RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


A "Way To Go" For Someone Out There -- ClearChannel Redux(17 posts)

A "Way To Go" For Someone Out There -- ClearChannel ReduxGregory Taylor
Sep 25, 2003 9:11 AM
Hey -- the guys at RoadBikeRider.com included a decent piece about the Clear Channel fiasco in Raleigh, N.C., as part of their weekly e-mail. Good Job!

The best information in the article was the e-mail address of Mark Mays, president and COO of Clear Channel
Communications (MarkPMays@clearchannel.com) They suggest that you let him know what you think...
G105 knew what they were doing and CC doesn't care!!!andy02
Sep 25, 2003 9:26 AM
CC let G105 do it for free ads in RBR and other places. They don't care if they a make a small niche market mad!! If they get lucky we get mad talk to local papers and they say oops and do some good public service. Not to mention a lot of people agree with them. Motorist can't even get along with each other anymore this is why we have all of these road rage laws are popping up.
More...gf99
Sep 25, 2003 9:29 AM
Investor Relations
randypalmer@clearchannel.com

Lowry Mays
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer LLowryMays@clearchannel.com

Plus from the local station (G105 in Raleigh):

Operations Manager: Chris Shebel
chrisshebel@clearchannel.com

Program Director: Chris Edge
chrisedge@g105.com
They don't just hate cyclistsgf99
Sep 25, 2003 10:09 AM
http://www.petitiononline.com/lovepigs/petition.html
Now I'm not animal activist but some of that is just wrongKristin
Sep 25, 2003 10:24 AM
It gives me an idea though. Perhaps we can capture a CC morning DJ and castrate him live with not anethetic on a competitors station. Mancow would probably air it.
Bonus if they use one of the following tools to do the jobKristin
Sep 25, 2003 10:34 AM




re: A "Way To Go" For Someone Out There -- ClearChanneBeaver
Sep 25, 2003 10:52 AM
I live in G105's broadcast area, but did not hear the broadcast. I can't stand their morning show to begin with.

I emailed a reporter at the WRAL television station(http://www. wral.com) and a cyclist friendly reporter at The News and Observer newspaper(http://newsobserver.com) with the text about the broadcast taken from http://www.trianglemtb.com/#g105sucks

Don't know if anything will come from it, but it was worth the time.
You are giving them the attention that they want.import silvia
Sep 25, 2003 11:05 AM
The best way to hurt a media outlet is to ignore, change the channel, or turn off. Not provide them with free advertising in the form of ranting.

They pull these stunts for the ATTENTION it garners and everybody who is out there foaming at the mouth about it is just playing into their hands.

You may even succeed in punishing the specific DJ's but you will also show just that many more stations that this gets attention, which gets ratings, which in turn gets sponsors.

Feel free to flame me over this response but remember the more posts this generates the more people who will come see my opinion.....
You are giving them the attention that they want.Giant_Tom
Sep 25, 2003 11:54 AM
Kind of like Fox suing Al "I'm an idiot" Franken over a trademarked phrase in his book. All it did was sell more books. :(
I Actually Agree, But Only Up To A Point....Gregory Taylor
Sep 25, 2003 12:02 PM
I don't think that you can totally ignore this one because the potential downside is too great. But I agree that we cycists should be smarter about how we react.

If a publicity stunt has enough downside to it then it won't be repeated. What needs to happen is for this episode to have a painful downside for the station (and DJs) involved.

Unfortunately, the downside here that would probably generate enough pain for Clear Channel to sincerely take steps to control their DJs is where a cyclist is actually hurt in a market where one of these yahoos is broadcasting. A savvy (and audacious)lawyer might include the station as a co-defendant. The resulting litigation exposure would shut them up.

However, you would certainly prefer not to be in the position of having to sort out a radio station's role in creating a hostile attitude toward cyclists after someone has gotten hurt. You would rather nip it in the bud.

I was noodling around last night to see if there are less-public but adequately sphincter-puckering ways to get a point across, like complaining to the FCC. FCC enforcement actions, while relatively toothless (hasn't stopped Howard Stern - God bless 'em!), can be annoying. You can complain to the FCC, but they seem to be more interested in investigating obscenity and abuses of on-air contests. Still, it might be worth while to send a complaint their way (www.fcc.gov) if you are in the G105 listening area.

