RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Scanning race team radios(9 posts)

Scanning race team radioscrewman
Oct 8, 2003 1:16 AM
I have a bearcat handheld scanner that I use at nascar events.
Has anyone tried to use one at cycling events.
I was wondering what the frequency range would be for there radios

Harold
They're HAM (requires license) if that helps. (nm)TFerguson
Oct 8, 2003 5:56 AM
They're HAM (requires license) if that helps. (nm)techie470
Oct 8, 2003 10:50 AM
Sorry but I don't think that's correct. A Ham radio license can't be used for a commercial purpose.

Steve
They're HAM (requires license) if that helps. (nm)Andy M-S
Oct 8, 2003 11:44 AM
Could they be GMRS? They're certainly NOT ham systems, as you point out. Even if a ham license could be used that way, it would mean that a lot of riders would need to know electronic theory and (possibly) Morse code...
You can check the Velo News article at...TFerguson
Oct 10, 2003 5:19 PM
http://www.velonews.com/tech/report/articles/3464.0.html

There could very well be a subtle distinction between these and what real HAMsters call ham, but this is what it says:
----------------------------------
Most of the professional teams out there (including Saturn) are using Alinco Radios. These are basically HAM radios and as such everyone operating them must have a license to use them. If you do not get a license to use them, then you are operating them illegally. You must have a license for all countries where the radios are used. This means every staff member and every athlete must be licensed. This is a considerable expense for a team that should be taken into account when considering using radios.
----------------------------------

TF
re: Scanning race team radiosJack9
Oct 8, 2003 12:14 PM
I think they use these;

http://www.universal-radio.com/catalog/ht/0058.html
re: Scanning race team radios53T
Oct 8, 2003 1:07 PM
In most real races (not big pro races) the guys are using FRS radios, hopefully with a privacy code. I have a scanning FRS radio, but I've never scaned a race before.
re: I had all the frequencies of the team radio's....teoteoteo
Oct 8, 2003 5:16 PM
...at LeTour but who knows where on my hard drive I saved them. I am not sure a normal scanner would pick-up the frequency but when I discussed with my Dad (a career aviator) he told me he had a radio that I could listen and commumicate with (think about the fun). He then told me he wouldn't dare to try and take it in my baggage or carry-on post 9/11 so that's where it all ended for me.

In the spirit of fun I did pick up some funny conversations on my FRS radios during the trip--we purchased them in France after arrival. On Alpe D' Huez I was getting some Brits or Aussies that were on Galibier--I think they were in the press caravan and were talking about a guy in a Kangaroo suit with a giant tail. I had throw them some rowdy humor and they had a good laugh. The best part is the radio's were only rated for 5k and those guys were waaaaay more than 5k away.
re: Once again, you are a lucky b@st*rd. :) -nmcydswipe
Oct 8, 2003 6:04 PM