RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Friday fun question. Tell us about your SO.(78 posts)

Friday fun question. Tell us about your SO.Len J
Oct 24, 2003 7:52 AM
Yea we can make this biking related.

Tell us your SO's (BTW, SO=Significant Other) attitude toward cycling:

1.) Does He/She ride?
2.) Does He/she do anything else athletic?
3.) How hard does He/She ride (compared to you)?
4.) Does He/She support your riding? If so why? How?
5.) Is there a limit to their support?
6.) What one thing (Outside of letting you ride whenever & whereever you want) would you like them to change about their support of your riding?

For those of you between SO's, why don't you describe either the support you would give or the support you want.

Len

PS, I'll answer later when I get a minute.
I'll bite...funknuggets
Oct 24, 2003 8:16 AM
1. Nope
2. Rarely
3. N/A
4. Sometimes, but ALWAYS complains when I ride longer than I promised. So now she takes what I say and adds 30-45 mins.
5. Yes, especially with a 2 year old.
6. Let me race and train more (which requires more time and travel which coeincides with numbers 4 and 5, which means... she supports until it takes up too much time, which seems to fluctuate depending on my 2 year old's behavior)

Let me say one more thing. I thought we were gonna have to come to blows just yesterday, I swear I nearly had an aneyurism. As some of you might know, I was recently given notice that my job is going to be outsourced (in Jan). So instantly she freaked and said she wanted to decrease debt (as a worse case scenario), and just flippantly asked how much I could get if I sold my favorite bike. I swear I almost blew a fuse. Nonetheless, I lowballed by about a grand so she dropped the question... but man... those damn SO's.

Chris
Which one? Answers differ. nmNo_sprint
Oct 24, 2003 8:27 AM
i'll bite because it's you askin'JS Haiku Shop
Oct 24, 2003 8:30 AM
1.) Does He/She ride?

no

2.) Does He/she do anything else athletic?

is jumping out of planes considered athletic?

3.) How hard does He/She ride (compared to you)?

n/a

4.) Does He/She support your riding? If so why? How?

yes.

why? because i'm dedicated and staying healthy (despite the beer), and also as it's become both a way of life and more recently a means by which i can better the community and affect others.

how? time, money, acceptance, responsibility sharing.

5.) Is there a limit to their support?

not that i've found yet. i would not spend any more time out of town for rides than this year, though (4 brevets 300 miles from home, plus multiple other travel rides this year).

6.) What one thing (Outside of letting you ride whenever & whereever you want) would you like them to change about their support of your riding?

more involvement with events, races, etc. would be nice, but is difficult due to haiku jr. i'm not complaining; things are great as is.

note to those on the other side of the fence: things weren't always this glassy smooth. mrs. haiku realized after several years and a few "long" rides (and long ride prep) that it had grown from a recreation to a dedication; things changed largely when i took an active role in the cycling community, involvement in the local club, ride leadership and responsibility, etc.; perhaps realizing the recreation has grown to become a service greater than one's own enjoyment was the key. less what i do and more who i am.

observation: there was once a time when she questioned my desire to complete a local 17-mile fun ride (citing lack of endurance), and later told me to be careful on my first century (3 st 3 mt), to be certain that i realized being able at home (yardwork, kid) was more important than finishing the ride and coming back injured. now when i mention an upcoming double or 400k, her usual response is either "have fun", or "how many miles? that's all?" i now frequently come home injured and out of commision for days to weeks at a time. there's nothing unusual about her picking me up from the ER. the mother in law is accustomed to taking Jr. last minute so mrs. can pick me up off the side of the road or trail. it's an illness.

;-)
re: Friday fun question. Tell us about your SO.Crankist
Oct 24, 2003 8:32 AM
My delicate flower of an SO put a late pork roast in last night at 9:00 pm. Apparently forgotten, I turned the 350 oven off at 6:00 this morning and set the small brown brick on the counter for her amusement/shame, if ever she arose.
She is a better cook than rider.
LMAO. That's funny! nmKristin
Oct 24, 2003 8:38 AM
LMAO. That's funny! nmCrankist
Oct 24, 2003 8:52 AM
Well, yes - providing the roast WAS forgotten.
M.
re: Friday fun question. Tell us about your SO.Kristin
Oct 24, 2003 8:43 AM
1.) No cyling SO. I must ride alone. :-(
2.) No athletic SO
3.) No supportive SO
4.) I can go ride whenever I want. But I must ride alone. :-(
5.) There is no limit, but the laundry piles up over time.
6.) That I wouldn't have to ride alone. :-)

Just kidding. No SO. A mixed blessing really. No rules, no accountability, no one to complain when I'm a slob. But no one to ride with either.
re: Friday fun question. Tell us about your SO.BigFatSal
Oct 24, 2003 8:57 AM
I'm in the same boat.... Would be nice to have someone to wake up next to, go for a long ride, then take a hot bath together after the ride (glass of wine, etc...). Maybe take some European riding vacations together... Encourage and Cheer each other on at races... And without a doubt, I'd gladly be her own personal bike mechanic, of course. Oh well, maybe someday....
Do ya need me to hose ya down with cold water? nmeschelon
Oct 24, 2003 9:56 AM
And I thought I was being discreet!!! ;>) (nm)BigFatSal
Oct 24, 2003 10:19 AM
Ah HAH!!!!! I taught I taw a pervy-tat!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! nmeschelon
Oct 24, 2003 10:30 AM
Jeez!!!!BigFatSal
Oct 24, 2003 1:44 PM
Nothin' wrong with having someone to take a hot bath with after a long, cool autumn ride! A little back rub, some laughs, good conversation, good wine..... Mmmmm...... Then build a nice fire, more wine and then... :>)

All I have to do is find this woman! Sounds so easy....
In between. But my Ideal SO...PseuZQ
Oct 24, 2003 8:53 AM
...would weigh 306 lbs and ride a Giant recumbent.

