RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


which takes precedence for you: the NFL or a ride?(64 posts)

which takes precedence for you: the NFL or a ride?ET
Sep 15, 2003 1:25 PM
I'm not a football or TV junkie, don't even have cable or a VCR, don't spend 11 hours on Sunday watching football, don't play Fantasy Football. While I don't want to miss my ride, especially given limited weekly riding time, at the same time I really do want to watch my team (I live in Baltimore; go Ravens!). It doesn't hurt to be able to communicate Monday morning with co-workers either. I mean, missing yesterday's game (Jamal Lewis) would have been huge.

If the game cuts in to your ride, do you just watch the game? Cut your ride short? Tape it and don't talk to anyone nor listen to radio till you watch it? Or what?
ride!!! even over the tour! nmandy02
Sep 15, 2003 1:27 PM
tape it and ride..............Dave Hickey
Sep 15, 2003 1:29 PM
My favorite team is the Dallas Stars(NHL). I'll ride and tape their games however since they play in winter, it's usually dark when games come on TV.
What is the NFL?Humma Hah
Sep 15, 2003 1:33 PM
I caught the last few minutes of the 'Skins game yesterday (obligatory, I live in Northern Virginia). I had a few minutes while the paint was drying in the garage, where I'm painting my bike repair area.
and you wonder why roadies are viewed as f@ggots in lycra :-) nmET
Sep 15, 2003 1:47 PM
.
football vs. cycling and stereotypesFrith
Sep 15, 2003 2:17 PM
WOW!
lets talk about stereotypes
football players wear spandex...(lycra's gay little brother)
football players pat each other's bums.
football players wear padding...cyclists have nothing to hide.
football players cry when they lose, win, or get hurt.
football players hide behind a thin vail of over blown masculinity.
football players have raisin sized testicles as a result of years of steroid abuse.
football players use laughable words like "f@ggot"
Oh, thank goodness you typed that smiley-facejtolleson
Sep 15, 2003 2:25 PM
so that your use of a hateful epithet can be recognized as good for a wholesome chuckle! So, I'm sure you'll take it in the spirit of humor for me to tell you that ...

1. words mean things, and epithets mean even more
2. grow the hell up.
The word F@ggot is not offensive.spankdoggie
Sep 15, 2003 2:31 PM
Although the last time I used the word, F@ggot, Doug deleted it...

Hey, me and a couple of my buddies used to go down Castro (a gay street in San Francisco) street on the way back from work, and we would scream "F@GGOTS!" to everybody on the street; that was a few years ago. All they would do is stop, smile and wave.

In my opinion, real gay people are not offended by that word, but straight non-dexterous losers get really mad when you call them a f@ggot. So basically, gays are not offended by the word, but insecure straight male nerds are.

I rest my case.
The phrase "consider the source"jtolleson
Sep 15, 2003 2:46 PM
comes to mind when I contemplate YOU giving advice re: internet etiquette.

I am neither straight nor male and I can say that I am not thrilled to have anti-gay epithets in my face (in all caps no less) when I visit bicycling sites.
Why would a straight person be offended?spankdoggie
Sep 15, 2003 3:08 PM
Why, as a straight person would that word offend you?
I mean really, the word, honestly, does not offend gay people, at least not here in San Francisco. I think you have been spending too much time listening to your college instructors, and not enough time in real life, jtol.

I don't care about the word at all, actually.
Threadjacking this poor man's post about football is worse than the word f@ggot.
Why would a straight person be offended?jtolleson
Sep 15, 2003 3:13 PM
You clearly have me confused with someone else on the board. As I said, I am neither straight nor male. I am also not a college student. I am a 39 year old lesbian who is sick of anti-gay epithets being the joke-of-the-day.

My only regret in posting is not about disrupting the thread, but is wallowing around in the muck with the likes of you.
Why would a straight person be offended?spankdoggie
Sep 15, 2003 3:28 PM
I think you should move to San Francisco. That word would shortly stop offending you. They have a parade here once a year, and the leaders call themselves Dykes on Bikes.

Pretty funny: The anti-gay epithets that threaten and cause you alarm are embraced by your "sisters and brothers."

Very strange indeed.
Oh, thank goodness you typed that smiley-faceSpoiler
Sep 15, 2003 3:53 PM
I think you can honestly say, if you could read the mind of a hard-core, stereotypical homophobic football fan, you would hear him thinking,
"What kind of a f@ggot would rather dress like a ballerina and ride a bike rather than watch "Da Bears wup Da Pack." I'd guess at least half of us have heard passing drivers address us as "F@ggot".

So I think ET's statement was just an accurate account of that group's (homophobic football fans) point-of-view. The chuckle is aimed at the homophobic crowd.

