RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Cool Christian Jersey(56 posts)

Cool Christian Jerseylotterypick
Sep 29, 2003 9:21 AM
Does anyone know of a cool Christian Jersey. Thanks for your help.
re: Cool Christian Jerseyctisevn
Sep 29, 2003 9:44 AM
this guy's got what you need


I kid..never seen a "christian" jersey, cool or not, actually.
That's my pointlotterypick
Sep 29, 2003 9:50 AM
It's easy to find the other guys jersey,but what about the good guy.

We're all wearing the local shops jersey and it's cool, but maybe the guys would represent the Man on their rides some times.

I'd at least wear it commuting. So if anyone knows of one, let me know.
amore e vitahinaults dog
Sep 29, 2003 9:52 AM
a good catholic cycling team
Christian jersey?!?jjdbike
Sep 29, 2003 10:16 AM
I am w/ you. It would be great to conspicuously represent on group, team & charity rides. It would be a great reminder of who is realy responsible for me/we being able to cycle, or anything for that matter & who to give credit to as opposed to ourselves.
If anyone knows of any please post. That link Re: the Catholic team was merely an e-mail address. I suppose I could e-mail them & request a jersey, although I am christian but not catholic.
Thanks
JD
Get a Vuelta Gold Jersey . . .ms
Sep 29, 2003 10:39 AM
The sponsor of the Gold Jersey is the shrine of Santiago (St. James) de Compostela, one of the great Catholic prigrimage sites of Europe for centuries. It may be too subtle for your puposes, but it does have a cross on it. You also could go the way of many members of the pro peloton and wear a cross or religious medal -- perhaps a medal of the Madonna del Ghisallo, the patroness of cyclists. If you are looking for something "Christian" but not Catholic, you may be out of luck -- traditional Protestant countries and places (the kinds of places where people wear "WWJD" bracelets) are not bastions of cycling, notwithstanding that guy from Texas.
Cool website, too -- www.xacobeo.es n/mfracisco
Sep 29, 2003 4:09 PM
Got a commuter bike? Wanna put a sticker on it?PseuZQ
Sep 29, 2003 6:54 PM
One of my favorite sites for decals, unamerican.com, has some stuff available you might like. It also has somes stuff you may find objectionable, but vive la difference.

Decals include: "Jesus Loves Me," "Jesus Was Way Cool," and "Jesus Wore A Mullet." ;-)

Now, I don't really consider myself a religious person, but I respect anyone's right to represent. In fact, at the 2002 Death Ride, there were a bunch of guys (with HP, I think) who rode tandems with fully-mobile skeletons as stokers. It got me thinking, How cool would it be to have Jesus as your stoker?? You'd probably never run out of carbs, that's for sure. (Watch the water bottles, though.)
go to....gregario
Sep 29, 2003 10:24 AM
www.landoverbaptist.org

They have some t-shirts at least
Beat me to it!LD
Sep 29, 2003 11:05 AM
Great reply; I like the "My Catholic Priest Molested your Honor Student" bumper sticker. Too funny.
re: Cool Christian JerseyTriphop
Sep 29, 2003 10:33 AM
I have seen this team at some races here in Colorado...I wouldn't necessarily call their jerseys "cool" but it is a Christian cycling organization.

www.ironclad.org
IRONCLAD.ORG - can't you feel the god's love for you? nmtz
Sep 29, 2003 11:24 AM
hope so, the name is from Proverbs 27:17crosstrail
Sep 29, 2003 5:23 PM
"As iron sharpens iron, so one man sharpens another." And, no, it's not a male only club. A key founder of Ironclad's parent organization is a former member of the Canadian National women's road cycling team.

Here in Colorado, Team Ironclad fields road and mountain racing teams, puts on the Wheels of Thunder Classic (a circuit road race that annually attracts about 500 racers), races and serves the entire community at the 24 Hours of Moab, and leads every-other-week-during-the-summer recreational mountain bike rides especially tailored for beginners and new-comers to Colorado. Our last rec ride is this Saturday up Waterton Canyon, with a BBQ afterwards at Chatfield Reservoir.

