RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


fizik aliante saddles(11 posts)

fizik aliante saddlestarwheel
Sep 25, 2003 6:06 AM
In my never-ending search for the perfect saddle, I'm considering the Fizik Aliante based on rave reviews. My interest is not due to its light weight, but comfort and fit. I initially ruled it out totally due to the price, but the ti-railed version is actually no more expensive (or less) than a Brooks Swift. So here are my questions for those with first-hand experience:

-- Does the ti version feel the same as the carbon rail version? That is, are the carbon rails just for lighter weight, or do they supposedly add something to the comfort? Does the ti version have the same seat and cover, just different rails?
-- How long are the rails on these saddles? The ti appears to have longer rails, which I prefer for adjustability. I am concerned that I couldn't get the correct forward/back position with the carbon-railed version.
-- How do these saddles hold up with regard to wear-and-tear? Only one of the guys I ride with has an Aliante, and the cover on his is all ragged -- which might be due to his own lack of care. But I don't want to spend $150 on a disposable saddle.
-- If you have owned other Fizik saddles, how does the Aliante compare in fit and comfort with other models like the Vitesse and Pave? Is the Aliante wider than the Pave?
re: fizik aliante saddlesCrankist
Sep 25, 2003 6:52 AM
Though I have the CF version I am unable to answer any of your good questions. I suggest a call to Excel or a LBS where people there may have experience with both and can measure rail lengths too. FWIW mine centers perfectly on the rails with a Thompson straight post.
I believe that the carbon and ti railed models are the samebill
Sep 25, 2003 7:03 AM
but for the rails, although I don't know that for sure. I sincerely doubt that the carbon adds to comfort; you'd never tell with the way that the saddle itself is constructed.
Rails are about the same length as Pave (I have the carbon model), possibly a hair shorter, but remember that the Pave doesn't have long rails to begin with. In any case, you probably would not want to use the rails on either side of the alu clad part, because you're saddle would be pretty seriously off balance then, probably compromising the way that the saddle flexes and the rails stress. You probably should get a different seatpost with a different setback if that becomes an issue.
The leather is soft, and these are not lifetime saddles (nor is the Pave). I have had one for about a year and ridden it through all sorts of crap, and it looks okay. I'll get probably get about three years out of it, as best I can tell.
It is softer than the Pave, with less defined sit-bone areas in the rear. Although it is wider, it doesn't necessarily feel wider. It feels sort of flatter than the Pave.
It's a good saddle. Smooths out the road, particularly helpful with a stiff race bike. I have two.
re: fizik aliante saddlesCHRoadie
Sep 25, 2003 7:14 AM
A couple of answers:

I believe the saddle part is the same regardless of the rail material. As for forward/back position, be aware that the carbon rails have an aluminum wrap over the middle portion, and you can only clamp the rails where the aluminum is.

I have 3,000 miles on mine and I haven't even worn off the name yet. Durability doesn not seem to be an issue for me (I'm about 160 lbs).
rail thickness and seatposts?WrigleyRoadie
Sep 25, 2003 8:48 AM
I do not own this saddle, but I remember something about a compatibility issue with the carbon-railed Aliante and USE seatposts, leading me to believe that the Carbon rails are thicker than the ti?

Anyone? Anyone? Beuller?
Carbon rails make it more compliantirregardless
Sep 25, 2003 9:02 AM
I have tried both, and the carbon rails do make it a bit more compliant. If you have a chance to see both in a store, try the flex test. The carbon railed version flexes a little more easily. That was my experience anyway.
re: fizik aliante saddlesnetso
Sep 25, 2003 9:55 AM
I only have experience with the Carbon Fizik Aliante. I weigh 205# and have over 1000 miles on ths saddle. It has been the most comfortable saddle I have ever had. It does abrade easier than some saddles, but I would rate its durability as medium. I owned a Fizik Poggio titanium prior to this, which I felt was a good saddle. The Aliante is better!
re: fizik aliante saddlesMcAndrus
Sep 25, 2003 11:12 AM
I have the ti-rail version and I think it's a pretty comfortable saddle and have no complaints. As to durability, I've had mine for around a year. There are some stress fracture lines on the seat cover but they in no way compromise the saddle's function - they're just cosmetic.

I used to have a Fizik Pave and I dumped that a couple of years ago. I think they called it Pave because it was like sitting on a brick. But then every butt is different.
Used both...Matt Britter
Sep 25, 2003 2:43 PM
I agree w/ "irregardless" on the carbon rail having a better ride. The saddles themselves are the same the the Ti rails make for a MUCH stiffer ride. I LOVED the carbon rail seat, but sat down a little to hard on the nose of the seat an cracked both rails. So the next saddle I got the ti rail, and it does NOT ride any better than any of my ~$75 seats, O2; flite, gel flite, Trans am, etc.

IMO you need to be careful w/ the seat leather and rubbing anything rough on it. On rides I usually do not get very anal about standing my bike up and 50% of the time will just lay it down on the ground. A ride partner pushed my bike, and the seat rubbed the ground and ripped the edge as it makes the fold to go under the carbon seat. IMO the seat leather is to thin, but the saddle itself is very comfy to ride.

If you going to spend the $ get the carbon, do not waste your money on the ti.
-mb
Fizik Aliantelyleseven
Sep 25, 2003 3:26 PM
The bad thing about this saddle.... it will spoil you. Once I road it, I never put my other 3 back on!
Fizik Aliante....Bixe
Sep 25, 2003 4:42 PM
I've three of them, two carbon rail and one ti rail. The carbon rail version has a little more dampening....
The clamp section is about the same on both rails. The carbon rails make a 90 degree turn at the back of the saddle where they turn up towards the shell. The Ti rails turn up at a flatter angle (saddle in the middle).... The shells and covers are basically the same....

The two newer saddles have the scuff fenders, a feature with which the original saddle (left) could better survive me.
Otherwise, these are staying together just fine. The only wear 'n tear they have suffered is due to abuse. With intensive therapy, I'm making progress....

Pre-emptive answer: The post in the middle is a Moots.