RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Friday Poll - Saddle Comfort by Body Type(97 posts)

Friday Poll - Saddle Comfort by Body TypeJFR
Sep 19, 2003 10:54 AM
Saddle Selection...

We all know first hand how difficult this can be... we've experienced it with our own butt and we've seen countless posts here and elsewhere on the topic. However, what I don't recall seeing before is a poll of saddle comfort by body type. This could be useful. There may be some trends.

Please provide in the Subject line your body type (see abbreviations below), your current/favorite road saddle, and on a 1-10 scale (1=Hate, 5=Alright, 10=Perfection), please rate your saddle comfort level.

If your saddle preference is different for diff disciplines, please feel free to include the non-roadie discipline information in the body of your reply.

Body Type Abbreviations, Height/Weight/Male-Female

Short Heavy.SH(M/F)
Short Avg ...SA(M/F)
Short Skinny.SS(M/F)
Avg Heavy..AH(M/F)
Avg Avg...AA(M/F)
Avg Skinny.AS(M/F)
Tall Heavy .TH(M/F)
Tall Avg...TA(M/F)
Tall Skinny.TS(M/F)

Me? TSM - Flite Ti Gel - 5

Thanks for playing along, I'll spreadsheet the data in a couple days and post results. I hope this turns out useful.

Johnny
AAM - Fizik Aliante Ti - 10dirthead
Sep 19, 2003 10:57 AM
TSM - SLR - 6biknben
Sep 19, 2003 11:03 AM
I'm interested to see if this yeilds any useful info.
TAM-Terry Fly-5 I don't know what 10 would feel like. nmlotterypick
Sep 19, 2003 11:04 AM
.
TAM-San Marco Era-8 (nm)stratoshark
Sep 19, 2003 11:06 AM
AAM-Fizik Aliante-9;Flite ti-6koala
Sep 19, 2003 11:08 AM
Have had concours, flites, vettas, nothing compares to the Aliante
TSM - standard Flite Ti - 8 nmSpunout
Sep 19, 2003 11:09 AM
re: Friday Poll - Saddle Comfort by Body TypeMR_GRUMPY
Sep 19, 2003 11:10 AM
TH -M- Flite-10
SSF, Serfas DD Pro women's, 8.5....but....._rt_
Sep 19, 2003 11:12 AM
i think it's got more to do with the placement of your hips/pelvis/sit-bones than your weight.

rt
yeah, I know...but...JFR
Sep 19, 2003 12:18 PM
I couldn't figure out a way to measure/categorize that kind of detail. The closest I thought we could get was to make some assumptions about the body types as I defined them and assume that for a given height, heavier individuals will have bigger bone structures (hips/pelvis/sit-bones) than a skinny individual of the same height... this may be flawed reasoning, but on average I'm thinking it may be true.
TAM - Aliante: 9 ; Brooks B-17: 8.5Ray Sachs
Sep 19, 2003 11:18 AM
The B-17 is either the standard or narrow version, depending on the type of ride - I like 'em both. I've tried a bunch of others. Flite would be a .2, Specialized BG Pro (the first batch) was about an 8, Rolls and Regal about a 6, Aspide Arrowhead about a 2, WTB SST a 7, Squadra a 6, Koobi Silver a 7, Brooks Pro a 7, Brooks Swift a 4, Terry Fly a 3. There've been others that I can't think of at the moment.

-Ray
wow, you sure have some trial/error experienceJFR
Sep 19, 2003 1:03 PM
I'll include all your ratings in the summary. Thanks!
AAM - Koobi Sirubendc19
Sep 19, 2003 11:20 AM
TSM - SLR - 8shrEd
Sep 19, 2003 11:24 AM
ASM - Flite Ti 6; Concor Ti 3; Terry Fly Ti 5PT
Sep 19, 2003 11:24 AM
Searching for a 10 (although an 8 would do...)
threefunknuggets
Sep 19, 2003 11:29 AM
AAM-Flite SLR - 7
AAM-Flite Ti Gel - 4
AAM-Coda Road - 7
ASM - Terry Fry CroMoly - 9 for road...K_Zero
Sep 19, 2003 11:37 AM
Specialized Body Geometry Comp for dirt (10!)

Gotta have those cutouts...