All are welcome. Craig.

www.coloradoiccc.org (Colorado "Spoke")
www.ironclad.org (national organization, info on other "Spokes")
Custom graphics maybe?PseuZQ
Sep 29, 2003 10:53 AM
I could have sworn that I'd seen a guy with an airbrushed Jesus on his jersey in some Planet Ultra pics. Also thought I saw the same guy wearing it on the Eastern Sierra double. I'll see if I can locate the pic -- might be hard to track him down though.
Thanks for lookinglotterypick
Sep 29, 2003 11:16 AM
Looks like I'll have to design one.
Ummmm.... did you consider ...jtolleson
Sep 29, 2003 12:05 PM
just going to google and typing in "cycling jerseys" and "christian?" It turned up plenty of options.

Check out http://www.teamsaved.com and www.ironclad.org or www.trinitysportsgroup.com or http://www.10thgear.com or http://www.wheelpower.org

????
believers on mountain bikesONCE in a life time
Sep 29, 2003 12:32 PM
http://www.ridedirt.com/bomb/index.htm

There not roadies thou.
Oxymoron? (nm)gala7516
Sep 29, 2003 12:48 PM
You're right. Christianity is, like, for squares, daddy-o. (nm)PseuZQ
Sep 29, 2003 1:09 PM
No, it's not an oxymoronHot Carl
Sep 29, 2003 9:25 PM
ox y mo ron
A rhetorical figure in which an epigrammatic effect is created by the conjunction of incongruous or contradictory terms; for example "A mournful optimist."

Can you thing of anything incongruous or contradictory about cycling and Christianity? A Christian probably doesn't smoke. Neither do cyclists. A Christian is supposed to take care of their bodies. So is a cyclist.

-Spoiler (name change)
however, Virgin Birth is an oxymoron (nm)lemmy999
Sep 30, 2003 5:24 AM
How so?Kristin
Sep 30, 2003 5:40 AM
Virgins can have babies. If you just got off a bus from the 1950's, then you'll want to google on the word "invetro." So I challenge your statement that "virgin birth" is an oxy moron. Just because there are no more virgins doesn't mean that one couldn't have a baby, if there were one, which theres not... Actually, that's not true either.
It was 2000 years ago (nm)lemmy999
Sep 30, 2003 6:43 AM
That would be as cool as Christian rock!desmo
Sep 29, 2003 1:35 PM
VOM.
Whoa, Nelly, Gente!jtolleson
Sep 29, 2003 3:49 PM
Why is everyone making fun of this request? People wear jerseys sporting the logos of Yoohoo chocolate favored beverage for chris'sake (no offense Lotterypick). Lance and the boys wear gear promoting the postal service.

Why not wear a jersey re: one's faith?

I usually consider the claim of "oppressed Christians" to be a myth but I supposed there is a dogpile mentality when folks are given the opportunity to attack people of faith. Go figure.
I agree...Rom12_1-2
Sep 29, 2003 5:43 PM
I for one would like to find a jersey that had some expression of my faith. I found it interesting that so many replied, yet there is always someone ready to comment in a negative way. Some things are beyond making fun of. Let us know Lottery Pick if you find any more jerseys and if you design one please post it. I'd like to see it.
beyond making fun of ?climbo
Sep 29, 2003 6:06 PM
you mean we can't make fun of religion ? why the hell not?
beyond making fun of ?Rom12_1
Sep 30, 2003 6:38 AM
Climbo,I just think it might be wise to consider that any particular religion you make fun of might be true. Obviously, there are different ways one can joke around about things and some can be disrespectful to the person your are interacting with and some can be disrespectful to God, others are funny and not disrespectful. But, its one thing to make fun of me, its another to make fun of God...if he is real. I personally believe he is real. Many do not. But, for those who don't believe, being careful with your words seems wise. You have nothing to lose if you are respectful to God, even if he doesn't exist. If, for example, Christianity is true, the Bible says that we will be held accountable for every careless word we speak. Thats the long explanation for why "some things are beyond making fun of." Scott
what a load of BSMJ
Sep 30, 2003 6:46 AM
if there is a God (which there's not) then I'd hope she'd have a good sense of humour and can take a joke - after all we have to put up with all of her jokes on us - Alzeiheimer's, war, pestilence, the death of children, mom's and dogs...