If you insist on replacing it with a less offensive word, you're no longer accurately reflecting the attitude that exists in the real world.

Cyclist and homosexuals are in a unique position to be disliked by the same groups of people. We sometimes even suffer the same intimidation.

But it's a one-way relationship. Homophobes may look at a cyclist, see similarities between them and homosexuals, and their logic leads them to hate the cyclists.
But you don't see someone looking at a homosexual, associate them with cyclists, and hate them for that reason.
Gotta say, JulieOldEdScott
Sep 16, 2003 9:26 AM
that Spoiler's pretty close to right here. I understand your hatred of that word, but ET was clearly using it in a turned-around, ironic context. I think we know him well enough to know he's no homophobic bigot.

'F!ggots in lycra' is indeed the common redneck perjorative for cyclists, and ET was assuming that mindset as a way to make a sympathetic point, I believe.

Even though as a good liberal I want to be called Cracker-American myself, and will even accept the abbreviated Crackro-American, I'm called hillbilly, redneck, Grit and worse. But sometimes those words are used in a context that's on my side, and I try to recognize it when it is.

Now, if he'd said N!zi, well ...
Crackro-AmericanSpoiler
Sep 16, 2003 11:06 AM
I'm going to use that one if you don't mind.
Crackro-AmericanOldEdScott
Sep 16, 2003 11:30 AM
Be my guest. "Person of Crackers" is the alternative.
rightET
Sep 16, 2003 11:48 AM
What I'm trying to say is, that's what the redneck in the pickup who is late for the game on TV and his mandatory sixpack yells at you when he passes you on the road after 1:00 PM.

No offense intended.
Ah well. We all have our buttons...jtolleson
Sep 16, 2003 11:49 AM
and that word and others like it can certainly be one of mine esp. when used in a forum of "mixed" levels of friendliness. The all caps just stuck out like a verbal slap.

I've been programmed by the politically correct banners that have dominated this page lately, no doubt. :)

Bless you Mr. Cracker.
You are a fuqking homophope ):( (nm)Alexx
Sep 15, 2003 2:54 PM
homophope?spankdoggie
Sep 15, 2003 3:09 PM
what is a homophope?
Football Sundays are the best time to ride . . .ms
Sep 15, 2003 1:42 PM
There is less traffic on country roads (at least in Baltimore County and Carroll County, Maryland) on Football Sundays than on other Sundays. Especially there are fewer obnoxious drivers yelling heartwarming things involving various words that begin with the letter "F." Since I am not a football fan, it is no sacrifice for me to ride on a football Sunday. But, even if I were a fan, I would tape the game and ride. If you just need to know enough to communicate with your co-workers, you can get all you need to know from the 11:00 p.m. news or the newspaper.
How can you tell there's a football game on?coonass
Sep 15, 2003 5:47 PM
No rednecks on the roads.
sooooooo true...ctisevn
Sep 15, 2003 7:39 PM
especially in a rural area such as that in which I live. waaaaaayyy way way way way quieter on the roads on autumn sundays after noon.
Just make sure to be off the road by the end of the game...Ray Sachs
Sep 16, 2003 4:17 AM
...particularly if the local team loses. That brings out all of the crazies and they're PISSED!

-Ray
Especially in the Philly area :) (nm)JL
Sep 16, 2003 4:30 AM
way untrueSteve_0
Sep 16, 2003 4:40 AM
philly fans give up and go home dejected and early when the birds are losing.
You're right. I forgot about all the "Early Birds" ;) (nm)JL
Sep 16, 2003 4:52 AM
no contest...rideColnagoFE
Sep 15, 2003 1:47 PM
then again i think washing my hair takes precedence over a televised football game. i guess i must be gay or something but watching most televised sports seems like a real waste of time to me. i also hate having to know everything about "the game" on monday or tuesday morning just because someone assumes all guys watch football. then again watching the TDF or Giro is OK. ;)
LOL - NFL is non-existent in my house ;-) nmDougSloan
Sep 15, 2003 2:19 PM
DVR it and rideGixxerRick
Sep 15, 2003 2:23 PM
Depends on how the Rams are playingvindicator
Sep 15, 2003 2:26 PM
When the Rams are playing well, I'll usually watch the game. This usually doesn't present too much of a problem for riding though, for two main reasons:

1) With a wife and four kids, a long ride in the middle of the day Sunday is out of the question. If I'm going to ride, it has to be early in the am. OTOH, parking it in front of the football game is OK because she'll either want to watch it too or she'll be out and about and I'll have babysitting duty.

2) This time of year, I'm not as bothered if I don't get a long ride in on Sunday as earlier in the year.

If the Rams aren't playing well, I'll do something else.

