RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Cyclists traits(36 posts)

Cyclists traitsMrCelloBoy
Sep 26, 2003 11:09 AM
I seem to notice that cyclists seem to share other common interests. Photography is the most common. Here's my personal list, feel free to add, subtract, agree or disagree as fits you...

Cycling
Photography
Music (musician)
Gourmet cooking
Left-handed
Drive AWD station wagon (Subie WRX)
re: Cyclists traitsSteve_0
Sep 26, 2003 11:17 AM
In order,
My daughter
surfing
triathon
hunting/fishing/clamming
football (guess I wont have much agreement here)
left-handed
right footed
Drive a brick, ride an xj600
Three out of three of us are left handed. What's up with that?nmDave Hickey
Sep 26, 2003 11:20 AM
I'm a lefty (handed), too. Hmm... (nm)Dale Brigham
Sep 26, 2003 11:45 AM
Count me in also. nmSpunout
Sep 26, 2003 3:49 PM
re: Cyclists traitsSpecialTater
Sep 26, 2003 11:20 AM
No particular order
Road biking
Mountain biking
Duck hunting
fly fishing
photography
college football
baseball
music
cooking
eating
right handed
drives an evil SUV (explorer)
you do duck?Steve_0
Sep 26, 2003 11:26 AM
duck's my favorite. What flyway do you live in?

I'm in the atlantic; Plenty of resident black/mallards/divers. Migrating woodies, teal, pins. Some occassional strange due to a major wildlife refuge nearby.
MississippiSpecialTater
Sep 26, 2003 12:18 PM
flyway in Memphis. I just moved from Atlanta and I'm anxious to get back into the woods. I didn't get to hunt much over there and my lab turned into a city dog/pet.

Went to the local DU banquet last night. Good stuff, but missed out on the Super Black Eagle raffle.

I've always wanted to really hunt in the Atlantic. Beautiful ducks there that are rare here (black and canvasback mainly). We are mostly mallards and woodies in the woods and gadwall, pintail and everything else in the rice fields. Do you hunt tidal basins? Rivers?
Agree, in part, disagree, in part . . .ms
Sep 26, 2003 11:25 AM
Cycling -- agree, but that is a given if one is posting here
Photography -- not an interest of mine, but given the pics that are posted here regularly (which I enjoy), you may have a point

Music (musician) -- does five years of forced piano lessons, but inability to play anything (never practiced) count? I like to listen to classical music, but I don't think that anyone ever would want to listen to any music that I attempted to make.

Gourmet cooking -- I like to cook, but I don't know if I would call it "gourmet." I think that cyclists fall into two polar extremes when it comes to food -- those who love food (the ride to eat crowd) and those who see food only as fuel to ride (the eat to ride crowd). I fall into the ride to eat crowd.

Left-handed -- I'm right handed.

Drive AWD station wagon (Subie WRX)-- No, I drive an ancient Honda (or my wife's Mercury Sable wagon).

SOME TRAITS/INTERESTS THAT I WOULD ADD

Lack of competence at stick and ball sports.

(Male Cyclists) Upper body physique of a ten-year old girl.

Knowledge of obscure country roads.

Addiction to the Weather Channel.

Better knowledge of the geography of France than your own country.
re: Cyclists traitsJS Haiku Shop
Sep 26, 2003 11:25 AM
cycling
music
reading
driving
ambidextrous
drive an AWD orange toaster oven with really great stereo

I consider family a way of life and work a way of facilitating life & interests; neither are on my list of "interests". "fitness" would be on the "way of life" list, though it may be termed "suffering" with "relative fitness" as a pleasant side effect.
forgotJS Haiku Shop
Sep 26, 2003 11:27 AM
running, weights, home projects, and podium girl friday.
I'm left handed but what about beer loving.lotterypick
Sep 26, 2003 11:31 AM
I'm not, but think cyclist perhaps are.

