RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


All this talk about jersey's begs a question(32 posts)

All this talk about jersey's begs a questionlotterypick
Oct 3, 2003 8:41 AM
What is your favorite jersey you wear now and why.

Well, mine is a Fastrack jersey which is the elite local shop.

The only thing that makes it good is that everyone waves to you.

If you wear anything else, besides Eschelon's (local team), then you get nothing.

That's a sad reason, but true.

I'm ready for the jersey I'm making. I'll love it for lots of reasons.
re: All this talk about jersey's begs a questiongf99
Oct 3, 2003 8:53 AM
Nike cycling jersery - solid orange-red color - boring. I normally don't care for Nike stuff, but this thing has big pockets, a zipper that doesn't catch on the material, and I don't remember what they call the fabric, but it's the lightest, most comfy, best wicking stuff I've tried.
re: All this talk about jersey's begs a questionTNSquared
Oct 3, 2003 8:54 AM
I have only one jersey with a full length zipper. Riding through the sweatbox of a Memphis summer - it is my favorite. Beyond that no favorites, just one that I hate because the back pockets are too small to be of much use.
Heineken Santini SMS full zip, short sleeve...Spunout
Oct 3, 2003 9:10 AM
Warm when its cold, cool when its hot. Full zip, huge pockets. I also have Mapei Belgian champion's jersey in same fabric.
That would be funny if it came with a beer belly. nmKristin
Oct 3, 2003 9:22 AM
Same as my aforementioned full zip!! nmTNSquared
Oct 3, 2003 9:25 AM
begs a questionoff roadie
Oct 3, 2003 9:17 AM
If something makes you curious, it does not "beg the question".

"To beg the question" is a specific term used in rhetorical debate. It means you have asked a question you logicvally have no right to expect an answer to- you are "begging" for something you did no earn. The clasic example would be asking somebody "Do you still beat your wife?" when in fact you have no evidence that the person EVER did so.

The fact that its become a common (mis)usage makes it all the more annoying, as its a sign people don't pay much attention to logical rhetoric any more- as if politcs today didn't already show that to be so. It does not make it an accepted usage.
Actuallylotterypick
Oct 3, 2003 9:25 AM
I had no idea how to use that word. Meaning I'm not smart.

I just tried to think of a word that seemed perhaps correct, I was wrong.

Sorry. On the bright side, people did understand the real question.
Actually: How do you get a philosopher off of your porch?Spunout
Oct 3, 2003 10:24 AM
Pay him for the pizza.
begs a questionSteveFromMaine
Oct 3, 2003 10:50 AM
I often find it facinatin what I learn on this message board. Spellin, grammah and propah use of high falutin terms like "begging the question"...

knowin da errors of my ways, I was prodded into looking furthah a feild for the propah usasge and found these 2 URLs
http://gncurtis.home.texas.net/begquest.html
http://skepdic.com/begging.html

dis heah pages made it easiah for me to understand.

Oh yeah, alismost forgot, as to my favorite jersey its a US Posties jersey that a couple of my friends chiped in and bought me this summah..
Ayuh. (nm)PseuZQ
Oct 3, 2003 11:28 AM
re: All this talk about jersey's begs a questionPEDDLEFOOT
Oct 3, 2003 9:20 AM
A Pearl Izumi Quisp jersey.Quisp was my favorite cereal as a kid.The little space guy on the front always gets a smile.
A couple of my favorites...russw19
Oct 3, 2003 9:46 AM
Alfa Lum Olmo....
A couple of my favorites...russw19
Oct 3, 2003 9:51 AM
This is one of my own...
It was also probably the last year I would call myself "fast"

Russ
Speedy Gonzalesbimini
Oct 3, 2003 10:10 AM
Because I'm the Fastest Mouse in all of Mexico!

That's all folks.
fave jerseytarwheel
Oct 3, 2003 10:27 AM
My favorite is a Jelly Belly team jersey. It fits me perfect, is very comfortable and has bright colors. Louis Garneau jerseys are also very comfortable, and I've got several of their "flag" jerseys I like a lot. Voler jerseys also get high marks, and I've got several of their "map" jerseys of various countries.
La Vie Claire...........................nmDave Hickey
Oct 3, 2003 10:36 AM
depends on the ride nmJS Haiku Shop
Oct 3, 2003 10:41 AM
ps...favorite jersey that i don't have yet:JS Haiku Shop
Oct 3, 2003 10:43 AM
on backorder through 2010, when i will finally be able to afford it instead of spending money on stupid bikes.
Ugly yet extremely practical...PseuZQ
Oct 3, 2003 11:04 AM
My high-vis orange jersey from Pace, available here.

http://www.pacesportswear.com/Cyber.asp?Sid=1&Lid=1004&Mode=ViewProd&Cat=13

I like to wear it off the beaten path where I really, really want to be seen, Tioga pass, Mt. Hamilton, Lake Berryessa area, etc. In Yosemite I had two people compliment me on it (one ranger, one motorist) saying they could see me for miles, and around Berryessa I had a Cali "redneck" say the same thing.