(serious answer later. maybe.)
My serious answerPseuZQ
Oct 24, 2003 11:11 AM
No SO currently but,

1) He'd have to ride and like bikes a lot.
2) "anything else athletic" *should* include deep tissue massage for moi, *should not* include golf. Could include windsurfing.
3) Re: intensity, no creampuffs, please. This is more of a mental attitude, than a speed or mileage issue for me. However, I do not want to get into any kind of competitive thing with a guy I'm involved with. (biiiggg mistake.)
4) Support: I'll crew for you if you crew for me :-)(Some day!) I think the mutual allowance of long solo rides would be key, as I really enjoy those and would not like to give them up entirely. Although riding with someone similarly inclined, especially if there's an epic adventure involved, sounds really alluring.
5) Would I limit my support of said SO? Hard to say. I think to do so would be hypocritical. By the same token I wouldn't like to financially support an amateur racer or anything.
Oh Great...dave_w
Oct 24, 2003 12:26 PM
I knew your first answer was too good to be true! :D
I'm SO Lucky!Dale Brigham
Oct 24, 2003 8:59 AM
1) She rides.
2) Aerobics, walking, weights in winter.
3) Not as much as me, but quite a bit.
4) Besides riding with me for most weeknights and some or part of weekend rides, she has twice supported me at PBP, which is actually harder than riding the durn thing.
5) Not keen on me riding alone with attractive females other than her.
6) See #5 above.

Dale
I'll play, this sounds like funjma24
Oct 24, 2003 9:04 AM
1. My wife and I bought our bikes together about 2 months ago. I have probably ridden mine 10x the number of miles.
2. She is one of the best volleyball players I have ever known (and I've known many). We both still play.
3. She'd rather stay around the neighborhood, whereas I am the explorer. I want to see where this road goes, where that one goes...
4. She thinks my riding is pretty cool, and in fact would like to ride as much as I do. But the truth is she stays at home with our kids, so she has no commute (I get 35 miles a week just to and from work). In addition, since our youngest is 8 months, he can't relaly come out on rides with us, so we kinda have to take turns. Usually it's me out on the bike somewhere. So her support amounts to staying home and watching our little one, while I take our older one (21 months, she loves it) out on weekend trips.
5. Yup. There's a limit. But it's the right one, in that I can't be gone all the time, and I can't spend thousands on a bike. Yet.
6. Hmm. Maybe it would be better if she didn't fret so much when I go on a 2 hour ride...

She really is the best.
re: Friday fun question. Tell us about your SO.853
Oct 24, 2003 9:10 AM
1.) Does He/She ride?

NO

2.) Does He/she do anything else athletic?

NO

3.) How hard does He/She ride (compared to you)?

NA

4.) Does He/She support your riding? If so why? How?

Somewhat - she bought me my first bike for christmas, she buys me gear for birthdays and christmas. But she doesn't like me riding...What's up w/ that?

5.) Is there a limit to their support?

She wants me to ride only when she's not around.
Before she comes home from work on weekdays, Before she wakes up on weekends. (She enjoys going out for breakfast on the weekends). But then she complains when I leave early and don't sleep in with her. So long rides I have to plan and let her know in advance. Her family doesn't help, they all critize that I'm always on my bike and that I should be doing something more productive. At least she cheers me on at all my races, even if I'm off the back, because of my lack of training. She is slowly realizing that it is not a fad and it is something I realy enjoy, next year will be better, I hope.
funnyDougSloan
Oct 24, 2003 9:12 AM
1.) Does He/She ride? HELL NO
2.) Does He/she do anything else athletic? IS HAVING BABIES ATHLETIC?
3.) How hard does He/She ride (compared to you)? N/A
4.) Does He/She support your riding? If so why? How? NO
5.) Is there a limit to their support? N/A
6.) What one thing (Outside of letting you ride whenever & whereever you want) would you like them to change about their support of your riding? ALLOW ME MORE TIME

My wife is very nice, a darn good wife in many respects, but a total prima donna. (She is proud of it, too.) She doesn't sweat, breathe hard, or get dirty. She will sleep to 11 if she can. This was relatively ok before having 1 kid, but since he gets up at 6 and she wants to sleep in, guess who lost his morning ride privileges? Now, I look for may moment of opportunty and spring a "is now a good time to go ride?" on her and hope for the best.

I think she ONLY allows me to ride, some, because she knows I might live longer because of it and I get really grouchy when I can't ride. Her latest tactic is to keep all sorts of fattening junk food in the house so I'll remain 20 pounds over race weight and won't even attempt racing again (she gets pregnant and I gain weight).

It's a constant negotiation, always trying to build brownie points for something else to earn my get-out-of-the-house-free ride tickets.

Doug
Dude, you are like my alter ego...funknuggets
Oct 24, 2003 9:21 AM
Are you sure we aren't married to the same woman... or twins for that matter. That is freakishly weird.

Chris
My wife's a TOTAL prima donna!Zonic Man
Oct 24, 2003 10:22 AM
She's uber girly girl.

But she rides...fast! Doug, I kid you not, the girl wears makeup on rides! There is hope...even for your girly girl.

1.) Does He/She ride?

YES

2.) Does He/she do anything else athletic?

YES, Yoga, Weights

3.) How hard does He/She ride (compared to you)?

Faster than me in the hills.

4.) Does He/She support your riding? If so why? How?

Yes, in every way. Except I like to spend money more than she does...but damn if she doesn't have to have Record and XTR....

5.) Is there a limit to their support?

Not really...but sometimes she puts family in front of our racing, which pisses me off.

6.) What one thing (Outside of letting you ride whenever & whereever you want) would you like them to change about their support of your riding?

Not much...maybe be willing to pull a bit longer out in front!
re: Friday fun question. Tell us about your SO.FTMD
Oct 24, 2003 9:12 AM
(1)Does He/She ride?

Yes, she does ride, although she's a relative newbie to the road but does mountain bike. She was getting pretty strong on the flats towards the end of August.

2.) Does He/she do anything else athletic?

Yes, she does trail running series races all of the time. Swims quite a bit and did her first tri this past summer.

