RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Frame purchase assistance(12 posts)

Frame purchase assistanceHENRY K
Oct 24, 2003 3:51 AM
I am looking to purchase a good quality frame in the off-season. I am a little uncertain about buying a used frame or even a new one on e-bay, so I would like to purchase from a reputable dealer. I am looking for advise from other readers. I am a 210 lb rider that rides from 1500-2000 miles per year. Here is the criteria: $800-$1000 (frame only or frame & fork), Comfortable for long rides, No aluminum, Not flexy on climbs, 56cm. Suggestions? I will check site if additional info is needed. Thanks all.
re: PSHENRY K
Oct 24, 2003 3:59 AM
I forgot to add that for some reason (I guess other reviews) I am leaning towards a Ritchie Road Logic frame.
Sounds like a good choice to me.dzrider
Oct 24, 2003 4:55 AM
Any frame that stays on the market as long as they have without making many changes must be working well for people. Put some nice parts on it and you'll be a happy rider. Other quality bikes in that price range are made by Steelman, Lyon, Gunnar, Marinoni and probably more that I can't think of at the moment.
re: Frame purchase assistancegodot
Oct 24, 2003 5:41 AM
First, there is absolutely nothing wrong with the Ritchey, it's a great bike.

Just out of curiosity. Why no aluminium?

I recently bought a new bike. Started out looking for custom steel ride and had no interest in aluminium. Then I rode some Al frames. Ended up on a semi-compact aluminium Orbea, which rides better than my Ti bike.

Since you're a larger rider that is concerned about bottom bracket flex while climbing, aluminium may be the way to go.

Test ride as many bikes as you can....
re: Why no AlumHENRY K
Oct 24, 2003 12:31 PM
I had a Cannondale about 4 years ago and at the end of a long ride I would just feel beat up!
re: Ritcheyjtlmd
Oct 24, 2003 5:46 AM
I've had my Road Logic for 2 years and am very happy with it. It's a good choice.
re: Frame purchase assistanceMR_GRUMPY
Oct 24, 2003 6:17 AM
Check out http://www.gunnarbikes.com
They are made by the Waterford people and use top quality tubes. The frame goes for $725 now. They use 853 and True Temper OX Platinum. They build with a 1 1/4 top tube and for 2004 they added a 1 3/8 down tube. Most frames in this price range use old technology tube sets.
The frame is great for riders over 190 pounds.
Pinarello Opera.... steel w/carbon stays. nm.russw19
Oct 24, 2003 7:52 AM
Pinarello Opera.... steel w/carbon stays. nm.deeter
Oct 24, 2003 10:30 AM
I'm currently talking to my LBS about the Opera and like what I hear. My decision is between the Opera and going custom with a Seven Axiom Ti. What are your thoughts on the Opera?
re: Frame purchase assistancegtx
Oct 24, 2003 8:05 AM
I think the Ritchey might be a tad light at your weight. I'd look at the Steelman SR 525, and he usually puts them on sale in the winter...
Agree about the weightMR_GRUMPY
Oct 24, 2003 8:27 AM
I still think that the Gunnar has a better tubeset than the 525. But that's just an opinion.
Strong Hyalite (www.strongframes.com)...miposy
Oct 24, 2003 10:28 AM
...nice steel bike, good price, money back guarentee.