RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Clear Channel - advertisers pull out!(20 posts)

Clear Channel - advertisers pull out!gf99
Oct 2, 2003 2:59 AM
Believe it or not, our efforts are having an effect. Apparently some others have done the same, but this is the only one I can currently verify.

http://www.capitalford.com/news.html

"Capital Ford does not endorse the views expressed by talent on the Clear Channel radio station G105. Capital Ford has terminated its sponsorship of this morning show, as well as the weather sponsorship on this radio station, until further notice. Please understand that Capital Ford values all members of our community, including cyclists, and we do not support any form of such discussed violence."
Also...gf99
Oct 2, 2003 3:01 AM
Note the prominence given to this on Capital Ford's homepage. It's certainly not buried somewhere on the website.

http://www.capitalford.com/
hey, that's my ford dealer!tarwheel
Oct 2, 2003 6:25 AM
Way to go! Here's the full text of the Ford announcement on its web page:

Capital Ford does not endorse the views expressed by talent on the Clear Channel
radio station G105. Capital Ford has terminated its sponsorship of this morning show,
as well as the weather sponsorship on this radio station, until further notice. Please
understand that Capital Ford values all members of our community, including
cyclists, and we do not support any form of such discussed violence.

_Capital Ford
hey, that's my ford dealer!tarwheel
Oct 2, 2003 6:37 AM
Here's the email I sent Capital Ford:

Thank you very much for your support of the cycling community in the Triangle by pulling
your ads from G105. I'm an avid cyclist and a long-time customer of Capital Ford. I
normally have a pretty thick skin about radio humor, but I think G105 definitely crossed
the line in seemingly advocating violence against cyclists. It's heartening to hear of a car
dealership supporting its 2-wheeled friends.

Tarwheel
nice!weiwentg
Oct 2, 2003 7:37 PM
Ford (not Capital Ford, but the local chapter) sponsors my cycling club. they just upped their sponsorship by quite a bit this year, too.
Cudos to the Ford dealership! nmTower
Oct 2, 2003 4:16 AM
If I'm ever in the market for a Ford...Ray Sachs
Oct 2, 2003 4:22 AM
I know where I'll be shopping. Don't mind if it takes me the better part of a day to get there.

-Ray
more heremarcoxxx
Oct 2, 2003 4:26 AM
http://www.trianglemtb.com/pages/projects/g105.html
My e-mail to Capitol Fordgregario
Oct 2, 2003 4:59 AM
I also copied my Senators and officers of Clear Channel

To my friends at Capital Ford,

I applaud your decision to cease sponsorship of radio station G105. Although I do not live in your area, the several instances of Clear Channel radio stations advocating injuring or killing cyclists has been discussed on internet forums. Frankly, I cannot believe that these people are still employed, and I hope that Clear Channel will be in trouble with the FCC and also brought to court. This kind of speech, the promoting of attacking other people, surely is not what the Constitution framers had in mind. If they advocated assaulting members of a minority group, for example, the outcry would be deafening.

It appears that the Mays family tolerates such hate speech, and are the worst part of the sleazy purveyors of it.

The folks at Capital Ford have my respect. Thank you.

I highly recommend we give support to Capitol Ford.
I sent them a quick one as well (nm)cmgauch
Oct 2, 2003 6:14 AM
Clear Channel udate - show off the AIR!!!cyclopathic
Oct 2, 2003 6:42 AM
this is repost from randon list:


One more update. True to its word, the station that aired the offending remarks has issued an on-air apology. Also, the morning DJs are off the air today and tomorrow. Fellow PBP rider Adrian Hands transcribed the announcement:

This is G-105 Operations Manager Chris Schebel. Yesterday G-105 suspended the Bob and Madison show. We know that Bob and Madison is an important part of why you listen to G-105. The purpose of our show is to entertain, not to intentionally offend ANY of our listening audience and definitely not to harm anyone. Last week comments were made on the show about drivers and cyclists. These comments were intended to be humorous.
However many in the cycling community found them to be offensive. To anyone who found these comments to be offensive, G-105 is truly sorry and we apologize. In the last two weeks we've learned a great deal about cycling, road rules and the dangers cyclists face every day. We know there needs to be more education on this issue. As a result G-105 will be running a public service awareness campaign to educate the public on cycling safety and road rules.