3.) How hard does He/She ride (compared to you)?

She pushes herself pretty dang hard. Almost to the point where I have to tell her to back off or risk injury, burn out, etc.

4.) Does He/She support your riding? If so why? How?

Without a doubt she supports my riding. She does so by never complaining about my rides, where I'm going or who I'm going with. She's into bikes and bike stuff, so there's no guilt over buying a new jersey, etc.

5.) Is there a limit to their support?

There's limits to everything, but I haven't found hers yet.

6.) What one thing (Outside of letting you ride whenever & whereever you want) would you like them to change about their support of your riding?

She's too good of a cook, and does it too much! Dieting and eating right are very difficult when she's putting out these great meals all of the time. So I guess my answer would be let me graze more and not feel so compelled to put out meal with a main and sides each evening.

I know, I know. I'm lucky!
Does your wife have any friends like her?toronto-rider
Oct 24, 2003 10:38 AM
Yes you are very lucky.
I'll bite too:sn69
Oct 24, 2003 9:13 AM
1. Used to, but two car accidents left her too injured to ride at present. She's getting better and is starting to talk about wanting a Rivendell.
2. Tennis, rock climbing, pilates, LOTS of yoga.
3. Not very--she rides for moderate exercise, but mostly for enjoyment and sunshine...which isn't necessarily a bad thing.
4. Yes, but I know she wishes that my rides were limited to one hour.
5. Yes, frame/wheel/component upgrades that are readily evident to me often befuddle her. "But honey, I NEED those Zipp 909s!..."
6. More than anything, I want her healthy again so we can enjoy Sunday afternoon rides together like we used to.
just knowing what a Rivendell is says a lot nmDougSloan
Oct 24, 2003 9:32 AM
Very true, but she thinks "it's pretty."sn69
Oct 24, 2003 9:41 AM
Once I explained some of the geometric intricacies (of the Romulus) to her, though, she immediately put on her engineer persona and explained, in turn, to me how the geometry would benefit her biomechanics. I found it oddly exciting.....

In any case, I TOTALLY agree about having to bank-up on "husband credit/equity" to trade for goods, services and ride-time. It really is constant negotiation.
A Rivendell *IS* pretty - what's your point? (nm)Ray Sachs
Oct 24, 2003 9:49 AM
Just the one on the top of my head.sn69
Oct 24, 2003 9:57 AM
A Riv is beyond pretty. I just liked her simple take on things. I tried to talk about the subtle differences between medium and long point lugs, but that just drew a blank stare. I pulled out a Sonoma-built Ibis Spanky that I'm still waiting to build-up to show her the flawlessness of the TIG welding. She stared at me. I argued passionately about the sublime simplicity of downtube shifters. She stared at me.

I asked what it was about the Riv that she really liked. My bride, a no-kidding internationally recognized molecular biologist and former engineer, looked at me and said "it matches my biking outfits."

I love her, you know. She makes me smile.
My turn.Len J
Oct 24, 2003 9:16 AM
1.) She rides.
2.) Yoga, running, walking, some lifting (for health).
3.) Longest ride 65 miles, about 14MPH. Not as long or hard as I but she has improved. I really enjoy recovery rides with her and her friends.
4.) Yes, she does support my riding. She wants me healtier, and believes that I work hard & have earned whatever "Toys" I think I want. I am more a limiter of my bike consumption than she is.
5.) Yes. I wanted to to a brevet series & she asked me not to. When I asked why she said simply; "I don't mind losing you for the morning on Sat & Sundays, but it sounds like I would lose you all day to train for that. I want to spend more time with you."
6.) She worries when I'm out on a 4+ hour solo ride. After the accident, she worries more than I would like. She doesn't say much, but I wish she could relax more.

Len
OK, here's mineScot_Gore
Oct 24, 2003 9:21 AM
1.) Does He/She ride?
Yes
2.) Does He/she do anything else athletic?
Yes, circuit training, hiking, canoeing, ballroom dance
3.) How hard does He/She ride (compared to you)?
She's a 12mph occasional rider on MUTs with a max distance of 20-25 miles
4.) Does He/She support your riding? If so why? How?
Yes. It works best for all if I ride at dawn. If I can't she helps me find another window (or we skip it).
5.) Is there a limit to their support?
Yes, it is a hobby after all. So her support fades if there's a percieved interferance with things like paying the bills, raising the child, etc.
6.) What one thing (Outside of letting you ride whenever & whereever you want) would you like them to change about their support of your riding?
This is one that I'll check off and call done. We went through a minor conflict over riding where we both discovered that it really wasn't about the bike : ) We worked it through and we've reached a better place.

Scot
re: Friday fun question. Tell us about your SO.bimini
Oct 24, 2003 9:28 AM
1) Only on a cyclocross, I have a cyclocross also for casual rides with my wife.
2) No
3)She thinks I'm nuts for wanting / needing to go so fast
4) Too some degree. I regards to health benifits, but she does think I'm a bit obsessive for wanting / needing to go so fast, far and frequently
5) She let's me know when I'm spending too much time on the road or letting cycling interfere with lifes othe minor priorities.
6) Quit making fun of my spandex
I have a stand in.....spluti
Oct 24, 2003 9:31 AM
1.) Does He/She ride? No

2.) Does He/she do anything else athletic? Chase squirrels

3.) How hard does He/She ride (compared to you)? N/A

4.) Does He/She support your riding? If so why? How? Yes..as long as I bring home a "cookie".

5.) Is there a limit to their support? Dinner time

6.) What one thing (Outside of letting you ride whenever & whereever you want) would you like them to change about their support of your riding? Don't look so sad (major Pout) when I leave.
Pic of stand inspluti
Oct 24, 2003 9:32 AM
Pic of stand inspluti
Oct 24, 2003 9:33 AM
My takeDropped
Oct 24, 2003 9:32 AM
1.) Does He/She ride?

No, but if she did she would crush me.

2.) Does He/she do anything else athletic?

