RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Calling all Christians(39 posts)

Calling all Christianslotterypick
Oct 2, 2003 11:36 AM
Alright, I mentioned that in my search for cool Christian Jersey's I found zip, zero, nil....

Therefore, I'm going to make one myself and order the minimum so others can buy them.

I'm going to Louis Garneau and they have a semi-custom jersey I'm thinking of using. SE-403-1. Pro Fit

Give me your thoughts, but mine are blue and white with an orange pin stripe just like on the example.

I need your thougths for the logos. There's A, B, C and D.

They will be one color with picture and text. A and C will be white (if white is the color chosen as the body color) and B and D will be blue (same as above).

We can go, King of King and Lord of Lords as B, how about D saying fearless or something powerful, C something like Forgiven and A saying Jesus the Lion of Judah (Lion head?).

WHatever, I'm just thinking off the top of my head.

Let me know your thoughts.

If you want one, let me know I'll sell it just above cost plus shipping to cover the hassle and admin.

Remember I'm trying to be cool
somethings are best left unsaid....Steve_0
Oct 2, 2003 11:46 AM
a simple cross or fish should do the trick.
Here's my thoughtlotterypick
Oct 2, 2003 12:04 PM
Christians are supposed to be boring, but the Bible is all about being strong, brave, fearless, wise, etc.

Why can't we have a jersey that would support that view of bieng a CHristian, rather than get into the fish or just cross thing.

My friends are serious bike people, they like cool jerseys and I think a cool one that's CHristian would be awesome to them. SOmething they'd proudly wear on their bikes and as a group.

Just putting a fish or the cross, while true, is sort of weaker than what I was thinking Christians should be protraying in a world filled with misunderstanding about what a life with Jesus is really like.

It's a adventure. One that tears you down and build up a life that's better than the old foundation could ever have dreamed. One thing about love, and that's this: The more you love the more you are definately going to be hurt.

People love their kids and that love will be painful at times, that's just life. CHristians are to be fearless and loving and kind and righteous, etc. People need to know that God is a big God, not one of many things merely made of rock or wood. I think the cross (which is powerful) and the fish are lost to them, they need to hear it in words.

Why fearless, why forgiven, why King of Kings and Lord of Lords. Whatever is decided, I want people to see it, nad either be proud or wonder why it says that about Jesus and being a Christian. I'd be glad though to hear more on your thoughts. SImple is good, but it's got to be effective, that's why the panels on the jerseys and the makers and sponsers etc, put ads there. Let's be the same, but being effective about Jesus and CHristians.
i always feltSteve_0
Oct 2, 2003 12:18 PM
the cross represented exactly that. What represents strength, bravery, and fearlessness more than one who choses to die for the sins of others?

Your goal is effectiveness of the message, and you cite sponserships who put adds on the panels of jerseys; But, if you'll notice, many sponsers (nike, asics, reebok, mizuno, etc) today restrict advertising to their corporate logo, because they understand the power and effectiveness of an unambiguous, direct message.

Go both routes; written word as well as symbology. Life is about mixing it up. Appeal to all crowds.

Peace,

Steve
Gotcha. I'll seriously consider that.lotterypick
Oct 2, 2003 12:21 PM
But, if you have any suggestions for the shoulder panel, side panel or sleeve texts or images, please let me know.

I'm open to looking for the best.
hadn't considered the sleevesSteve_0
Oct 2, 2003 12:24 PM
crosses on the sleeves with a single-word message on the back (power, strengh, forgiveness, whatever) could be cool.

ciao
Hmmm... Interesting topic.....BigFatSal
Oct 2, 2003 12:22 PM
I come from a design background and thought I'd throw in my two cents. You could approach this design like this: Have certain elements that are strong visual elements, recognizable from a distance (such as a celtic cross - of which there are some very cool designs) - and then get your more in-depth message across with words if the viewer is intrigued by the larger symbols and wants a closer look at the deeper meanings..... This way you have different levels of visuals and offer the viewer a sense of "discovery" as they get closer/more interested in your design and your message. But from a distance, you've got a cool looking jersey. Just my opinion....
Thanks for the inputlotterypick
Oct 2, 2003 12:30 PM
Okay, the symbol on the front will be a cross. Cool or plain I'm not sure, as Indiana Jones depicted, the real cross was not glamorous but hard and rough.

THe idea of deeper meaning text like fearless, forgiven, etc. as you get closer would be great.

