RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Road? SS? Cross? A ride report.(11 posts)

Road? SS? Cross? A ride report.KG 361
Oct 10, 2003 11:28 AM
I took out the SS Bianchi for it's maiden off-road excursion. I fitted my SS/fixie w/ 'cross tires and went off to Pinchot State park to explore the various trails there. They range from packed dirt/stone to very deep, loose stone, to mud, rocks, roots, and some moderately diffucult singletrack. The bianchi did well. One thing I know is, though; I've got to lower the gear ratio-I have a 42x17 but will put on an 18 and maybe a 39 up front. 10 miles of mud, rocks, twigs, logs, and smiles =)Here is "the Beast";
1/2 of the paths were like this:The lake. A foggy day!
Oops! Still don't have the multiple pic post down-sorry!KG 361
Oct 10, 2003 11:36 AM
Here they are;
>http://gallery.consumerreview.com/webcrossing/images/foggymorning005(1).jpg
>http://gallery.consumerreview.com/webcrossing/images/foggymorning002(1).jpg
>http://gallery.consumerreview.com/webcrossing/images/foggymorning003(1).jpg
>http://gallery.consumerreview.com/webcrossing/images/foggymorning003(2).jpg
>http://gallery.consumerreview.com/webcrossing/images/foggymorning004(1).jpg
Aaaaack! I give up =( nmKG 361
Oct 10, 2003 11:38 AM
Here you go...Chicago_Steve
Oct 10, 2003 1:09 PM









Steve (bored but feeling helpful today)
Thanks!KG 361
Oct 10, 2003 5:13 PM
What did I do wrong? Actually, I think I know what I did, but I'll save everyone the grief and try next time=)
Actually, if you figure it out, or Chicago Steve will help,The Walrus
Oct 10, 2003 5:28 PM
I'd like to know--I tried the multiple pic post on my ride report and couldn't get it to work, either.
This is where I learned...biknben
Oct 11, 2003 4:51 AM
Someone on MTBR was helpful enough to go through it step by step. I've done it enough that I now remember the syntax but I still keep it in my favorites just in case.

http://forums13.consumerreview.com/crforum?13@44.CbWNaEjGkT9^230088@.ef456fc/2
O.K., thanks--that's actually the procedure I tried, but...The Walrus
Oct 11, 2003 11:15 AM
...I must have missed something. I'll give it another try one of these days.
Yeah, me too. nmKG 361
Oct 11, 2003 12:50 PM
The syntax has to be exact...biknben
Oct 11, 2003 5:44 PM
You have to have the syntax perfect or it doesn't work.

You have to have the < and > and the quotes all in th eright places. Whenever I messed it up it was usually one of those that I forgot.

Also remember to check your message and images in the preview. If it doesn't look right in the preview hit "edit" and go back. I catch many of my own mistakes this way.
Here's what you were missing:BowWow
Oct 11, 2003 5:47 PM
Your urls are all correct, but your html is still missing the most important elements. You need to indicate that you are posting an image, and you do so like this:

It appears that you have forgotten the img src="..." part that must appear between the less- and greater-than signs. Every element is critical: the equals sign, the quote marks, everything. Without them you'll be bashing your head against the monitor in no time!

It is also important that your urls are typed exactly. If the target address or file name includes capital letters, you MUST type the capitals. It is generally accepted practice that all filenames, urls, etc. are always all lower-case letters with no spaces. If you follow this rule you will have much less trouble in posting.

For posting multiple pix, use the following style. The "P" means "paragraph," so a line of white space will appear between the bottom of pic1 and the description for pic2.



For image sizes on this board I usually use a width of 600 pixels, let the software determine the height by keeping the original aspect ratio, and use a resolution of 70 to 90 dpi. This makes photos with acceptable quality for internet display, and keeps the file size small enough for relatively quick loading with a dial-up connection. If the photo is taller than it is wide you will want to play with the sizing, trying to keep the entire photo on the screen. I don't know how many dpi that would be... but we all dislike having to scroll...

The above suggestion to crop your photos before posting is also highly recommended.

Hope this helps!