RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Training/Milage/Ride Logs(29 posts)

Training/Milage/Ride LogsJFR
Sep 18, 2003 9:31 AM
Do you keep one?
What stats/info do you include?
If you mtb also, do you keep a separate log for those rides?

I've just started one and I'm curious what other folks put in their logs.

Thanks for the feedback.

Johnny
Numerical obsessionterry b
Sep 18, 2003 9:53 AM
-I break my year into 13, 4 week months to allow accurate month to month comparisons. Using an Excel spreadsheet, with columns from left to right:

--date, bicycle, time, mileage, ave. mph, cum-time/month, cum-miles/month, where I rode, running 13 month total.

-I have a spreadsheet that compares mileage and time, months vs. months by year. My yearly goals are set by these comparisons.

-I track what I wore on cold weather rides to make getting togged up faster in the winter.

-I track mileage by bike so that no bike gets ridden more than any other (don't want any hurt feelings.)

-And, I track change out durations on tires/tubes.
Information can be addictiveJFR
Sep 18, 2003 12:20 PM
Thanks for sharing Terry, you mentioned a couple of items that I hadn't thought of and will likely incorporate, such as the 13 month year.

Thanks again.
you're welcometerry b
Sep 18, 2003 2:08 PM
many will say it takes the fun out of cycling if you're whipping yourself with goals and data. I however love numbers and statistics of all kinds so instead of being an energy sink, it adds a whole new dimension of fun.

enjoy!
re: Training/Milage/Ride Logscmgauch
Sep 18, 2003 10:13 AM
I just mark my workouts on my office calander. If I ride, I note the mileage & the type of ride (road, mtn or fixed). If I go to the gym I note the bodypart worked.
re: Training/Milage/Ride LogsJS Haiku Shop
Sep 18, 2003 10:17 AM
date
type (road, mtb, 'cross, run, gym, tiddlywinks, etc)
bike
distance
time (rounded to nearest minute)
avg mph
comments (weather, company, new equipment, tires, etc)

new log yearly. in excel format.

at the end of the year i total mileage by bike, and sometimes by component.
Similar numerical obsessionRich_Racer
Sep 18, 2003 10:33 AM
I have a similar excel spreasheet to terryb, although it may not be as well refined yet. A riding partner fro mlast year started me on it. I don't actually mark so much - just date, miles, ave. speed - and split it up into weeks. I've only been riding for about 18months so I don't have much to compare to yet. My year seems to have got split up into 4 13 week blocks. My goals roughly settle around weekly milage totals although alter around races.

Now I've decided to switch over to triathlon, it's somewhat gone pearshaped! I may switch back though as I love riding too much!
EquipmentJFR
Sep 18, 2003 12:33 PM
Thanks JS Haiku, I like your idea of noting new equipment and therefore being able to total milage on it. I'll be incorporating that.
Very Intense ProgramZman
Sep 18, 2003 10:29 AM
I created a very intense program that monitors and tracks just about everything. I can also track 4 different styles (Road, Mountain, Race, and General). All I need to do is enter bike code (R, M, G, C), Route/Route Description, date, distance, duration, wind, temp, top speed and the computer does all the rest. I also have a brief "History" section.

My program sorts everything automatically. I know what I ride, how far I ride, when I ride, ect... I have a running 10 year program and it also sorts by DAY (Sun-Sat).

I could send you a sample, it really is quite awesome I would say. Maybe too awesome.

Z
wow._rt_
Sep 18, 2003 10:35 AM
please tell you you're a programmer of some sort.

otherwise i'm just plain scared.

and in awe.

but very, very scared.

rt
Very Intense ProgramRich_Racer
Sep 18, 2003 10:38 AM
That sounds cool. Would love to see your program. (rich_j_law@hotmail.com)

On a related topic, what is that program called that allows you to make those topological pictures of ride routes? Where can I get it and how much is it? (Or does someone want to send me that too!)
No email baby, it's WAY too big!Zman
Sep 18, 2003 10:57 AM
This program is 8MB in its smallest form, if you ride 100 times per year the program would be around 150MB. I need to send a CD.

I am not a programmer, just a Excel idiot.

