RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Bicycle Interior Design(35 posts)

Bicycle Interior DesignIngeman
Oct 15, 2003 5:40 AM
Does anyone else keep there bike in a prominent place in their home? I need some supporting evidence to convince my "significant other" that this is pure art/the perfect place/the rightful place/......
re: Bicycle Interior Design..and anotherIngeman
Oct 15, 2003 5:42 AM
Here's some tips to make legitimate...eschelon
Oct 15, 2003 5:51 AM
Your bike being on top of the mantle does not look very artsy or decorative...it's no better than putting a tacky "I tried" bowling trophy. First thing that is needed is some kind of square or rectangle frame and board combination (with frame hooks) to give your bike the impression that it is an art piece...be sure to pick the desired framing/backing material that will give sufficient contrast to your bike...next...you need some track lighting on the ceiling that will shine its lights on the bike/framing...just like the way art galleries do...then your need to have your bike on the wall will be at least treated with respect rather than some improvised afterthought.
I guess so, but I think it would be better played with...rwbadley
Oct 15, 2003 6:17 AM
a vintage Schwinn or Raleigh or such.
Wall Queen! Wall Queen alertcyclopathic
Oct 15, 2003 6:48 AM
hell no, my bikes are too dirty go bring them in from garage. Besides in/out temperature differential/humidity will cause rust.
uhhh. no.Steve_0
Oct 15, 2003 5:53 AM
by necessity is one thing; by choice is wierd (imho).
uhhh. no.Ingeman
Oct 15, 2003 6:02 AM
no sense of humour so early in the morning??
not enough coffee...Steve_0
Oct 15, 2003 6:04 AM
sorry; but yaknow alotof guys on this bored do that.
not enough coffee...Brendano
Oct 15, 2003 6:14 AM
The person who posted this was not asking for your grumpy opinion on whether or not you approve of his decor, Steve-O, but rather whether anyone who has done something similar could also send in the evidence. Hope you've managed to get your hands on that second cup of coffee...
wow, talk about grumpy...Steve_0
Oct 15, 2003 6:29 AM
actually, he DID ask for my opinion, as he asked if other people do so. I was responding to the first question, while providing support for his wifes (supposed) position.

Please note I didn't ask for YOUR grumpy opinion and clarification (misinterpretation) of the original poster's intent.

Peaceout,

Steve
Woefully inadequate pedestal.dzrider
Oct 15, 2003 6:20 AM
The pedestal must be marble, alabaster or granite and larger than the bike so the wheels aren't hanging over the edge like a hippies heels spilling over the back of his Birkenstocks.
I have a hard time keeping my bike in the laundry room . . .ms
Oct 15, 2003 6:27 AM
My wife never would agree to my keeping it on the mantel.

One comment on your placement of the bike: the scale of the mantel and the bike do not work. You need a larger mantel or a smaller bike for the placement to look good.

My final comment: How much will it "cost" you to keep the bike on the mantel? Some improvements to the house that your "significant other" wants? More time at home and less on the bike? (Of course, the more time that you are on the bike, the less time that it would be on the mantel). Almost everything in a relationship has its price. The only issue is how much you are willing to pay.
Ingeman
Oct 15, 2003 6:53 AM
sorry guys, i did not mean to start an argy bargy, just a quick morning post to check if anyone else had intersting storage places for their bikes. The significant other bit was just by the by.
argy bargy . . .ms
Oct 15, 2003 7:26 AM
A term used by Phil Liggett and Paul Sherwen; not a term usually used in the US. But, given that I am a lawyer, "argy bargy" is part of my stock in trade. Given that there appear to be more lawyers than interior decorators that post on this board, your significant other bit was bound to elicit comments on the SO in addition to comments on your decorating dilemma.
efficient use of space - nmgf99
Oct 15, 2003 6:44 AM
More legit ideas...biknben
Oct 15, 2003 6:54 AM
http://www.resourcerevival.com/

http://www.bikefurniture.com/

Putting a bike in a room with other bike furnature would be great.
I have two bikes parked in front of the fireplace....Mariowannabe
Oct 15, 2003 6:59 AM
no room left in the garage after I bought the tandem....
celeste green cannondale?tarwheel
Oct 15, 2003 7:10 AM
Shouldn't that be a Bianchi? I've never seen a celeste Cannondale before.

