RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


No more labels!(13 posts)

No more labels!Marketing Dept
Oct 16, 2003 9:32 AM
Cory's post below brings up something I have considered for some time.

Will cyclists ever want to purchase a bike with no name/decals? We are an interesting bunch. On one hand, we spend a great deal of time discussing ride characteristics of different materials, which rides the best, which is better and so on. And usually not one time do we mention brand names.

Then a post or two later, we see a post of someone's new Merckx, Pinnerello and etc and ride characteristics are not mentioned, just beauty and lust.

I recently had an early 80's Paramount repainted. While waiting to find the correct decals before the clearcoating, I couldn't get away from how awesome the frame looked without any decals. The lines appeared more defined and smooth. Rather than a graphic getting the attention, you were taken directly to the lug work and the luster of a quality paint job.

I like the look so much that I have considered having my recent rides stripped and repainted sans decals.

There is no way I would ever expect a manufacturer to drop graphics/labels from their line. Since bikes resemble so much, how would they expect to get their frame lusted after from all of the others.

Too bad quality bikes can't be singled out just by appearance, like cars. You wouldn't (shouldn't) see gaudy graphics all over a Porsche or ‘Benz. Maybe the bike makers could go back to the quality head tube badges and forget the top tube decals. I have always loved those badges and miss them on 99% of the bikes today.

Anyway, just my opinion. Anyone else out there feel the same?
the merckx post followsJS Haiku Shop
Oct 16, 2003 9:46 AM
my all-black, no label-sportin' 1000+ mile ride review a few weeks back.

the merckx review has minimal mention of the ride characteristics (but some, mind you) because i've only put 80 miles on it.

not being defensive, just pointing out that we're not all quite as superficial as we might seem.

:)

peace out.

-j
I lusted the Merckx as well as the stealth LookMarketing Dept
Oct 16, 2003 10:37 AM
(except for the Brooks saddle anyway...).

Hey, I am in the business of getting folks to prefer brand X over brand A (hence my screen name).

I just wonder how many folks would choose my made in china Tsunami over the Mercks Crono if they were to ride both without knowledge of price, material or brand.
I like the TsunamiPaulCL
Oct 16, 2003 12:18 PM
OK, I'm biased. I have one. In fact, this evening is time to start the build-up process. Can I answer your question in a week after I ride my Tsunami???????
I bet tons would be suckered if you switched the labels nmishmael
Oct 16, 2003 5:10 PM
re: No more labels!terry b
Oct 16, 2003 10:02 AM
I had one of my bikes repainted a couple of years ago and opted to not replace the graphics. Went instead with a nice set of blue flames. It looks great, but it is a bit anonymous. I'm not sure if that bothers me or not. Am currently thinking about getting my Waterford redone and on that one I think I will put a new set of decals on it, because I am copying a paint scheme they recommend and I like the way it looks.

Couple of years ago here on RBR there was a guy arguing that riders of Titanium bikes like to leave them "raw" because they want to tell the world that the bike is Ti and therefore expensive. He had had his Ti frame painted and was crowing about how he was not falling victim to this "show off" mentality. Interestingly though, he did make a point to replace the decals which conspicuously stated "this is an expensive frame."

Labels don't bother me one way or another. It's nice to show off a bit (this isn't Socialism afterall) but I can go either way with them. Decals will also often spur an interesting conversation with a stranger who's interested in the brand you're riding. I've had a few of those and they're sometimes fun.
re: No more labels!cheesecake
Oct 16, 2003 2:51 PM
It seems to me that the cheaper the bike the more labels you'll see. When I got my Giant OCR 3 I immediately removed every label that I could peel off. There were at least 10. Now I can ride it without feeling that I bought it at Walmart.
Ironyfiltersweep
Oct 16, 2003 10:30 AM
The same people who would cringe at the thought of wearing a full-team kit...

I find it looks garish to see a car with huge racing stripes on it... yet look how many cars have non-functional spoilers?

I ride a nude carbon Look- and it says LOOK all over it with the Look web address etc... it doesn't have any paint on it- but it just screams "LOOK" ;) On the flip side, the Trek that it replaced had the ugliest stiping, fonts, etc...
I understand...PsyDoc
Oct 16, 2003 11:32 AM
...the point you are making and agree with you to an extent. The decals on my ti bike are beginning to crack and I am thinking about taking them off and leave the frame "plain," with the exception of a couple of black "voler" decals on the seat-stays, because they just look good. I ordered the frame sans headtube badge, because I did not want any holes in the headtube.
Let me ask this question...Marketing Dept
Oct 16, 2003 11:55 AM
What if you visited my or any LBS and took a bike for a test ride.

And this bike rode awesome! It performed better than any bike you had ridden. The bike was your favorite color (fill in the blank) but there were no decals.

After inquiring, you found out that the bike is from a famous maker and full warranty and and all that.

Would the lack of decals cause you not to spend big bucks?

What if it cost the same as a C40? Would the lack of status keep you from buying what you thought was the best bike you ever threw a leg over?
Let me ask this question...dave_w
Oct 16, 2003 12:10 PM
hmmm, doubt it would change my plan to purchase. Interesting though. I have two ti frames that I removed the decals(top and downtube) from a few years ago. The Merlin mtb, because I thought it was stupid to spend what I had spent on a frame. The other was a used Litespeed Catalyst frame with the (too)loud rainbow decals. More recently though I find myself enjoying the look of many frames/components with colorful or loud graphics(the Mavic Cosmics are really starting to make me drool). No idea why the change is occuring.
Wouldn't hesitate.Steve98501
Oct 16, 2003 3:51 PM
After all, class is usually subtle and makes its statement with substance (awesome ride), not with glitz.
some frames are distinctive in appearanceDougSloan
Oct 16, 2003 12:06 PM
Let's see, I bet I can easily pick out any of the following with no logos:

*Cervelo P3
*Colnago C40
*Softride
*Klein
*Cannondale
*GT (most)
*Bianchi Milano
*Look (carbon)

I'm sure there are lots of others I'm overlooking.

Doug