RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Favorite Trainer/Roller Routines??(34 posts)

Favorite Trainer/Roller Routines??Creaky Carnivore
Sep 30, 2003 8:13 AM
Well, it's getting close to that time of year where many of us are forced back onto the trainer. I currently use a Performance Fluid trainer, and usually ride for 1hr at 70-80% maximum HR, 3-4 times per week.

What are some of your favorite trainer routines that I might use to break the monotony of the long winter? Intervals? pacemaking? standing? sitting? Help!
my favorite rollers routineSteve_0
Sep 30, 2003 8:17 AM
1. Dust 'em off
2. Fold 'em back up
3. Go for a run.
Amen, absolutely, I hear ya...Marketing Dept
Sep 30, 2003 8:51 AM
That is my fall ritual. I'll find my trainer, set it up, ride one 30min workout and then never see it again.

For the rest of the year I'll log 10-20 AM miles/per/week runs and enjoy the stars and the strange noises coming from the woods.
enjoying winter noisesSteve_0
Sep 30, 2003 9:13 AM
tap tap tap (puff) tap tap tap (puff) tap tap tap (puff).

waycooler than biking noises (or lack thereof for fgs)
or even betterTNSquared
Sep 30, 2003 12:08 PM
crunch crunch crunch (puff) crunch crunch crunch (puff) crunch *slosh* crunch (puff)

winter is when I move my running off road and enjoy the sound of dried leaves, snow and mud under foot. after months on the hot pavement and enduring the many noises of the city, there is nothing I look forward to more than long runs out on isolated trails where all is silent except for the sounds of my movement through the landscape

this year, though, winter will also include alot of offraod riding in the form of cyclocross races - not as serene, but should be a great experience

no matter what form my exercise takes, it will be done outside in the elements. just a personal preference, but interacting with the outdoors is an essential piece of the puzzle for me - i'm exercising my spirit and soul along with the legs and lungs
tru dat. nmSteve_0
Oct 1, 2003 4:48 AM
Arnie Baker's High Intensity Trainingjstonebarger
Sep 30, 2003 8:26 AM
Check out arniebakercycling.com, particularly High Intensity Training. Good stuff.
get on. get off.mohair_chair
Sep 30, 2003 9:07 AM
Riding a trainer does nothing for me and I can't do more than 30 minutes on rollers. All I do is warm up for two minutes, then wind it up to a pretty decent pace (speed shows 30-35 mph, for what that's worth), try to hold it there for 26 minutes, then cool down for 2 minutes. Voila, the 30 minute workout. I'll do this maybe twice a week when the time changes. Weekends are for riding on real roads and trails, however.

The only suggestion I have is if you are watching TV, turn on close captioning (if you have it). That way, you don't have to blast the volume to cover the sound of the rollers. It's painful and funny to watch the news this way, because the captioning is done live and lags behind about 10-20 seconds. Some of the word choices and spellings are humorous!
...the worse...Steve_0
Sep 30, 2003 9:15 AM
during major events when the newsshow themselves runs additional news text along the bottom. Keeping track of what is said (via CC) and what is 'written' is enough to cause seizures.
better solution to the TV sound issueshawndoggy
Sep 30, 2003 9:19 AM
Wireless headphones. Kill the volume on the TV altogether. Seriously you have to crank it to near deafening to hear it over the bike anyway, so why bother. I've got a set of cordless headphones that I use in conjunction with the TV, and it's da bomb.
Hey, great idea!! Do you have a pair you suggest? nmKristin
Sep 30, 2003 9:25 AM
Radio Shack, Best Buy, Circuit City, crutchfield.com ...shawndoggy
Sep 30, 2003 11:04 AM
All ought to have them. Be sure to get 900 Mhz or better (I think the 2.4 Ghz std has hit these?). The infared ones are poop. With mine I can walk all around the house and get good reception. Did this during the tour to listen to the direct audio feed since I'm too cheap to increase my cable bill by $50 a month to buy all the other garbage that comes with OLN in my neck of the woods.
Wait! Tell me how you did this? Direct audio feed of the tour?Kristin
Sep 30, 2003 11:30 AM
I know not of this. I do not even have one television station. Kristin watches movies only. TV is a waist of time and I don't know where my bunny ears are and its not worth the $20 to buy a new set. So how did you hear the tour???
So, do you have a good collection of *movies*? :) nmNo_sprint
Sep 30, 2003 11:33 AM
Has the spoiler period expired...?shawndoggy
Sep 30, 2003 12:22 PM
Kidding, but I don't want the spoiler nazis jumping on me by mentioning a tour topic on the general board.