If I put my bike on our fireplace mantle, my wife would stick it out with the trash the next pickup day.
sorry dude...that just looks tackyColnagoFE
Oct 15, 2003 7:24 AM
how about a nice bike print/painting over the fireplace or a cool bike sculpture? the dale over the fireplace just looks bad.
party foul: improper use of non-Merckx frame (nm)JS Haiku Shop
Oct 15, 2003 7:26 AM
in front of my fireplace..._rt_
Oct 15, 2003 7:33 AM
i've got this bike:


for some perspective i'm 5'1"


and this is the entry area/dining room in my house the night before the 6 Gap century


7 bikes, 3 people.....usually there are only my 4 bikes in that space.

rt - who needs art? i've got bikes.....
does a kid ride that bike?ColnagoFE
Oct 15, 2003 7:49 AM
i've never seen a road bike that small before other than the Colnago one.
i rode it..._rt_
Oct 15, 2003 7:55 AM
when i was a kid - i was 10 when i got it (it's a 36 cm 1976 motobecane nomad...yup, dating myself). it was my 1st "grown-up" bike. after i grew out of it my brother rode it and then the kids of family friends.

i spent a couple months last summer restoring it (story of the restoration w/lots of pics here: http://forums13.consumerreview.com/crforum?14@133.DxDwa9Uir4L^72635@.ef88e7c ) and now it sits in my living room. it's rideable except for the fact that the seat cuff bolt is bent and i can't tighten it so the saddle slips if you sit on it.

rt
in order for it to look right on the mantlejoe friday
Oct 15, 2003 8:21 AM
i'd suggest cutting it in half lengthwise.
or perhaps you could scribe fit it 'into' the wall?
in order to get it up on the mantle_rt_
Oct 15, 2003 8:53 AM
i'd need a crane!! darn thing weighs so much i think it's made with plumbers pipe!!

;-)

rt
I can put mine anywhere I want...DougSloan
Oct 15, 2003 8:57 AM
...as long as it's in the garage.

A bike is a tool or sports equipment. Unless it's a classic or signed by Lance Armstrong, I'd not try to make it art.

[I do have a bike sitting in my office at work, but we call that "evidence."]

Doug
Does anyone ride the "evidence"?ms
Oct 15, 2003 11:36 AM
Or is it a wrecked bike? I once had a very large collection of expensive herbs and spices for a case. Staffers used to ask me if they could "borrow" things from the collection. Of course, I had to say no. But, when the case was over and I said that we could get rid of the "evidence," the firm's staff cleaned out the collection within minutes.
no; product liability exhibit 1. nmDougSloan
Oct 15, 2003 12:57 PM
Looks cluttered...NatC
Oct 15, 2003 11:31 AM
as if you couldn't find any other place for it.
re: Bicycle Interior DesignAkirasho
Oct 15, 2003 11:55 AM
Be the bike.
Too static.Spoke Wrench
Oct 15, 2003 1:54 PM
to be really dynamic, you should mount it like it is charging into the room. Actually, with a sawsall and a little creativity, you could have a bicycle art display in each of two adjoining rooms.
This should dig out of the hole. Bedroom bike shot.High Gear
Oct 15, 2003 2:12 PM
We sold the house and moved into an apartment until we find another home. Well, with little room this was my solution. Thats Eddy in the back!
how about a close-up of that eddy pic? nmJS Haiku Shop
Oct 16, 2003 6:59 AM
Needs an early 70's Cinelli track bikeChainstay
Oct 15, 2003 3:17 PM
Then you have something with clean lines and skinny backstays and beautiful investment cast lugs and a patena of age and heritage. Then you have some art going on. Still my wife is not convinced. When I find the right bike on ebay I will beg and plead and maybe she is crazy enough to agree that it is art. We have the perfect spot.
Thanks for the idea!Suddha
Oct 16, 2003 6:51 AM
I sent this to my girlfriend as a joke, cos we're looking for just the right piece for above our fireplace.... She wrote back and said it's a great idea, but how about our XC skis! So that is the plan... art that gets used. And we didn't have a good spot in the apartment for our skis anyway. So I went out and bought some pegs and now the skis are hanging above the fireplace - lovely as ever. And when it snows, we can take them down and use 'em!