RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Friday challenge: who dares to post a picture of himself ?(104 posts)

Friday challenge: who dares to post a picture of himself ?PeterRider
Oct 24, 2003 11:57 AM
Bike related of course, but if possible not one with full helmet/sunglasses/suncream & co where you cannot recognize even your brother.

Below: that's my ugly mug after ~100 miles and 11,000ft climbing, wondering if I have enough time to climb to Mt Wilson before sunset.

Pierre
Don't ever dare me...Marketing Dept
Oct 24, 2003 12:06 PM
You asked for it!

That's me giving the big thumbs up!
ahhhh yes.......mattvargus
Oct 24, 2003 12:14 PM
the clown guy who turned his bike into an ice cream cart. i remember you from one of your earlier posts. definately one creative and strange dude! so what's new.....do any crazy sh!t lately?
-matt
two extremes:DougSloan
Oct 24, 2003 12:17 PM


I really like 'you & the kid'. Nice couch btw...nmrwbadley
Oct 24, 2003 8:16 PM
re: Friday challenge: who dares to post a picture of himself ?dave_w
Oct 24, 2003 12:20 PM
Ahh, the classic eyes-shut pic, but it is recent, and bike related as I had already been riding to help the legs recover after the 5k.

http://qolv.org/classic03/awards03/html/DSC00118.htm
re: Friday challenge: this may be a little more than...rwbadley
Oct 24, 2003 12:21 PM
you wanted.

Never let it be said RW held anything back.
Say I thought you always wore ....Live Steam
Oct 24, 2003 12:25 PM
a long sleeve shirt when you ride? LOL!!! Hey where's the boots?
aahhhh, my eyes! that's a sick thing to do, man nmDougSloan
Oct 24, 2003 12:33 PM
RW = really weird? :O) nmLive Steam
Oct 24, 2003 12:38 PM
right, sorry- uh, here's the only other shot I could find...rwbadley
Oct 24, 2003 12:53 PM
normally I try to be the one holding the camera.

Judging beer in San Fran
judging my a$$... looks like you were gettin bent!!!funknuggets
Oct 24, 2003 2:28 PM
Sounds good to me!

Heres me... hint, Im not the tall one. And IM HOLDING ONTO MY HELMET, DAMMIT.

Later
ahhh!!! I'm blind! (nm)ColnagoFE
Oct 24, 2003 12:35 PM
Wow. I never would have guessed Reno's so, errr, lively. (nm)The Walrus
Oct 24, 2003 5:18 PM
photo is slightly overexposedfiltersweep
Oct 24, 2003 6:09 PM
You remind me of a bike nut from the days of yore that we always called "Naked Steve."

He always attended parties nude, and was notorious for collaborating with a photographer - of taking very ordinary photos, like of a family on a picnic in the park while he was prancing around in the buff in the background. Hilarious stuff.
You have balls of steel my friend!the bull
Oct 24, 2003 6:25 PM
Or steel on your balls!

Ha!
Oh, manmickey-mac
Oct 24, 2003 8:38 PM
I can't believe I drank alcohol you made. Now I'm really starting to wonder what you put in that mead.
heh heh, it's too late to worry about that now ;-)rwbadley
Oct 24, 2003 8:42 PM
Really, it was nuttin butt honey
re: Friday challenge: who dares to post a picture of himself ?boyd2
Oct 24, 2003 12:22 PM
I don't have any bike related pictures handy, but here is one of me out sailing.
This years MS Rock and Roll 150Dave Hickey
Oct 24, 2003 12:25 PM
Remember this one of MXL01, yourself, and I?Tig
Oct 24, 2003 6:29 PM
Wow, I somehow missed the news of your latest Look bike. Wow!!! Which model is it? How's it ride? If you don't like it, I'll be glad to test ride it for a few months to shake it out!

This photo was taken last December at the Kemah Waterfront, south of Houston:
Hey Tig and MXL, how about a reunion.Dave Hickey
Oct 25, 2003 4:00 AM
I'll be back in Houston on Dec13-14. Regarding the bike, that's my LOOK KG384.
re: Friday challenge: who dares to post a picture of himself ?ColnagoFE
Oct 24, 2003 12:33 PM
sorry nothing now without glasses and helmet.
how's this?dante
Oct 24, 2003 12:35 PM
you can kinda tell there's someone there underneath all the body armor. :)