I don't wear it around town as much. ARPs like to tease me about it.
Acqua - Sapone full team kitfrankamo
Oct 3, 2003 12:02 PM
I always get great workouts in it. You can't leave the house in full zebra stripes and not ride like a madman.
How Soon??????BigFatSal
Oct 3, 2003 12:15 PM
Dude, when's the jersey gonna be ready??? Can't wait to see it!!!! Good luck! Was fun doing a communal design, group effort kinda thang...
Well...lotterypick
Oct 3, 2003 12:32 PM
Once the order is in then it takes 8 weeks, but....

I'm having a slight problem.

They need camera ready art for the cross with the chain ring.

Any thoughts on where we can get that. I just wanted a slightly better than simple cross with the chainring, but have no idea where to get the images.

I think they could work it up as long as I gave it to them. Meaning, they need some picture of a cross to use and some image of a chain ring.

I would have thought a standard design program they had might have that kind of stuff, but they wanted me to give them something if I had it or it may cost money.

In any case, I'm going to do it, just need to find the images or art.
I have one word for you, Photoshop!TNRyder
Oct 3, 2003 2:12 PM
My favorite is a Louis Garneau, red w/black diomonds. Fit is perfect, and the fabric wicks very well!
If someone in VAncouver is reading ..toomanybikes
Oct 3, 2003 2:34 PM
There is alarge and very good celtic cross in stanley park down by brockton point, Have them go and take a picture of it - failing that I can take a picture of a colour plate in one of my books - let me know

jim-gilchrist@shaw.ca
What are you tinking?Dr Lizardo
Oct 3, 2003 3:24 PM
I can't believe you people think this is a good idea. Why don't you just put run me off the road on the back of a jersey? You can puncuate it with PRO LIFE. Yeah nothing like bringing political or religous beliefs into your sport. Why not a jersey with an elephant on it or a donkey or a buddah or a swastica or satanic cross? What would you say to somebody that had a satanic cross on a jersey? That's it, I'm gonna make a jersey with a satanic cross on it, anybody want one. I not going to apologize for these remarks. I find it offensive that you are allowed to continue to bring this subject up in this forum. I think the jersey is a bad idea. I just hope that people don't start associating cyclists with christians. Maybe instead of spending a lot of money on some lame jersey you should donate the money to educating at risk kids or something. If anybody cares to explain to me why this is a good idea you can reach me at doctorelizardo@yahoo.com. Please do not reply here this site is for cycling and the religion of cycling.
No contest....DrPete
Oct 3, 2003 3:01 PM
It's all about the Pearl Izumi Ben & Jerry's jersey. I've met more people and started more conversations over that jersey. And it was worth it for the look on her mom's face when the little girl in the middle of Bethesda, MD, yelled "Look! Cows!"

Must wear the matching socks, of course...

DrPete
My team and the shortsPack Meat
Oct 3, 2003 3:05 PM
The Haul'n Ass Race Team. The jersies aren't fancy but I love the team and the guys I ride with are just a great bunch of guys and they are talented riders to boot.

The pictures are available at www.haulnass.com. Email the webmaster to purchase jersies and shorts.
This is my favouritetoomanybikes
Oct 4, 2003 8:59 AM
But I hardly ever wear it any more - it's wool and scratchy, and I want to keep it - not trash it .....
This is the one I wear ..toomanybikes
Oct 4, 2003 9:04 AM
.. the most - just because
My favoritiesal0
Oct 5, 2003 5:13 AM
Couple of my favorities

1st Very-y-y cheap ($9)jersey from ALDI (but very convinient in hot (up to 40°C) weather despite short zip and single pocket due to CoollMax and mesh back
http://gallery.consumerreview.com/webcrossing/images/aldi_crone.jpg

2nd Not so cheap but Goretex Pro with CoolPower - very aero (20% Lycra) and cool looking, but unusable above 25°C, as CoolPower is not so cool in hot.
http://gallery.consumerreview.com/webcrossing/images/Gortex_pro.jpg
Picturesal0
Oct 5, 2003 5:23 AM
Is it possible to include several pictures directly into message? It seems that I have seen such messages before, but I don't know how to do it.