Yesterday, though, was a problem because the final climb at the Vuelta, the late innings of the Cardinals game (my true spectator sport religion) and the last of the Rams game, including the overtime, were all coming down simultaneously. And I have an older one-tuner DirecTV system, so I couldn't tape one and watch the others except by using my crappy over the air reception for baseball and/or football. Plus I was too lazy to get up at such a critical juncture and try to mess with taping it. One of these days, I need to get a top quality DirecTV HD receiver with 2 or 3 tuners and a built-in DVR.
funny if not just odd observationsbigdeal
Sep 15, 2003 2:29 PM
This past weekend on BART to the T Mobile GP I noticed a high percentage of those going to the football game WREAKED of alcohol...mind you this is BEFORE the game even got underway!
On the way OUT I noticed another disparity. One football fan equals (approximately) two cycling fans in terms of....let's just say not height.
Why are those who win the SuperBowl called the World Champs if no other countries are allowed to play?
Average actual SuperBowl play time (when the f*t players are actually excercising): just over 8 minutes. Over the WHOLE game!
Why don't I watch football? 3 minutes of 'play' can take over 45 minutes.
I'll stop now.
re: which takes precedence for you: the NFL or a ride?spankdoggie
Sep 15, 2003 2:33 PM
I will never ride over a Niners game.
Never.
Taped games lack the real time feel.

Are there any men on this forum?
Speaking of the Ninersvindicator
Sep 15, 2003 2:58 PM
Did you see the shot of T.O. warming up in his white skinsuit that Fox showed? You have to admire the results of that man's workout program...
RideET_SoCal
Sep 15, 2003 2:41 PM
Or whatever sport your into, even if shopping.
Get out - Get it on - get away from the TV.

(had to answer since our handle's are so close)
it depends..ctisevn
Sep 15, 2003 2:58 PM
on what I did on saturday night. If I get a solid 8 1/2 hours of sleep its a no brainer-ride. the roads are much more quiet and friendly when theres NFL on. If I'm in any way wrecked from the previous nights activities though, NFL is as good as anything to kill an afternoon in the recliner.
I love me some footballrubendc19
Sep 15, 2003 3:10 PM
I love football, but I can't stand NCAA ball, so I'll ride on Sat. and watch the NFL on sunday baby.........
NFL!mrrun2fast
Sep 15, 2003 3:36 PM
Since I'm on the west coast, 10 AM is the time when all of the games are on that I want to watch. I delay my ride until 1 PM.
Not even close - Ride!!!spc15
Sep 15, 2003 4:27 PM
Even though I played HS football and baseball at a professional level, Pro Football just does not interest me at all any longer. As for the co- workers, they or I do not seem to mind that I know close to nothing about the latest in pro football...

In fact, it kind of bothers me that football/baseball get three to four pages in the sports section and the major tours get hardly a mention...But then again, it's give the people what they want.....
re: which takes precedence for you: the NFL or a ride?rwbadley
Sep 15, 2003 4:35 PM
I can honestly say that for me just about everything takes precedence over NFL.

This includes but is not limited to:

Riding, sleeping, defecating, fornicating, cleaning out the garage (that's close tho) trimming my fingernails, trimming the dogs fingernails, watching Bob Ross reruns,etc...

I will make some exceptions- on a cold rainy day, if the other three TV stations had nothing on, and I was having a serious hangover from the night before and really just felt like crap and needed something to take my mind off the badgers gnawing at my brain, then I would probably still watch womens tennis before watching 'the game'

;-)
remember any NFL games from 5 yrs ago? Remember any rides?Mg1
Sep 15, 2003 4:40 PM
Catch the game highlights on Sportscenter. You'll forget about the game in less than a week either way. Maybe it's because geography dictates that I should be a Lions fan, but I don't recall ever agonizing over missing a game for anything, certainly not a ride.
Hmmmm...52-16SS
Sep 15, 2003 5:05 PM
I've actually played football for 12 years and still do, and I love to play. However, when it comes to the NFL I find it is just plain boring.
The joy of doing and achieving something yourself is far better than seeing somebody else do it. It doesn't matter whether it is cycling, chess, or football.

SS
Amen to that, brother...The Walrus
Sep 15, 2003 7:01 PM
If these people love football so much, why are they watching someone else play? Gotta wonder if they take the same approach to sex....
you for real?Steve_0
Sep 16, 2003 7:31 AM
you think the majority of your riding buddies here on this bored werent watching 'someone else' ride the tour this summer? Many did, based upon the posting i've seen.

