RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Wheelset recommendations?(14 posts)

Wheelset recommendations?DSR
Sep 17, 2003 6:44 AM
Hopefully this isn't too open-ended. I'd been in need of a new wheelset and then yesterday on my commute home my rear wheel slid out on a painted line (bikepath) and taco'd. Bummer. But a good excuse now to upgrade. I'm definitely budget conscious. Budget would be in the $200-300 range. The Cane Creek Aeroheads are on sale at several places and seem to get good reviews. I'm mostly an mtb-er, but use my road bike to commute (~2x / ~80 miles a week) and to just ride when time is tight or the trails are a mess. (Actually enjoying the road more and more.) Key attributes would be - pretty durable, relatively maintenance free, pretty stiff (I'm 175 lbs) and moderate weight. Any thoughts on the Cane Creeks or any other recommendations? Have checked out some of the reviews, but hard to narrow down to a group to consider and then one to decide on. Thanks in advance. S
re: Wheelset recommendations?andy02
Sep 17, 2003 7:04 AM
I am not sure how they compare but the race lites that came on my 5200 are pretty tough. the roads here are really really bad and I have had no problems. They same can be said for the X-lites.
at that price range...noveread
Sep 17, 2003 7:07 AM
Check out a set of Mavic Open Pros with 105 or Ultegra hubs. Cheap, light and inexpensive. Any mailorder place has this combo as one of their standard wheel set offers in the 2-300 dollar range.

Noveread
No Longer the Empty Wrapper
Looking for a new handle
Ditto:MXL02
Sep 17, 2003 7:28 AM
For what you use them for, the open pro/105 or Ultegra hubs are perfect. Boutique wheels would be a waste IMHO.
Ditto Ditto: (only get them with Campy Hubs ;-)bimini
Sep 17, 2003 9:12 AM
Skip the Cane Creeks.godot
Sep 17, 2003 7:21 AM
I second the open pro's on ultegra (or 105) hubs. should be able to find them online for around $200 (excel, colorado cyclist, supergo)

I have the cane creeks as well as the open pro's. i prefer the ride, and durability of the open pro's.

the open pro's meet all your criteria (durable, no maintenance, pretty stiff, moderate weight), they just don't look as cool as the cane creeks. if you are worried about stiffness you could get cxp33's instead of open pro's, but the open pro's should be plenty stiff for you.

i have well over 3,000 miles on my open pro's that were built by excel. haven't had a single problem. btw - i weigh 195 and go on informal races every tues/thurs at lunch.
Excelsports - cxp33's/ultegra $237 or OP's/ultegra $217 (nm)TNSquared
Sep 17, 2003 7:46 AM
Ditto the cxp33's/ultegra (nm)CurtSD
Sep 17, 2003 11:00 AM
re: Wheelset recommendations?GixxerRick
Sep 17, 2003 8:28 AM
Ebay has a guy selling brand new sets of open pro rim with ultegra hubs for 180.00 It seems like a very nice wheel set, since the front is a 28 radial lace, and the rear is 32 spoke 3 cross laced, check it out, do i search, if you want email me and i'll send u the link...
Radially lace Ultegra'sgodot
Sep 17, 2003 8:50 AM
I don't think Ultegra hubs are supposed to used for a radially laced wheel. I have nothing to back this up, but remember reading it somewhere.

May be worth checking into before buying
Radially lace Ultegra's - more infoTNSquared
Sep 17, 2003 9:03 AM
from "Zinn & the Art of Road Bike Maintenance":

"..the warranty of some hubs is void when spoked radially; Shimano, for one, has this stipulation. The stress is greater on the hub holes with radial spoking because the spoke tension in a radial wheel is often higher and because there is less material resisting the hub tearing out when the spoke is pulling straight outward than if it is pulling at an angle along the hub flange."

If you go with ebay/used wheels, warranty is probably moot, but I'd still check further into the potential hub weakness first. FWIW
Radially laced 105 works fine for me.cdhbrad
Sep 17, 2003 9:40 AM
I have an older set of wheels with 105 hubs and CXP14 Rims. Front is radially laced and I have never had any problems with it at all. Never gave Warranty any thought since I bought them from my LBS that way.
Radially laced works fine for me.MShaw
Sep 18, 2003 10:12 AM
I've had several pair of wheels radially laced since the mid-90s. In that time, I haven't broken one flange. YMMV, however...

I have a Dura Ace/Ritchey wheel built up radially now, as well as several 3x wheels. The radial definitely isn't as sturdy when it comes to sprints and out of the saddle efforts, but for JRA it is fine.

Mike
Thanks all...DSR
Sep 17, 2003 9:51 AM
Good stuff. Cane Creek's on sale are ballpark around the same price as the Ultegra/Mavics. Good insight on strength and durability. May save a little more and just get a new rear Ultegra/OP or CXP-33. Thanks again! S