the live OLN audio feeds could be accessed in real time during the tour on the letour.com site. So I accessed the audio, plugged my wireless headphone transmission jammy into the computer, and listened to the feed while I did dishes, readied the kids for daycare, etc.
This must mean I'm doing well then.Kristin
Sep 30, 2003 9:24 AM
I did 70 minutes on the trainer last night. My goal was to do 90 minutes, but my butt was sore (new saddle) and I was really bored and getting hungry (it was 10pm). So I gave up the last 20 and watched the rest of Toy Story on the sofa with some nachos. So much for the workout.
Computrainer routine (sort of like motor pacing)DougSloan
Sep 30, 2003 9:25 AM
With a Computrainer, you can ride "against" a computer rider, and you can set it so that you can draft, and the computer rider has a set power level in watts you determine. So, if you set the computer rider at, for example, 400 watts, you can try to stay its draft. The draft is fairly realistic, in the sense that riding close drops your required power about 30%, and the further you fall back the more difficult it gets. At about 20 feet behind, you pretty much lose the draft, and it then takes well over 400 watts to catch back up.

This makes you really concentrate on drafting, making the time pass very quickly, and thoroughly wasting you in the process. It particularly punishes lack of concentration or effort, as catching up is really hard. You learn to be even in your power output.

This is about as close to "real" riding I've seen.

Doug
I do the Netflix workout. (nm)firstrax
Sep 30, 2003 9:29 AM
New Question... what are good Roller/Trainer Movies???funknuggets
Sep 30, 2003 1:20 PM
I have several that have provided good workouts. They kept my attention, had sections of good intensity... and didnt bore me to death. These are, by no means, epic awarding winning films...but good for riding and just killing time. These are not ranked in any particular order:

1. Gone in 60 Seconds
2. Matrix
3. The Rock
4. Lord of the Rings (for a long ride)
5. XXX
6. The Fast and the Furious
7. Heat
almost crashed out watching The Big Lebowsky...shawndoggy
Sep 30, 2003 2:41 PM
cuz I was laughing so hard. Tears rolling down the cheeks and all that.

Gotta add Fight Club and the Jerk (quite possibly the greatest movie of all time) to the above list.
imagination!Rich_Racer
Sep 30, 2003 10:01 AM
Imagining it sitting in my garage back in England while I cycle round southern California!
A trainer can be as effective as riding outside for racersCARBON110
Sep 30, 2003 12:08 PM
I like to do a year round workout on the trainer. Sure I was miserable when I first started riding one but now I spend at least once a week on it. I never go to race without for its the KEY to a proper warm up. I have a cyl-ops oil based trainer thats as quiet as it gets. This way I dont have to wake up everyone in the house or make the volume of the tv so loud I couldnt hear a dump truck driving through a nitroglycerin plant. I ride for 4 hours usually and I vary my ride with things like: force intervals of 10 minutes. Big gear slow cadence keep my HR in zone 4 : Cruise intervals in zone 3 for 30-60 minutes (hard)
But mostly just lots of spinning but shifting to harder gears and standing up for 5-10 minutes imitating certain climbs in the area I have done so much I know exactly how long they take and what my cadence should be. Its about information. So once you ride them enough and see benefits in your performance you begin to like them more and more. Other then specifics a trainer is no substitute for out door rides but you can make a good simulation
Thanks Carbon110! (nm)Creaky Carnivore
Sep 30, 2003 12:42 PM
Do you use a beater bike for the trainer n/m?R600DuraAce
Sep 30, 2003 12:50 PM
yep... 98 Lemond Reno w/ RSX & CXP 12s(nm)funknuggets
Sep 30, 2003 1:22 PM
yep... 98 Lemond Reno w/ RSX & CXP 12s(nm)R600DuraAce
Sep 30, 2003 1:29 PM
Guess I should build up my Relaigh R600 with some old parts for the Winter training. I was thinking about putting my Orbea on the trainer though. Maybe not.
consensus is...funknuggets
Sep 30, 2003 1:41 PM
That trainers are bad on bikes. So, I put the retired bike on it. Put something on there functional... The Fondy or the LOOK wont ever see the trainer... not even on race day. However, I have not seen any negative impact on the bike, other than chewing up tires. Reportedly it can weaken the frame, or even bend it in some circumstances if it were a fixed wheel type, rollers are better in my opinion, but I have had some of my worst wrecks on those things....