K-Zero
AAM - SLR 8Spyky
Sep 19, 2003 11:42 AM
Switched from Flite Trans Am (7) to SLR. Less padding, more hammock. I recently took 2 weeks off riding (moving, then got sick), the SLR left me with a sore bum when I started up again, but it is almost perfect as long as I don't take that much time off.

-Spyky
TSM - Aliante=9, Pave=8, Avocet=8, Flite=7, Regal=7,Era=2terry b
Sep 19, 2003 11:46 AM
re: Friday Poll - Saddle Comfort by Body Typedave woof
Sep 19, 2003 11:48 AM
TAM
5'11" 175 lbs

SLR - 7.5
re: Friday Poll - Saddle Comfort by Body Typegodot
Sep 19, 2003 11:51 AM
TSM - San Marco Era Pro (nm)
TSM - San Marco Era Pro - 9godot
Sep 19, 2003 11:52 AM
it's friday....
ASM San Marco Aspide nmandy02
Sep 19, 2003 11:52 AM
andy, comfort rating? (nm)JFR
Sep 19, 2003 12:20 PM
nm
AAM- SLR- 9 (NM)ignazio
Sep 19, 2003 11:53 AM
AHM, Brooks B17 9 outa 10 on two bikes.lonebikeroftheapocalypse
Sep 19, 2003 11:55 AM
It has developed an annoying creek though.
AHM, Brooks B17 9 outa 10 on two bikes.karlos
Sep 19, 2003 3:54 PM
I had the same problem with a Brooks Flyer. I found a product in an Ace Hardware called
Elmer's Slide-All Dry Spray Lubricant-made by the Elmers's Glue company. I sprayed it over the underside of the saddle and have had no problems for the last few months. It only costs about $4 a can.
Not sure what it will do in the long run but its been great in the last few months.
Cool, thanks I'll look for it.lonebikeroftheapocalypse
Sep 20, 2003 2:56 PM
Its amazing how annoying a slight tick or squeek can be.
TSM - Fizik Aliante - 9 (nm)CHRoadie
Sep 19, 2003 11:56 AM
nm
SSM-FLITE TI GEL-8PEDDLEFOOT
Sep 19, 2003 11:57 AM
TSM - Aspide - N/AHouseMoney
Sep 19, 2003 11:59 AM
Only had the Aspide for about 100 miles so it's too soon to really grade it. So far, I definitely like it better than the Selle Italia Nitrox it replaced.
oh come on, rate it!JFR
Sep 19, 2003 12:38 PM
And rate the Nitrox too for comparison :)
OK, you twisted my arm ...HouseMoney
Sep 19, 2003 3:46 PM
I'd rate the Aspide as a 7 right now. But seriously, I think I only have 3 or 4 rides on it, so this rating might not be fair. With a little more break-in time, I'd like to think I'll upgrade the score. The Nitrox was probably a 1 during the first month, and even after it broke in, I'd give it a 4-5 by the time I was ready to ditch it. (look for it on eBay soon. ¦^D)

One caveat: Just this week, I went for a "professional" bike fitting. It turned out my saddle position was way off (too low & too far back), so that may have had something to do with the saddle discomfort. With the saddle set back, I may have been sitting too much on the nose of the saddle instead of where I belonged.

On another note, I'd give the saddle on my mtn bike (WTB Rocket V Stealth a 9, maybe a 10). But when I put it on my road bike and went for a brief 17 mile ride, serious numbness set in about halfway through the ride. What a failed experiment that was!
Thanks! Good infoJFR
Sep 19, 2003 4:23 PM
Especially about the WTB. I also ride a WTB V series on my mtb (just the Comp model), and I too would score it highly (8-9)... so I was thinking of the Stealth for my roadie except the snob in me was reluctant to put one on my Italian roadie. Maybe now I have more than just snobish reasons to be reluctant :)

Again, thanks for your input.