Another one is like active looking girls.
re: Cyclists traitsTNSquared
Sep 26, 2003 11:42 AM
me:

Suffering (cycling and running generally, but always open to other "outlets")
Musician (ok, drummer, but at least that lets me hang out with musicians)
Chips, Salsa & Beer
Pizza & Beer
Beer
Right-handed
Drive to and from work with no radio, music or other sound
Addicted to the SCIFI channel
My 3 year old daughter rules my world
re: Cyclists traitsMR_GRUMPY
Sep 26, 2003 11:44 AM
Racing
Training
Just riding
MTN biking
Sleeping
Eating
Shooting the S with friends
Working on my bikes
Right handed
Burping
re: Cyclists traitsshrEd
Sep 26, 2003 11:51 AM
Road biking
Mountain Biking
Racing (both)
Snowboarding
Punk Rock (still at the ripe old age of 36)
My 2 Shiba Inu's (dogs)
Right-handed
Honda Civic
Punk rock!j-son
Sep 26, 2003 1:06 PM
Road riding
Mtn biking
Running
Pug dogs x 3 (Nixon Missy and Seamus)
Voracious reader
Music (good music; be it the Clash or Johnny Cash [rip])
Police officer
Right handed -- but I lean to the left ; )

I was listening to the Misfits as I drove home from work in my Xterra.
Punk rock!The Human G-Nome
Sep 26, 2003 2:54 PM
a police officer who listens to the misfits and drives an xterra. interesting.
re: Cyclists traitsgodot
Sep 26, 2003 12:16 PM
Mogul Skiing
Cycling
Volleyball
Reading
Beer
Left Handed
Subaru Outback with XM Radio
re: Cyclists traitsScotttheroadie
Sep 26, 2003 12:34 PM
road biking
mountain biking
camping
home theater
gaming
cooking
drive an Xterra 2wd
off roading in the Xterra
ambidextrous
love music
shoot lots of photos
surf way too much at work
re: Cyclists traitsgtscottie
Sep 26, 2003 12:36 PM
Road biking
Mountain biking
working on bikes
wine making
drinking wine
right handed
I play a mean stereo
Drive a (gasp) Ford Expedition
Eat to live
That's weird about the left handed thingKristin
Sep 26, 2003 1:02 PM
Unless the right handers feel out-numbered and are too intimidated to respond. I'm a girl, so I'm already an anomile.

Hiking
The Outdoors
Cycling
Backpacking
The Outdoors
Photography
Horseback riding
The Outdoors
Confections (a type of cooking)
Interior Design (both obviously indoors)
I'm considering an Outback for my next car (or a Saturn wagon)
OMG NO! Don't get the Saturn!KG 361
Sep 27, 2003 6:09 PM
Get the Sub. You'll never regret it. Me?
My wife and kids
Cycling
Music-most forms-Johnny Cash to Aerosmith and just about anything inbetween
Shiba-inus (dogs, Zoe and Sasha)
Beer
Skiing (AlPINE)
Right-handed
Subaru Outback
Shiba's rock!shrEd
Sep 29, 2003 9:16 AM
Great dogs huh?

Although I remember reading how "independent" they were and thinking great, only now to realize that means STUBBORN! Ha!

shrEd
Wild Outlyer - the story of my lifeScot_Gore
Sep 26, 2003 1:25 PM
Ballroom Dance
History
Table top games
Camping
Canoeing
Hiking
Right Handed
Minivan Driver
Being Dad

I post pictures here from time to time, but I don't count it as a hobby or passion. I point click and hope for the best.

Interesting post, thanks

Scot
re: Cyclists traitsbigrider
Sep 26, 2003 1:38 PM
Music (Classical, Opera, Bluegrass, 70s Rock, Funk, Blues)
Cooking(Chinese, Southern, Mexican, Italian)
Reading(Steven King, Dostoyevsky)
Duck Hunting
Bow Hunting
Boat Building
Left-Handed
Playing Fiddle
Repairing Fiddles
Drinking Hot Tea
Driving Matrix or the Avalon
Here are a few of mine......Reed Weedakowski
Sep 26, 2003 2:09 PM
Money
Hot babes in Lingerie
Soccer
Weed
Partying
Sense of Humour
re: Cyclists traitsmapei boy
Sep 26, 2003 2:54 PM
Cycling.