She runs marathons (3:30 best)

3.) How hard does He/She ride (compared to you)?

NA

4.) Does He/She support your riding? If so why? How?

Yes. She knows that I've got to get out on the weekend for my rides (in addition to the daily commute). She knows that I have to spend money on maintenance, etc. She's always encouraging me: "Why don't you go for your ride before we go out."

5.) Is there a limit to their support?

Yep. We have a 2 year old and a 3 month old. I can't go ride all day; she'd kill me. Of course, I'd be an idiot if I thought that it was acceptable to ride 100 miles every weekend and leave her home with the kids.

6.) What one thing (Outside of letting you ride whenever & whereever you want) would you like them to change about their support of your riding?

I wish she understood that I NEED that new Vanilla frame. I know I bought the Pinarello in January, but honey, the Vanilla is just soooooo pretty!! And it's made down the street!
re: Friday fun question. Tell us about your SO.hrv
Oct 24, 2003 9:33 AM
1. She just started riding 'seriously'.

2. An awesome, stylish snowboarder.

3. No hard riding for her yet, but looks like a natural - very 'bella en selle' (sp?).

4. Full support. Appreciates how it has made me fitter, and
allowed me to quit a previous herbal vice, which at the same time was costly for me in terms of health and wallet.

5. Only limits are if I say I'm going to drive to a race more than 2 hours away, makes me question if worthwhile. Things like 'Why do you want to drive 4 hours to finish in last - can go on a ride by yourself here' - damn honesty!

6. Can't think of anything out of the ordinary. I didn't get married to ride by myself all day, every day. Now that she is getting into biking, life couldn't be better. She is more than excited about going to Italy too!

Really helps that we don't have kids.

hrv
re: Friday fun question. Tell us about your SO.mapei boy
Oct 24, 2003 9:34 AM
We have his & hers Colnagos. Ain't that cute.

Her Colnago has Record. Mine has Chorus. Ain't that gallant.

She does more miles than me. But I'm faster.
Former riderdzrider
Oct 24, 2003 9:42 AM
She's won trophies in bi/tri events as a Clydesdale (now Athena).

No other sports and does little if anything lately.

She doesn't interfere much with my riding/running, but does much of the scheduling of our family'w time which does interfere.

I'd like her to work out regularly - we get along better when she does.
re: Friday fun question. Tell us about your SO.Sadlebred
Oct 24, 2003 9:43 AM
No SO....

1.) Does He/She ride? No SO
2.) Does He/she do anything else athletic? No SO
3.) How hard does He/She ride (compared to you)? My checkbook supports me no matter what I want to purchase as long as it has money in it.
4.) Does He/She support your riding? If so why? How?
My checkbook is fantastic.
5.) Is there a limit to their support? Until the money runs out.
6.) What one thing (Outside of letting you ride whenever & whereever you want) would you like them to change about their support of your riding?
My steel SO or my titanium SO? (nm)OffTheBack
Oct 24, 2003 9:46 AM
I wouldn't trade herRay Sachs
Oct 24, 2003 9:48 AM
Well, until Catherine Zita-Jones becomes available, loses her mind, and decides I'm the one for her!

1. Not really, just occasionally around town. No real miles. She'd probably ride more, but traffic scares the crap out of her.

2. Lots of health club stuff like yoga, pilates, swims, light weight work, rowing machine, etc.

3. NA

4. I don't know if support is the right word, but she's fine with the time and money I spend on it, within reason. So, yeah, I guess that's pretty supportive.

5. About once a year, she'll let some frustration slip out with how high a priority I put on cycling. But she generally realizes how important riding is to me, how much happier and easier to be around I am when I'm riding a lot, and how much healthier and more energetic I am from it. And how much more patient and helpful I am as a husband and dad. So, the limit is pretty far out there and rarely seen - I've got NO complaints. I give her plenty of space to pursue her interests too, though, so its pretty mutual - we're not one of those couples who have to be together all the time. I didn't really start riding until my kids were old enough not to need constant supervision - I couldn't have / wouldn't have done this when they were little.

6. I'd sort of like it if she'd ride and tour with me. OTOH, I really like the solitary aspects of riding and the social interaction with folks that aren't part of her circle. It's kind of nice to have "my thing" too. My older daughter tours with me every year for several days - that's pretty wonderful, but only likely to last a couple more years. But, ultimately, I'd love to take a cycling vacation with her from time to time.

-Ray
Jumping on the bandwagon...biknben
Oct 24, 2003 9:53 AM
1.) Does He/She ride?
NO

2.) Does He/she do anything else athletic?
Running...Got back into it to loose baby weight. Currently training for a marathon in Jan. She chases two kids around too.

3.) How hard does He/She ride (compared to you)?
N/A

4.) Does He/She support your riding? If so why? How?
Yes...because after only a couple days without riding I get really grumpy.

5.) Is there a limit to their support?
Yeah...when purchases show up on the credit card. I try to pay in cash at the LBS to hide the expenses. :-)

