidates:

- first 300km brevet (busted knees, walked every major hill)
- first BMB (started with cold finished with pneumonia; was coughing up blood 100mi to finished)
- SM100 (crashed 3mi into ride, DNFed at 60mi. Rode from checkpoint to checkpoint bleeding. Lost 8-10oz of blood, 3hr in ER/20 stitches)
- Quadzilla (busted knees ~80mi, DNFed after 240mi, 3mo in therapy, still haven't recovered)
No as hard as some of the above but..Dave Hickey
Oct 31, 2003 8:48 AM
Mine would have to be one of my first single speed rides. I went out on a chilly December day and headed south for about 35 miles. I had a great,wind at my back, ride. For some reason it never occured to me that the reason I was having so much fun was it had a 25 to 30mph tailwind. I tuned around and got a cold blast of reality real quick. I couldn't shift to an easier gear and really wasn't dressed for the windchill. It sucked but I made it home.
Broadside into the rear wheel of a left turning car(nm)ismellcabbage
Oct 31, 2003 8:56 AM
A hard one to answervelocity
Oct 31, 2003 8:57 AM
Probably my toughest ride was a training ride last year. It was part of a spring training series, and late in the series, an epic 100-mile-plus ride with lots of climbs. I'd missed a couple of rides in a row due to business travel -- had been unable to ride. Trying to keep up with a group whose fitness had gone up while mine had plummeted was very disheartening. I had to walk one steep hill. Went off the back of my group and joined another. Toughed it out, but boy was it tough.
Cannonball 300spluti
Oct 31, 2003 8:59 AM
Seattle to Spokane 13 hr. 20 mins. Non Stop
Three mile loopmoneyman
Oct 31, 2003 9:01 AM
Not mine, but I saw it. It was three miles of gently rolling hills near Austin. The rider was in her late 20's and bald as a cue ball due to chemotherapy. Her cancer started in her breast and metastasized to her lungs, spine and brains. But she did it. I don't know if I could climb a mountain that high.

$$
The Lonest Day...biknben
Oct 31, 2003 9:05 AM
In '97, I registered for "The longest day". It's a double (208 mi.) that goes from the Northwestern tip of NJ (high point) to the Southeastern tip (Cape May). It is held on the first day of Summer (that weekend actually), hence "The Longest Day".

I had done my first century just the year before. I was completely unprepared for this type of ride. Basically, I couldn't have made it harder on myself and totally bombed during the ride. A co-worker and I decided to do it together. We also decided we didn't need a support vehicle. The temps that day were in the 90's with a heat index over 100*. I started too fast and was toast before completing the first 100 miles. Thankfully, my apartment was along the route. Just a few miles past it, I was suffering heat exhaustion like I had never imagined. I was dizzy, not sweating, had chills, couldn't concentrate on the route directions, etc.

I ended up turning around and going back home. I laid in my tub for a hour with the shower hosing me down. My co-worker continued on without me. I eventually got myself together and followed the route until I found him. He ended up doing 150 before packing it in. We drove the rest of the way, passing other cyclists who were in a world of hurt.

It certainly was my longest day on a bike.
The Lonest Day...cmgauch
Oct 31, 2003 9:13 AM
Hey, I did that ride this year! We had a mostly cloudy day w/reasonable temps & I was part of a 4 man team so that certainly helped, as did our vigilant support crew.

12+ hours on the bike takes it's toll on the extremities though. My hands, feet and the like were a bit numb by ride's end. My legs were fine.

Would you consider another attempt at it? I'm trying to make up my mind about next year's ride...
You'll have to ask me again in the spring...biknben
Oct 31, 2003 10:53 AM
I can't say I have much interest in doing it again. Though you could twist my arm. :-)
Aww c'mon...we'll do it on fixed gear bikes (nm)cmgauch
Oct 31, 2003 11:20 AM
the hardest thing i've ever done..._rt_
Oct 31, 2003 9:07 AM
http://forums13.consumerreview.com/crforum?14@@.efbdecd

off road assault on Mt. Mitchell. brutal.

