RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


2004 Lemond bikes(11 posts)

2004 Lemond bikesmfuchs
Sep 15, 2003 4:18 AM
I was just looking at the 2004 Lemond bikes on their http://www.lemondbikes.com website and was curious about the design of a few of them. The titanium/carbon ones in particular and one of the steel/carbon ones have a cf top tube, seat tube, and seatstays with a titanium or steel headtube, downtube, and chainstays which they call the spine. My question is is this of really any advantage or (my opinion) just another marketing ploy to try to sell something new.
re: 2004 Lemond bikesrussw19
Sep 15, 2003 4:31 AM
The reason behind CF seat stays is said to stiffen the rear end, reduce road shock, and lighten the bike.

Bikes are definately lighter with CF stays, and most with CF stays are stiffer in the back, as for the road shock claim, the jury is still out.

As for the Lemond design, your top tube doesn't do much to absorb road shock. Most of that would be done by the stays and seat tube. So they make a CF seat stay and seat tube to make the bike ride like the OCLV Trek bikes (or just a good feeling carbon bike) but use a Ti downtube and chainstays to make the bike ride like a really nice Ti bike. Two things are for sure on these, the ride is somewhere between a nice CF bike and a nice Ti bike, and it is lighter than their full Ti bikes. The same should hold true for the steel/Ti combo.

Check for reviews of the 2003 Tete d'Course. It was a Ti/CF frame like this years. It got great reviews from what I saw.

From what I was told, Trek's philosophy behind this bike is to combine all the best ride features of the OCLV bikes with the best of Ti bikes... I wasn't fully convinced they did all that, but it's a nice bike.

Russ
re: 2004 Lemond bikesPEDDLEFOOT
Sep 15, 2003 4:53 AM
It's still a shame that they are abandoning the steel frames that they have been known for.Steel is real.(Sorry for the cliche).
See the classic lines: MJ, Zurich, BA still live on. nmSpunout
Sep 15, 2003 4:55 AM
Nope, they're the carbon-steel mix too. nmOldEdScott
Sep 15, 2003 6:19 AM
Jeez. Sloping tops tubes, a bunch of aluminum bikes, steel contaminated with carbon ... LeMond has lost its collective mind. But the GOOD news is, all our 'old' steel Lemonds with non-ugly lettering are now instant classics!
Nope, they are called the classic line and still for sale nmandy02
Sep 15, 2003 6:54 AM
What am I missing on the website?OldEdScott
Sep 15, 2003 7:06 AM
I see the MJ offered as a 'classic' option, but not the BA and Z. I only see them as carbon/steel.
$h!t, you're right.Spunout
Sep 15, 2003 7:24 AM
I see now. Maillot Jaune only. But, it is a price gouge because it was essentially the same frame as the Zurich. If they are trimming the line, they only need one all steel (853 Pro) frame anyways.
You can buy the 853 Pro frame as frameset or Project One. nmrussw19
Sep 15, 2003 1:16 PM
re: 2004 Lemond bikesandy02
Sep 15, 2003 5:35 AM
I test rode a steel lemond this weekend. It was really nice! IT feels more like a steal bike out of the saddle but in the saddle it's almost as easy riding as my 5200. it might be a little harsh but it is a lot better then just steel. You still have to go with fit and the treks fit me better.
Steel may be real but probably doesn't sell.shamelessgearwhore
Sep 15, 2003 8:23 AM
Lemond steels are SWEET bikes, but I think that most people walking in a shop are dazzled by latest and greatest tech. I was recently showing some friends my newest ride (all steel) and they were quite surprised at how light it was. Unless you really follow things and know better, steel sounds "old". It reminds you of your parents' old bike in the basement. It reminds you of the rusting bike frame that's been locked to the fence for years after someone stole the wheels. This decision has more to do with moving the bike off the showroom floor than providing a quality ride for the long haul.