RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Which bike computer to go for?(12 posts)

Which bike computer to go for?Saddle_Sore
Oct 3, 2003 8:02 AM
Okay, I have just installed my new Shimano Ultegra groupset onto my bike and I noticed that the levers are "flightdeck compatible". Is this computer any good or is it chock full of gimmicks that I will never need?
Are there any computers out there that are must have's? I quite like the look of the new Cateye OS1 - anyone out there used it yet?
cheapest one you can findmohair_chair
Oct 3, 2003 8:16 AM
The only computer that will work with your levers is the Shimano flightdeck computer.

What do you really need in a computer?

The only thing I want is: current speed, distance, elapsed time, max speed, and average speed. I want the display to show my current speed all the time, and display other info on a separate line underneath (some cheap ones don't). I want it to auto-start. A clock is very nice. Everything else is just bells and whistles.

I buy the Cateye Mity 3 computers on sale for $15. If they break or get thrashed or whatever, I'm only out $15. With the fancy whiz bang models, you're out $75-100 or more.
One note about the Flightdecklotterypick
Oct 3, 2003 8:33 AM
One thing that apparently many people who used the Flightdeck like is the ability to see what gear you're in.

While it only takes a look down and back, I've heard it mentioned by all that they love that ability.

I think I'd like it.
Ditto Cateye Mity 3.TNSquared
Oct 3, 2003 8:50 AM
Unless you want cadence, the Mity 3 has all the basic features, is durable, and was recently as low as $13 at Nashbar and Performance.

Something I read about the Flightdeck is that it calculates "virtual cadence" which apparently means if you are coasting downhill it still tells you that you are pedalling at whatever cadence would yield you're current speed in the gear you're in. Even if I wanted cadence, this seems useless to me.
another mity 3 vote, plus...JS Haiku Shop
Oct 3, 2003 8:58 AM
i've had no luck breaking or thrashing them. they don't mind ice, snow, mud, or rain (all this on a road bike, LOL), and the batteries last forever.

caveat: the wiring kit is not designed to be moved or removed/reinstalled multiple times by anyone who's all thumbs. i've broken two wiring harnesses, but only after removing and reinstalling each of them at least 3 times. "heavy duty" harnesses for the mity3/velo/enduro2 can be had both on ebay and from the cateye site. ebay is cheaper by half. i'm using the heavy duty harness on my newest build; it's thick, but i don't suspect i'll have any problems with it.

good luck.
Check the reviews hereDangeruss
Oct 3, 2003 8:28 AM
From what I glean the CatEye OS's are buggy and prone to erratic display and complete failure or loss of recorded data.

mohair's advice is sound. Get the most affordable model you can that performs your desired info reporting. I've found that I enjoy rides more when mine is off the bike. That said, I'm not racing or trying to best a personal effort each time I ride.
re: Which bike computer to go for?bc165
Oct 3, 2003 9:08 AM
I use the Cateye Astrale because it has the cadence feature, something I find useful. You can get last year's model cheap right now at Performance, etc. If you don't care about cadence, consider the wireless model. I had a Cateye - can't remember the model - and it was much more elegant - without wires dangling everywhere. Flightdeck sounds attractive, I was too cheap to spend the extra bucks.
re: Which bike computer to go for?lyleseven
Oct 3, 2003 1:25 PM
I switched from Sigma (too quirky to line up magnet) and started using Cateye Cordless 7 and have had no problems on two different bikes. Also had a Mity 3 and it still works.
Bike Planet Protogedgangi
Oct 3, 2003 8:31 PM
I just purchased the Bike Planet Protoge 9 for $18 on eBay (brand spankin' new). The computer has all of the "usual" functions plus a thermometer (handy for knowing how damn hot it is in the desert!). The best feature is that the comptuer has 0 buttons -- just push on the computer itself to switch the display. This is nice because it can be so hard to find a button if you are on a bumpy road. The display is also 4 lines tall, so most information is readily available.

This computer got very good reviews on this board. The product link is:

http://www.planetbike.com/computers.html

Check on eBay for the best prices. Mine was $18.

Thx...Doug
Oops - that's Planet Bike Protoge (nm)dgangi
Oct 3, 2003 8:32 PM
re: Which bike computer to go for?al0
Oct 4, 2003 1:05 PM
I would suggest Sigma BC-1440 or BC-1600. They are reliable, convinient and have cadence feature and should fit in 30$ range (even in 20$ if you would be lucky).
re: Which bike computer to go for?Saddle_Sore
Oct 6, 2003 1:44 AM
Okay, thank you for all the feedback, the Cateye Mity3 seems to have its advocates, as does the Sigma brand. The flightdeck seems to be a one for people who are more interested in looking at a display than watching where they are going - the damn thing is enormous!

Have to agree with the wisdom of going for a relatively cheap model - UK weather seems to eat bike computers (either that or the salts they treat the roads with in winter ruin the electronics). My own experience is that wired computers last longer :-|