RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


BROOKS SWIFT SADDLE(15 posts)

BROOKS SWIFT SADDLEfredstaple
Sep 28, 2003 4:27 AM
Anyone ride a Brooks Swift Ti Saddle? I ride a B17, but am looking into a more racing type Brooks saddle. The Swift is 18 mm more narrow than the B17 and was wondering if anyone knows how much that will effect me. Before I drop $138 would like to know what some riders think. Brooks was not listed in the product review section of the web site. thanks. fred
re: BROOKS SWIFT SADDLEweekendrider
Sep 28, 2003 4:52 AM
Check mtbreview the swift has 9 reviews. I have a swift on my road bike, and a B17 on my revmaster, like them both. I was at Barnes and noble yesterday one of the Euro bike mags had a review of about a dozen saddles, they gave the swift the highest comfort rating(once it was broken in).
cool looking torture deviceDougSloan
Sep 28, 2003 5:33 AM
I have one on my 1980 Bianchi, big copper rivets and all. Looks great, but any more than an hour on it, and my underside is hating life. I understand some people swear by them, but I can only swear at them.

My guess is that if you like any Brooks, it won't be that much different.

Doug
cool looking torture device?Andy M-S
Sep 28, 2003 6:15 AM
Doug:

If you hate it that much, I'll trade you a gently used Flite Ti for it...
Indifferentterry b
Sep 28, 2003 6:37 AM
Tried one based on all the religious testimony and while I found it to be sort of comfortable, it didn't light up my life in any sense. I replaced it with a San Marco Regal (for the retro look) which costs 1/2, weighs 1/2 and does not have a huge break in period.
brooks vs regalJS Haiku Shop
Sep 29, 2003 6:13 AM
I have brooks b17n (same profile as swift) on 2 bikes and regals on 2 bikes, and don't care about weight. the regals are about the same shape, though never break in, as they have a composite base. the regals are fine up to about 90 miles. anything over 100 and i'm ready for pain medication. after break-in, the brooks b17n has been comfortable for me indefinitely (250 mi rides, and then some). i'd rather sit on it than my couch.

m2c
re: BROOKS SWIFT SADDLEbianchi boy
Sep 28, 2003 8:53 AM
I've got a Swift that I picked up used. It comes real close to fitting me, but is just a little too narrow. My sit bones rest right on the metal frame/rivets and start hurting after a while. I just can't bring myself to get rid of the saddle though because it looks so nice, and I keep thinking maybe it would fit with a different seatpost, etc.

I bought a Brooks Team Pro, which is slightly wider, thinking that would fit just right, but no dice. The sides of the Pro come down much farther than the Swift, making it impossible to move the saddle far enough back on the rails for me. The only way to make the Pro fit would have been to take a sharp knife and cut down the leather on the sides, which is was reluctant to do -- so I returned it.

If you like the B-17, why not buy the version with ti rails? It's heavier than the Swift, but you know it would fit. If you want to try out a Swift, buy it from www.wallbike.com. They will give you a full refund on any Brooks saddle if it doesn't fit, with 6-month trial period. You can't beat that.
Cut like the old Swallow model?torquecal
Sep 28, 2003 2:07 PM
Wish they still made this one.
you can still buy the Swallow, I thinkbianchi boy
Sep 28, 2003 4:13 PM
One of the bike shops in my town has a Swallow for sale, and I think Wallbike.com has them listed in their catalogue. I thought about cutting the sides of my Team Pro like that, but figured that if it still didn't fit, I'd be stuck with an $80 experiment that didn't work. If you'll notice in the photo you posted, the Swallow has some rivets on the side -- which isn't done for other Brooks models. So it must have some other sort of attachment on the sides that helps it maintain its shape.
Swallow to be re-introduced in Januarypswann
Sep 28, 2003 5:30 PM
According to Wallbike, Brooks will re-introduce the Swallow in January. And yes, the rivets are the attachments points of an upside-down "u" bracket that keeps the skirt leather from flaring.
true, dat. swallow with Ti rails and other goodies nmJS Haiku Shop
Sep 29, 2003 6:15 AM
Pic of new Swallow I took at Eurobike.....2melow
Sep 29, 2003 6:37 AM
Saweeeet!
i really want to like itSao
Sep 28, 2003 12:34 PM
Mine started hurting after the break-in period, after 1000+ miles. I still look at it sitting there and think that I'll try again, maybe when my current saddle gets painful again.

Anybody else here have the experience where a saddle gets to the point of feeling great, then just doesn't anymore? Then you swap it with another saddle and IT feels great for awhile, then doesn't, and on and on?

Drag.
Me toomcteague
Sep 29, 2003 6:08 AM
I just sent back my Swift. I was suprised that it was fairly comfy right off the bat. My sit bones soon became very comfortable and my shorts never seemed to bunch up. Felt cooler as well. The center section, where your perineum sits, seemed hard at first. I assumed it would get better but actually seemed to get worse. No amount of tilt would take the pressure off so I reluctantly sent it back. I now have a Fizik Aliane and it feels very good.

Tim McTeague
swift, swallow, colt, b17n all same width at the backJS Haiku Shop
Sep 29, 2003 6:18 AM
but i'm not sure if the shapes are the same. fwiw, i ride ssm regal x2 and b17n x2, and both are fine. the b17n is the same width and shape of the swift; the swift is essentially the b17n with larger rivets and Ti rails. i am a "brooks religious zealot" after riding long distances on the b17n. i however cannot bring myself to put one on my "race bike". perhaps a nice british green swift.