seriously - God (who doesn't exist) would want you to laugh
Here's where the thread becomes insulting.Hot Carl
Sep 30, 2003 7:16 AM
Many people on the board put all their faith in God. Now you're calling it a joke. It's insensitive and insulting.
For many Christians, God is indeed their father. Now for no apparent reason, you feel the need to tell them their religious father is dead.
The person who asked the original question didn't come preaching, or telling you your family is going to hell because they're non-believers.
again total BSMJ
Sep 30, 2003 8:04 AM
it's not denigrating to assert that I don't believe in something is it? that's all I've done

furthermore, my actual point is that your God, if she existed, would want you to have a freaking sense of humour about her and everything else that's ridiculous - I bet God would know a tonne of great jokes - please get a grip - what kind of God is that you believe in that can't enjoy a bit of humour?

you probably shouldn't participate in public discussions as someone may offend your delicate sensibilities... - stick to your like minded friends so nobody challenges you

BTW - how about a Muslim jersey? an aethesit jersey? etc...
Oh, I have a great jersey idea with IchthusKristin
Sep 30, 2003 8:30 AM
I'm so sick of the ichthus wars going on. I was going to make one that went accross my entire bumper. But then, I'm one of those who doesn't like putting stickers on my car. Stickers are for children. Cars are for adults.

It would be cute to have a jersey that does some form of the ichthus war in a spiral around the jersey. Hmmm. I wish I was an artist. Here's my favorite ichthus.
Tell me about the IchthusSteve98501
Sep 30, 2003 2:05 PM
Kristin,

For years I've seen these little chrome fishes (Ichthus) on cars, and then the little Darwin fishes with legs, then the bigger fishes eating the Darwin fishes. Anyway, what's the connection between the little chrome fish and Christianity, if any?

Thanks.

Steve
Tell me about the Ichthusxxl
Sep 30, 2003 6:23 PM
FYI, the fish was used by very early Christian sects, as a symbol of their faith. Its use stems from Jesus's comment to Peter, et al., about teaching them to be "fishers of men." I was taught that the fish actually predates the cross as the Christian logo of choice, but I understand that some theologians think the fish was used as a substitute for the cross, during a time when public proclaimations of Christianity might well have gotten one thrown to the lions. The (Roman) Catacombs show examples of both cross and fish.
Yep, that's about it.Kristin
Oct 1, 2003 5:56 AM
Today the symbol has become part of Christian pop culture. Similar to shaving your legs if you're a cyclist. It identifies you as a member. I tend to avoid identifiers like that. I feel that Christianity is best validated (both to myself and others) when I am changed or grow in ways that are impossilbe without some sort of intervention from God. Uncommon widsom and love. Those are the marks of Christianity that I desire to bear. Not a fish symbol on the back of my car.
again total BSHot Carl
Sep 30, 2003 9:59 AM
The problem is in your attitude. You don't say, "I don't believe in God." That's now humor. That's not a joke.
You say, "Your God doesn't exist." And you still fail to see how this is offensive. I call you insensitive or obtuse and you call me delicate.
Since you don't believe the Christian God exists, you can have no valid opinions on his sense of humor. Or at least any of your opinions would have no basis. So you can save the outsider observations.
wrongMJ
Oct 1, 2003 12:08 AM
re-read the above post - I don't personalise anything beyond your clear lack of humour - again what kind of God do you believe in that doesn't have a sense of humour

and thanks about the I don't get an opinion cause I don't think just like you - I guess you don't get an opinion on anything you aren't a part of either - like a sense of humour - seriously - you are way off base unless you can excplain to me how your God can't enjoy a good joke
What about a Muslim jersey?PseuZQ
Sep 30, 2003 11:22 AM
I personally think a Muslim jersey could look very nice, green and white, maybe with a verse form the Koran in Arabic.

