RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Saddle by Body Type - POLL RESULTS(24 posts)

Saddle by Body Type - POLL RESULTSJFR
Sep 22, 2003 11:03 AM
Below are the results of Friday's "Saddle Comfort by Body Type" poll.

JFR "Friday Poll - Saddle Comfort by Body Type" 9/22/03 7:52am
Very few men think they are short....NMTri_Rich
Sep 22, 2003 11:07 AM
Women prefer bikes without seats??? nmbiknben
Sep 22, 2003 11:12 AM
Women prefer bikes without seats??? nmPatC
Sep 22, 2003 12:44 PM
At times, it feels as if we would be better off without any saddle at all !! You might have hit upon a great idea here !
Bad Joke???biknben
Sep 22, 2003 3:50 PM
The poll resulted in only one woman reponding. That said two things to me:
-We need more women on this board.
or
-Women don't use seats on their bikes

I went with the funnier one.

Sorry for the poor humor.
I would have answered, but I haven't found the right saddle yetKristin
Sep 22, 2003 4:18 PM
Somehow, I suspect that this poll is not very conclusive anyway. The terms were ambiguous and left a lot to interpretation. What exaclty is a short man? What is average? And what is heavy? In any regard, I'm still looking for the right saddle. I need one with long rails, minimal padding/gel and cutout. Do you know if such a saddle exists??
My favorite saddle...MVN
Sep 22, 2003 8:23 PM
is the Selle Italia TransAm MaxFlite GelFlow. I got a used one and it was immediately more comfy than my Koobi. I've since sold both my Koobi's and got another SI GelFlow. I would have rated the Silver a 5 b/c it gave me problems which required medical attention. The SI has the cutout, gel padding (but not too much), and plenty of rail length, at least for me. It's 6" wide and the wings flex so there's no chafing. I'm 5'10", 195, so I assumed I'm an AHM but from JFR's descriptions maybe I'm an AAM. Anyway, this saddle is going for $69.95 at Price Point. Might be worth a shot to check it out. If I can give you any more info, let me know.

Mark
Yes I think there's one.........PatC
Sep 22, 2003 8:53 PM
...that might meet your requirements. I have had it for a few months and I really enjoy the feel of it when going fast but you better have quality bibs to wear. Besides it is rather cheap. It's the Fi:zzik Vitesse (for women, the version without any gel at all).
Not at all.........PatC
Sep 22, 2003 8:57 PM
You were quite right to go with the funnier interpretation !

Poor humour ? Oh no I wouldn't say that !
As for the number of women on this board, I am quite new here so I don't know, but there doesn't seem to be a lot of them - here again, you are quite right !
Very Nice53T
Sep 22, 2003 11:21 AM
The Aliente is a very high scorer. Let's see: no groove, no silly stitching, and $181!!!
and the SLR....I was shockedfunknuggets
Sep 22, 2003 12:14 PM
a couple of ti rails and a piece of plastic... for next to no padding, it did fairly well too.

I was amazed at how many "tall" people there are.

Chris
But where would it have scored if it cost 69 bucks?Tom C
Sep 22, 2003 4:00 PM
re: Saddle by Body Type - POLL RESULTSgregario
Sep 22, 2003 11:39 AM
Good job! I was intrigued by your poll, but I really didn't have time to look at all the posts. I've often wondered the same thing, whether a certain saddle is better for a certain size/body type. One question though: What constitues average or heavy? At 6'2" and 185-190# would I be average or heavy? I've recently seen BMI charts that say I'm borderline overweight (or too short for my weight ;))
Thanks...JFR
Sep 22, 2003 12:00 PM
I'd say 6'2/185-190 is a solid Avg in my book... over 200 would be Heavy and under 180 skinny.

I shoulda asked for a rating on all saddles ridden so we might have seen a trend in POOR comfort ratings by body type as well... but I didn't think of it (doh). Some did provide that info anyway, and I included those low scores.
6'2" is average....where?Sao
Sep 22, 2003 2:09 PM
In Holland? Certainly not in the pro peloton.

Seeing as how the average American male is about 5'9", why, 6'2" seems to be well above average.

Of course, if you factor in the "rounding up" a lot of men seem to do, maybe it is average.

Anyway...thanks for your effort JFR. Interesting results.
no no no, his WEIGHT is average for 6'2JFR
Sep 22, 2003 2:23 PM
And you're very welcome :)
Thanks... shouldn't apples be compared to apples?...Tom C
Sep 22, 2003 4:22 PM
as far as weight and heights go in with special regard to cyclists? That is, 6'2" 185-190 may be regarded as average in general terms of men in the USA. I happen to agree with the statistics that say men average 5'8" in this country, but regardless of what I think, 6'2' 185-190 is huge for a cyclist by professional norms at least. Average is more like 5'8"-5'9" 140-165 lbs with the climbers, the little guys ranging 5'3" to 5'8" usually weighing no more than 135 and as little as 115. For example Cipo, big cyclist 6'4" 175 little cyclist, Simoni 5'7" 125 with everyone else average as such in between. Sure there are some crossovers and exceptions but they don't constitute a norm.
re: Saddle by Body Type - POLL RESULTSlyleseven
Sep 22, 2003 11:59 AM
What is abundantly clear from this poll is that not enough women are following this site! too bad.
Thanks for the extracurricular effort, JFRpedalAZ
Sep 22, 2003 12:16 PM
we appreciate your business.
Great job!CHRoadie
Sep 22, 2003 12:32 PM
The effort is certainly appreciated! The only thing I might add is an average score column, but I'm not going to nitpick as you already went above & beyond!
you have way too much time on your hands (nm)ColnagoFE
Sep 22, 2003 1:44 PM
shhhh, keep it downJFR
Sep 22, 2003 2:17 PM
you're going to get me in trouble :)

actually, it didn't really take that long to compile, and I really wanted to see the results in an organized format.
re: Saddle by Body Type - POLL RESULTSal0
Sep 22, 2003 2:26 PM
Why Specialized BG (Body Geometry) seats are excluded from results? I have seen them in answers (and put it in my answer as weel). Have you filtered out any other seats?
It's thereJFR
Sep 22, 2003 3:24 PM
I listed the saddles in ascending alpha order, look for "Spec BG Pro".