6.) What one thing (Outside of letting you ride whenever & whereever you want) would you like them to change about their support of your riding?
She could cut me some slack with the scheduling. She has things planned on the calendar up to a year in advance. If my riding conflicts with her schedule, I'm SOL. I have to fill in the calendar ASAP or the weekends become unavailable. If rides or races pop up I feel like a kid asking for permission.
re: Friday fun question. Tell us about your SO.MR_GRUMPY
Oct 24, 2003 9:57 AM
1.) Does He/She ride?
No
2.) Does He/she do anything else athletic?
No
3.) How hard does He/She ride (compared to you)?
N/A
4.) Does He/She support your riding? If so why? How?
Not really. Sometimes when I leave, she says "Break a leg".
She must be wishing me luck.
5.) Is there a limit to their support?
Full support between the hours of 11:00 PM and 6:00 AM
6.) What one thing (Outside of letting you ride whenever & whereever you want) would you like them to change about their support of your riding?
Not to use the words....%^&**$%%%^^ing Bikes.
We have, like, confidentiality?Alex-in-Evanston
Oct 24, 2003 9:58 AM
1.) Does He/She ride?
No
2.) Does He/she do anything else athletic?
She was a swimmer thru college, runs some, attends spin classes with me all winter.
3.) How hard does He/She ride (compared to you)?
NA
4.) Does He/She support your riding? If so why? How?
She supports my being in a good mood.
5.) Is there a limit to their support?
I am forbidden from being too wasted after weekend rides to do housework.
6.) What one thing (Outside of letting you ride whenever & whereever you want) would you like them to change about their support of your riding?
We have a satisfactory balance on this issue. That's all I ask.
re: Friday fun question. Tell us about your SO.utxjohne
Oct 24, 2003 10:02 AM
1. Complete newbie. Only doing it to be around me IMO.
2. Yes. Swim, spin, aerobics, weights, when time permits
3. See #1
4. Yes. I need something to do while she does her mba and she sees how much I enjoy it and it balances the beer.
5. Financially she cant understand some of my purchases but encouraged me to buy a Merckx this fall.
6. See #5
re: Friday fun question. Tell us about your SO.velocity
Oct 24, 2003 10:10 AM
1.) Does He/She ride?
Not yet.

2.) Does He/she do anything else athletic?
Runs, yoga...

3.) How hard does He/She ride (compared to you)?
n/a

4.) Does He/She support your riding? If so why? How?
She loves that cycling is something I'm passionate about, that it's good for my health and keeps me young & lookin' good ;-)! She also buys me cycling clothes and is an adviser when it comes to making my own purchases.

5.) Is there a limit to their support?
I work days and she nights so she doesn't want me to go on long rides on SAT AND SUN, when we can be together. Then again I want to spend time with her too and I begin to feel guilty! In other words when I'm happy because I'm nearing training heights she begins to gripe that I'm never around and that when I am I'm too tired to go out.

6.) What one thing (Outside of letting you ride whenever & whereever you want) would you like them to change about their support of your riding?
I'd like her to start riding. Definitely one of my main goals for next season is to do recovery rides with her. Knowing her she'll soon become obsessed with it herself!
re: Friday fun question. Tell us about your SO.PMC
Oct 24, 2003 10:28 AM
1.) Does He/She ride?
Yes

2.) Does He/she do anything else athletic?
Yes, she's a recreational runner and does something called "Hot Yoga" but I'm not quite sure what it involves.

3.) How hard does He/She ride (compared to you)?
She's much more recreational about her riding. Her overall power output isn't real high but she can draft at 17-18 mph for hours on end. I'd guess her longest ride to date would be between 70-80 miles. We haven't ridden much together this year as time hasn't allowed but she still gets out on her own.

4.) Does He/She support your riding?
Yes
4.1) If so why?
Because it's really all I ask for, I guess. It must be Love ;-)
4.2) How?
She's ok with the time and money spent. I never get the business about needing new "bike" stuff.
She's a stud in the feed zone at races and can do water bottles and food for more than one rider. Never once has she complained about spending her weekends following me around to road races and all the little things that involves.

5.) Is there a limit to their support?
I'm sure there is but it hasn't come up

6.) What one thing (Outside of letting you ride whenever & where ever you want) would you like them to change about their support of your riding?
Nothing really

My wife is ultra supportive. I assume that given the choice between an overweight lazy husband or a lean athletic one, she'd opt for the latter.
Here's my go at itinnergel
Oct 24, 2003 10:29 AM
1.) Does He/She ride? Not any more. She was deliberately hit by a truck when I was in Japan on a business trip in August this year. Thank God she was not hurt any worse.

2.) Does He/she do anything else athletic? Has traded in her bike for running shoes (I hope this is temporary) and is now training for her first marathon in Houston in Jan/Feb.

3.) How hard does He/She ride (compared to you)? When she rode, about 1/2 distance and 80% intensity.

4.) Does He/She support your riding? If so why? How? Yes..it keeps my healthy for the long term and she says it makes my butt look good in my jeans :-) And it keeps me from spending so much time in bars drinking with my non-riding buddies.

5.) Is there a limit to their support? Yes, when I come home with a new $100+ piece of this or that for the bike. "Why do you a)have so many jerseys, shorts, etc. b)need new handlebars, stem, seatpost, etc c)want another bike?" I ask her the same questions about her shoes and purses. Gotta reverse the whip sometimes.

6.) What one thing (Outside of letting you ride whenever & whereever you want) would you like them to change about their support of your riding? A little less complaining about #5. Other than that, nothing.

I have a fabulous and very supportive wife. If I do a rally, she'll often come along and act as my personal support vehicle, if she's not riding. I can't count how many times I've been plowing through a monster headwind or hill in the middle of nowhere and look up to see her and my daughter on the side of the road cheering. It never ceases to bring a smile to my face. The other riders seem to like it as well.

For everyone on this board, go home tonight and tell your SO "thank you" for all their support over the years. A nice bottle of David Bruce Pinot Noir to go along with the thank you wouldn't hurt either :-)
re: Friday fun question. Tell us about your SO.vindicator
Oct 24, 2003 10:31 AM
1) She does ride.
2) She does some walking as well.
3) She does not ride hard or long or frequently. Classic MUT/recreational/hybrid in the park weekend rider.
4) She does support my riding. Watches the kids when I'm gone on weekend rides or races. Rearranged her morning kid duties to accomodate my commuting. Came along to watch a practice crit (with the kids) once.
5) There is very much a limit to the support. Riding has to work realistically around work/family/kids/etc. schedules.
6) Hard to say. It'd be great if she would/could ride long rides with me at the same speed, but then we'd both be angling for training time while the other watched the kids, etc., and I'd end up with less riding time. There's not much she could realistically do at this point unless/until she quit her job. If she did that, we might be able to make some more riding work.
My SO.kjkrueger
Oct 24, 2003 10:48 AM
1. Does 9mph on a comfort bike 'round the neighborhood count?
2. Weights, yoga, water aerobics.
3. Opposite ends of the scale. She rode a very casual 10 mile jaunt w/ me once. While going downhill she asked, "How come I'm coasting down this hill and you're riding the brakes?"
4. Yes. She knows its good for my health. Doesn't want me to stop riding altogether. Watches kids when I'm riding.
5. Wants me to ride no more than 2 or 3 times a week. Upsets her that I can't ride and do chores at the same time. She'll put up with me riding more if I'm training for an event. But even so, only as long as the total training schedule doesn't last too long (10 weeks is about her limit).
6. Well, the caveat in the question excludes my #1 complaint. My 2nd wish would be for her to get addicted to biking like I am.