You're also assuming 'these people' arent participating in football on saturday or sunday morning; just as cyclists watch the tour when theyre resting.
Just as real as the other posters who wouldn't waste...The Walrus
Sep 16, 2003 10:32 AM
...their time watching football (the American or socialist versions...)
ah.Steve_0
Sep 16, 2003 10:46 AM
choosing not to waste time wathing football is cool. Drawing inferences on those who do is pretty uncool.
definitely a ridelemmy999
Sep 15, 2003 4:55 PM
I used to be a big Cowboys fan when I was a kid (1977-Landry was fired) and since then I have lost interest in almost all sports. I watch most motorcycle road racing (AMA & FIM World Superbike, & MotoGP) on TV but that is it. I would rather be doing something than watching somebody do something any day.

College football is the big thing around where I live (Knoxville, TN) and I watch at most 1 game/year.
Who says you can't do both at the same time! (nm)Jeff Rage
Sep 15, 2003 7:15 PM
and do it doggie style, so we can both watch x-files! (nm)53T
Sep 16, 2003 6:39 AM
Football, my favorite non-event.MR_GRUMPY
Sep 15, 2003 8:01 PM
I can't remember the last time I missed a ride for a game. I might start watching football again, if they eliminated the time outs, and let the players use weapons.
I can always start a conversation at work, with the comment, "How 'bout dem Bears."... That usually works.
I don't watch too much cycling on TV either. I'd rather be doing it myself, rather than watching someone else do it.
I just can't get all worked up over some overpaid, very talented, not so smart players, who just happen to work for a team that just happens to be located in the city where I live. I don't consider them "My team," at all.
I know what nm is but what does NFL stand for? nmMike P
Sep 16, 2003 3:51 AM
Hah! (nm)PseuZQ
Sep 16, 2003 9:00 AM
ride to the gameSteve_0
Sep 16, 2003 4:29 AM
Pluses ... avoid stadium-area traffic...front door parking...Work off the 900 calories consumed during the first 3 quarters....Avoid potential DUI.

Minus ...a lot more difficult for the late game after Daylight savings.

Gotten me through many seasons of Eagles (Not that I think Donovan is worth the ride this year).
I might delay a ride for a <b>proper</b> football matchmickey-mac
Sep 16, 2003 5:22 AM
I'd probably reschedule a ride to another part of the day if I had the rare opportunity to watch Arsenal and Manchester United play live. Apart from that, cycling takes precedence over anything on TV.
Good Pointrubendc19
Sep 16, 2003 11:49 AM
I enjoy the NFL alot, but I'd rather watch some international soccer, Brazil vs Colombia, Peru vs Mexico, etc.......
re: which takes precedence for you: the NFL or a ride?Fatnslow
Sep 16, 2003 5:28 AM
I hate football, but even more than football...I hate football fans. Not individually, mind you, but as a collective group they have to be the most obnoxious, bone-headed, loudmouthed bunch of jackasses the world has ever seen...And I've watched a soccer game in Scotland! At least those guys beat the hell out of each other and get some exercise. Football fans sit around and yell obscenities at the players if they're at the game, and yell obscenities at the TV if they're at home...between cramming cheese fries, bratwursts, or whatever down their throats!

The thing I find most annoying about a football fan is the attitude they take with non fans. I you tell one of these people that you're not a football fan, they look at you like you just handed them a dead squirrel and start talking to you like you're mentally disabled...worse yet, they start telling you how, if you gave it a chance, you would love it or they start explaining the intricacies of the game. I've even had some tell me that I am un-American or a traitor. I realize that not all football fans are like what I described, but living in Charlotte, I get Panthers football thrown in my face every time I turn around.
doesnt sound like the fans I sit amongst. Must be your peers. nSteve_0
Sep 16, 2003 5:38 AM
doesnt sound like the fans I sit amongst. Must be your peers. nFatnslow
Sep 16, 2003 5:54 AM
Must be a regional thing.

There are intelligent people (lots of them, I'm sure) who like football. The fans I always seem to encounter, however, are just like what I described. There's nothing wrong with enjoying football. Its not my sport, but if you enjoy it, then by all means, enjoy. Just don't expect everyone else to have the same love for it that you do.
1) no ball sports, thanks. 2) tv is overrated. nmJS Haiku Shop
Sep 16, 2003 6:35 AM
Ride. best thing about the NFL is that the NHL is on it's way128
Sep 16, 2003 7:41 AM
steel blades, blazing puck, hardwood clubs, sheet of ice and no escape until the line change.

(and no ball)
What is NFL?MKD
Sep 16, 2003 8:41 AM
US style Football. "National Footbal League" a business, or128
Sep 16, 2003 8:46 AM
as the physical therapists would have it: Not For Long. As in the length of a player's career.
Ride Sunday AM, spend time with family in the PM <i>without NFL</i> -nmTig
Sep 16, 2003 10:45 AM
I have Raiders season ticketscyclingforhealth
Sep 17, 2003 4:49 AM
So I schedule my rides around game times.