Johnny
re: Friday Poll - Saddle Comfort by Body TypeCrankist
Sep 19, 2003 12:02 PM
TAM
SLR 8
SELLE SAN MARCO ERA -5000
ALIANTE 9
TI FLITE 6
SI PRO LINK GEL 7
TSM - Concor - 10gtx
Sep 19, 2003 12:07 PM
Concor?JFR
Sep 19, 2003 1:11 PM
I'm not familiar with this saddle. Who makes it? A rating of 10, eh?
San Marcogtx
Sep 19, 2003 1:27 PM
They're cheap and they're all I've ridden for 20 years (it was "updated" and lightened about ten years ago but the basic shape has stayed the same. It's funny these aren't more popular--it's the seat Lance uses. But then most people I know who have used 'em hate them.

http://www.excelsports.com/new.asp?page=8&description=Concor+Light+Cromo+Saddle&vendorCode=SANMARCO&major=1&minor=18
Thanks....and FYI....JFR
Sep 19, 2003 1:53 PM
...that last sentence made me laugh.

Also, the link was a nice touch and appreciated.

Thanks again,
Johnny
Thanks....and FYI....gtx
Sep 19, 2003 2:32 PM
Cool idea for a poll. When I bought my first decent road bike at age 15 (a Bianchi with Nuovo Record) I had read the review for the bike in a magazine, which said great bike but UPGRADE THE SEAT. So the old Italian guy owner said, "you're skinny, you'll like the Concor." And that was that. So I guess I never really understood all the anguish people have gone through over seat selection. But yes, plenty of people have looked at my seat like it was some kind of obscene torture device. I find it extrememly comfortable. The only other seat I have tried that I liked even partly as much was the Bontrager saddle, which San Marco made for a while but I think it's no longer available.
Bontrager.... holy cow!JFR
Sep 19, 2003 4:14 PM
I had a Bontrager saddle several years ago that I really liked till I broke a saddle rail (mtbing)... I'd acutally forgotten about that saddle as I've ridden several since and settled on a WTB Speed V (on my mtb).

But I'm not real happy with the Flite on my roadie, and I seem to be reluctant to put a WTB on my Pinarello :) So I've been trying to make my (Pinarello edition) Flite work, but I just might give your Concor a try... at least the cost isn't prohibitive.

Thanks for sharing your old Italian guy owner story and supporting the idea of the poll! We'll see if any trends are present.
TAM - San Marco Aspide - 9. nmBrianNYC
Sep 19, 2003 12:17 PM
TSM - Flite Ti - 8Eric_H
Sep 19, 2003 12:17 PM
AA (M) SLR - 8 (up to 100) Flight Gel - 9 (all distances)Horace Greeley
Sep 19, 2003 12:21 PM
TSM - Selle Italia SLR - 9 nmclimbo
Sep 19, 2003 12:29 PM
nm
OKLen J
Sep 19, 2003 12:46 PM
First of all What's tall? I'm 6'0", It feels average, but some would think tall.

I weigh 165, again Avg, skinny or Heavy. I would say avg but most of my friends would say skinny.

I'm a male

SLR TA 6.5
Flite TA Tit 5
Rolls 5.5
Max Flite TA 4
Prolink TA 7.5 Nose bothered me and to wide at the neck
Brooks Swift 7 Still not sure after 500 miles. Not as good as I expected.

Len
6'0/165 = TS.... Thanks for your multi saddle input! (nm)JFR
Sep 19, 2003 12:58 PM
nm
ASM - Selle SLR Trans Am XPWrigleyRoadie
Sep 19, 2003 12:53 PM
Happy posterior after 4,000 Miles.
for above: comfort rating of 8 (nm)WrigleyRoadie
Sep 19, 2003 12:54 PM
AAM. Terry Fly Ti - 7. Still searching for that 10.AFrizzledFry
Sep 19, 2003 12:54 PM
an Aliante Fizik could be next.
ASM - Terry Fly - 6 (nm)Fr Ted Crilly
Sep 19, 2003 12:58 PM
TAM - SI Flite - 6 - nmChicago_Steve
Sep 19, 2003 1:11 PM
nm
AHM - S.I . TA MaxFlite GelFlow (both bikes) - 8.5MVN
Sep 19, 2003 1:25 PM
I bought a used one b/c my Koobi Silver was giving me problems. Loved it, just found another one only slightly used. It's MUCH better than the Koobi. Will also buy one for my mtn. bike.
SSM, 5'3", 120lbs. SLR standard - 8, Nitrox 8weiwentg
Sep 19, 2003 1:48 PM
TSM - WTB SST TiMel Erickson
Sep 19, 2003 1:58 PM
Sorry, forgot the rating. 9Mel Erickson
Sep 19, 2003 2:01 PM
AA(M) flight ti gel 8.spluti
Sep 19, 2003 2:00 PM
ASM: XO Transam - 7; Turbo4 Gel - 6+: SLK (briefly) 5+powergyoza
Sep 19, 2003 2:53 PM
My current turbo4 gel was originally a little less comfy until a trimmed the clamp bolt by 3/8". I'd go back to the XO, but I wanted less of a "beginner" saddle.

