RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Another Clear Channel Station attacks cyclists.(30 posts)

Another Clear Channel Station attacks cyclists.pedalfaster
Sep 23, 2003 11:51 AM
As many know Clear Channel stations across the nation broadcasting almost criminal "kill bicyclists" verbiage by shock jocks. The most recent occured on G105 in the NC Triangle market two days in a row (9/22-23/03). This follows similar comments by shows in Houston and Cleveland. Perhaps it is time to let Clear Channel know that these actions will not be tolerated by the cycling community. I would suggest contacting current advertisers, both local and national, until Clear Channel adresses this problem. Some of the advertisers with G105 include Toyota, US Cellular, Con Agra Foods, Applebees, and Kroger.
WTF is wrong with these people!JFR
Sep 23, 2003 12:00 PM
This makes me soo mad.
Do you have some more info?stratoshark
Sep 23, 2003 12:07 PM
I live in G105's broadcast area, so I'm rightly concerned about this. What was said, who said it?
Info please!Fatnslow
Sep 23, 2003 12:08 PM
How about some more information regarding the station, jocks, and what was said. Clear channel has lots of radio stations so, I'd like to know who to refer to when I send a letter to clearchannel.

Thanks
SorryFatnslow
Sep 23, 2003 12:09 PM
Didn't see the G105 reference, however, a little more info about what was said and who the jocks are would still be helpful.
Info please!pedalfaster
Sep 23, 2003 12:25 PM
Here is a little more info.
The comments aired on the Bob and Madison Showgram. The station is G105 which broadcasts out of Raleigh, NC.
Here are some of them:

Bob and Madison morning show on G105 out of Raleigh, they were going on for awhile about how fun it is to run cyclists off of the roads, and how we don't deserve to be there.

...one woman called in and said her dad hit a cyclist on purpose on his way to church one morning (very Christian of him) when she was 12 or something. She said he just hated bikes being on the road. The intern said there is an old man that lives in her neighborhood that shoots a pellet gun at a group of 30 or so that ride by their house.she said. He tries to hit their tires to make them crash.

The host even joked of riding a motorcycle down said-proposed bike path just to piss off bike riders.

The hosts egged-on the listeners in support of physically hurting cyclists as a way of telling us they don't want us on the road.

The ending shot was Bob, the host, talking about carrying a bunch of empty YooHoo bottles to pelt offending cyclists with. Once again, more calls rained in from people who agreed with him, and said that they would do the same.
Anyone in this market willing to help me!!teoteoteo
Sep 23, 2003 12:59 PM
I made some decent progress when I did the story on the houston incident. I have a feeling I could get another story on this.

mail teoteoteo@hotmail.com
What specifically are you looking for?Kristin
Sep 23, 2003 1:33 PM
I'm willing to help, but am not sure what to do. I don't think there has been any Clear Channel offenses in Chicago, which means that our activist group, Illinios League of Bicyclists, would not probably get involved. Are any national cycling organizations doing anything about this? Do we have any national cycling orgs???
One Idea....Gregory Taylor
Sep 23, 2003 2:00 PM
I wonder if the League of American Bicyclists (formerly the League of American Wheelmen) would pitch in. They are a national lobby group formed from the remnants of the oldest and largest cycling organization in America. Their roots extend back to the orignal cycling "boom" of the 1890's. They are the ones that send out the annoying letters from Lance Armstrong asking you to join him in the fight for good roads to ride on, blah, blah, blah.

You know, Teo, with your contacts at www.lancearmstrong.com, and Lance's ties/endorsements at the League of American Bicyclists, I wonder if we could interest both parties in a campaign to stick up for cyclists that is directed at Clear Channel and their sponsors?

* Maybe a "Clear Channel Sucks" tee-shirt for Lance's next Men's Journal interview?

*Pressure Clear Channel to pony up money to run some Public Service Announcements with The Man (and his friend, Robin Williams) saying stuff like "Keep it cool on the road. I don't appreciate getting hassled while I'm out on my bike. In fact, I hate it. But, hey, I ran down Jan Ullrich at the Tour, and I can sure as hell run your sorry ass down too. In fact, I might enjoy that."

