RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Any problems with Look carbon frames(13 posts)

Any problems with Look carbon frameshudsonite
Oct 24, 2003 5:57 AM
I am just about ready to pull the trigger on a new Look carbon frame, either the 381i or the kg486.

But I had a conversation yesterday with a LBS and he told me that Look carbon frames break apart. Not comforting words. But he does not sell Look frames.

Has anyone had any negative experiences with Look frames breaking or failing? My weight is about 190#
He's selling you HIS bikepitt83
Oct 24, 2003 6:05 AM
Of course he doesn't want you to buy a bike he doesn't sell. He'll tell you a really scary story to do so.

My LOOK KG461 is great after 1 season. Absolutely rock solid. I weigh 230 and logged ~2500 miles this year.
KG 381kgrider
Oct 24, 2003 6:37 AM
I had a KG 381-i and was hit by a car the frame was bowed and no crackes at all. It was totalled but, it was bowed out of alignment. It was the best riding bike I have ever owned. However, I will not buy anothe because of two rewsons; 1)25mm seatpost size and lack of options, 2) Adjustable dropouts are a poor design and were a pain until I filed them (scratched up the back and on the frame so it would bite) and superglued them in place.

If you decide to go with the 381 then I have a set of dropouts and some allen bolts I will sell for $25 shipped to you. I think I have 12 to 20 of the bolts.
I second the KG 381(nm)funknuggets
Oct 24, 2003 7:48 AM
wait...meaning the 381 is PHAT! I love mine.funknuggets
Oct 24, 2003 7:50 AM
I have not really messed with the adjustable dropouts. Just make sure they are snug on the once over on the bike. Have had ZERO problems with the bike. Fantastic.

Chris
wait...meaning the 381 is PHAT! I love mine.neil-qcw
Oct 24, 2003 8:06 AM
I have a look 381. I have about 15k on it. I like it. I would think the 386 or any of the monocoque frames would be better for a larger guy. I am 155 and would not like any more bottom bracket flex than I have right now. THe monocoque frames are supposted to be a little beefer. I have crashed it three times and it is still going strong. I, on the other hand, have been laid up for six months.
I must be a wuss...funknuggets
Oct 24, 2003 8:24 AM
I weigh 170's and find the LOOK to be relatively stiff. Maybe with 15K on it... perhaps the BB area gets squishy, but with only 4300K on my 2003, it is still tight. Not as stiff as my aluminum fondy, but close. Could be that we are different riders, but I am pretty strong power wise... I have mine full DA with Easton 90 everything, and Ksyriums and only complaint I have is that I keep breaking pedals on the right side... which is bizarre... but also the side I typically will start sprints or hard climbs outa the saddle. But that is a different subject altogether.

Im not a fan of the moncoque Looks, but have only ridden the 486. Looks cool (no pun intended), but seems fragile to me.

Chris
I'm 185 and have had 2 Look frames.KG 361
Oct 25, 2003 10:51 AM
Over 4k miles on my 271 and over 2 k on my 361. No problems. He just wants you to buy what he sells. The lbs that I deal with has had very few warranty claims on Look frames. One of the owners is bigger than me and rides a 281 with no problems. Warning! If you buy one, you won't want to ride anything else-they're THAT GOOD!
re: Any problems with Look carbon framesHorace Greeley
Oct 24, 2003 8:24 AM
I have a 381i with no problems, save for the comment above regarding the dropouts. I now have several screws "just in case" and tighten down the bolts every few rides (or a very long ride). The frame is very durable as attested to above as well as its racing pedigree.
Find a new LBS. That guy is full of sh.......Dave Hickey
Oct 24, 2003 9:23 AM
You'll have no problems with LOOK frames. The only LOOK frames that ever had real problems were the very early(1984-85) TVT build LOOK frames. Most manufacturers in the mid-80's had problems gluing aluminum to carbon tubes. The problem was solved over 15 years ago.

I'd find a new LBS....
Lovin' my 381iBigFatSal
Oct 24, 2003 9:32 AM
I've only had this bike for a few months but I must say, it's so freakin' smooth. Seems like the perfect balance between flex/stiffness. Nice fast acceleration, nimble handling, absorbs some road shock, geometry (for me)couldn't be better.... I weigh about 155 lbs so I'm not sure how it would respond for a heavier rider - but I've got no complaints. I did remove and adjust the adjustable dropouts. I agree it does seem like kind of an unnecessary thing but they haven't caused me any problems. I used loctite when putting the bolts back in and haven't had to touch them again....
Guess which bike I Iike . . .Look381i
Oct 25, 2003 2:59 AM
Had it 14 months and 6000 miles or so. Still smooth as silk.
re: Thanks for your inputhudsonite
Oct 25, 2003 5:18 AM
thanks for all the comments. I am glad to hear that there has been no serious problems. I think a little bit of loctite on the dropouts is probably a good idea.

The noted flex in the bottom bracket sounds like it could be a problem. But I guess it depends on the size of the frame, as the tube size does get bigger/stiffer as the frame size increases.