RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


bike computer with distance count down(11 posts)

bike computer with distance count downmk_42
Sep 25, 2003 11:41 AM
Does anybody's bike computer have count DOWN features? Specifically I want count down distance (you set a distance and as you ride the numbers go down towards zero). Countdown timer would be a bonus.

_42
No, but I could hook you up with subtraction flash cards.PseuZQ
Sep 25, 2003 12:09 PM
Just teasing. (Yeah, I'm useless. :-)) Why do you want to count down?
was thinking the same thing; never saw one, either nmDougSloan
Sep 25, 2003 12:14 PM
Why count down.mk_42
Sep 25, 2003 1:11 PM
The idea comes to me from rowing. But it seems pretty natural. You always think in terms of "to go," especially after the halfway point. So why should you do the math? But there's more.

Almost everyone who rows can get better power out when concentrating on the distance. I think it has something to do with the fact that when you are counting down distance and you speed up you "get there" sooner. Whereas if you train by time you just suffer longer. It's kind of like any sport when you finally see the finish line, the top of the rise, etc. Well all this psychology seems to work better with counting down. I was a cox and as a cox your job (kind of like a jockey) is to get all of the energy possible out of your boat (rowers). Kind of like separating the mind from the muscle. So you spend a lot of your time on the psychology and this bit, while unexplained, really works.

I've often thought that the reason bike computers don't do this is because the numbers don't go down fast enough on a bike. But they could easily easily incorporate a program the interpolates (or even measures) meters or even 10 meter increments and get that effect.

_42
Ah.... Different mindset it seems.PseuZQ
Sep 25, 2003 2:08 PM
I don't "get" there, I "go" there. I think it's way more fun to watch the numbers pile up, rather than whittle down.
Also, you can say, "well, I've done 85 miles...Think I'll roll to 100!" rather than rolling to negative fifteen.
Different mindset definitely. It depends in what you're doing.mk_42
Sep 25, 2003 3:49 PM
I don't care if it's intervals or hills or running or swimming or whatever but when you go hard (and I mean hard) you care about how far it is to the end. When you are there and your muscles are on fire and your lungs are too small all you care about is suppressing the urge to slow down and getting to the end where you can stop. I don't think I've ever met an athlete in any sport who didn't feel this way.

And another angle. When you watch cycling coverage on tv they almost always tell you what's happening in terms of distance to go (especially after half way). While the statement that someone made an attack at 169km into the race might be impressive, they will usually say it was at the 5km to go mark.

While I've trained that hard in other sports I certainly don't ride that hard now. But a lot of other people do so I'm a little surprised that the feature isn't more common and that's why I was asking.

_42
Dyslexialyleseven
Sep 25, 2003 3:20 PM
He counts down instead of up because he's dyslexic, maybe....
Avocet 45TT nmMR_GRUMPY
Sep 25, 2003 12:15 PM
2nd that. Never used the feature before. I like the card idea.Fez
Sep 25, 2003 12:59 PM
Avocet 45TT nmaliensporebomb
Sep 25, 2003 7:27 PM
Wow, that thing does everything but butter your bread in
the morning. Cool computer!
Sigma Sport BC1200 & BC1600MisJG
Sep 26, 2003 7:51 AM
Both of these have settable trip distance that counts down. Never used it on my 1200, but it's there. I don't know of any bicycle computer with a countdown timer. Why not wear a watch for that function? My Ironman Triathlon watch has a countdown timer. I sometimes use it if I want to run for a set amount of time vs distance. It will count down, alarm goes off and then it counts up (or stops depending on how you have it set). Good for out and back runs.