THanks.
Celtic Cross!53T
Oct 3, 2003 8:40 AM
Surely you don't intend to praise Jesus with a cross from a civilization that became extinct before Jesus was even born.
Maybe I got you wronglotterypick
Oct 2, 2003 12:18 PM
If you mean having the Middle CHest image merely be a cross, but text on the sides etc, then maybe that's a good idea.

I thought, and perhaps correctly, that you just wanted a Cross or fish in the middle and everything else blank.

Please clarify. THanks.
How about socks...CurtSD
Oct 2, 2003 12:20 PM
http://www.longscycle.com/images/socks%20iron%20cross.jpg
Like the sockslotterypick
Oct 2, 2003 1:05 PM
But I'll go one thing at a time.

Let's see if people want the jersey, which I think they will.

I'm going to send the idea to some friends at different churches and see if they want to get some.

I'm gonig to do it, but if I can get preorders that would make the size issue more precise.
no, you were right...Steve_0
Oct 2, 2003 12:21 PM
I think symbology and written word would be too much.

Perhaps symbology on one site, written word on the other.
FWIW - I feel the history of the fish implies it should be left alone; if you go with symbology and written, make it the cross.
By the way,lotterypick
Oct 2, 2003 12:26 PM
What does the fish stand for anyway?
The meaning of the fishJohnIV
Oct 2, 2003 1:50 PM
In the time right after Jesus, where Christians were being executed for their beliefs, when Christians came across a person on a journey, they would take their toe and draw a fish in the sand. It was the "secret" symbol of Christianity. Kind of like fraternities identifying themselves to another brother with the "secret" handshake.
"Jesus is the shizznit?" (nm)ColnagoFE
Oct 2, 2003 12:22 PM
lol. very cool. nm.Steve_0
Oct 2, 2003 12:25 PM
One for you "Jesus rides a Colnago" nmlotterypick
Oct 2, 2003 12:34 PM
.
Here is what I did...Marketing Dept
Oct 2, 2003 12:30 PM
I wanted our youth to look like a team when we did a local running race.

I designed a logo of the cross in front of a sun. Along the the cross design, I had the word CROSS running from top to bottom (with the C just above the intersection) and the word TRAINERS running from left to right (the R intersected in both words, great effect).

There were tons of comments about it and it crosses over between religious and secular quite well.

I also had one of Paul's many references to running written on the backs.

If I can find the graphic I used I will share them.

Anyway, here is a rough version of it.
We could have a crosslotterypick
Oct 2, 2003 12:33 PM
in the blue and then inside in the white the text like CROSS across and ROAD down the middle.

THe cross would be seen from far away and as they got closer they'd see the text.
Celtic Cross with ChainringBigFatSal
Oct 2, 2003 12:41 PM
Here's a tattoo design I'm working on.... You're welcome to borrow it for inspiration as a way to combine Cycling with Christianity. I actually borrowed the basis of the design from a now out-of-business (I think) MTB company called Spooky cycles. I've been modifying this over time with the idea of getting this on my back. Obviously, it's still rough but you'll get the idea..... Sorry if it comes out too big but I'm not sure how to size it down on this site!
Now that's a great idea: Celtic Cross with Chainringlotterypick
Oct 2, 2003 12:51 PM
If we went with a simple cross with a chainring, which breaks up the straight lines and adds body, that would look great.

I'm down to the three panels.

I'm pretty sure I'll go with fearless along the sides, as in the drops it looks powerful.

Maybe on the shoulders it'll say forgiven.

On I'm down to the sleeves. I'm looking for a word that means empowered. I wonder if empowered by itself is a good word. If you like that word, maybe we can make the text like small case with a Capitol P. empowered and Powered.

What do you think?
Or like this....BigFatSal
Oct 2, 2003 1:23 PM
"emPowered"..... or "EmPowered" (and italicize either the whole word or just the "Powered" portion to have a more racy look.... :>)

I kinda like the word "Strength" too.
You have been so helpful.lotterypick
Oct 2, 2003 1:34 PM
Thanks bro.

I think the italics on the Powered part would be really cool.

I think I'm done unless you have some text ideas for the word Fearless. I was thinking of Bold and fast, but maybe you have a better idea. You probably do. Thanks for the awesome thoughts.
You're Very WelcomeBigFatSal
Oct 2, 2003 3:15 PM
Hey, glad to throw in a few ideas, Lotterypick. Design is my thing, so I'm glad to help out!