dante
(sorry, at work that's the best I can do)
Me (and Didi)TheBigM
Oct 24, 2003 12:37 PM
Me and my pal Didi at the Worlds in Hamilton.
... and my other palTheBigM
Oct 24, 2003 12:40 PM
Susanne Lungskog. I guess meeting me was good luck for her (3rd in TT, 1st in RR)!
Off the front, before getting caught and spit out the back.No_sprint
Oct 24, 2003 12:38 PM
Oh well. Sometimes I play the rabbit.
La Grangemickey-mac
Oct 24, 2003 7:52 PM
How long have you ridden with La Grange? I stopped when we left the westside in late '98. I used to be a regular fixture on the weekday morning San Vicente/26th Street rides and the La Grange ride.
The only one I could find of myself among the hundreds ofLive Steam
Oct 24, 2003 12:41 PM
pics I have taken for the club. Not quite as risque as RW's :O)
Funnymickey-mac
Oct 24, 2003 9:20 PM
I "envisioned you" with a bigger nose and smaller ears. ;-)
You've been envisioning me too? Thats ....Live Steam
Oct 25, 2003 4:33 AM
scary nice of ya':O) Big ears? My wife says I cave "cute" ears :O)
You look just like your emoticon! :o)OldEdScott
Oct 25, 2003 8:38 AM
So I've been told :O) nmLive Steam
Oct 25, 2003 12:14 PM
here goes...velocity
Oct 24, 2003 12:46 PM
here it really is... (I swear!)velocity
Oct 24, 2003 12:51 PM
here's one...PseuZQ
Oct 24, 2003 12:46 PM
At the general store at Stewart's Point on Highway 1.
very cagey lady,Crankist
Oct 24, 2003 1:11 PM
but beware of the trucker checkin' out your butt.
Who TOOK this? I'm a disbeliever. This isOldEdScott
Oct 25, 2003 4:50 PM
a seriously pro shot. Unless you run a PR firm and have a cyclist photog employee who rides with you and carries a serious camera & attitude on ride, you got this off the Web!
It was me, really!PseuZQ
Oct 25, 2003 10:39 PM
Verrrry funny. My colleague is actually a former broadcast news guy, though, and had a chance to intern with Richard Avedon. (sp?) He picked college, instead. But he wasn't there. Here's another shot from the same ride:
Next time I hire a shooter, I'll look you up. nmOldEdScott
Oct 27, 2003 7:45 AM
re: Friday challenge: who dares to post a picture of himself ?cmgauch
Oct 24, 2003 12:47 PM
My once/year mtn bike race. I held up 2 fingers 'cause I was in 2nd place. I was tied for 2nd by the finish, which taught me not to mug for the camera during a race.
re: Friday challenge: who dares to post a picture of himself ?wooglin
Oct 24, 2003 1:06 PM
Standard caption for this pic (at the Seagull Century two weeks ago): Cold, wet, tired. Pick three.

I'll biteMrCelloBoy
Oct 24, 2003 1:14 PM
At mtbr.com's May by the Bay gathering...Lon Norder
Oct 24, 2003 1:22 PM
China Camp, Marin County, CA
re: Friday challenge: who dares to post a picture of himself ?BNA_roadie
Oct 24, 2003 1:23 PM
ok, I admit I don't have near the hair left, I contribute its loss to headborad rubbing! LOL
Hey, what's that in your hand?CritLover
Oct 24, 2003 8:39 PM
I don't want to spread rumors, but, uh, that looks like a spliff! If it is, pass it on ya hog! :P
Deja vu all over againStraightblock
Oct 24, 2003 1:26 PM
I could swear I've been here before. That hill in the background looks strangely familiar.




At the Lighthouse Century in San Luis Obispo, CA, 2001 & 2003. Best I could do at work
I know Ron Badley, and I'm no Ron BadleyScot_Gore
Oct 24, 2003 1:40 PM
I'm keeping my shirt on for this one. (and a fine case of helmet hair to boot)
I Must ConfessHeron Todd
Oct 24, 2003 1:54 PM
A broken-hearted Cubs fan,
Todd Kuzma
Heron Bicycles
LaSalle, IL 815-223-1776
http://www.heronbicycles.com
Not on the road bike yet - still waiting for thatpedalAZ
Oct 24, 2003 2:08 PM
This one's from an off road triathlon 3 weeks ago.
Sure, why not?Humma Hah
Oct 24, 2003 2:29 PM
Photo credit, MB1. Sorry, don't have one sans helmet and close up, but this one shows the magnificent quads ...
and the magnificent Paramount!..nmrwbadley
Oct 24, 2003 8:22 PM
Post our ugly mugs....Part 1853
Oct 24, 2003 3:02 PM
Me at the office:



Me Mtb racing and realy hurting:

somewhat incognitofiltersweep
Oct 24, 2003 3:17 PM
I'm the guy in the red shorts... coming out of a hairpin turn in a crit.
I've got one :-)Scot_Gore
Oct 24, 2003 3:30 PM
That's me :-)filtersweep
Oct 24, 2003 3:42 PM
You've been holding out on us- I thought you'd posted everything you had from that ride ;)
You must have missed this.Scot_Gore
Oct 24, 2003 5:31 PM
I took a little artistic license with your image last holiday season. I don't know how to link to a view all of an archive post, but read my posts top to bottom for full effect.