Z
Maybe too awesome, or maybe notJFR
Sep 18, 2003 12:03 PM
Thanks a ton for offering to share your program with me! Although very tempting to accept, I don't think it's really necessary. I'm proficient w/ Excel and you've given me some ideas that I'd like to run with myself. Thanks again!

p.s. I'll let you know if I change my mind and want a copy :-)
re: Training/Milage/Ride Logs_rt_
Sep 18, 2003 10:31 AM
date
type of ride (mtn/road)
for road rides: training/recovery/etc
for mtn rids: name of trail(s)
distance
time
average speed
max speed
ave heart rate
max heart rate

for races:
name/place of race
distance
total time
lap times (if available)
ave/max speed
ave/max HR (if i remember to wear my HR monitor!)
place/results

for trainer workouts:
video used (if using Spinervals) or workout
time
ave/max HR

for gym workouts
weights/machines used
weight used on each exercise
# reps

and any other pertinent info including sometimes who i rode with or what i ate (if it worked well or was a disaster)

oh, i also log sick days.

rt
re: Training/Milage/Ride Logsimport silvia
Sep 18, 2003 10:56 AM
I have an odo on my Cyclocomputer.
Unless your sponsored by (Insert big sponsor here) you guys scare me.
hehe..._rt_
Sep 18, 2003 11:18 AM
working on sponsorship right now but i started my log just because i like the numbers.

it's become a lot more detailed since i hired a coach.

rt - it's nothing compared to Zman!
Video used :-)JFR
Sep 18, 2003 12:23 PM
That's a new one!

Thanks for sharing rt
ya. you should see my collection..._rt_
Sep 18, 2003 12:31 PM
...*wink* *wink* *nudge* *nudge*

;-P
Used to keep one..PatC
Sep 18, 2003 10:57 AM
but don't anymore. I can't be bothered with all that stuff. Besides I never had any use for all the info I had noted down. I suppose you have to spend hours comparing the monthly and yearly data if your log-keeping is to be of any use. But it all depends on your objectives, and mine aren't that far reaching...
So i'm content with just keeping track of my weekly mileage...
re: Training/Milage/Ride Logsscary slow
Sep 18, 2003 11:42 AM
I used to keep track of all that stuff. Anymore though I am just as happy to leave the computer at home and ride based on how I feel and not the numbers.
re: Training/Milage/Ride Logsnoveread
Sep 18, 2003 1:06 PM
I track:

How I feel
How I slept
My Weight
My Resting HR
Type of workout
Distance
Time
Route
Weather
Clothing if cold weather (<45deg) ride
Anything else I feel noteworthy

I write this stuff down, don't use a computer program! Does that make me a retro? :)

Noveread
A lot of physical infoJFR
Sep 18, 2003 2:27 PM
That's interesting, and I see how it could be useful when examining stats.

A HAND written log! Yeah, I think that does make you a bit retro :) Actually, I was going to go that route and use some kinda diary. I think that an old fassioned written log has a certain mystique to it. But the sorting and accumulation advantages of Excel won me over.
I'm data obsessedDaveG
Sep 18, 2003 2:35 PM
I use the software program Velocipede to keep track of all my meaningless data. I track:

Date
bike used
route
training type (recovery, intervals, etc.)
difficulty rating
winds
start time
sleep
ride time
elapsed time
distance
min/max temp
altitude gained (when applicable)
time in each HR zone
average HR
text notes about ride

I also track stationary training rides

Velocipede allows you to search on any of those fields, build reports which can be exported to Excel, graphs, etc. I don't need any of it but I enjoy tracking it all
Velocipede, eh?JFR
Sep 18, 2003 2:44 PM
Never heard of it (no surprise).

Where might one preview/obtain Velocipede.
look hereDaveG
Sep 18, 2003 3:50 PM
Its a shareware program you can download at the address below. I've been using it through several iterations over the last 8 years or so. The author has been very receptive to suggestions for new features and has added quite a bit over the years.

http://spiderman.novit.no/dahls/Velo/
thanks (nm)JFR
Sep 18, 2003 4:05 PM
nm
UnrealZman
Sep 19, 2003 8:29 AM
I have taken a look at the Velo program, WOW. This is going to take a little while to figure out. Entire databases need to be created.

How long did it take you to figure out how the effectively use this program? How much does it cost?

Z
I'm data obsessedPatC
Sep 18, 2003 8:49 PM
Hi, Dave. These are more or less the data I used to keep track of..plus my weight ! Which Cyclocomputer/HRC do you have ? I have had the HAC4 Ciclocontrol for 2 years and I think it's just great.
Now that Velocipede software program sounds great too. Where can it be got ?
Goes to heck around February.PseuZQ
Sep 18, 2003 2:52 PM
I always start the year with good intentions.

In December, I'm looking into all the lastest online tools. In January, I take to just jotting stuff in the VeloPress training log I've had since 2000. Toward the end of January I'm just writing stuff on napkins. After that, I just do the weekly arithmetic in my head.

I do remember my final yearly mileage number as it is shown on my odmometer, and work from that, but it only measures mileage on my road bike.