Most of her issues with my riding revolve around the fact that while I'm out, she has to watch the kids by herself. By the time I get home they're driving her nuts.
Here's what my wife thinks of my hobby . . .Drone 5200
Oct 24, 2003 11:11 AM
I get no respect.
problem's not the wife, it's the bike ;) nmJS Haiku Shop
Oct 24, 2003 11:25 AM
that's what she tells me. . . . nmDrone 5200
Oct 24, 2003 12:47 PM
Are those your bathing suits? nmeschelon
Oct 24, 2003 11:44 AM
not mine, they are for the kids. . .Drone 5200
Oct 24, 2003 12:49 PM
btw, the bike is no longer allowed in the laundry room. < sigh >
re: Friday fun question. Tell us about your SO.Steve_0
Oct 24, 2003 11:20 AM
1. Doesnt 'ride' in the roadie sense; uses it for fun/transportation.
2. Runner - PA state Hich School Relays Champ (In her day)
3. Sloooow
4. Yep. Doesnt care that I do.
5. Yep. Doesnt ride with me.
6. Nada
I'm a lucky guyterry b
Oct 24, 2003 11:22 AM
And I was not so lucky the first time around, so I can appreciate my good fortune.

1.) Does He/She ride?
-No

2.) Does He/she do anything else athletic?
-She's a riding instructor - is horseback riding athletic?

3.) How hard does He/She ride (compared to you)?
-She rides horses with less vigor than I ride bikes.

4.) Does He/She support your riding? If so why? How?
-120% She insists I go whenever I want and makes it easy for me to do so (like planning conflicts around my riding.)
She also listens while I convince myself that I need another bike and then tells me to go buy it.

5.) Is there a limit to their support?
-none that I have found. 20000 miles and $30k later she's still the same.

6.) What one thing (Outside of letting you ride whenever & whereever you want) would you like them to change about their support of your riding?
-wouldn't change a thing.
Tell us about your SO.Turtleherder
Oct 24, 2003 11:23 AM
1. Does she ride? Yes.
2. Does she do anything else athletic? Yes, one hell of a scuba diver, did her first two triathlons this year, loves her kayak and it was her idea to hike the Inca Trail to Machu Pichu last year.
3. How hard does she ride? I am gradually getting her convinced that sometimes you do NEED to hammer.
4. Does she support your riding? Yes, she gets home later than I do and if the weather has been good she always asks if I went for a ride and if I said I didn't she looks at me like I just swore at her.
5. Is there a limit to her support? Sort of, she isn't sold on expensive wheel sets yet but she is making noises about a $3,500.00 tri bike, so who knows.
6. What would I change? Can't honestly think of a thing.
re: Friday fun question. Tell us about your SO.Humma Hah
Oct 24, 2003 11:47 AM
1.) Does He/She ride? Yes. About 4 times a year. Her record ride is 18 miles.

2.) Does He/she do anything else athletic? She walks quite a bit on her commute, enough to be decent cardio exercise.

3.) How hard does He/She ride (compared to you)? Leisurely pace. I get no decent exercise except on hills, where she is likely to grab on and let me tow her up.

4.) Does He/She support your riding? If so why? How? Doesn't object (much) to my expenses, and time used, and likes that it seems to make me fit.

5.) Is there a limit to their support? Would throw a total fit if I ever spent $2000 on a bicycle. Thinks a couple of big events a year should be plenty, and I have to ask way in advance before scheduling major rides.

6.) What one thing (Outside of letting you ride whenever & whereever you want) would you like them to change about their support of your riding? I'd like her to participate more, maybe doing a 20-mile option when I'm doing a century, so I don't feel like I'm stranding her when I go on an event ride.
expenses?DougSloan
Oct 24, 2003 12:09 PM
Last I heard you were riding a 30 year old cruiser with 20 year old tubes. Seems like you have banked up rights to about 3 new Record equiped Colnagos by now. ;-)

Doug
Oh, I replaced the tubes ...Humma Hah
Oct 24, 2003 2:39 PM
... one failed at 27 years, and I retired the other at 29, thinking that was probably long enough.

Yeah, the bike is 32, but she tolerated, with some grumbling, $390 of powdercoat and repairs one month, a few other months of $200-300 in various parts, clothes, and tools, the $500 for the Paramount frame and shipping, and the brand new $300 beater bike I rarely ride any more. All told, probably something like $3000 in the last 5 years, and that's a lot to her.

I'm sure there are people here who spend twice whole amount that in a year, and that's fine by me. The fact is, I'm personally happier with what I'm running than I would be with three new C-40s. Its not that they aren't fine bikes, its just that NEW part.
re: Friday fun question. Tell us about your SO.PEDDLEFOOT
Oct 24, 2003 11:57 AM
She does'nt ride but gives me the opportunity to ride whenever and wherever I please.She understands this is my one big vice and probably is glad it's not drinking or fooling around.She just likes to know about when I plan to be home.Other than that and some financial restrictions on not going to far over budget I'm free to ride as I please.Lucky me.
re: Friday fun question. Tell us about your SO.Live Steam
Oct 24, 2003 11:59 AM
1.yes
2.yes - gym, rollerblading
3.not hard at all. she likes viewing the scenery at 13mph average and i need to hammer to get my rush
4.yes - she knows how much i enjoy it and how grumpy i am when i don't get my miles in. she got involved in the club because i am very involved. she likes that part of riding too - the socializing. we do weekend trips with the club.
5.n/a
6.n/a

the mrs. is pretty cool with me taking off for the day to ride with the group. she'll beef once in a while, but i think it's more of a reminder to not take too much advantage than actually being mad about it.
re: Friday fun question. Tell us about your SO.wooglin
Oct 24, 2003 12:00 PM
1.) Does He/She ride?
Been dating for a year. 6 mos ago she made me fix up her old mtb and last week she bought a road bike. Planning her first century in a couple of weeks.

