RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Ti Bikes(18 posts)

Ti Bikesbpotts
Sep 15, 2003 1:13 PM
I'm looking at getting a Ti bike. The two frames I'm looking at are Merlin Extralight and Litespeed Tuscany. Anybody out there have any opinions or have compared the two bikes?? Any help is appreciated.

bpotts
re: Ti Bikeseschelon
Sep 15, 2003 1:30 PM
I have the Tuscany and absolutely love it...this is coming from a guy who has ridden aluminum bikes all his life. Granted, the bike is not as stiff as an aluminum bike, it does make up for alot. It is extremly lively and comfortable and well as being very responsive in the handling department...I would dare say twitchy handling...before you even think it, it does it. It's not as flashy as a 'nago or a 'rello...but it is a no-nonsense racing machine.
Eddy Merckx Majestic (nm)bigdeal
Sep 15, 2003 1:34 PM
how big of a frame?ColnagoFE
Sep 15, 2003 1:48 PM
I had an extralight and never liked it. way too whippy in a 61cm at my 190+ pounds.
how big of a frame?bpotts
Sep 15, 2003 5:52 PM
I'm 5'9" and 170, think that I'd overpower it??
you'd probably be fine (nm)ColnagoFE
Sep 16, 2003 7:01 AM
re: Ti BikesGixxerRick
Sep 15, 2003 2:18 PM
I got the litespeed Tuscany, its a beauty,very comfortable ride, stiff and responsive, if u have any questions, feel free to shoot me an email..the only downfall for the litepseed is the cheap stickers, which i just replaced..
Carl Strong Custom Ti ON SALE NOWirregardless
Sep 15, 2003 5:38 PM
why limit yourself when you can have custom for the same or less? I've been saving for a custom Ti frame for awhile and recently revisited Carl Strong's site (www.strongracing.com). A pop-up ad came up annoucing 20% off his already low prices for all his custom frames. That's 20% off of $1900 for a custom straight gauge Ti frame and 20% off of $2200 for a custom double butted Ti frame. Unbelievable. Tell him what you want and I bet you'll save a small fortune. Good luck.
$1900 for a straight-gauge ti framejtolleson
Sep 15, 2003 5:52 PM
is not a great bargain by any stretch, although the Strong name adds a little swank. But Sampson, Dean, Douglas, Airborne, Maculu (from Excel) or a host of competitors will sell a straight gauge ti frame with fork for substantially less (and Sampson or Dean will do custom geometry... don't know about the others).
$1900 for a straight-gauge ti framegeeker
Sep 15, 2003 7:19 PM
Agreed, that seems very pricey. Add Habanero (www.habcycles.com) to the list of competitors, around $1000 frame only.
re: Ti BikesOverhill
Sep 15, 2003 6:02 PM
Merckx Majestic. Check Competitive Cycling and other online sources.
The Majestic is a really good bike. Rides much like the Tuscany, but more laid back geometry.
Titus FCR or for high zoot, their Isogrid or ExogridpedalAZ
Sep 15, 2003 6:07 PM
Take a look at Titus. http://www.titusti.com

They make great custom Ti frames, prefering compact geometry. They have also created some revolutionary tubing, including the Isogrid carbon tubes with Isogrid interior waffle support, and the ultra sexy Exogrid, which beautifully cuts Ti from a Ti tube, and re-impregnates the voids with carbon fiber. Wow.
re: Ti Bikes- Nothing like a Sevenlyleseven
Sep 15, 2003 6:15 PM
You've picked out two good brands of Ti bikes. I must say, however, having tried a number of them, I ended up with a custom Ti Axiom. With full record and Ksyrium SL's and nothing but good other components, I spent a little over 5K. It could have been done with Ultegra, etc. for well under 5K. But, I must tell you that the custom frame built by Seven has no equal. I haven't ridden all of the others, but enough to know there is a big difference. The people at Seven are incredibly caring and detailed about your needs. Read my review of this bike from March of this year.
I have a merlin extralight compact...ol
Sep 15, 2003 6:56 PM
... and love the bike. I am 5.6 145 pounds and ride aggresively. Flex for me is not an issue and despite what people say the current merlin frames offer a stiff but very very comfortable ride. I use my bike for long training rides, road races, crits, blah blah. Get this frame and you will have a friend for life.
re: Ti Bikes03Vortex
Sep 16, 2003 5:43 AM
Been riding a Litespeed Vortex new this year (03 model). Full Dura Ace. Size 55. Stiff and great on climbs. Comfortable and i like the full Ti stays as opposed to carbon fiber.
re: Independent Fabricationst4fastguy
Sep 16, 2003 5:53 AM
I don't think you can beat Indy Fab's Ti Crown Jewel. I has the good fortune of finding one of these beauties on this site for a reasonable price, and have never been happier!
To buy one new, they are pricey, but the customer service there is the best, lifetime frame warrenty, the quality is the absolute best. You won't be dissapointed.
re: Ti Bikessteve-z
Sep 16, 2003 7:08 AM
All good suggestions above, but if you are interested in the Tuscany, the sales on at rivercitybikes.com and Colorado Cyclist ($2500 w/Ultegra) are unbeatable. I've got an '03 Tuscany and agree with the other posters: It's an excellent combination of comfort and stiffness with nice liveley handling.
Review, FYICrankist
Sep 16, 2003 8:01 AM
http://www.bikesportmichigan.com/reviews/tuscany03.shtml