In fact, perhaps there were some shown in the Tour de Langkawi.
may as well wear a KKK jersey in Harlem nmDougSloan
Sep 30, 2003 1:40 PM
and by the wayMJ
Sep 30, 2003 6:52 AM
your handle doesn't make me wanna look up bible verses - it makes me think you're terribly insecure - like one of those folks at football games who holds up John 3:16 signs - I couldn't think of a worse marketing tactic - Jesus junk indeed
Why assume is marketing?Hot Carl
Sep 30, 2003 9:57 AM
I agree that the football game Bible Billboards are marketing, and no legit God needs one of his own creations to market him.
But what am I marketing with my name? Did it ever occur to you that the verse might mean something special to the person, and maybe he doesn't give a sh!t whether you look it up or not? Kinda egocentric of you, no?
and by the wayRom12_1-2
Sep 30, 2003 1:11 PM
MJ, I wish you all the best. You sure seem upset. Didn't mean to insult or hurt you in any way. I think it would be great to see a Muslim or atheist jersey. We all have a right to that. I have the Bible verse in my name b/c its a verse that's close to me, not because I want it to in any way bother you. Those who have similar beliefs might give a nod of acknowledgement when seeing it. Might not.
that's beautiful - I'm filling up - nmMJ
Oct 1, 2003 12:02 AM
Sorry?!?Kristin
Sep 30, 2003 6:55 AM
That made absolutely no sense. Why encourage people to offer homage in the form of respect to a God they don't believe exists? What I think you meant was that: God IS real; and even if someone doesn't believe it, He IS still real. So they should still be careful about what they say, just incase, because its true and He's real.

But that would be fairly disingenuous, wouldn't it? If God is real, then He probably wants authenticity over pretense. And if he exists--which I believe he does--then he is also big enough to handle the insults of those who do not recognize, listen to or follow him. We do not need to defend God against the schoolyard bully. We do not need to defend God at all. The Christian belief is salvation by faith in God which is not based in anything we do or say. So how can offering "respect" to a God one does not believe in, do a person any good at all?
well saidMJ
Sep 30, 2003 7:02 AM
she'd be proud of you
Sorry?!?Rom12_1-2
Sep 30, 2003 1:15 PM
Kristin, just to clarify. Its not to protect God. Its to protect the person making the comment. We are held accountable for our words. Anyway, sorry to have been part of lighting such a fire today.
Protect them from what exactly? nmKristin
Sep 30, 2003 1:47 PM
Protect them from what exactly? nmRom12_1-2
Sep 30, 2003 5:34 PM
Kristin, if the Bible is true, we will all stand b/f the judgement seat of Christ whether a believer or not. Heaven will have degrees of reward. Hell will have degrees of punishment. Our deeds/words will follow us into eternity. Soooooo....the point is.....if an irreverent remark "against God" is made, the person who made the comment will eventually have to answer for it. So, being careful with our words protects us. God needs no protection. Scott
how sad that you live your life that wayMJ
Oct 1, 2003 12:11 AM
I know lots of christians - they'd probably stone you to death (bible style) if you tried that kind of attitude on with them
sanctimonious crap - nmMJ
Oct 1, 2003 12:09 AM
beyond making fun of ?pearlbeer
Sep 30, 2003 11:06 AM
So, under this principle, I am to suppose we should not joke around about and/or make fun of:

Ghosts, Aliens, The Tooth Fairy, Angels, The Easter Bunny, Santa, Bigfoot, etc?
Actually I posted several links up abovejtolleson
Sep 29, 2003 6:51 PM
despite that I am not personally pursuing a Christian cycling jersey.
Chill out!TNRyder
Sep 29, 2003 7:53 PM
I don't think that anyone has posted something truly malicious here. Many of the people on the board have odd senses of humor.

