RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Giant TCR-1(11 posts)

Giant TCR-1xrmattaz
Oct 29, 2003 5:20 PM
I've had my new TCR-1 for two days now, and all I can say is "WOW". What a spectacular ride! I come from a heavy mountain bike background..have owned a few road bikes in the past 25 years or so, this bike is sweet!

I'm 6'4" and currently 230lbs., the stock Mavic Cosmos wheels are holding up great, inspite of riding on the nastiest roads my town has to offer.

First experience with the Ultegra integrated shifters/brakes as well...them things are great!

Very compliant ride, possibly due to the carbon seatpost/fork/stem...(?) I've always ridden steel or titanium, aluminum definitely has it's place!

XL size TCR comes in at 19.25lbs.

I've done all the searching I could muster...please tell me about your TCR experiences!!?!!
re: Giant TCR-1dpayne
Oct 29, 2003 10:47 PM
I've had a TCR2 for almost a year now and it too is a joy to ride.At 5'9, 165lbs I was sized up on a medium frame, got rid of the stock rims and threw on some Ksyriums and carbon handle bars.Climbs good and gets down the flats comfortably.Here's a little pic of it:
I actually *expected* a TCR-2....xrmattaz
Oct 30, 2003 3:30 AM
But my LBS boss kinda messed up.

I opened the box to find a TCR-1..!
He ordered the wrong bike/right size, tho.

Price was right, I'm not complaining!!
TCR-1 for TCR-2 price = sweet! (nm)innergel
Oct 30, 2003 7:34 AM
Take it back!Bonked
Oct 30, 2003 11:03 AM
I know it will suck to give up the TCR-1, but DO NOT ACCEPT A BIKE THAT ISN'T THE RIGHT SIZE! Sooner or later you will regret that you did...
I think you got it backwards...he said wrong frame/right sizeinnergel
Oct 30, 2003 11:09 AM
I think you got it backwards...he said wrong frame/right sizexrmattaz
Oct 30, 2003 5:11 PM
Correct!

Same size, he just ordered the ONE vs. the TWO.
Price was right on, a bit more for the TCR-1, of course...but still way less than retail.

Working part time at the LBS (full time at hospital) has me buying just TOO many toys..not that I'm complaining..8^)
Another TCR-2witcomb
Oct 30, 2003 5:15 AM
I also got a TCR-2 back in June. I love the bike, I started mountain biking in the beginning of the season and followed up with a road bike. When the weather was good (summer) I was out on either of them 5-6 time a week with most of that time on my road bike.

The only problem is it's now 10°C outside, so when does summer start again?
re: Giant TCR-1aliensporebomb
Oct 30, 2003 7:44 AM
My TCR2 five minutes after I took it off the back of the car.

After about 1760 miles, I can say it's a great bike with
a great ride. It's so fast and light it's just the
sickest thing.

My only complaint is the CXP21 wheels I've had the rear go
out of true after hitting a chuckhole near a railroad track
a year ago or so. I think that would happen on nearly any
lightweight set of wheels though. Otherwise they've been
fine and the front flawless.

Short of that - it's a great bike. I want Ksyriums for it
though. After that some D-A parts.

The thing is a rocket ship - I love it. The other bad
thing: it spotlights my flaws moreso than I'd like but it
just makes me work harder.

My longest ride on it has been just short of 65 miles.
I don't see a century as being a problem either.

Great ride.
I loved my TCR2Live Steam
Oct 30, 2003 12:18 PM
I loved my TCR2. I broke it down and used the 105 gruppo to build up a Klein Quantum Pro for my wife. After doing so, I was just riding my Colnago and using the Klein when she wasn't riding it. I have to say I really missed the Giant. So much so that I rebuilt the TCR2 with Record components. Some I had and some I had to buy to complete the bike. Last Winter I bought the Composite frame and built it up with the components from the TCR2. They are really excellent frames in my opinion. Very light and very strong. I ride my bikes very hard, but they show little wear as a result. Never had a problem with them and love how they look too. I know they aren't traditional, but they sure look and ride very fast :O)

re: Giant TCR-1Thorman
Oct 30, 2003 7:04 PM
The best road bike I've ever owned......

My build up report and pics

Part 1
http://www.scottthor.com/modules.php?op=modload&name=News&file=article&sid=32&mode=thread&order=0&thold=0

Part 2
http://www.scottthor.com/modules.php?op=modload&name=News&file=article&sid=35&mode=thread&order=0&thold=0

Thorman
http://www.ScottThor.com