rt
300k in marchJS Haiku Shop
Oct 31, 2003 9:07 AM
this was not my longest ride at the time:

it wasn't the distance, rain, sleet, hail, wet & salty roads, or self-supported thang. it wasn't the 43-pound 'cross bike. it wasn't the last 90 miles riding north directly into a sustained 18-20 mph wind over "flat" illinois farmland. it was the 25-30 mph wind gusts that made that ride so enjoyable. giving everything on pan flat ground in the small ring of a triple with 50 miles left and no hills or trees as far as the eye can see is educational. left well before dawn and figured i'd be back well before dark; 16 hours later i dragged arse into town hating life, but accomplished. couldn't sleep without alcohol that night; all those hours with wind buffeting my ears left me supersensitive to any sounds in a quiet hotel. nothing harder before or since.
Last Sunday's Ride for the Roses.T-Doc
Oct 31, 2003 9:17 AM
50 degrees, 20 mph wind, lots of hills, and last but not least, rain. Hardest century I've ever done.
hard to tell between these two butclimbo
Oct 31, 2003 9:25 AM
either the day I threw my guts up after a very fast expert MTB XC race or the Wilderness 101 MTB race on a single speed (10.5 hours of racing).
re: 70 mile training ridebrurider
Oct 31, 2003 9:31 AM
in the spring of 02 getting ready for the local Nightmare Ride (178Miles)that June. It was cold & windy that day. I just felt like I got beat up by the time I got home. Getting through a bonk during the June event wasn't good either, but in the end I felt worse on that training ride.
hilly century I did at age 15gtx
Oct 31, 2003 9:36 AM
This is back in 1983 or so. I "wasn't hungry" at the first rest stop and didn't eat anything. Oops. Bonked heavily before the next rest stop and then proceeded to eat more in one sitting than I ever have in my whole life. I remember Oreos and salami--what was I thinking? Then I was burping the rest of the ride. Also didn't wear suntan lotion and got a nasty burn. I did finish the ride in a reasonable time, though. When I got home I was all sore so I decided to put Bengay on. Well, Bengay and sunburns don't mix... I learned a lot that day...
Solvang Century, spring 2001 ...Humma Hah
Oct 31, 2003 9:59 AM
... on the ss cruiser. The route climbs something like 5000 to 6000 ft, not excessive on most bikes, but that's a lot with 40 pounds of bike with only one gear, and another ten pounds or so of backpack. My left knee IT band started giving trouble about 70 miles in, and I'd nearly crippled myself by the finish, at 104 miles.
MTB-Snowshoe 24 2002, Road - Double Century w/Lanceekdave
Oct 31, 2003 10:40 AM
Snowshoe, WV. Rocks, roots, mud. 24 solo. No stop over 6 min.

Double Century - first 100 w/Lance A. 4:04, second half with non-racer buddies - 7 hours.

But my Off-Road Ironman is a close third.

somebody slap some sense into me.
Scratch that........ La Ruta De Los Conquistadores - Costa Ricaekdave
Oct 31, 2003 10:46 AM
shivers up my spine when I think back over it.
That'd be a hard one to forget! ;0) nmRoger2
Oct 31, 2003 3:21 PM
Shenandoah Mountain 100 on a singlespeed....mugg
Oct 31, 2003 10:54 AM
It was a painfully awesome race.

Click here for the race report.

Which Ventoux thing ?PatC
Oct 31, 2003 11:01 AM
Do you mean the 2000 EdT ? If you do, did you have the time to ride to the top before it started hailing ?
Sorry..a question intended for Elefantino..(nm)PatC
Oct 31, 2003 11:06 AM
Which Ventoux thing ?Elefantino
Oct 31, 2003 7:12 PM
No. I meant this July, when we used the off day during the Tour to climb Ventoux. 95 degrees at the bottom, 40 at the top and raining.
Which Ventoux thing ?PatC
Nov 1, 2003 12:45 AM
Did you start from Bedoin or from Malaucène ?
Well,it was not so bad after all (!!), since the rain at the top must have been a real blessing considering the heat you had to suffer from before reaching it !!
Anyway, weather conditions can be pretty awful when climbing le Ventoux......the worst being the very strong winds, quite like gales actually, that blow most of the time after the Chalet Reynard !! Lots of cyclists have been blown down to the ground before they could make it to the Col des Tempêtes...
Which Ventoux thing ?Elefantino
Nov 1, 2003 3:50 PM
We road the Tour route, then went down the back side (on the new, fast asphalt!).