Travel. Especially overseas.

Music. I play several instruments, some of them pretty well. I rock and roll with my buddies. I'm an audiophile.

Photography. I was once deep, deep into it. Now not so much.

I'm a fairly good cook, but my wife's much better. I'm certainly dedicated to gourmet eating.

Left-handed.

Drive a German sports sedan.

I have a propensity for mimicking Phil Ligget.
re: Cyclists traitsrubendc19
Sep 26, 2003 3:06 PM
Man this is wierd there are alot of left handers (I am to)

I do like photography
I like football,

I'm sure If I had more money I'd be doing all those things mentioned
re: Cyclists traitscyclist of all trades
Sep 26, 2003 6:15 PM
recumbent low racer-because it's the fastest
lemond zurich
fisher 29 supercal
rt handed
chevy cargo van(stabin' wagon)
snow boarding
daughter
wife

sometimes in that order
Another Leftysnapdragen
Sep 26, 2003 6:14 PM
Cycling
Photography
Reading
Hiking
Travel -- Love Canada and Alaska
Jewelry Maker
Left Handed
Drive a blue Suby Forester - matches my bike
re: Cyclists traitsukiahb
Sep 26, 2003 7:54 PM
am also a lefty...hmmm, looks like there is a strong trend here as only about 12% of people in general are left handed, would be really interesting to know if cyclists in general really do tend towards left-handedness...anybody know??. I'm currently reading two books on left-handedness (mainly because current GF is also lefthanded (and a cyclist), we have MANY common traits, and I think that is partly due to both being left-handed), but cycling has not come up yet..
Ask a roomfull of accountants, you'll get over 50% usually. nmSpunout
Sep 27, 2003 2:53 AM
Do you want my wifes opinion of me?...rwbadley
Sep 26, 2003 7:58 PM
or the truth? heh heh...

I like:

bicycling

playing with motorbikes

photography

mostly right handed tho pretty ambidextrous

making beer,wine and whatever

drinking beer wine and whatever

cycling, again- I sure wish I could ride more

good food and etc... I do like to cook (I took the 'world Spam champ' years ago)

humping

wifey thinks I may be a control freak, I just think I like it done right...(we're remodeling, grrr)

playing on the computer with my rbr friends

RW
re: Cyclists traitsSpunout
Sep 27, 2003 2:58 AM
Cycling, suffering, and health.

Photography. Amazing how much bike stuff I bought when selling off camera equipment.

Music: Piano. Classical Guitar. Voracious listener to anything different: Reggae, New Order, Old Jazz, Afro.

Cooking: Classically trained Chef de Cuisine and Sommelier. Professional until 28, then retired to go to business school. Much more time(and money) for cycling with job as a government accountant.

Left handed: We're the ones in our right mind.

Drive: 10 years without a car, recently got engaged to a Cavalier. I will upgrade her to an Outback ASAP. With bike racks.
Mixed bag 'o stuff hereMg1
Sep 27, 2003 4:55 PM
family - 4.8 & 3 yr old girls, 3 mo old boy
downhill skiing (powder, bumps)
mtn biking
running
rd biking
music - sure, if you play something for me.
eating - weakness for ice cream, beer, pancakes
reading
tinkering with my bikes
flipping thru bike catalogs
planning my workout schedule

ambidextrous - but mostly left handed
Saturn LW wagon - 'cuz i got a great deal on it
re: Cyclists traitsTNRyder
Sep 27, 2003 6:09 PM
Cycling (Road and Mountain bikes)
photography, a long time ago I was a photo major
Musician, I have played multiple instruments as well as singing
I cook, but not gourmet
RT handed
Mercury Mystique
Racing, I have raced all sorts of things, some of them legal
Wife, I like pretty girls so I married one
3 girls (7, 4, 2)
I love to EAT