RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Pedal choices??(26 posts)

Pedal choices??John445
Sep 16, 2003 6:17 AM
I am looking for a quiet pedal, not just when my cleats are brand new. My Looks squeak, Campys click, SPD give me hot spots. I am tired of spending money on pedals. Has anyone used Coombe pedals?? Someone else said Keywins are nice but when the bearings get worn they make noise.

I know most of the tricks ie soap, oil, grease, armor-all, filing the cleat. I would like to keep the cleats clean enough to walk in the house without leaving clear evidence of where the grease came from. Those little black triangles are a dead giveaway.

I am looking for info on Coombe, Time, Speedplay or any other recommendation.

John
platform pedals resolve all of those problems. cheaply. nm.Steve_0
Sep 16, 2003 6:24 AM
I second that.Humma Hah
Sep 16, 2003 6:37 AM
There's nothing wrong with modern BMX platform pedals. You can do everything with them but pull up. They're the choice of freestyle riders, who do incredible stunts with them. I've done all my long-distance rides with them, in great comfort, including the entire C&O towpath, 184.5 miles, earlier this month.
I Third.al0
Sep 16, 2003 12:08 PM
Attach to them toe clips (preferably hard plastic) and you even can pool. And no problems with engaging and disengaging! :)
gotta ask...Steve_0
Sep 17, 2003 4:10 AM
why you prefer hard plastic.

Just curious, Im a traditionalist who prefers to avoid plastic anything when possible (just think its ugly). I was just wondering if you are aware of benefit to plastic over steel?
There ain't no plastic in a Diamondback Bigfoot ...Humma Hah
Sep 17, 2003 8:16 AM
... platform pedal, except maybe a mud seal over the bearings. They're first rate hardware.

But benefits of plastic over steel: I much prefer my Planet Bike fenders to the original chromed steel. My plastic tire levers work just as well and are lighter than my old steel ones. I like my new leather saddle, but the old plastic-covered one worked much better than a steel one (you laugh, but some old cruiser saddles, with the vinyl and padding removed, were steel).

And steel lenses on my eyeglasses just never have been satisfactory.
...sorry...Steve_0
Sep 17, 2003 10:12 AM
i was referring, specifically, to his comment to get toe-clips, 'preferably hard plastic'.

Was wondering why he preferred plastic.
Speedplay53T
Sep 16, 2003 6:28 AM
Speedplays don't squeek. They are a very popular pedal, particulary among non-sponored racers who have to pay for their gear. I first choose tham for commuting, and continued using them for racing, and have never considered switching. I rarely think about my pedals, which is probably the best endorsement available.
re: Coombecyclopathic
Sep 16, 2003 6:44 AM
I rode with the guy who had them and he started heaving hot spots after ~160mi. He linked them otherwise.

Personally I had been using Bebobs for last 4 years and couldn't be happier. No squeaks, minimal maintenance (oil cleat springs once in a blue moon). Double sided and it is big plus for commute. Unlike Speedplay cleats are very tough, seen lotsa walking miles, still work like new.

Pedal design is very similar to Speedplay, and cheaper/lighter, at least then X/3 and X/2s. More info on www.bebop.com
Love Speedplay, beebop?jjdbike
Sep 16, 2003 7:07 AM
I have tried many pedals, and like everying thing else, they all have their strengths and weaknesses.
My Speedplay X1's are smooth, extremely light, and very knee friendly. The cleat does wear out faster if you walk on them alot without the cleat covers (which do a great job). I have a riding partner who has 4 yrs on his cleats, mine are good for about one season (but I am rough on my stuff, ride a lot & walk in them w/out the covers). As for Beebop, I know that you can get them on-line & at certain big and specialty shopes, but in general I wonder how available the pedals, parts & cleats are. This could be a problem if you are off the beaten path and have a problem (e.g. vacation or a long ride). Just my 2 cents.
JD
parts.. what parts?cyclopathic
Sep 16, 2003 7:30 AM
the original pair I have had gone through several complete brevet series (200,300,400 and 600k), BMB, PBP, a few short 200-400mi rides and multiple centuries. I've also used them on/off on MTB, walking on rocky trails. Had done touring, walking, etc. I have not touched the pedals/cleats yet, and chain lube is all I ever used on springs. I will probably get at least another 4 years out of cleats and yes, there're no bebop cleat covers, not needed. :)
Speedplay, X-1 or X-2 (nm)Al1943
Sep 16, 2003 7:08 AM
Love my Zeros (nm)kjr39
Sep 16, 2003 7:13 AM
I to Love my Zeros (nm)andy02
Sep 16, 2003 7:21 AM
BeBopPEDDLEFOOT
Sep 16, 2003 7:43 AM
I've been using BeBop pedals for the past year with no problems.All the float you will need,very light and the cleats need very little maintainece.Low stack height too.
I second this recommendation...PT
Sep 16, 2003 9:21 AM
Bebop's are the most under-rated pedal system. I just don't understand why they have taken off... Anybody who wants float, low maintenance, value (long life) and performance will just love Bebops. Doesn't that describe just about everyone?
I 3rd this.....wait a minute.I firsted it didn't I (nm) :-)PEDDLEFOOT
Sep 16, 2003 9:24 AM
no, you only 2nd it (nm) 8-Pcyclopathic
Sep 16, 2003 10:21 AM
After further reading I stand corrected (nm)PEDDLEFOOT
Sep 16, 2003 10:34 AM
with what shoes are they compatible?ET
Sep 16, 2003 12:12 PM
Ending a sentence with a preposition is something up with which I will not put. :-)
Sidis work great with Bebopsnoupi
Sep 16, 2003 5:54 PM
Diadora and Nike here, work fine nmcyclopathic
Sep 17, 2003 8:07 AM
I use Bebops with Sidis and they are incredible...Matno
Sep 16, 2003 6:26 PM
Fabulous pedals. The best, in my opinion, but then, what do I know? Zero maintenance. Mine are 7 years old and were used by a full-time racer for several years before I got them...
re: ImpactsMike Prince
Sep 16, 2003 7:45 AM
Switched from LOOK to Time Impact this year and couldn't be happier. No squeaks in about 3K miles on the same pair of cleats. Solid feeling and no hot spots ever. I estimate I'll get at least 2 seasons out of the cleats (I don't walk much) and these have been trouble-free since this spring when I got them.

A friend just switched from LOOK to Speedplay and it's a bit early, but he seems to dislike them so far. Maybe it's learning curve or setup issues, but he was asking about my Times on Sunday's ride.

Use the reviews section here - lots of feedback on the various pedal types.

Mike
Like mine, too.KG 361
Sep 16, 2003 4:43 PM
Lighter than my Looks and pretty easy to get into. Clipping out is a little more difficult, though. Nice platform and smooth operation. Just don't walk in them on wet soil-you'll be cleaning mud out of the cleats for a while (don't ask!).
re: Pedal choices??Thorman
Sep 16, 2003 8:31 AM
I've been using Coombe's for about 6 months now and they are very quiet. I haven't experienced any hot spot issues as posted previously.

For the most part I've been completely satisfied with them. The only maintenance they've required is a little oil every 2K miles.

Thorman
http://www.ScottThor.com