And yes, religion is something that we can poke fun at. There are many other things that deserve poking fun at in our society that as a middle class white guy I am no longer aloud to comment on. But please don't add religion to that list of taboo joking subjects.

BTW, I am not prejudiced. I hate everbody equally.
Chill out!jtolleson
Sep 29, 2003 8:12 PM
Ah, probably true. And those who know me know that I am noooo evangelical. But when any group gets toooo targeted, especially for asking a very neutral question, it raises my antenna.

It wasn't about making fun of religion. www.landoverbaptist.com makes me laugh out loud. But a fellow cyclist asking "where to find xxx jersey" needs to be cut a little slack, especially, IMHO, when it involves race, religion, sex, sexual orientation, national origin, fill-in-the-blank.
Chill out!spankdoggie
Sep 29, 2003 10:52 PM
I am looking for a bright red jersey that says: "IHateFags!" on the back of it, and I am having trouble finding it... Maybe because I am in San Francisco?

A Christian jersey sounds pretty stupid too...

Why do you feel the need to send a message when you ride? Maybe that is why all of you Freds are getting run over. I swear I get angry once a day in my car at some dumb young cyclist... I am tempted to scream at them that I am a cyclist too, but you are a jackass...

I am sorry. It is late, and past my bedtime.

Hot Carl, Spoiler?
re: Cool Christian Jerseylemmy999
Sep 30, 2003 5:22 AM
Makes me think of a good song by the rock band Atomic Opera (all of the guys in the band are Christian by the way):

Jesus Junk

I want a Virgin Mary nightlamp
Bible hero lunch box
The Shroud of Turin on my wristwatch
Only listen to Christian ... Rock

Gospel Cola in the morning
Then make my Velvet Jesus Bed
I want some Holy Trini-Tea Bags
Covenant Candy fish ... and loaves of bread

Gold plated Crown of Thorns Messiah RIng
Belt buckle's a decending dove
Hang a chrome fish on my truck
They'll know we're Christians by our love
... Of junk

All my Jesus Junk
Yeah, my Jesus Junk
I am
A Jesus Junkie

Give me a piece of the true cross
The thigh bone of a saint
I long for something Holy
This sub-culture ain't ... real

Testa Mints to make my breath fresh
Bible Gum and Christian science fiction Where Jesus turns wine into water.

"WWJD"
Sewn onto a $30 ball cap.
(Answer: He wouldn't pay
$30 for a ball cap.)
- Bad Buddha Observation

Someone once said that a new convert and a drug addict have a lot in common. They both want to "turn" all of the people they know "on" to their new found "thing." I don't think the analogy is very good, but I did find it interesting that someone would think they see it. There is a certain incorrect notion that Christians voluntarily move into a "ghetto" filled with inferior quality art (music, books, thinking, taste in hair style, and so on) . I took this absurd idea to its logical conclusion. The "Jesus Junkie." Someone who is so wrapped up in their little Christian sub-culture or ghetto, that they need to "de-secularize" everything in their life. They not only search for Christian books and music, but Christian Bubble Gum, Mints, T-Shirts, Hats, Belt Buckles ... Why stop there? Why not shoes, soft drinks, Christian pizza?

The song not only deals with the individuals that want to treat Christianity like the Home Team (and paint pastel crosses on their faces) but, it also deals with the larger issue. What is the void that they are seeking to fill with all that ... Junk?

It is the motive that the song is trying to deal with. There is nothing inherently "evil" or "wrong" or even "bad" about any of the things that are mentioned or referred to in the song "Jesus Junk." The song is not an attack on stores that provide the faithful with Bibles and materials to help them in their sanctification, and the edification of their family.