RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Wheels - chi-chi factor vs. self restraint(12 posts)

Wheels - chi-chi factor vs. self restraintlitespeedchick
Sep 26, 2003 8:42 AM
So I just ordered that Ghisallo. Comes w/ 2002 Campy Proton wheels. All I knew is that's Campy's bottom-of-line wheel, so I immediately started shopping for something chi-chi to replace them. Desirous of Kysriums, Dura Ace 7701, etc.

Now I have noticed that the Campy Protons in Performance are listed as 1597 grams. Lighter than the Dura Ace and only 67 grams heavier than Ksyrium ssc sl. But they're so PLAIN!

So what do you think? Buy pretty wheels anyway, or save the cash and stick with the perfectly good wheels I'm getting. Are there any other excuses to upgrade wheels besides light weight? (I weigh 110 if that helps your analysis)

Thanks in advance
Just buy some K stickers and save $300. (nm)TFerguson
Sep 26, 2003 8:56 AM
re: Wheels - chi-chi factor vs. self restraintNo_sprint
Sep 26, 2003 8:56 AM
I'm a wheel nut and have several sets. I say go for it. In my opinion Kyseriums are very low bang for your buck wheels. You can spend the same and get much more wheel elsewhere. Shoot, I think I can get a pair of brand new 303s for the price of the SSC SLs. My best all around wheel is likely my set of Nucleons. My favorite wheels are my set of carbon tubies that come in at 1100 grams. There is nothing wrong with plain looking. One thing I wouldn't do is put a set of Shimano wheels on a Campy bike.
Protons are good wheelsDougSloan
Sep 26, 2003 9:07 AM
Are you going to trade out the wheels, or buy additional wheels? If trading out, may as well get what you want. If buy extra, you'll spend a lot of money and not get much more performance.

As a really light person, you're probably a good climber anyway. No need for ultralight wheels. Might want something more aero.

Campy rims can be hard to mount tires. My Nucleons are darn near impossible to mount some tires without pinching a tube or blistering fingers. Mavics typically are easy. If for no other reason, I'd trade out the Campies for K's.

If you are passionate about cycling, get what makes you happy. All the rationalization for "normal" or "affordable" parts in the world may not make you happy (or maybe it will -- that's up to you).

My personal opinion? I'd get the Ksyrium SL's (and peel off the stickers), if you can trade, but stick with the Campy wheels if you must purchase an additional set.

Doug
Protons are good wheelsdjg
Sep 26, 2003 9:15 AM
Also, it's just not true that Protons are campy's bottom rung offering (if THAT's what matters, not that it should).
thankslitespeedchick
Sep 26, 2003 9:19 AM
The bike shop won't let me swap out since I'm getting a major deal on a bike they've had sitting in the shop for a while. So I would have to buy the new wheels and then try to sell the Campys (on e-bay I guess). Maybe I should keep a spare set, but my husband has a spare and I can't see us .........ooooh, wait a minute, I can't use his spare Shimano wheels on this Campy bike, can I? Hmmm.... perhaps this IS an excuse to get another set. Then again, I can't imagine why I would need a spare, I don't go around breaking a lot of parts at my size.

Which more aero wheels do you recommend?
thanksIronbutt
Sep 26, 2003 10:01 AM
Maybe y ou could find a set of wheels that is more aero, but as I recall frontal area is the greatest factor in aerodynymic resistance at bicycling speeds. And at your weight, I would say that you are a size woman to make a fairly small hole in the air! The Campy wheels are high quality, and not too heavy, really. If you just want a spare set in case of disaster, why not get a Campy compatible cassette that will fit on your husband's Shimano wheels? They are readily available from Branford Bike, and are reported to shift as well as the Campy cogsets. And a lot more convenient to carry than another set of wheels. But if you want a set of really high zoot wheels to go with that Ghisallo, then go for them. At that level of a bike, it's mostly an emotional decision, anyway.
Not really aero but for an every day set...divve
Sep 26, 2003 11:04 AM
....I really enjoy riding my custom built wheels (Record hubs, silver Sapim CX Ray spokes 3x, black 28h Mavic OP rims). Laterally stiff yet very smooth riding. They're also slightly lighter and more aero compared to Ksyrium SL. Better looking too in my opinion with some nice yellow Pro Race tires:)
re: Wheels - chi-chi factor vs. self restraintnovagator
Sep 26, 2003 9:22 AM
Protons are good wheels, I have them on my current rig. Bomb proof (although at 110lbs that isn't really an issue for you) and very reliable. I've had them for 2 years and have not had to have them trued. The poster below is correct, Campy wheels are hard to mount tires to. Of course, I just bought a new rig and went with Campy Eurus, so you can see I like Campy wheels, notwithstanding the issue noted above...bottom line, Protons are very good wheels (and really not at all plain), but if you have your heart set on another wheelset, might as well pull the trigger, because if you'r anything like me, you'll end up doing it anyway :-)
Self Restraint of Blow it Allbimini
Sep 26, 2003 9:41 AM
Protons are good wheels. Good for "training" and good for climbing. Reliable (and 67 grams is 2 1/2 oz which is nothing). Campy makes GREAT hubs.

If you want / need a second set of wheels, buy a great set of aero wheels. I would much rather have a HED, ZIPP, or Campy BORA sticker on a real set of racing wheels than a Ksyrium stick on an okay set of training wheels. Yeah, I know they aren't reliable, but you could use the Protons for every day and the NICE wheels for those special events. If you need a reliable set of aero wheels get a set of aluminium aero wheels.

Super light weight wheels are just marketing ploys to get you to buy new products and spend more $. 67 grams will have no impact on speed on level ground or even hills of moderate grade. If you are climbing mountains they may have some impact when you are going up and a negative impact coming down again. Aero is a different story. They have a real impact in any type of riding. And the largest percent impact on speed for riders with low power output.

Besides Ksyrium's are made in France. Buy American or Italian
Check out Topolino's -high chi-chi factor . (nm)Uprwstsdr
Sep 26, 2003 11:07 AM
Are you looking for a Buyer for your wheels?maurizio
Sep 26, 2003 2:14 PM
LightspeedChick-
email me if you are interested in selling those wheels.
l_r_gonzalez@yahoo.com

where in the U.S are you by the way?