Well, since you're going to put Fearless on the side panels, which I'm guessing will read horizontally when you're riding in the drops, your idea of bold and fast sounds fine. The only other thing that comes to mind would be to have a very "fast"-looking lightning bolt under the word fearless (yellow with blue outline or blue drop shadow). For cyclists, a lightning bolt would have a very positive "speed" connotation, and from the religious perspective, what exemplifies the power of God more than a powerful flash of lightning?!

Hey, I can't wait to see this when it's all done. I'm a spiritual person, but not necessarily very religious.But wouldn't mind picking up one of these cool jerseys of yours, especially if you do the celtic cross with the chainring idea.

Just got back from a brisk evening New England ride... Exhilarating!
I'm definately doing itlotterypick
Oct 2, 2003 3:33 PM
So I'll let the board know when it's done unless you want to give me your e-mail address just in case.

Thanks again. It's amazing how fast something can come together with good input from others. Thanks again. Glad the ride was great. Good night to you.
That's a fun designKristin
Oct 2, 2003 1:14 PM
When you save out the jpg, make sure to set the width to 600 pixels wide. That fits will on RBR.
That's a fun designBigFatSal
Oct 2, 2003 1:26 PM
Thanks for the compliment and thanks for the tip, Kristin (I musta missed the pixel setting option thang!).... :>)
HilariousDropped
Oct 2, 2003 1:26 PM
I'm a Christian, but think the idea of the Jesus Jersey is hysterical. If I saw someone riding with that on their back, I'd just laugh my head off.
I don't think you've been keeping up with the topic.lotterypick
Oct 2, 2003 1:37 PM
It's going to have a cross with a chainring surrounding the middle.

The side is going to say Fearless. In bold and slanted.

The sleeve is going to say EmPowered, with powered being in italics.

The shoulder is going to say Forgiven. Some soft curving font.

I thinks it's cool. Maybe others will too.
I like the community design concept. It just might work (nm)Chainstay
Oct 2, 2003 3:07 PM
I'm not (by classical definition.)But remember this;KG 361
Oct 2, 2003 3:56 PM
If you guys get a jersey that proclaims your beliefs, you'd better be prepared to stop at every light, every stop sign, etc. Best not fly off the handle at a motorist, either. Remember, "not by your words but by your deeds". (paraphrased). Sure you want to wear one?
no different than todays optionsSteve_0
Oct 3, 2003 3:32 AM
I laugh my head off every time i see some sucker who pays money to advertise for postal, csc, saeco, nike, pearle, whomever.

'dont I look like a real pro?'
How about "NOBODY expects the Spanish Inquisition"? (nm)Alexx
Oct 2, 2003 2:43 PM
Oh no!.. not the comfy chair and soft pillows!......nmlonebikeroftheapocalypse
Oct 3, 2003 11:23 AM
nm
re: Calling all ChristiansDrupa
Oct 2, 2003 5:50 PM
Great idea! It will help me to avoid you...
Great Ideas, Let me know when its available, I'll buy some!jjdbike
Oct 2, 2003 6:00 PM
I think by the replys to this post it is evidant that their are many of us. I dig how everyone is chipping in w/ nice suggestions. I an truly interestd in several of these jerseys & I know many cyclits that will also be interested, as long as the price can remain reasonable.
Thanks.
Keep it up.
Please keep us informed on the progress!
JD
you should do something with lions... - nmMJ
Oct 2, 2003 11:43 PM
thoughts...Psalm 147-10_11
Oct 3, 2003 6:50 AM
I did the Seacoast Century a few weeks ago and saw a few guys with red shirts that said, "Holy Rollers". I thought it was kind of funny.

A few years ago, I was on a group ride and one guy had a regular shirt with a patch on it that read, Psalm 147:10-11. This intrigued me so I asked him about it. He then quoted the verse to me:

"His pleasure is not in the strength of the horse, nor His delight in the legs of a man; the LORD delights in those who fear him, who put their hope in his unfailing love".

To me this was a very classy way for him to share his faith. We had a brief discussion and I spent many miles that day thinking about what we had talked about.

Personally, I would not wear a shirt with a cross, a picture of Jesus or any other type of emblem proclaiming my faith. I would, however wear one that was more subtle, possible with a Bible verse like the one I saw. The purpose would be not necessarily to show everyone that I'm a Christian (the way to do that is by my words and actions), but to give people an opportunity to ask about my beliefs, if they are inclined to do so.