RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


The NSA/OCE Fixed Gear Century ride report.(37 posts)

The NSA/OCE Fixed Gear Century ride report.MB1
Sep 29, 2003 5:55 AM
What with the bad weather we have been having lately and all the downed trees near DC plus my desire to ride more Miss M and I decided to check out the route for Sundays century on Saturday. That way Miss M could get in 2 centuries with other riders and I could get in a century on Saturday and ride as much as I wanted on Sunday and support the ride too.

Turned out that the route was in the best shape it has ever been in. A couple of sections of really bad road had been freshly paved and there were no trees down at all. Now if only the weather would cooperate.

Alas Sunday started out pretty grey with a chance of rain.
A nice group.MB1
Sep 29, 2003 5:59 AM
This year I didn't really encourage our Randonneur friends to do the ride. The route is a little too tame for them and I hoped to increase the ratio of fixed and SS riders to geared riders. It worked out pretty well, of the 15 or so riders there were only 2 road bikes (there was also 2 ‘bents and a tandem-everyone else was fixed).

The group was moving along pretty well. Most of the riders had never ridden with Miss M so they didn't know what they were in for. Humma and Len were smart enough to just let Miss M stay at the front but some of the guys just had to try to stay in front of her.

That meant a really fast pace from the start.
The RBR crew.MB1
Sep 29, 2003 6:04 AM
Miss M at the front, LenJ, Kevin (from the Fixte board) and Humma rolling along.

Let's see; Miss M was on a Fuji Track bike, Len a Gunnar Street Dog, Kevin a sweet Peugeot oddball conversion ( among other things it had one blue crank arm) and Humma on the Paramount.
Downhill.MB1
Sep 29, 2003 6:10 AM
For the first few miles every time the route rolled downhill the geared bikes would pick it up and pull through-pushing the pace even higher. I'm thinking to myself, "This is going to get ugly for some of them later on."
Recumbo man on a Trek?.....nmrwbadley
Sep 29, 2003 6:15 AM
No, Bachetta Both bent riders. nmLen J
Sep 29, 2003 6:16 AM
ever see a fixed recumbent? nmDougSloan
Sep 29, 2003 6:47 AM
Humma Styling.MB1
Sep 29, 2003 6:14 AM
Humma was sporting his NOS Schwinn Bent-tube Paramount fixte conversion. I could tell he was having a good time keeping up with the leaders all the way to the first rest stop. I guess the new bike is a little faster than the cruiser.
Listen to what Miss M has to say!MB1
Sep 29, 2003 6:18 AM
We stopped at a Subway for lunch. Miss M tried to tell the boys that the route gets a little harder for the second half. Did they listen??? Heck no!
So what did you expect?MB1
Sep 29, 2003 6:23 AM
About 12 miles after lunch the route headed to the hills and Miss M started putting the hammer down. She was having a good time and since she didn't have to wait for me she was off to the races.
So we stopped at the store, and Miss M sez ...Humma Hah
Sep 29, 2003 8:39 AM
... "Well, I'm just going to cruise really easy now." I was ready to go, so I started out with her, looking forward to just cruising easily for a while.

This pic is a few miles later. That's me in the distant background, tears in my eyes as I look at that hill with Mark up at the top with his camera. The only time I saw her on the road after that was when she stopped at tricky turns to see what was holding every one up, and make sure we got headed the right way.
Reed suggests it is a tad hillier than advertised.MB1
Sep 29, 2003 6:27 AM
After Miss M pulled away everyone pretty much paired up for the ride home-Humma and Kevin, Scott and Reed, Len and Bill. I guess you could day the tandem was finishing solo but is a tandem ever alone?

Reed posts on the MTB Review board and is a pretty good guy to be around. He has a beautiful Gunnar Street Dog and is actually in pretty good shape. I think the high pace of the ride started to wear him down a bit just as we reached the rolly hills near the end.

