RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Your thoughts on this frame(13 posts)

Your thoughts on this framerubendc19
Sep 29, 2003 6:12 PM
I'm looking for a next summer project, do any of you guys know ANYTHING on this frame, or company for that matter. It's Basso Devil Road Frame '03, if it totally sucks, I really don't care, like I said I'm still just searching for a frame, have a lot of time.......
re: Your thoughts on this framerussw19
Sep 29, 2003 6:32 PM
Look into the company's history. I think that Basso and Masi both fell pray to the same fate. If I am not mistaken, both of those companies are now owned by Chinese corporations. They are not the same bikes that their namesake would indicate. I know that happened with Masi, and I thought it happened to Basso as well. You should look into it. I am not saying that their bikes are not any good anymore, but that they may not be the same lovingly hand crafted pieces of Italian art that they once were.

Russ
Masi owned by the Chinese?boneman
Sep 30, 2003 1:16 PM
Alberto's still making them at the shop under the Virgorelli Velodrome and I didn't see any Chinese the last I visited. Maybe the rights to use the name in the States has been sold and I assume that's what your reference.
he's not making masi's, is he?rufus
Sep 30, 2003 3:41 PM
i thought his bikes were called milano's. or is that just here in the states.

the story i've heard as to why faliero moved his production to the US instead of simply turning the company over to his son is that he just didn't consider his son a sufficiently dedicated craftsman.
Yes, he is making Masi'sboneman
Oct 1, 2003 11:50 AM
Market in the US as Milano's which he also sells in Europe. Still builds and sells as Masi's in Europe. Your comment about Faliero and Alberto has been around but that was 30 years ago.
re: How about this?bikefreax
Sep 30, 2003 5:50 AM
Here is a pic of the new frame I am awaiting. Should be here next week. It is a smaller Canadian company owned by a former olympic champion. If you would like to read a review go to www.pezcycling.com and scroll down the left to Argon 18 carbon. I e-mailed the guy that reviewed it and he called me back because he was so impressed with it. He even hooked me up with his friend that owns a shop and I got a great deal.
re: How about this?boxsm
Sep 30, 2003 8:49 AM
Awsome looking ride. Thought I would look up that pezcycling web site to look at the review but can't seem to get it. Any ideas? I'd like more info. I checked out the Argon web site and became very interested but I would like to talk to someone not from the company. I'm currently looking for a carbon frame. Whats the guys e-mail? I've had great luck with word of mouth and would like to talk to the shop that hooked you up. Thanks
pezcyclingnews.comgeeker
Sep 30, 2003 9:26 AM
I heard the company designs the Argon frames, but contracts out the manufacturing.
pezcyclingnews.combikefreax
Sep 30, 2003 11:12 AM
The guy that wrote the article is Charles Manantan. Super nice guy but you can also contact the US distributor, Ryan Belanger. You can get that info on the Argon web site. Man I wish this thing would show up.
charlesmanantan@pezcycling.com
your new argonboxsm
Sep 30, 2003 1:48 PM
I hope it shows up today for you. I'm not sure if I could handle it. I think I would consider tracking down the ups guy and demand my ride!! Whats the frame cost on that one?
your new argonbikefreax
Oct 1, 2003 6:24 AM
If I told you I would have to kill you. No really the price for frame and fork is $2095 but I got a great deal from a one time purchase through a bike shop that was bying them for their race team. It should be here late next week as it was shipped from Canada last week and it will go to Arizona then turn around and shipped to me in Missouri. Me and my wife will be the only 2 in Missouri with an Argon 18.
Keep looking for a complete review once I get it built up. This will replace my Litespeed Arenberg
your new argon E-mail addresssboxsm
Oct 1, 2003 10:42 AM
If you are still out there and would'nt mind giving me your e-mail I'm very curious how it rides. I'd like to stay in touch but don't frequent the discusion site very often and would miss a message. I'm in Alaska and we have no bike shop with inventory so our research on frames is internet and info from people like yourself. Thanks steve
your new argon E-mail addresssbikefreax
Oct 1, 2003 11:58 AM
No problem;

rhughes@psaquality.com

send me an e-mail so I will have yours and I will stay in touch.