Scot_Gore "Twas the Ride Before Christmas" 12/18/02 10:05am

Scot
One more from the same dayPMC
Oct 24, 2003 4:46 PM
One of my self portraits from that same day...
a little self shotFrith
Oct 24, 2003 3:18 PM
looking a little bit mean, despite the beautiful day
You asked for it...biknben
Oct 24, 2003 3:28 PM
On the MTB...


On the road...
I'm gameAllUpHill
Oct 24, 2003 4:23 PM
Ah, the half dome. I'm the red-shirted speck standing on the ledge.

For a cycling shot go here.
Hey, that looks just like...Ken of Fresno
Oct 25, 2003 10:16 PM
this one.

:-)
OK, here you goramboorider
Oct 24, 2003 4:28 PM
No classic pics in full uniform on a summer ride, but these are bike related anyway. THis one is with a group of friends after an epic mtb ride a month or so ago. I'm in back with the beard and green t-shirt.
This one's touring in Wales a couple of summers agoramboorider
Oct 24, 2003 4:33 PM
Holy smoke! Your bike shrank....The Walrus
Oct 24, 2003 5:28 PM
No, I was much bigger then :) (nm)ramboorider
Oct 25, 2003 3:15 AM
Me on the SS getting ready....scrublover
Oct 24, 2003 4:34 PM
to roll out the other side of this.

And linkage to Wednesdays ride pics. Yeah, I'm more of a mtb'er, but I lurk here, and manage to hit the pavement once or twice a week on the roadster. No pics of that.

http://forums13.consumerreview.com/crforum?viewall@@.efd4631
I dare!Andy M-S
Oct 24, 2003 4:53 PM
End of the heartland AIDS Ride 7 (1992). 540 miles in six days.
Very cool pic plus you had STI in 1992. I waited til 1996 nmDave Hickey
Oct 24, 2003 5:06 PM
2002...Andy M-S
Oct 25, 2003 6:04 AM
OK, OK...2002. I was tired after the ride AND tired when I posted... X-)
Sure why not!the bull
Oct 24, 2003 6:10 PM
The other one!the bull
Oct 24, 2003 6:13 PM
Ha ha ha!
ok okthe bull
Oct 24, 2003 6:22 PM
on the bike
Bull, I had no idea you had such huuge...tracts of land...nmrwbadley
Oct 25, 2003 8:42 PM
elaphantrock 03cyclist of all trades
Oct 24, 2003 6:21 PM
this was my 1st century. 5 1/2 hours solo w/ 2 hours of serious rain. looking for sub 5 next year.

http://gallery.consumerreview.com/webcrossing/images/elaphantrock03.jpg
I don't have any bike related shots that have me in themPaulCL
Oct 24, 2003 6:18 PM
But I do have a shot on an evening after a 70 mile ride with the beautiful woman who tolerates my "mistress"
chasin' down a break at the MultiLazer GP road race...Spunout
Oct 24, 2003 6:32 PM
I get bored, and usually move to the front to chase down some breaks. Animates the race a bit, and whittles down the peleton for when things get fun near the end.
I'll repost one from the pastTig
Oct 24, 2003 6:41 PM
I don't have anything recent since I'm usually the one taking the photos. This is from earlier in the year in a very old team jersey that is good for visibility during solo rides:
I personally think I'm the best looking! Note the handle ;)superdog
Oct 24, 2003 7:31 PM
or herself!CritLover
Oct 24, 2003 7:58 PM
What happened ladies, did everyone bail?

Not the greatest photo ever taken of me, but that's all I got on the pc. Besides, if you warm up right, you shouldn't look that good anyway. Oh, I'm the one on the left.
re: Friday challenge: who dares to post a picture of himself ?Sadlebred
Oct 24, 2003 8:00 PM
I am in the middle.