BTW - a 6.5 score means I can do a 5hr ride with no numbness during, and not be too sore to ride the next day.
TSM - SLR 8 (nm)nazgul
Sep 19, 2003 3:46 PM
re: Friday Poll - Saddle Comfort by Body Typedavet
Sep 19, 2003 2:59 PM
TAM - Brooks B-17 - 8
TSM-Flite TT Flite Gel Flite Flite Flite Flite Flite Flite nmthe bull
Sep 19, 2003 3:03 PM
Must be a 10! nmthe bull
Sep 19, 2003 3:05 PM
TSM, standard Flite, 7 (nm)DaveG
Sep 19, 2003 3:48 PM
SAM - Concour Lite - 9 (nm)53T
Sep 19, 2003 5:44 PM
TAM-Selle Italia Pro-link gen gel. 9. nmKG 361
Sep 19, 2003 6:20 PM
AAM - 2 Fizik Alliante + 1 Specialized BG Pro (nm)c722061
Sep 19, 2003 6:34 PM
AAM - 2 Fizik Alliante + 1 Specialized BG Pro (nm)c722061
Sep 19, 2003 6:40 PM
Didn't carefully read about rating,

Fizik Alliante = 9 over 2000 miles
Specialized BG Pro = 7 over 1000 miles.
re: Friday Poll - Saddle Comfort by Body Typelyleseven
Sep 19, 2003 6:55 PM
THM- Fizik Aliante-9.5 Koobi Si- 8.5 Selle Italia ProLink Gel-8 Terry Fly-7.5
TSM-Selle Italia Flite-10stephenb
Sep 19, 2003 7:24 PM
THM -- 6' 190 lbs and a couple of saddlesGregory Taylor
Sep 19, 2003 7:40 PM
Selle Italia Flite - 9 (this is the orignial, black, ti-rails version. Simple. Effective. Fits my butt.)

Selle Italia Flite ti Gel - 7 (too much stitching that catches on my shorts, the gel insert in the middle of the saddle gets uncomfortable.)

Selle San Marco Rolls Ti - 6 (too wide and never very comfortable. It actually got better after I biffed it and pulled a rail out of the base of the seat. I fixed it and, in the process, it got comfortable. The 6 is for the pre-crash version)

Brooks Professional - 9, heading toward a 10 (After 6 months, I've got it just about broken in. Very comfortable and nicely shaped. Heavy, but who cares. Beautiful to look at. I always carry a plastic bag to put over it should it rain. This is on my fixie.)
A Thought...Gregory Taylor
Sep 19, 2003 7:52 PM
It would be interesting to see if folks who rated a certain saddle highly also rated the same saddles poorly. For example, do Flite owners who try Brooks B17s uniformly like them or hate them, etc.
IndeedJFR
Sep 20, 2003 3:11 PM
Yeah... the poll should have included ratings for all saddles ridden. It seems so obvious now.

Nevertheless, some of the replies did in fact include ratings of other saddles ridden, we can look at those.

Or maybe a new poll some other Friday... Saddle DIScomfort by Body Type.
AHM WTB Rocket V 8 same for mtn bike.eayste
Sep 19, 2003 8:08 PM
nm
TAM Flite ti 9 (nm)mickey-mac
Sep 19, 2003 8:22 PM
nm
TSM Selle Italia SLR 7.5 MTBpedalAZ
Sep 19, 2003 9:20 PM
TSM AX Lightness Endurance Comfortline 10+ for roadpedalAZ
Sep 19, 2003 9:21 PM
TSM AX Lightness Endurance Comfortline 10+ for roadpowergyoza
Sep 19, 2003 10:35 PM
Wow, a 10+ for an unpadded CF saddle. Mind you the AX-lightness is supposed to be one of the best!
This model is partially padded - 99 gramspedalAZ
Sep 20, 2003 10:40 AM
but the keys seem to be the flexibility of the shell and the shape of the sides.
TAM, brooks b17 narrow 9/10...JS Haiku Shop
Sep 19, 2003 9:27 PM
.5/10 withheld for not trimming leather edges, .5/10 w/h for f@#$ing 600-mile break-in.