Started in Bedoin and meandered about until we got to the mountain.

Despite the rain, I managed to get my medal at the top. And then got the heck out of there!

FWIW,
Mike
That's the route........PatC
Nov 2, 2003 12:05 PM
.....I rode too, during a 120km-century last June. Some of the riders sped down the Ventoux at slightly over 100 km/h !!! Hardly believable, don't you think so ?

Sorry for such a silly question - but what does 'FWIW' stand for ?
Patricia
My 1st day without Training Wheels when I was 5russw19
Oct 31, 2003 11:03 AM
My older brother decided I didn't need the training wheels anymore so he took them off. I got on the bike and started to pedal with him holding me up and running along side of me. He decided to give me a push down the sidewalk and I went crashing thru a neighbor's 6 foot row of hedges (they seemed a lot taller to a 5 year old!) I came out the other side and crahsed on the concrete. I got up and tried to ride again and crashed again.... this pattern went on for like 45 minutes... ride 6 feet, crash! Ride....crash! Ride...crash!

I got home and my knees were skinned and bloody, my hands were torn from landing on the gravel, and I ruined my Charlie Brown T-shirt (an actual Charlie Brown shirt, yellow with the zig zag brown band around it) and my mom saw me and was pissed! Well, she was really mad at my brother who grew bored after pushing me thru the bushes so he went off and played football with his friends when he was supposed to be watching me.

So my mom grabbed me by my arm and started to try and clean up my knees and I screamed at her to stop! I told her I had to show her something first, then I would clean up. I ran out of the house with my mom following, not quite knowing what the heck I was doing or thinking... I jumped on my bike, rode it down the driveway, down the street for a few houses, turned around and rode back home, up the driveway, across the grass to the front door, jumped off and just smiled the biggest smile of my little life! I rode my bike! All by myself with no training wheels like my older brother. My mom wasn't so excited.. she was just looking at my skinned knees and thinking about how hard I was gonna scream when she doused them with Bactine.

It was the hardest ride of my life, but it was also the most rewarding. Funny how those two traits often tie in together in life.

Russ
first "real" ride after heart surgeryoff roadie
Oct 31, 2003 11:04 AM
I had open heart surgery on April 1 to replace my aortic root, which was dangerously dialated but functioned fine.

I did a 30 mile club ride in late May. It was a 30 mile ride I used to rip through pretty quickly (100 minutes or so), and this time it was all I could to to limp through the last 5 miles to get back home.

Pretty much my entire summer of riding was tough, because I went from being inpretty good shape to pretty out of shape more or less overnight, which took a lot of adjustment.
Indeed..........PatC
Oct 31, 2003 11:20 AM
......it must have been quite a ride, elating and so frustrating at the same time, without mentioning the fear of heart problems happening, I suppose.
re: Friday poll: Your toughest ride, everukiahb
Oct 31, 2003 11:27 AM
Tour of the Unknown Coast (nm)
my last one....one of the worst days of my life.Frith
Oct 31, 2003 11:50 AM
Not physically challenging though.
I encountered another cyclist laying on the road unconcious. I tried to revive him using CPR. It was too late. That was about a month and a half ago. I haven't had the nerve to get on my bike since. I wrote about it here the day it happened and a bunch of you offered kind words of support, but I don't think I can muster the nerve to get back on the bike this season. That experience changed my life...I doubt any distance or mountain could be more difficult.
Wow.KG 361
Oct 31, 2003 4:16 PM
That would definately turn a ride bad, real quick. I hope you get over this-I commend you on trying to save his life but you've got to move on. It's not doing him any good by you not riding, and it REALLY isn't doing you any good, either. Take some time but get back on that bike. I wish you well.
4th day of the 2001 Alaska AIDS ride..................Len J
Oct 31, 2003 12:18 PM
with about 350 miles in my legs, maybe 30,000 ft of climbing, very little sleep (sleeping in tents, on rocks, overhydrated so peeing every 2 hours) I come out of the last rest stop, 18 miles to go, into a 25 mph headwind, freezing rain with 2 major and one almost major climb left. It was the hardest 18 miles I have ever rode. My legs were done, my will was teetering, up ahead I saw an orange flag on a bike (Orange flags were given to any rider who was HIV positive) & I realized that I couldn't quit. I followed that flag all the way to the finish.