2.) Does He/she do anything else athletic?
15 years of yoga.

3.) How hard does He/She ride (compared to you)?
She likes endorphins. I like pain.

4.) Does He/She support your riding? If so why? How?
Yes, she understands that its important to me to get out there often, and lets me do it. That's enough.

5.) Is there a limit to their support?
Haven't reached it yet, but I assume so.

6.) What one thing (Outside of letting you ride whenever & whereever you want) would you like them to change about their support of your riding?
Nothing.
re: Friday fun question. Tell us about your SO.cmgauch
Oct 24, 2003 12:35 PM
1.) Does He/She ride?
Yes, but not much recently (2 boys: ages 3 & 1)

2.) Does He/she do anything else athletic?
Skiing, walking, jogging

3.) How hard does He/She ride (compared to you)?
Not as hard, but has done 60+ mile rides

4.) Does He/She support your riding? If so why? How?
Yes, my ride time means she flies solo w/our boys. Does not object to my mountain, road, cross, track & commuter bikes, or the constant gear purchases. Lets me increase the ride schedule to train for specific events.

5.) Is there a limit to their support?
Yes, she needs a break too. I basically limit my rides to 1/week, some weeks I don't ride at all. Expense-wise, she's OK with my habit.

6.) What one thing (Outside of letting you ride whenever & wherever you want) would you like them to change about their support of your riding?
Nothing. I wouldn't want to spend any more time away from them than I do currently.
re: Friday fun question. Tell us about your SO.Rich_Racer
Oct 24, 2003 2:02 PM
1.) Does He/She ride?
No not much - just the odd beach-cruise at 5mph.

2.) Does He/she do anything else athletic?
Not a lot! Some rollarblading, kayaking, and hiking but not a lot.

3.) How hard does He/She ride (compared to you)?
With a greater emphasis on getting an ice-cream soon and getting a tan!

4.) Does He/She support your riding? If so why? How?
Yes - other than, as lot's of people have said, when I ride longer than I said I would. She doesn't like me riding in the dark because she thinks I'm going to die! I like it that she makes a point of cooking me a big brunch after saturday morning rides!

5.) Is there a limit to their support?
Errrm - she's never bought me anything cycling related and the only time she wanted to come to a race I told her not to because I didn't want to be distracted! I want a 2nd bike though which she thinks is completely pointless and so I'm going to find it hard to get to that money!

6.) What one thing (Outside of letting you ride whenever & wherever you want) would you like them to change about their support of your riding? Well nothing really!
re: Friday fun question. Tell us about your SO.bc165
Oct 24, 2003 1:04 PM
This is too good to resist...

1.) Does He/She ride?
She has a Kmart special that she loves to ride (occasionally) - sturdy! Funny story... She came back from one of her first rides and she brought the bike in the house for me to install a cyclometer (she's curious to know how fast she goes)... so she tells me that the handlebars kept hitting her knees and the brakes were hard to reach... after about 10 seconds I notice that the handlebars were turned around 180 degrees and she did the whole ride with them turned around BACKWARDS... we both hit the ground with laughter...6 months later we still roll on the floor when we look back on that one!!!

She's a bit goofy, and actually quite smart, and this is one of the many reasons why I do love her so.

2.) Does He/she do anything else athletic?
Yoga, Run, Walk... play with the cats. Massage - she's trained. We trade... oh yeah!

3.) How hard does He/She ride (compared to you)?
She's recreational.. I like to suffer.

4.) Does He/She support your riding? If so why? How?
Absolutely. We're a couple of free birds, love each others company and our independence.

5.) Is there a limit to their support?
No

6.) What one thing (Outside of letting you ride whenever & whereever you want) would you like them to change about their support of your riding?
Not a thing. There's other things that are hard, but in this respect, I'm a lucky guy ; )
re: Friday fun question. Tell us about your SO.theBreeze
Oct 24, 2003 1:54 PM
1.)He rides occasionally. Commuted a few times on his mtn bike this summer, but that's over with for now.

2.)No. Skis once a week in the winter.

3.)He's slow. Only rides a mtn bike. We did a week mtn bike tour two summers ago. Luckily there were four other people with us or we would each have spent the whole ride alone. He does fly past me on a downhill, but mostly because he outweighs me by 75 lbs.

4.)Support level fluctuates. We've reached a sort of detente for now. What really put him more in my corner is when he helped sag a century in Sept and watched me suffer up a 3 mile, steep climb in rain and wind at the end of the ride. I think I impressed him.

5.)Yeah, and I can tell when I've reached it. Part of our deal is that I only ride one day on the weekend. Since I work part time it's not hard for me to get in days during the week.

6.)Let me travel as many places to ride as I want. I had to miss a couple events i really wanted to do this summer, to keep domestic harmony. Through the grapevine I hear about him bragging to people about how great I ride; I wish he would tell me to my face sometime.
re: Friday fun question. Tell us about your SO.off roadie
Oct 24, 2003 1:58 PM
1) She commutes to work and goes to spin classes, but isn't up to long distance, hilly, or off-road rides. She claims she's gonna do a century next summer, and I'm not putting it past her. It'll probably have to be a slow, flat century...

2) Nope, but she's getting more intersted in going to the gym.

3) I'm no racer, but its amazing riding with her to see how hard "normal" rides are for a "pedestrian who bikes". She's gotten better over the past couple years, but whe we ride together its pretty hard for her, and barely even a "recovery" ride for me.

