RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Role models and cycling(11 posts)

Role models and cyclingsuperdog
Oct 28, 2003 4:47 PM
This morning while at work, I was flipping through radio stations when I heard some guy talking about Lance and Sandra Bullock. The guy said Sandra was concerned that people would think she broke up Lance and Kristin's marriage.

I don't how valid this info really is because I didn't get the reporter's name. For all I know, this could be old news.

He explained that Sandra said Lance and Kristin decided to get a divorce when Kristin found out Lance was having an affair with an unnamed woman from San Francisco. Sandra pointed out that she did not get involved with Lance until after the divorce and after the unnamed woman from San Francisco dumped Lance. I didn't even know their divorce was final.

When all this Lance and Kristin stuff came up during the past year I really didn't care. People are entitled to their privacy. But now that it has hit the air waves I think it reflects bad on cycling and on sports in general.

I can't count the number of times the media has covered stories on football, baseball and basketball players engaging in illegal, unethical and immoral activities... and now we're talking about one of the world's top cyclists.

What kind of message will this send to our young kids - young cyclists? Or does it even matter? If this is true, I have to say that I'm bummed out.
Who cares about Lance?the bull
Oct 28, 2003 5:04 PM
I told ya all last year he was a punk!
Listen to Charles Barkley....Tom C
Oct 28, 2003 5:31 PM
"You are your kids role model, not me."
I agree..Dave Hickey
Oct 28, 2003 6:41 PM
I like Lance for what he does for cancer survivors and his cycling abilities but I could care less what he does in his personal life. I'm a survivor but I don't idolize Lance. He has never been known as real personable guy.
Just your average super star athlete....bent_spoke
Oct 28, 2003 6:57 PM
a little surprised, but I guess that it's par for the course.

I wonder how this will effect his endorsements, especially since cycling is not a major sport....
Should help the endorcementsbimini
Oct 29, 2003 8:52 AM
With the low visibility of cycling as a sport in the US I am surprised Lance get's the number of endorcements he currently gets. If it were not for his books about surviving cancer getting him into the hearts and minds of Mainstream US I doubt if you would see him on the primetime commercials.

Now he's getting 10 times the exposure all over the media for being Sandra's new boy toy. Like they say in Hollywood, there is no such thing as bad press. Who know's breaking from the bland too squeeky clean personna he curently has may open up all kinds of new advertising opportunities for him.

What kind of products should Lance promote if he develops a "bad boy" image?
Yeah, and Subaru will have to change it's pitch...bent_spoke
Oct 30, 2003 12:38 AM
from "it's what's inside"... which wouldn't seem quite right for a family wagon, coming from the "ex-family man". Other than the drug commericals, I think that he'll fade fast even if he wins next season. He's a great athlete, but not much charisma. After retirement, he goes from front page to nowhere. When's the last time you heard anyone talk about Greg Lemond other than in biking circles? I think that people'll forget who he is.
re: Role models and cyclingkoala
Oct 29, 2003 4:44 AM
Thats why I like Indurain. Quiet to the point of shy and he has faded from the spotlight. One of the all time greats who let his accomplishments speak for him. Too bad more people dont idolize his type, we instead gravitate towards the " boss of the peloton" types. It becomes a cycle as we grow up and become like them.

Smell the framesaver, Dennis
re: Role models and cyclinglemmy999
Oct 29, 2003 5:18 AM
"What kind of message will this send to our young kids - young cyclists? Or does it even matter? If this is true, I have to say that I'm bummed out."

That is the problem with the USA. Atheletes and Rap/Rock stars are their role models. Charles Barkley was right about role models.
Young kids, paying attention to Lance??? Bwahaha!!!!biknben
Oct 29, 2003 6:08 AM
I don't think you need to be concerned about Lance. Kobe Bryant, the married man, bent some woman over a chair and did his business while she cried (
i allegedly
). He got rousing cheers when he made an appearance at last night's Laker opener. Now
i that's
reason for concern

Lance??? Lance is an angel!!!
You bet.KG 361
Oct 29, 2003 6:19 AM
Besides, Lance only did what a significant sector of the population does constantly. What are the stats? 1 in 3 marriages wind up in divorce? Or is it more? I don't idealize any pop/sport stars and neither do my kids. I like Sir Charles' statement.