I've never been more exausted on a bike, I've never been prouder of myself. Best of all, when I crossed the finish line, I was met by my oldest daughter.

Len
You da' Man, Len! Buddy of mine wrenched for that ride (nm)Dale Brigham
Oct 31, 2003 2:29 PM
not relative. buy enough = $1 per video shipping nmJS Haiku Shop
Nov 1, 2003 7:31 PM
whoops wrong thread sorry please disregard nmJS Haiku Shop
Nov 1, 2003 7:33 PM
My first hilly race.hrv
Oct 31, 2003 12:25 PM
Sept., 2002. Not that steep, only one 25 mile loop for about 3600 feet. No biggie now, but then after only riding for a year, and at race speed, it was heinous.

The worst part? I got lower back pain about halfway through and it kept getting worse the more I climbed. Towards the end, on a scale of 1 - 10, it was about a 8 or 9. Did I stop? Of course not, after driving 2 hours and paying the entry fee.

Finally, after one year of constant back pain on steep hills, I am doing something about it. Finally, just 2 days ago, saw a PT and he diagnosed the problem. Might have to change my handle to 'hillseeker' for next season!

BTW, for me right now, all road races are also rides since they're a chance for me to 'tour' a new riding location, granted at a faster pace than normal, but I still get to see new country.

hrv
Mt. Hamilton in the heat with a hangover.PseuZQ
Oct 31, 2003 2:16 PM
(I've posted on this bonk before, but...)

It was a super hot day in June, I was *very* hungover (typical at the time) and I hadn't eaten much breakfast. (A protein shake and a half a bagel.) This was part of a 70+ mile ride we were doing to train for the Death Ride. It was really hot out, I flatted, I got lost and actually headed toward the San Jose airport (brain fog), turned around, then started up. I actually had a hydration pack and two bottles. But it was hot and I'm a slow climber (faster now though.) Some guy rode up to me who had *no* water so I gave him one of my bottles. So of course later I run out of water.
Toward the top, I could only go a tenth of a mile at a time without stopping. My heartrate would skyrocket immediately.
Finally some of the people I was riding with found me as they were descending and called for the SAG car to take me down the hill (they refused to let me descend.) Me the rest of the group at the picnic area and I could barely speak, I was cramping like crazy, could barely think straight, and to top it all off I got the distinct impression the group was a little embarassed by me.

That was the suckiest ride EVER!! I've done longer, I've done more difficult, but just even thinking about this ride makes me feel icky.
Cascade Creampuff 100 SS MTBRoger2
Oct 31, 2003 3:18 PM
was the hardest event I've done. A close second is when I cracked on the Davis Double, that made for a long final 25 miles.

But the toughest ride ever wasn't suppose to be tough. Weeknight summer ride, we lost the trail mtbing on a weeknight in the Sierra's had to walk out over the mtns and thru ravines, cliffs, etc. My wife was with me, it took us about 9hrs of hiking thru the middle of the night thru everything you could imagine to get out, suprisingly our marriage survived. ;0)
re: Friday poll: Your toughest ride, everDougSloan
Oct 31, 2003 7:31 PM
http://www.midcalracing.com/5082001/5082001.htm
re: Friday poll: Your toughest ride, everWrobo
Nov 2, 2003 8:10 PM
French Alps Tour, Alp Du Huez (sp.) climb, with "Breaking Away" summer of '97. I had dehydrayted several days before and had not fully recovered but, was determined to do the climb. I mean how often does one get to do this famous climb? It has in to 90's and I was still cramping in my sleep the night before. I think I finally fell asleep upon seeing the sun rise that morning. That day it was the 21 switchbacks from hell. I thought I was going to die. At the cemetary I was greeted by our interpreter with a pop-cicle. I think It saved my life.
Dan from Detroit