In the interim, it's approprate to let Clear Channel know what you think, quietly and without fanfare. While I agree that spouting off to the Press with a capital "P" is free advertising for these idiots, sharing information and kvetching in a less-public (and more sympathetic) cycling-related media outlet probably won't generate any new listeners for Clear Channel.
Not if you contact your Senators and Representative ...Humma Hah
Sep 25, 2003 2:59 PM
... ClearChannel is facing legislation in the Senate to limit their ability to acquire more stations plus other media including newspapers. And, miracle of miracles, the Senate is starting to think this is a BAD idea, and are about to get into a veto fight over the issue with the Bush administration! So right now is a good time to feed your Senator reasons to stick it to ClearChannel and the other big media conglomerates.

They're vulnerable. This could cost them big time.
Not if you contact your Senators and Representative ...gf99
Sep 25, 2003 4:10 PM
There's also a sizable "cycling caucus" in congress made up of both dems and repubs. I saw a list with contact info one time. I'll post it if I can find it.
Just for yucks...gf99
Sep 25, 2003 11:16 AM
Here's Clear Channel's "company creed":

We believe we have an obligation for the well-being of the communities in which we live. We further believe the future success of our communities and the industries where we do business is dependent upon the responsibility we feel, the high standards we set and the positive impact our actions have.

We believe excellence is the standard and we seek to achieve excellence by encouraging and nourishing these core values:

Respect for the individual.
Honest, open communication.
Individual development and satisfaction.
A sense of ownership in Clear Channel's success.
Participation, cooperation and teamwork.
Creativity, innovation and initiative.
Prudent risk-taking.
Recognition and rewards for achievement.
re: A "Way To Go" For Someone Out There -- ClearChannel ReduxMasterBlaster
Sep 25, 2003 12:05 PM
I called to the Radio Station and told them that if any cyclist is injured or killed because of this incident, the station can be held liable. They took my name and number.
To call back. I was told there has been multiple complaints
and told them these jerks are inciting acts of terror on fellow citizens and should be fired. I had the receptionist studdering.
I wish it meant something, but they just keep doing it.TNRyder
Sep 25, 2003 7:56 PM
This is the third or fourth market I have heard about. CC just keeps re-broadcasting it in different markets. If they really had an ounce of care and or integrity, the ppl at the corporate office would have made it clear to the program managers not to air this piece. As it keeps getting aired, this message has obviously not been sent. Further, I would venture to guess that there is absolutely no punishment for these program managers when they do re-broadcast this POS commentary. Does CC care? I say not.

Cyclists are a small minority in this country. The overweight and out of shape majority considers us to be freaks as we wear 'strange' duds while riding. people fear what they do not understand. One way to deal with that fear is to denegrate the thing that you fear. I guess that we are scary ppl!
re: A "Way To Go" For Someone Out There -- ClearChannel Reduxstriker
Sep 26, 2003 2:56 AM
Tim here, also the webmaster of TriangleMTB.com, the local website that seems to be drumming up interest in Clear Channel's attacks on the cycling community.

If anyone gets a response from Clear Channel, please let me know. Thanks,

trianglemtb@yahoo.com

Yeah, I'm a mountain biker but this affects everyone who rides a bike, including kids.

I also updated the story on G105 on the site.

trianglemtb.com
My Email To G105chaquefois
Sep 26, 2003 7:41 AM
You can email all personalities at G105 here: www.g105.com//directory.html

Here is a copy of the message I sent:

Chris:

It appears that your radio station (G105) and Clear Channel like promoting violence against cyclists as depicted on your September 22 and 23 shows. What truely amazes me is that a similar show was run on another Clear Channel owned station in Texas which caused an outrage and led to a public apology by Clear Channel and yet here we are again.

As a cyclist, police officer, and father I find it deplorable that your station would advocate such violence against cyclists. Do you have a son or daughter that rides a bike? Maybe I should tell some people to "bash their brains in" as your show advised. It doesn't sound too good when it affects your family does it?

I have contacted numerous advertisers doing business with you and advised them of your behavior. I sincerely hope they see what kind of scumbags they are supporting.

Screw You.

Shane