4) Well, she doesn't give me any grief about it, and she made me buy her a new bike cause she was jealous of mine. Sometimes she's willing to be a "third hand" for tricky repairs. I generally don't have to worry about my bike clothes being clean, because she keeps on top of the laundry.

5) She's not keen on me doing "dangerous bike stunts", or on the "greasy little bike parts" I keep bringing home. OTOH, as long as these things are "out of sight" then they stay "out of mind".

6) Um, she WILL let me ride whenever and wherever I want. I suppose if she was rich she could buy me a bike...
You are very lucky if you can ride whenever you want...miposy
Oct 24, 2003 3:09 PM
...that's all that matters. The rest is just icing on the cake. If I could ride 50 percent of the time I wanted to I'd be happy, frankly.

What I have to go through to ride twice a week is insane. We're talking Thursday nights on the MTB, and "maybe" Sunday on the MTB. The roadbike rolls from 5am to 6:30am every morning, but won't see the light of day or a group ride until next spring/summer, and that'll come at the expense of a MTB ride.

You are a very lucky man.
re: Friday fun question. Tell us about your SO.kai-ming
Oct 24, 2003 6:26 PM
1.) No
2.) Walking, a little trekking.
3.) N/A
4.) Yes
5.) Not that I have know, she has never said a negative word on my bikes. When I brought my C40, all she had said was "that's expensive"
6.) Less worry when I go riding in inland China, she worrys about safety, SARS, hygiene, and probably the girls that I may have met.
Mine's in the hospital right nowTig
Oct 24, 2003 6:55 PM
My wife has been stuck in the hospital since Tuesday due to complications of being exposed too long to lacquer based paint at work a few weeks ago. All the many tests have ruled out everything except for a neurotoxin exposure. Hopefully she's get out tomorrow.

1.) Doesn't ride much.
2.) She's a nurse, which keeps her running ALL day long, so I consider it excercise.
3.) She's a great rider for my easy recovery days!
4.) Yes, she supports my riding by letting me ride without guilt as long as I don't crash! Massages help recovery like nothing else.
5.) As long as I don't abandon her and the family, she's cool.
6.) I'd like her to ride a little more, for her sake, not mine. As for support, I can't think of anything better she could do. I'm a lucky husband!
re: Friday fun question. Tell us about your SO.mickey-mac
Oct 24, 2003 8:55 PM
1. Only occasionally but she actually does pretty well when she gets out. She can knock out a 50 mile ride without much trouble.

2. Tae Bo. Billy Blanks' studio is walking distance from our house but she avoids his classes, as he tends to sermonize before and after the class. On top of that, he refers to himself in the third person. That's just creepy.

3. Not nearly as hard, but she's a much better person than I am in almost every way.

4. Yes, because she knows I'll go nuts without it and because she likes to do her own thing. It's a two-way street.

5. Yes, I can't spend 6 or 7 away from the house on rides on a regular basis any more. That has more to do with helping with the kids than anything else. Besides, I enjoy getting out early to spend the rest of the day with the family.

6. Nothing, actually. She's very supportive about it.
re: Friday fun question. Tell us about your SO.ukiahb
Oct 24, 2003 9:54 PM
1) yep, not real far or fast, but thats OK, I still enjoy riding together...
2)Yoga, running, weights
3)not nearly as hard or fast...but we have talked about getting a tandem in the future to equalize things...borrowed one from a friend and had a great time
4)yes...also she works weekends and I usually don't, so club rides, centuries, etc. are not an issue generally
5)haven't found it yet
6)hmmm....gonna try touring together next summer, am trying to convince her that 50-60+ miles per day is reasonable, she wants to do 30-40
re: Friday fun question. Tell us about your SO.peter1
Oct 24, 2003 10:05 PM
1.) Does He/She ride?
Only when I can prod her into it. I have to take her to a scenic country spot when the weather is warm. But she likes moderate trail riding. She's got an old Specialized Rockhopper.
2.) Does He/she do anything else athletic? Running, weights, yoga
3.) How hard does He/She ride (compared to you)? No intensity, only for the scenery.
4.) Does He/She support your riding? If so why? How? Yes, she knows that I'm in a better mood if I work out hard 3-4 times a week. She also went to lots of boring mtb races over the past 8 years.
5.) Is there a limit to their support? It's kind of passive-aggressive, i.e. saying I should ride more but then saying how much she enjoys spending time with me. I get the hint, already!
6.) What one thing (Outside of letting you ride whenever & whereever you want) would you like them to change about their support of your riding? Nothing. Riding is my time alone (those of you who have been married awhile may know what I'm talking about), and I really wouldn't want her to ride with me very often. I think couples need to have places (physical and mental) where the other isn't...
re: Friday fun question. Tell us about your SO.willem72
Oct 26, 2003 2:43 PM
1) - yes

2) - always a couple of other activities - kayacking, rockclimbing, yoga etc

3) - rides hard - does early morning bunch rides (I do 1 each year at Xmas) even in very chilly winter conditions, will do 100-130 km rides at times, never flogs herself on big climbs but very powerful over rolling terrain and spints WAAAY better than me - races occasional crit (agressive and successful) - is always convinced the wind is against her

4) - yes - especially if I'm riding with her - but strangely she is dead against me running - says it'll cause me to lose too much weight (how it differs from 13,000 kms per year in terms of caloric expenditure I'm not sure) - has encouraged me to learn how to swim aged 31 - she is okay with my spending because she has similarly expensive tastes in kit and bike holidays

5) - yes - if we ride with mates and we drop her in the hills I get snarled at

6) - nope
re: Friday fun question. Tell us about your SO.KG 361
Oct 26, 2003 5:35 PM
1-no
2-yes-she's started to walk/jog/run
3-n/a
4-mostly yes. She allows (?) me to travel to the occassional out of town ride and understands my need for crawling out of bed early on a Sat or Sunday
5-not too many long rides on days that the whole family is together-weekends, etc
6-allowing me to do more of the trips/possible races/longer rides
As an aside, she knows I love it and she likes how it keeps me fit and younger looking-plus she digs me in my spandex =)