Those hills are lots of fun if you can keep your speed up through them. Otherwise they are quite a challenge.
Let's try this pix.MB1
Sep 29, 2003 6:45 AM
The machine didn't seem to care for the first shot. Here is another view of Reed and Scott climbing.
I kept my eye on things from the van.MB1
Sep 29, 2003 6:33 AM
I ended up riding about 40 miles for the day. The rest of the time I tried to help out as needed and fool with my new camera.

Scott styling in the mirror. No question he had the most elegant bike on the ride. Looked to be about a 65cm White Waterford with gold cranks and such. Strong rider too.
Gorgeous bike, no brakes, one cog ...Humma Hah
Sep 29, 2003 8:17 AM
... the guy's hard-core. Really made the rest of us look like poseurs, most with two brakes and a singlespeed cog on the other side of our flip-flop wheels.

When you got a close look at it in the sun, the white paint contained flecks of gold. What's chrome on other bikes is gold on this one. Stunning.
You know, I didn't notice the lack of brake.MB1
Sep 29, 2003 5:04 PM
Until you mentioned it I didn't notice that Scott was riding without a brake. I did notice that he skidded to a stop a couple of times but I just thought he was showing off.

Good rider, nice bike, very nice guy.
What’s a fixte ride without a tattoo?MB1
Sep 29, 2003 6:38 AM
Reed was sporting this nice carp on one leg-something else on the other.
I'm remembering the "World Singlespeed Championship" ...Humma Hah
Sep 29, 2003 7:15 AM
... a few years ago, written up in a major MTB magazine. It was a mostly-amateur unsanctioned event, even had several coaster-brake cruisers, but Travis Brown showed up and won the thing.

The Grand Prize was a tattoo proclaiming you as the champion. If you refused the Grand Prize, you were disqualified.

The last finisher got a new BaSS singlespeed frame. The presumption was, the loser needed it more than anyone else.

Folks with one gear see priorities a little differently than everyone else.
Guapos.MB1
Sep 29, 2003 6:41 AM
All the riders rode really fast this year. Everyone was done by 3:30 so we headed to Guapos for some Mex and Cervecas.

We had a great time-maybe we will see you next year.
Nice ride, I wish I could make it. Especially for Guapos! nmrwbadley
Sep 29, 2003 6:44 AM
Looks like a really great time. Sorry I missed it!KG 361
Sep 29, 2003 9:08 AM
Next year. I hope.
Now the truth.Len J
Sep 29, 2003 7:08 AM
Flat!!!......You call that Flat!

My definition of flat & Marks are somewhat different. Flat to me is an eastern Shore ride with 40 ft of elevation change in 50 miles. To Mark & Miss M, it's 2000 ft of elevation gain in 100 miles, and what elevation change. For those of you that don't know the difference between Eastern Climbs & Western climbs, Western climbs are mostly long & relativly gradual, Eastern climbs are short and harsh.

Miss M warned us that the tough "Rollers" were in the last 20 miles. After "Warming us up" with a very Brisk Pace in the first 37 miles, (A riding Bud Bill, who I had told that MB1 & Miss M, "Always" ride at 16 to 16.5 MPH, kept asking, "What happened to 16MPH?), and stretching us out in the second 40 miles, She did indeed "Put the hammer down", she is one strong rider. Those final rollers, damned near killed me. I did learn the value of momentum, especially on a fixed gear.

All Kidding aside, as always MB1 & Miss M were great company, and great riding companions. They kept everyone "In the ride", with Mark making sure no one was left behind or lost. The group that rode, especially those that finished the century, were all wonderful company, and the ride itself was interesting.

But, Damn, I am sore today. Hanging around with these two has amazing effects, two weeks ago, I hadn't done a century in a year, now I've done two, one single speed & one fixed. (As my wife says.......You're nuts!)

Thanks again Mark for a wonderful day.

Len
I'll point out that I wasn't riding with Miss MMB1
Sep 29, 2003 7:14 AM
at the start of the finish. I think she had a great time letting it loose.

And let's face it, everyone (Bill included) did a really fast ride.
Absolutly...........Len J
Sep 29, 2003 7:21 AM
And we all had fun whineing about it (& doing it)!