Mike Dayton
Raleigh NC


Way to go!

CP
Once again....Fred2000
Oct 2, 2003 7:51 AM
I am really glad these guys are off the are and the station apologized.

However, this is almost exactly what happened at the first Shock jock anti cyclist station.

Now FOR THE FIFTH TIME it repeats itself, why didn't this idea get killed the fifth time around when someone floated the idea of talking about motorist and cyclist?

Well, at least they are off the air for now. I wonder if this is the way they move shock jocks to other markets, have them incite volience against cyclists, get kicked off the air in a blaze of shock jock glory and appear in a new market across the country....
Did you read the recent other info on Clear ChannelKristin
Oct 2, 2003 8:35 AM
Their corporate culture is just scary. This is far from over. This kind of sh$t is being promoted from the top down. It won't be over until something serious happens. Its so sad when boneheads get their hands on power.
any publicity is good publicity.cyclopathic
Oct 2, 2003 11:30 AM
But at least I know who to sue if someone throws a bottle at me.
The Pessimist's View Here...Gregory Taylor
Oct 2, 2003 1:48 PM
They've temporarily pulled the "Bob and Madison Show" -- idiot entertainment for the masses -- and told their lowbrow audience that that (1) cyclists are to blame for their primitive entertainment being curtailed, and (2) they have a "public service awareness campaign" on cycling safety to look forward to.

Now THERE'S a public relations coup for cyclists! They're sure to see our point now!

Hey, it's great that something is being done, but sometimes you have to be careful what you ask for.

PS -- I bet that the "public safety awareness campaign" airs at 6am Sunday morning, just after "The Radio Mass For Shut-Ins" and "Esperanto Today."
Agree to an extent ...Humma Hah
Oct 2, 2003 1:59 PM
Bob and Madison get two days off and a wack on the pee-pee, probably with a wink. And they issue an apology and runs some PSA's for bike safety. And smile thinking they got some big publicity.

That's what happened the last couple of go-rounds.

But this time, a big sponsor pulled spots. With a little luck, and enough noise from cyclists and other people fed up with this bull-bleep, more sponsors will pull their spots.

$$$ talk. ClearChannel will listen. If they wanted publicity, its because they wanted ratings. If they want ratings, its because they want big money for commercials. If the sponsors walk, they'll change their evil ways.

ClearChannel's feeble actions don't encourage me. This Ford dealership, OTOH, almost makes me wanna buy a Ford!
We're on the same page here...Gregory Taylor
Oct 2, 2003 2:11 PM
Don't get me wrong. Overall, this is a great development. The best thing that happened here isn't the apology, but that a good sized sponsor pulled out. Apologies are cheap. Sponsors pay the freight.
the legal perspective - good article in Velonewsgf99
Oct 2, 2003 7:29 AM
http://www.velonews.com/news/fea/5058.0.html
The article brings home the importance of responding tobill
Oct 2, 2003 7:53 AM
the incitements by contacting the station -- that way, with our complaints in their files, particularly with the complaints that detail the kind of bs that we actually put up with on the road, the owner of the media outlet can't say, well, we had no idea.
Good article.
Another email to Capital FordFatnslow
Oct 2, 2003 8:22 AM
Dear Sirs:

I as a cyclist and Ford owner, applaud your decision to pull your advertising from G105.

I can assure you that, when its time to trade in the Crown Vic, I won't hesitate to drive the distance to Raleigh from Charlotte to purchase my next Ford at your dealership. Thank you.