RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Opinion of Fuji Bikes(16 posts)

Opinion of Fuji Bikesdgangi
Sep 26, 2003 8:38 PM
Hello all --

I have been in the market for a ~$1000 road bike for quite a while now. I think I found what I want, but before I plunk down my cash this weekend I wanted to see if you have an opinion about my choice...

I have been shopping for a lightweight bike that is quick, responsive, comfortable, and affordable. This is my first road bike, but I want something that will be fast and fun for many years to come. I know this is tall order to fill, but I think I found the ticket: a 2003 Fuji Team. A local bike shop is clearing these out for $995 (originally sold for more, like $1500 or so). The bike has a full Ultegra drivetrain with Ritchey Pro components and wheelset (Ritchey WCS crankset). Nothing on the bike is "house brand" except for the seat (which is actually a Velo with titanium rails). Even the fork is 100% carbon, including the steerer. Total weight is only 16.8 pounds. Wow...it almost seems too good to be true for $995.

So am I buying a lemon in disguise? Or are Fuji bikes good? My concern is the build quality of the frame (longevity) and the support of the company should anything go wrong. Any information you can share about your experience or knowledge of this bike or Fuji in general is greatly appreciated.

Thx...Doug
re: Opinion of Fuji Bikeslyleseven
Sep 26, 2003 9:16 PM
A freind of mine got one, but I'm not sure if it was the Team or the Marseilles, as it cost about $1,200 and said it was a bit squirelly in handling. You should check to see if it has a 1" or 1 1/2" headset as this may make a difference in handling. Just second hand info, however.
Headset ?, Handling ?Steve Bailey
Sep 27, 2003 5:00 PM
First off, it would either be a 1" threaded headset (not likely - too bad though) a 1-1/8" threadless with external cups, a 1-1/8" low profile, or a 1-1/8" integrated. Was it a typo, or have I missed out on the news that Fuji builds bikes with 1-1/2" headsets. Who makes that headset ?.

Second, the idea that you would notice the difference in handling between a bike equipped 1" threaded and any version of 1-1/8" is ludicrous. Period.

FWIW, Fuji makes nice bikes and this is a good deal for an Ultegra bike. If it fits, buy it.

Steve Bailey
My Opinion of Fuji BikesBill from WPB
Sep 26, 2003 9:55 PM
My first road bike has been a Fuji, a Finest-AL. It has the cheapest components (Sora). I bought it just to try the sport. Believe me, its performance has pleasantly surprised me and my friends. I have no doubt is one of the best deals for the money. After 1,500 miles it rides as it did when it was new. I've had about four spills (pretty hard)and the frame has held up great. Just minor scratches.
Now that I'm hooked on the sport I have decided that my next bike will be a Fuji Team. I have no doubt Fuji makes a great bike for the money. I have read some reviews, however, where the Fuji Team has been observed to have too much flex for heavier riders. You might want to take that into account.
Fuji Team - Flexdgangi
Sep 27, 2003 6:30 AM
I am a smaller rider - 5' 7", 150 lbs. Frame flex is rarely a problem for me because I ride a smaller frame. With the Fuji, the 54cm seemed to fit nicely.

I am very familiar with frame flex - coming from the MTB world, frame flex is a VERY common problem in full-suspension bikes, and damn near impossible to eliminate in larger frames simply because of the laws of physics. But when some people complain about "flexy" frames on certain brands, I never seem to notice because I am not all that heavy and the frame size I run is usually a Small or Medium.

I will definitely try some sprints on the Fuji today and see if it flexes. That is always a concern. Thanks for your input.

Thx...Doug
weight on full fuji bikes not accurate.kneebreaker
Sep 26, 2003 11:24 PM
Maybe not, butgeeker
Sep 27, 2003 5:41 AM
I lifted up a "Professional" model (fully built up, with pedals) in a shop, and it was *really* light. FWIW, some of the reviews on this site mention flexiness, so big/tall riders might want to test ride.
weight on full fuji bikes not accurate.dgangi
Sep 27, 2003 6:26 AM
I think the claimed weight on most manufacturer's bikes can be suspect. That being said, I lifted the Team in the bike shop and it was *light*. I damn near hit myself in the face with the bike because I expected it to be heavier. I think the 16.8 pound rating for this bike is pretty close.

Thx...Doug
re: Opinion of Fuji BikesThorman
Sep 27, 2003 3:26 AM
I know two people who ride the team bike and from what I hear they both like it. For the money you can't go wrong with full Ultegra.

Thorman
http://www.ScottThor.com
That is a great deal...biknben
Sep 27, 2003 4:28 AM
For that price this is a no-brainer. The claimed bike weight is no less accurate than the rest of the bike industry. Kudoes to Fuji for having the balls to claim a weight (even if they don't include pedals). Everyone else just says "N/A".

Fuji has made high quality bikes for years. They've been in tandem with Ritchey since the 80's. In essence, Ritchey is their house brand.
IMHOcoonass
Sep 27, 2003 5:16 AM
Best low-priced bike for the buck...your primary concern should be "Does the geometry of the frame fit my body?"....beyond that: Go For It!! You'll get more than your money's worth for the $995. It's not the Lexus of bikes, but could sure qualify for being an Accord :)
You'l be happy with it...asphalt assault
Sep 27, 2003 2:45 PM
My best riding bud bought an 02 Fuji Team last spring for a great price and he loves it. He has a 58cm, weighs about 190 and hasn't complained about it being flexy. We both ride FS MTB bikes so we are no strangers to flex. This is his first road bike so he really doesnt have anything to compare to though.

Look at it this way...all the components except the frame would cost you $995 (or very close to it) if you bought them as a gruppo so you're sort of getting a free frame!
They're popular hereronniedee
Sep 27, 2003 7:17 PM
I see plenty of strong riders on Fuji's around here. If it fits, and you like the way it rides, then go for it.
Fuji team = nice bikePeterRider
Sep 27, 2003 8:10 PM
I've drafted thousands of miles (yep, thousands of miles) behind the one in the picture below since last september. My friend's very satisfied of it. I've tried it, too large for me but it rides well.

Pierre
Fuji team = nice bikeaxebiker
Sep 28, 2003 9:28 AM
I bought a 2003 Fuji Team recently. I LOVE IT!! Very nice ride, and light as heck. Mine was a 58cm and weighed in at EXACTLY 17 lbs. without pedals. That's with a set of Mavic Ksyrium Elites they swapped out for Ritchey's it came with. The only thing I have to say about it - and it's not really a complaint - was that the stem was a 100mm stem, which seems a bit short for a 58cm frame. They swapped it out for a 120mm stem that was on a 58cm Fuji Marseille however - weird, huh?? For the price vs. quality, I think it's tough to beat Fuji - certainly a better value than a similar Trek, Bianchi, or Specialized.
Thanks for the info - bought the Fujidgangi
Sep 28, 2003 7:14 PM
Hey all -

Thanks a lot for the feedback. Based on so many positive responses, I purchased the Fuji Team. The bike rode very nicely and seemed to fit me well. My only concerns were the intangibles that have been answered by your feedback. I feel great about this purchase!

I will report back later with an update on how well the bike is working for me.

Thx...Doug