ssm regal 8/10, 2 pts w/h for synthetic base making my ass sore.

btw 6' 202#, and i plan to be 170 by feb.
re: Friday Poll - Saddle Comfort by Body Typekai-ming
Sep 19, 2003 11:15 PM
SSM, 5'6.5", 126lbs, SLR trans am - 8.5
THM - Koobi/Au Enduro - 10fasteddie
Sep 20, 2003 3:14 AM
6'1"/200lbs. I've got 4 copies of this saddle on different bikes, including road and mtn. I constantly marvel at the extreme comfort of this thing after many years of sitting on "2x4s". BTW, I've tried a couple of other models of Koobis and this only model that seems to work for me...but it is perfection
re: Friday Poll - Saddle Comfort by Body TypeBarton
Sep 20, 2003 8:33 AM
SHM - 5'7"/175 lbs

Serfas Rx 7.5
TAM - Flite Trans am - 7Frith
Sep 20, 2003 8:52 AM
TAM - Flite Trans am - 7BaadDawg
Sep 20, 2003 10:18 AM
AHM Flite Trans Am - 4
Flite Max TransAm - 5
Koobi Au Enduro - 7
Brooks Pro - 5
AVS(M) Koobi au Chrono 8Tom C
Sep 20, 2003 1:34 PM
I may wind up giving this saddle a higher rating yet but I haven't used it long enough. It did require much diddling fore aft, up down, tilt up tilt back before I could make a judgement. In fact, after the first 3 days I was sure I was gong to send it back.
SSM - Aliante - 9 nmnoveread
Sep 20, 2003 3:47 PM
TSM, Concor Lite 7.5 (nm)geeker
Sep 20, 2003 5:50 PM
re: Friday Poll - Saddle Comfort by Body TypeSao
Sep 20, 2003 6:04 PM
Oops, it's Saturday.

AAM

Cannondale Coda - 6
Brooks Swift - 5
Selle Turbomatic - 2
Selle Trans Am - 3
Koski no name - 2

I, too, expected more from the Swift. It got painful after a thousand miles or so. The Turbomatic was painful from the instant I sat on it. The Trans Am was a little better and I still ride it on my (short) daily commute. The Koski was junk.

Ironically, I am, by default and resignation, back to the slightly comfortable Coda.

Saddle comfort has been the most difficult cycling issue for me to resolve.
TAM, Brooks B-17, 9lorenmb
Sep 20, 2003 9:02 PM
ASM, Terry Ti-race. nmweatherx
Sep 20, 2003 9:11 PM
nm
TSM - Aliente= 10, San Marco Era=6,JL
Sep 21, 2003 5:17 AM
Spec. Body Comp = 2
Terry Fly = 5

Compared to the rest I had to give the Aliente a 10. I barely notice it on most of my long rides.

John
Live to ride, ride to eat.
re: Friday Poll - Saddle Comfort by Body TypeSintesi
Sep 21, 2003 6:35 AM
AAM - Selle Italia Trans AM flight - 7
AA - Selle Italia SLR nmDougSloan
Sep 22, 2003 6:27 AM
re: Friday Poll - Saddle Comfort by Body Typemisathrope
Sep 22, 2003 6:36 AM
THM - Fizik Aliante Carbon - 10 (nm)
THM - Fizik Aliante Carbon - 10 (oops nm)misathrope
Sep 22, 2003 6:52 AM
re: Monday Response - Saddle Comfort by Body TypeGary M
Sep 22, 2003 11:36 AM
M- 175lb 6'

Brooks Team Pro 9
Brooks B-17n 8
Brooks B-17 7
Selle It Turbomatic Quattro 7
Selle Flite XP gel 6
WTB SST 2k 6
Selle It Prolink 4
Avocet 02 3
Fizik Nisene 1
Velo Plush 1
Specialized BG 1
SHM - Selle Italia Prolink - 7 (nm)aliensporebomb
Sep 23, 2003 3:06 AM
Better late.....