RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


New Trainer: Cycleops Fluid 2 or 1upusa- HELP(10 posts)

New Trainer: Cycleops Fluid 2 or 1upusa- HELPgrande
Oct 27, 2003 10:04 AM
Ok, so my research has narrowed my contenders to two. I was going for the the Cycleops but I think it was the marketing and rediculous amount of reviews (95% positive) thayt has me looking at the 1upusa. Has anyone tried both. I actually havent tried any trainer so I 'll have to rely on others. Sounds like the cycleops has a better feel, but the 1upusa wont leak, has better build, can fold. I really cant make a decision but the insane amount of reviews sounds kinda fishy.

Anyone try both
you considered....ClydeTri
Oct 27, 2003 10:16 AM
the fluid trainer sold by Performance? gets great reviews here at rbr.com and Bicycling Magazine a few years back reviewed it higher than Cyclops..and..if you can snag a 20% Coupon and catch it on sale and get 10% team performance and 3% ebates..they practically give it to ya!
this one?gtx
Oct 27, 2003 10:19 AM
http://www.performancebike.com/shop/Profile.cfm?SKU=5639

looks like it's been discontinued...
no, this one..ClydeTri
Oct 27, 2003 10:28 AM
http://www.performancebike.com/shop/Profile.cfm?SKU=17415

and the one that isn't plus and ten dollars cheaper...
thanksgtx
Oct 27, 2003 10:39 AM
yeah, I think I'd leave off the corny remote and get this one...

http://www.performancebike.com/shop/Profile.cfm?SKU=17414

now, where do you get the 20% off coupons?
coupons..ClydeTri
Oct 27, 2003 10:44 AM
they show up in magazines and other places..watch the hotdeals forum for info...some coupons are one use only, others are multiuse...so be careful...
I'm hoping someone posts experiences with both too...No_sprint
Oct 27, 2003 10:32 AM
I've got a Blackburn bottom rung and don't like it at all. I've heard so much good stuff about the 1UP I'm about ready to go with it.
Experience - bothAnaerobic_Nut
Oct 27, 2003 11:13 AM
My 2 cents as I own both trainers currently. The Cycleops leaked and had to get a replacement, but I've relegated to my wife since she doesn't use it as much. Its a nice trainer with good, smooth feel to it, but I was also continuously overpowering it (I think max watts is 750 or so). The 1up has been a dream IMO. Extremely easy setup and infinite adjustability when taken to races. The feel is only slightly under the Cycleops and the 1up is quieter. As for wattage, if you can max it out, you should be competing against Cipo. I haven't overpowered it yet (Max is around 2500 watts). I also like the lifetime guarantee on the 1up, but I'd be surprised ift I ever get to utilize it as its just very well made. Hope this helps.
Thank you! nmNo_sprint
Oct 27, 2003 12:03 PM
How about Kurt Kinetic Road Machineronniedee
Oct 27, 2003 5:13 PM
I know you have narrowed your search, but if you're going fluid, consider the Kurt Kinetic with the big flywheel. It retails for $340, but I Googled and found it for under $300. Including shipping, I paid right at $300.

The Kurt ain't gonna leak and it's built to outlast you. Good feel. It even coasts when you stop pedaling.

My other choice was the 1UPUSA.