So sayeth the funk
Chris
I do. 94 Bianchi Alfana Dura Ace (nm)Creaky Carnivore
Sep 30, 2003 1:36 PM
Stop already with the OT Discussion!Creaky Carnivore
Sep 30, 2003 12:39 PM
I really want to know. What are some interesting training routines for trainers out there? I KNOW HOW TO WATCH TV!
Stop already with the OT Discussion!Rom12_1-2
Sep 30, 2003 1:03 PM
Check out the Spinervals tapes and Tour DVDs. Also, plan stuff based on Friel's book after I get organized again. S
FINE! Here are some things I do:shawndoggy
Sep 30, 2003 1:19 PM
First off, I find that my HR is elevated compared to doing the same sorts of things outside. Fans help (but you weren't asking about fans, were you?). So instead of HR as a measure of effort, I tend to rely on speed via my computer.
Second, I find long hard intervals to be extremely challenging mentally. Whereas being at the bottom of a big hill that you need to ride up to get home is one thing, keeping your mind focused to put out a similar effort while in front of the TV is quite another. So I tend not to do really hard efforts on the trainer.

Roller routines:
1. ride no-handed for as long as possible (good for bike handling in group situations)
2. the no-handed bottle grab and put-back (again good for racing situations)
3. long cruise intervals in the 7-12 minute range X 3, with 3 minutes recovery between. Despite what I said above, I try to figure out what constant speed will give me about 85% MHR at the end of a single interval (using my HR monitor), then repeat that speed for the remaining intervals. NOTE: for me at least, it's almost a certainty that I will exceed 85% MHR on the remaining intervals by holding the pre-set speed.
4. one-legged intervals (alternate each leg during a spurt of commercials, one leg each commercial)
5. spin-ups, holding your fastest cadence for as long as possible
6. DROPS -- try riding in the drops as much as possible... good for aero form when you start actually punching a hole in the wind again.
7. The damn talking box -- don't underestimate the TV's power to take your mind off of how bad it hurts, especially if you've got something good to watch. Personally, I tape all of my "favorite" shows in the winter and only watch them while in the saddle... eliminates sitting through commercials too.
Keep in mind...funknuggets
Sep 30, 2003 1:35 PM
You NEED a fan, a big one, because for whatever reason I sweat like a fiend when on the trainer.

I use the trainer predominantly during my base phases in the winter months, as it is nearly impossible to ride outside. I dont do a lot of interval stuff, but do work the HR, spinning, and one legged stuff to break the monotony. I think it would be difficult to maintain consistent training schedule to keep you in race shape on the trainer, but it is awesome for base work. Or to spin out sore legs after you hit the weights this off season.

Chris
riding indoors,,, it's still a 106 herebabyhuey77
Sep 30, 2003 4:32 PM
I can't even imagine having to ride indoors. Luckily I live in sunny Arizona, where our riding season is just beginng. Finally it is getting cool outside and we are able to ride without having to leave at 5:30 or 6:00 in the morning. While everyone is having fun on your trainers I'll be out on the road. Hell, if anyone would like a winter vacation let me know.

Brad
re: group trainer ridesgeorge_da_trog
Sep 30, 2003 6:51 PM
Riding trainers and rollers suck, but they're cool if you can get a group together in someone's garage and throw in a Spinerval tape.
http://www.branfordbike.com/videos/video5.html#item3

They hurt, and it's always fun to hurt in a group.