RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Check out this really cool '04 bike...(19 posts)

Check out this really cool '04 bike...dgangi
Oct 27, 2003 10:48 AM
Check out this bright orange 2004 Motobecane. I like the orange paint in contrast to all the FSA carbon parts. Those American Classic carbon wheels look really cool too.

Is this supposed to be the same color as the bike that won the '73 Tour de France?

And why is there is only 1 ring up front??

http://www.motobecane.com/2004leten.html

Thx...Doug
Its different...SenorPedro
Oct 27, 2003 10:59 AM
I can see how it would be cool to commemorate your 30th anniversary win with a repro color scheme or frame or something, but making a funky 10 speed out of it is just a little too weird.

They are trying to make it a 10 speed like the original, but they are just relying on the record 10 speed cassette and a single chainring.

Weird.
something to be said for that....ClydeTri
Oct 27, 2003 11:12 AM
get the right size chainring up front...dont have to worry about front derailer, no chain rub, no shifting...

granted, only for certain applications, but a bad idea..with the right chainring and rear cassette you can get a nice spread of gear ratios..
David Millar's got his own opinion on that...biknben
Oct 27, 2003 11:16 AM
Remember David's chain came off during the TDF prologue?
yupSteve_0
Oct 27, 2003 11:20 AM
perfect for tri/TT.

my tri rig has a single 46t up front; 11x21 in rear. Puts my preferred ratio smack-dab middle, with plenty of room for tweaking based on conditions. No duplicate ratios, no double-shifing.
Re: 1 ring up front?torquer
Oct 27, 2003 12:46 PM
Specifications list 53/50 chainrings, so inner chainring may be obscured behind the outer; maybe, like the Ocana paint, they're taking us back to the 70's, when 52/49 rings were the standard for "pro" bikes (at least those marketed to us crit-crazed Yanks).

Still, one ring or two, $2500 for a FSA/Record/AC carbon-wheeled bike seems a bargain, even if you wind up throwing the frame away.
Doh!torquer
Oct 27, 2003 12:52 PM
Totally missed the fact that there's no front deraileur!
(Or maybe it's some super-stealth design.)
Whatever, with that 3 tooth difference, not much call for a front deraileur in any case.
Doh!lancezneighbor
Oct 27, 2003 6:53 PM
I believe it comes with a spare ring and a spare cassette in order to fine tune the gearing. Sounds cool, simple, and only 14 lbs. One of my bikes has a 9 speed XTR cassette with no front deraileur, it has a chain guard on the front so no worries about losing the chain. It's a fun bike to ride. This motobecane looks and sounds cool.
One ring is the new trendLC
Oct 27, 2003 11:14 PM
After a few months on a single speed, a 10 speed would be a complete luxury.

I got one bike with a 48T ring and a 11-28 8 speed cassette which works pretty well in all but really steep hills. A down tube shifter also keeps me from shifting too much. Once your legs are conditioned to it you don't need all those gears.
This MOTOBECANE was written up in issue of new ROAD magbikeshopguy
Oct 28, 2003 2:53 AM
I saw this bike at the bike show and written up in the new issue of a new magazine called "ROAD" -- very nice magazine. Large page layout and lots of nice content.
But I have not seen the magazine on newsstands - has anyone else?
Funny thing was they reviewed two bikes - a Cannondale at $2600 that was 18lbs and this Motobecane at $2600 that is 14 lbs. I bet that ticked Cannondale off!
anyway, see if you can find that magazine
This MOTOBECANE was written up in issue of new ROAD magdgangi
Oct 28, 2003 5:26 AM
Was the review positive about the bike? I'm curious about how the press will receive this interesting creation. I do not know much abou the Motobecane brand, but they seem to be making some killer bikes that are actually affordable.

Thx...Doug
since you ask - review was very positivebikeshopguy
Oct 28, 2003 2:22 PM
it may have been over the line even - but i've never riden the bike so i do not know
the review says "it is the lightest road bike that we have ever ridden at 6401 grams, making it ultra fast and rising the bar for super-light race machines"
well Motobecane has got to love that review and I am sure they will sell that bike like crazy
but my question is - why do you have to quote weight in grams?? whats with that?
Maybe the magazine is Europeandgangi
Oct 28, 2003 3:53 PM
Weight in grams? Maybe the magazine you found was European and not American.

Motobecane has been getting a lot of good press about their bikes as of late. Your mention of an "over the top" review for a Motobecane bike is not the first I have heard of. The Motobecane Fly (hardtail MTB) got big press last year and won bike of the year (forget the rag who gave it the award), and somebody told me that the Motobecane Fantom FS got a rave review in last month's Bicycling magazine. I also seem to recall the Motobecane Century Elite got rave reviews last year.

Again, I don't know much at all about Motobecane. One of the LBS in North Phoenix sells those bikes and they do look very nice (including the frames). I am in the market for a new FS mountain bike and I think I might need to add the Motobecane Fantom to my list. I have the October issue of Bicycling on the way to see if this is the real deal or if somebody is pulling my leg.

Thx...Doug
Not sure I get itLive Steam
Oct 28, 2003 5:45 AM
Why build a bike with a single to commemorate the '73 TDF victory if that is a pic of Juis Ocana riding to victory in '73? He is riding a double in that pic. Seems odd and who would want to pay a premium for a bike and get less for it? If you noticed the disclaimer on the bottom, it says "Specifications subject to change without notice." They are ready for failure!
Not sure I get it - here it isbikeshopguy
Oct 28, 2003 7:44 AM
all bike specs say subject to change without notice

and if you have a super light bike and live in a flat area
then a single chain ring is probably enough

used to bikes only had 10 gears
but 3 or 4 were overlaps - so old 10-speeds were really 6 or 8
at least this is actually 10

but surely it is not for everyone; that must be why they make many other models
I got that part, butLive Steam
Oct 28, 2003 8:27 AM
why just one cr? The bike he road in the TDF had two cr's. Check the pick. I had a 10 speed that was just 10 speeds - not 20 like I have now. (forget about the overlap :O) Actually since I went to a 52 for my big ring, I have no overlap. I still don't get it if this bike is meant to commemorate his victory. Oh well!
re: Single ring.macalu
Oct 28, 2003 6:46 AM
I've been using a single ring on my road bikes for about a year. Great for commuting. With all those cogs, who needs more. Of course, mine are 42s.
It's worth it just for the components and wheelset. (nm)mmaggi
Oct 28, 2003 8:31 AM
nm
re: Check out this really cool '04 bike...weatherx
Oct 28, 2003 8:36 AM
pretty sure that frame's gonna hurt my back/butt.