Ah, I will miss the cute guys of Saturn!
No bike, helmet, or sunglassesmickey-mac
Oct 24, 2003 8:22 PM
but plenty of beer and darts at Lucky Baldwin's in Pasadena. By this time the combination of Belgian tripels and sharp pointy objects had people running for cover every time I picked up the darts. If you like good beer and ever happen to be in Pasadena, I'd strongly recommend Baldwin's. The food is damn good too, especially the chicken curry. Plus the owner is a hell of a nice guy.
looks like a rockin' good time...rwbadley
Oct 24, 2003 8:38 PM
If I ever make it to Pasedena, it looks like a great stop.
Oh, yeahmickey-mac
Oct 24, 2003 8:43 PM
I was there with a beer group last weekend. In light of our prodigious consumption, the owner dropped some surprises on us. In addition to an on-the-house 3-liter bottle of Corsendonck Brown Ale, he broke out some cellared bottles of de Ranke beers, including XX Bitter and Pere Noel. It's all served at proper temperature in proper glassware. He's a real beer-lover and it shows.
Well, since a lot of you seem to have MTB pics... here's mine.Matno
Oct 24, 2003 8:38 PM
Gooseberry Mesa in St. George, Utah. Best technical playground in the world (IMHO).
re: Friday challenge: who dares to post a picture of himself ?Canadian Guy
Oct 25, 2003 6:05 AM
Here is a picture of my wife starting the Canadian National ITT in 2002.
re: Friday challenge: who dares to post a picture of himself ?Canadian Guy
Oct 25, 2003 6:14 AM
Since I posted a photo of my Wife here is one of me suffering up a hill in a local RR.
Not bike related, but a cool photo.hans
Oct 25, 2003 6:52 AM
I like to climb rocks too.
I'll bite (Paul what about this one)crewman
Oct 25, 2003 9:13 AM
This is Me (on the left) and a friend I meet
during the "Pedal the Peaks Tour" this year.
We just finished climbing through Rabbit Ears
pass in Colorado.
Hey Paul, did you forget about this picture?
I forgot all about my PtP picturesPaulCL
Oct 25, 2003 3:20 PM
For some reason, they are not on my harddrive - only on the CD you burned for me. I added my photoes to the same CD.

Oh well, I like the photo of Liz and I better anyway. That day, I got home at about 1pm from a 70-80 miler, quickly took a shower, put on some clothes, and had to run out the door. So instead of a "ride" photo, it is a post-ride photo.

Harold: How was Italy?? Did you bring the bike?? And how's "your" pregnancy coming along??

Nothing happening here bicycling wise other than me trying to get to 4000 miles (6500K) by yearend. I'm somewhere around 3800 miles. I'm not sure of the exact mileage since I went computerless in Feb/March of this year. Are you going to do the NC ride this coming summer?? If not, you are welcome to drive south and join some friends and I on a 4-5 day Natchez trace tour. We're planning to ride about 100 miles/day and camp at night. Let me know. Paul
the mondonicos and merufus
Oct 25, 2003 1:13 PM
mauro on the left, antonio on the right, and me with the really cool torelli jersey they signed for me.
Me and Lance....His Brush With Team LardbuttGregory Taylor
Oct 25, 2003 5:56 PM
Shortly after this picture was taken, Lance went on to win four more TdF's. Coincindence? I think not.
Took this one today.Ken of Fresno
Oct 25, 2003 6:06 PM
Great day for a ride up to Prather. A good 15 mile warm up then about 10 miles more of serious climbing (serious for me anyways).

;-)

Ken
Taken in June - I'm MUCH better looking now!BowWow
Oct 25, 2003 6:20 PM
And the Centurion has been supplanted by a 2001 Cervelo Prodigy... Sweet bike!
Ahh, shucks... Why not...Chicago_Steve
Oct 25, 2003 6:21 PM
Old school mountain bike racing in college circa 1991 or maybe 1992?



Thinking about vert on a seawall last summer.



Rest station on the North Shore Century last year. I'm the guy on the left...

My bike was nearby, reallyTrent in WA
Oct 25, 2003 10:38 PM
From last summer's tour of Holland and Belgium, after a long day's ride, contemplating a glass of my favorite Belgian abbey beer in Zierikzee.
Affligem dubbel?...nmrwbadley
Oct 26, 2003 10:01 AM
Is there any other?Trent in WA
Oct 28, 2003 7:02 PM
Actually, my favorite Affligem is the Noel Christmas ale, but at 9% you can only have so much before, you know, you pass out and start speaking Flemish.
Yum. I can go for a glass right now! ;-) (nm)jtferraro
Oct 27, 2003 12:49 PM
2003 TDFtoronto-rider
Oct 26, 2003 4:46 AM
re: Friday challenge: who dares to post a picture of himself ?mackgoo
Oct 26, 2003 2:30 PM
Movin to San Clemente the 17th. Hope to never have to dress like this again. For obviuos reasons.
Mugg shots....mugg
Oct 27, 2003 6:25 AM

Feeling the singlespeed burn at Walker Ranch trail in CO.

Still grinning after a hilly ride in the Front Range.

intelligent AND good-lookin'!JS Haiku Shop
Oct 27, 2003 7:07 AM
off the bike, mid october. don't be impressed, this miniature plastic $4 trophy is the only one i've ever won ;) happens to be the only no-bike bike-related pic i could scrounge-up. those shorts are my secret to success.



on the bike, late september:
Ok, here you go-sans bike. Plus a few "friends".KG 361
Oct 29, 2003 10:49 AM
I'm the 2nd one from the right. Left to right, is, my sis-in-law, Socheat, my youngest daughter Sarah, my wife Sam, and my bro-in-law, Raphael. This in front of the nautical museaum/aquarium in Monaco this summer. Sorry guys, my Socheat is happily married =)