You could put the pressure on Clear Channel by reminding them that every time a rider is hurt or run down in a market where one of their irresponsible yahoos has bashed cyclists on the air, they run the risk of being made a co-defendant in the resulting litigation for creating an atmosphere where cyclists are targets. No foolin. They have an obligation to undo that harm. PSA's with a recognized celebrity would be a step in the right direction.

(Okay, rant over)
Another Idea....kevinmd
Sep 23, 2003 2:39 PM
I am no lawyer, but I believe that the radio licenses these yahoos are running under are granted under the provision that the stations 'serve the public interest.' I seriously doubt advocating illegal, dangerous or potentially lethal behavior falls under that clause. For those of you in these market areas, I urge you to contact the FCC. One letter from them to the offending station will really get their attention. The FCC really doesn't look kindly on this behavior. However, people rarely complain. It would be much more helpful if someone could record this crap and send it in.

-- Kevin
As a matter of fact, the Senate is losing patience ...Humma Hah
Sep 23, 2003 2:55 PM
... with the whole mega-congolmerate homogonized media thing. The Bush administration has been pushing for, and the FCC going along with, relaxed rules allowing the monster comm companies like ClearChannel to acquire even more stations, also newspapers and other media, even when it means single companies would dominate local markets and thus the news the public hears.

Recent action in the Senate has been to not pass that legislation. Even the Republicans are switching over against it, tho' it means a scrap with their fearless leader. And behavior like this from ClearChannel is just more ammunition to combat that legislation.

Yes, beef to the FCC, but also beef to your Senators and Representatives. And when you beef to ClearChannel, make sure they know you're doing it. That will get ClearChannel's attention, especially right now, better than anything.
I need the followingteoteoteo
Sep 23, 2003 3:24 PM
Mostly I need an exact air date of this bit--really I need someone in the NC broadcast area....

Right now I have a friend that is very well connected in the DC area. He wants to pursue at the FCC level AND with Senate level.

I have all of the background info and contacts for Houston and Cleveland. If I can get someone in Raleigh area (much like TIG did in Houston) I can get the ball rolling.
As a matter of fact, the Senate is losing patience ...Spoiler
Sep 23, 2003 4:16 PM
This kind of shows the danger in allowing one entity to own so much of the airwaves. If Clearchannel sends the message that they tolerate and appreciate anti-cyclist violence, they are sending the message to many stations at once. How many stations are left to provide a counter to their actions?
They already passed a lawSpecialTater
Sep 23, 2003 4:29 PM
that loosened up the laws so companies like CC could take over the media in individual markets. The Senate just passed a bill rescinding that; the House is working on a similar bill and Bush has threatened a veto.
A thirdSpecialTater
Sep 23, 2003 4:32 PM
one of you lawyers needs to run a TV (or even competitor's radio) spot requesting "Anyone on a bike who's been hit by a car...YOU may have compensation due you for injuries and negligence..."
That's a good idea. Or even...Kristin
Sep 23, 2003 4:41 PM
Or even if the American League of Cyclists (did I say that correctly?) would run a spot that encourages responsible driving and sharing the road. You know, something that'll pull at the consciences of those drivers who are encouragable and who might get violent just because the guy on the radio told them it was okay to do so. (Believe me, there are people out there who are like that and they can be swayed either way.) Put out a counter ad and they might stop and think about it from the cyclists perspective. I'd donate to that cause. As a matter of fact, if someone sponsors an ad I'll send them $50 towards the cost.
Another idea, while we're at it. What about a competing stationKristin
Sep 23, 2003 4:47 PM
Running an interview with some of the people involved in that Texas accident that happened after the first Clear Channel incident. I know that the accident didn't happen because of Clear Channel in that case, but the station did run the tape again 2 days after the accident and now they've aired another brand new show in yet another part of the country asking drivers to injure cyclists.

Make these guys a common household name. If their story is heard nationally. Wow. It could have a huge impact. This is absolutely insane. I can't believe thinking humans would actually promote stuff like this.
You know, if you want to get the word out on a national level...Gregory Taylor
Sep 24, 2003 5:43 AM
...then you have to find the one or two channels that most cyclists share. It would also be helpful if those channels were sympathetic and cyclist-friendly. Thinking about it on the way home last night, I wonder if....

Nashbar or Performance would make a space in their catalog to alert cyclists to these idiots and give contact points (e-mail addresses, etc.) where to send the message that cycists don't like radio stations that advocate running them off the road, and that we will tell our friends to boycott their sponsors. Heck, everyone gets a Nashbar catalog...