My Bias is showing BTW, I owe Miss M an apology. Unconsciously, I believed that you were riding slower for her (when we rode in the past). Now I know that it was her riding slower for you. She is amazing.

What may not be clear to the rest of the folks on the board is that She likes to Pull. She pulled the group through most of the first 40 miles of the ride.

Mark: Now I understand that you were serious when you said that she exausts you. LOL.

Len
The first time I rode that, the altimeter said 15,000 ft ...Humma Hah
Sep 29, 2003 7:28 AM
... of climbing. In other words, the climbing rate of the Death Ride. I figured that was off a little, and shortly thereafter I learned that's a symptom of a failing battery in a Cat Eye AT100.

But I'd not be surprised to find out that run climbs 3000 ft or a little more. I'd personally classify 2000 ft as pretty flat.
I'm glad you guys had fun. Next time -- I think that I need tobill
Sep 29, 2003 10:15 AM
build up a track bike or sumpin, anyway.
I could tell you why I bagged, but it's whiny and boring. Next time.
Ditto -- I'm peeved that I couldn't make it out there...Gregory Taylor
Sep 29, 2003 10:29 AM
The 'Butts got a ride in on Sunday, but I had to be home by noon. Not enough time to get out there and ride with you guys. Oh well...

Hey Bill, what size do you ride? Doc scored an old Bridgestone frame at a yardsale that might make a dandy fixed gear.
about a 52, 53 c-c, maybe even a 54, depending. What'sbill
Sep 29, 2003 10:57 AM
he got?
Don't know....I'll Ask. (nm)Gregory Taylor
Sep 29, 2003 11:02 AM
Missed it again, I gotta be there next year. great pics nmbigrider
Sep 29, 2003 12:04 PM
re: The NSA/OCE Fixed Gear Century ride report.JL
Sep 29, 2003 12:35 PM
Great report. Looks like everyone had fun.

How did you like the 10D? I just bought one myself, and then started reading about "focus issues". What lense(s) did you use?

John

P.S. After the Lehigh Veloswap I should complete my Fixie. Maybe next year for me, too.
Hey MB1. Questions about the 10D...JL
Sep 30, 2003 6:35 AM
I tried to ask a question in my prior post, but maybe you missed it with all the other responses.

How did you like the 10D? I just bought one myself, and then started reading about "focus issues". What lense(s) did you use?

I haven't had a good chance to use it, other than my daughter's soccer game. I didn't notice any focus issues, other than a 'softness', but I think that's inherent in the camera pictures until you Photoshop them.

Thanks.
John
Just had mine for a couple of months.MB1
Sep 30, 2003 7:10 AM
The only focusing issue I have had to date was when I was at a baseball game.

We were sitting behind home plate. When I tried to take pictures of the batters box area sometimes the auto focus locked onto the screen between us and the field.

I switched to manual focus and everything was fine.

The softness you notice may be in the lens. My Canon lens seems to give a really sharp image.
Some more thanks...OverStuffed
Sep 29, 2003 2:15 PM
It was a great ride. Thanks to MB1 for organizing it, and doing his great job of support and reporting. I didn't know when we started that "rolling" meant "absolutely nothing flat." Great job!

--Kevin
Some more thanks...OverStuffed
Sep 29, 2003 5:42 PM
It was a great ride. Thanks to MB1 for organizing it, and doing his great job of support and reporting. I didn't know when we started that "rolling" meant "absolutely nothing flat." Great job!

--Kevin
Great Report! And I am so jealous...jtolleson
Sep 29, 2003 8:26 PM
many of my favorite folk from this board in that crowd, and really fun to see pics.

Everyone looks great! When shall we do it out west for me to join in? Hmmmmmm?
You know, there are lots of airports around here.MB1
Sep 30, 2003 3:34 AM
Doesn't cost much to fly nowdays.

We give lots of notice before one of our rides.

Everyone is welcome.

Might be fun.

It isn't really all that hilly around here (unless we do a hilly ride).

You don't have to try to keep up with Miss M.

The food is great afterwards.

Come on down!