You would probably have to keep the content politically neutral (no Bush bashing or Liberal baiting) so as not to scare off their customers. It would be enough to outline the basic facts.

You could also ask cycling websites (such as this one!) to put up similar messages, providing addresses and e-mail contact points. For example, Roadbikerider.com sends out a weekly e-mail to a bunch of subscribers -- that would be a good outlet.
I don't know if they'd pick it up as a story, butKristin
Sep 24, 2003 6:10 AM
I did post a history of CC's activity to the 20/20 message boards yesterday. I included the story of the Brazoria accident and noted that a tape of the Houston show was re-aired just 3 days later.
I can't offer 100% Guarantee.....teoteoteo
Sep 24, 2003 9:23 AM
......But I can at least the get message to the mass media. Right now I am working on this story on multiple levels. First I can do a follow-up story on the second incident but I am still gathering the facts--my first story went to cyclingnews.com. Since nobody on the board seems to have responded from Raleigh on my plea for help I am going to start calling bike shops for details.

Once I have those I can roll forward. In my research for the Houston incident I obtained all of the contact info for the incidents in Houston and Cleveland as well as transcripts etc. Just FYI Clear Channel has a PR firm in NYC that handles this stuff Lisa Hollinger will only pass on the info so keep in mind you may get nothing at her level.

My shop owner is a bike lobbyist in the Maryland/DC area and is on the board at IMBA--he is waiting on my details to pursue with Senate/FCC level. He owns the shop in Texas but is in DC for the next year.
Yahoos throwing YooHoo bottles? lolcyclopathic
Sep 24, 2003 7:32 AM
Just e-mailed a complaint to ClearChannel Radio's PR persondoktor
Sep 23, 2003 3:51 PM
If you'd like to do the same, send an e-mail to lisacdollinger@clearchannel.com
Just e-mailed a complaint to ClearChannel Radio's PR personEric F
Sep 23, 2003 4:15 PM
I used to listen to that on the school bus when I was 10. When I go back to Raleigh this weekend I think I will stop by their station and let them know how angry I am.

FYI Bob talks like he is a hardass on the radio but is a wuss in person. He got really scared of my friends dad once when he was doing one of those radio get in someone faces things.
I woulnd't waist the disk space. Its obvious they have an agendaKristin
Sep 23, 2003 4:26 PM
This is the 3rd time this has happened. Each time someone has complained, the company has sent a boiler plate reply apologizing and promising that this will never happen again and stating that so-and-so has been fired. Of course they don't reveal the persons name so there is no way of knowing that they really fired anyone. Fool me once, shame on me. Fool me twice...
Actually, I think it may be the 4th time ...Humma Hah
Sep 24, 2003 6:13 AM
I'd have to dig back thru the archives on this site to check for the names of the cities. I'm pretty sure in the last go-round of this issue, there were THREE cities involved.
someone from minnesotactisevn
Sep 23, 2003 9:36 PM
and lives or works in rep Jim Oberstars district should write or email his office with an outline of clear channels apparently company wide anti cyclist agenda. hes a big cyclist and does alot of work to better the sport and the lifestyle. Id do it but I no longer live in MN and these things get more attention when they come from a constituent.
they're called 'shock jocks' for a reason nm.Steve_0
Sep 24, 2003 4:24 AM
Link to find your local CC stationsbimini
Sep 24, 2003 5:14 AM
Here is a link that allows you to find your local CC station.

http://www.clearchannel.com/rad_search.php
Just type in your state name and it will give you a list.

If the anti cycling rants bother you let your local station know. Also let them know you have been a loyal listener and are now switching stations. Let the local advertisers know what CC is up to and ask them to notify the station to Stop Doing That.
Wow I am speechlesscyclopathic
Sep 24, 2003 5:51 AM
Wanna hurt 'em bad?pitt83
Sep 24, 2003 10:02 AM
Spam their yahoo stock message board. Show the INVESTORS / OWNERS of the company what their image of employee's conduct truly is. Perhaps summaries of what the programs were and what CC is advocating as proper conduct. Guarantee if you show the investors what their copany is doing, it can't be favorable.

http://messages.yahoo.com/?action=q&board=CCU

Other boards also are widely read (www.fool.co and ore)